Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Truth hurts on June 30, 2022, 12:39:25 PM

Title: Lockdown memories
Post by: Truth hurts on June 30, 2022, 12:39:25 PM
I laughed today thinking of having the family zoom quizzes over lockdown, Jesus they were crap.

What were your favourite memories or things from lockdown that you cringe or can laugh about?
Title: Re: Lockdown memories
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2022, 12:47:37 PM
Being stopped by the Gardaí less than 2 kms from my house and offering to show them where I lived.
Post by: johnnycool on June 30, 2022, 01:29:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2022, 12:47:37 PM
Being stopped by the Gardaí less than 2 kms from my house and offering to show them where I lived.

The local offie shutting caused a run on the Centra out our way as it had an offie inside it and was still allowed to function.

Trying to buy headphones online when I was told I could work from home. None to be had.

The car battery going flat as it hadn't moved in weeks.
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2022, 01:32:58 PM
Teachers being arseholes.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2022, 01:37:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2022, 01:32:58 PM

😃😃
Theyre all out on the rip Laoislad they wont read this till tomorro at least 😉
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2022, 01:46:12 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2022, 01:37:20 PM

😃😃
Theyre all out on the rip Laoislad they wont read this till tomorro at least 😉

She's currently in 2 Taps now, on her second bottle no doubt
Post by: Itchy on June 30, 2022, 01:47:57 PM
Quarantini's
Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2022, 01:58:46 PM
The Garda Jerusalema dance video , especially the horses and the Riverdancer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yj23_Z6UECk&t=4s

Cavan winning Ulster and Tipp winning Munster after Cork embarrassed Kerry

The all Ireland in December in front of nobody
Post by: Truth hurts on June 30, 2022, 02:13:01 PM
The online concerts by performers that you would not go near but you somehow watched them.
Post by: Orior on June 30, 2022, 03:01:08 PM
YouTube, Yoga with Adrienne  :D
Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2022, 03:10:16 PM
Trying to get a flight home at the start of March.
Post by: screenexile on June 30, 2022, 03:13:08 PM
Working from home... for 2 days... because f**k working from home when your family are there all the time!!!!
Post by: clarshack on June 30, 2022, 04:19:49 PM

would agree with that one
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on June 30, 2022, 04:27:47 PM
discovering people were actually virologists, then 2 years later you find out they are international war experts before quickly moving on to become economists
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2022, 04:45:23 PM
Realising you can tell the general public any auld tale so long as it comes from the Government and it is cheer lead by the media.

Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2022, 04:54:58 PM
The mé féiners who couldn't give a damn about anyone else other than themselves.
Coffee stalls in horseboxes   
Post by: markl121 on June 30, 2022, 06:05:13 PM
Jerusalema videos, the lean on me video, being stopped 5/6 times a day by gardai when going to work, glass cages in the pharmacy and the general public being arseholes
Post by: charlieTully on June 30, 2022, 06:41:12 PM
https://youtu.be/4NRXx6U8ABQ
Post by: Substandard on June 30, 2022, 08:44:01 PM
Hooking up the cowbox if I wanted to go anywhere, you'd be waved through any checkpoint.
Diesel being 103.9, having to drive around a good while with the orange light on to make €50 even fit.
Post by: pbat on June 30, 2022, 09:04:10 PM
Bought 3000 litres of heating oil for 720 quid, still have 2000 in IBC's so will help over this winter.

And know men who got even cheaper than 24p a litre.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2022, 10:32:55 PM
The class weather. Got some overhaul of the garden done.

The quiet on the roads.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2022, 10:37:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2022, 10:32:55 PM
The class weather. Got some overhaul of the garden done.

The quiet on the roads.

I ended up with a pergola and sun house and patio!!

Dogs were glad I went back after 3 months though, 15 miles a day walk within a 2 miles radius of home  ;D
Post by: Jim Bob on July 01, 2022, 08:05:57 AM
Everyone wearing gloves at the start of the pandemic
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2022, 08:24:46 AM
Going for runs and people either running across to the other side of the street to avoid you or people jumping into the ditch to avoid you. A few other people would put on a mask as quick as they could as you go past them as that split second will matter...
Post by: laoislad on July 01, 2022, 09:01:00 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 01, 2022, 08:24:46 AM
Going for runs and people either running across to the other side of the street to avoid you or people jumping into the ditch to avoid you. A few other people would put on a mask as quick as they could as you go past them as that split second will matter...
Going for a run and having dog shite everywhere!
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2022, 09:21:48 AM
Discovering the subtle genius and beauty of Deliveroo and Just Eat. Game changer. I only just lost the covid stone this year.
Bringing a printed letter to show Gardai at the border to work down south.
Watching football in empty stadiums.
Post by: FermGael on July 01, 2022, 09:31:50 AM

Parents trying to argue that they are key workers.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2022, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: FermGael on July 01, 2022, 09:31:50 AM

Or unable to do simple sums with their kids
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 01, 2022, 01:10:39 PM
My two lads doing TJ Reid hurling sessions over zoom in our small bag garden. Our gaa mentors doing sessions with the lads over zoom.
Post by: Truth hurts on July 01, 2022, 02:18:25 PM
The Thursday night clap at 8pm, like WTF
Post by: johnnycool on July 01, 2022, 02:47:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2022, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: FermGael on July 01, 2022, 09:31:50 AM

Or unable to do simple sums with their kids

Speak for yourself, I was doing integration and differentiation with the young lad doing further maths GCSE's...

Haven't lost it.   ;D
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 01, 2022, 04:05:57 PM
Empty trains and buses. No bread or toilet paper in shops. Loads of couch potatoes having a sudden interest in walking, jogging or cycling.

Post by: Loughshore2022 on July 01, 2022, 05:02:12 PM
I loved lockdown, in fact it was my norm before and after the main Covid era. I am an extreme introvert and over the years this has led to misanthropy due to how bad people have treated me. Solitude is sacred for me and it pains me to be around loud mouthed Neuro Typicals.
Post by: Man Marker on July 01, 2022, 05:09:19 PM
The insistent media coverage alongside constant government messages to scare the complete shite out of everyone to the point we were cleaning down the groceries coming into the house to find out it was a load of bollix. The amount of people after 12 months who couldn't see what was in front of their nose because they couldn't think for themselves. a valuable lesson in there for me. Stopped buying by newspapers two years ago thank god.
Post by: Saffrongael on July 01, 2022, 05:13:55 PM
They are still cleaning "touchpoints" like fuckin eejits in my workplace
Post by: AustinPowers on July 01, 2022, 11:10:49 PM
A number of weeks before lockdown, we took in a dog from a relative who Had  got fed up with it. I was reluctant as I'm not really a dog person, but the wee thing would have ended up in the pound so we  relented

When lockdown hit,  herself was working from home, and I was off so  had a lot of time on my hands, so I started taking the dog walking around the local roads. It was a great way of meeting and chatting to people especially with nobody visiting early days.

Started growing some fruit and vegetables  down the back field  and took the dog everyday with me. Weather was great, and she kept me company  while I tried my hand at all sorts of plants ( mostly badly). She spent her time  lying in the sun, digging holes,   keeping an eye on the sheep/cows next fields and running around the place and sometimes getting in my way and walking all over my plants  ;D I have great memories of those few months with her

Unfortunately a few months back she started going downhill. Tried different meds from vet but decline continued. Just over a month ago we lost her. Came down early one morning and she was gone.  I buried her in the back field  where we spent many memorable  days that summer., she probably kept us sane during those lockdown days, especially me. I'm absolutely heartbroken that she's gone.
Post by: Gmac on July 01, 2022, 11:19:55 PM
Enjoyed reading the coronavirus thread and how some guys were showering after getting the mail or burning their clothes after grocery shopping like they had committed a murder .
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 01, 2022, 11:54:57 PM
Donegal wans letting their hatred of Derry City folk out on social media-keep them out
Post by: Olly on July 02, 2022, 08:41:30 AM
I got to know my brother over lockdown. We'd do quizzes together,  just the two of us and sometimes they'd take 6 hours and be rather heated. One such occasion we argued over the 7 Glen's of Antrim. He said they were 9. Unfortunately the arguments got worse over the lockdown and We'd be arguing for over 8 hours at a time over silly things on WhatsApp such as the nickname of Mayo etc. Anyway my uncle died and I finally set eyes on my brother in real life for the first time in years. But the brewing online arguments were too much and he kicked the absolute f**k outta me at the graveyard. The funeral was abandoned.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 02, 2022, 10:57:41 AM
It is now a recurring nightmare. Had to buy more facemasks.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 02, 2022, 11:03:13 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 01, 2022, 11:10:49 PM
A number of weeks before lockdown, we took in a dog from a relative who Had  got fed up with it. I was reluctant as I'm not really a dog person, but the wee thing would have ended up in the pound so we  relented

When lockdown hit,  herself was working from home, and I was off so  had a lot of time on my hands, so I started taking the dog walking around the local roads. It was a great way of meeting and chatting to people especially with nobody visiting early days.

Started growing some fruit and vegetables  down the back field  and took the dog everyday with me. Weather was great, and she kept me company  while I tried my hand at all sorts of plants ( mostly badly). She spent her time  lying in the sun, digging holes,   keeping an eye on the sheep/cows next fields and running around the place and sometimes getting in my way and walking all over my plants  ;D I have great memories of those few months with her

Unfortunately a few months back she started going downhill. Tried different meds from vet but decline continued. Just over a month ago we lost her. Came down early one morning and she was gone.  I buried her in the back field  where we spent many memorable  days that summer., she probably kept us sane during those lockdown days, especially me. I'm absolutely heartbroken that she's gone.

Sorry to hear that.
Post by: Saffrongael on July 02, 2022, 11:10:07 AM
Quote from: Gmac on July 01, 2022, 11:19:55 PM
Enjoyed reading the coronavirus thread and how some guys were showering after getting the mail or burning their clothes after grocery shopping like they had committed a murder .

Lol forgot about that
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 02, 2022, 11:30:56 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 02, 2022, 11:10:07 AM

Lol forgot about that

perfect example here of what I remember GMAC over exaggerating everything and been wrong about nearly everything and making a fool of himself/herself.

not sure why I wasted my time but searched grocery/groceries and shower/showering in the thread and no poster was suggesting anything close to what you said... (apart from one poster who was not doing it but giving an example)
Post by: mrdeeds on July 02, 2022, 12:56:16 PM
Cycling the bike in a small loop around and around to stay within the 2km zone. Bringing the boys to see their granny amd talking through the window. Madness.

I did like queuing in shops and people not breathing in your ear.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 02, 2022, 03:33:38 PM
in a nutshell!  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bItcoUb5xsw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bItcoUb5xsw)
Post by: Gmac on July 02, 2022, 06:33:27 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 02, 2022, 11:30:56 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 02, 2022, 11:10:07 AM

Lol forgot about that

perfect example here of what I remember GMAC over exaggerating everything and been wrong about nearly everything and making a fool of himself/herself.

not sure why I wasted my time but searched grocery/groceries and shower/showering in the thread and no poster was suggesting anything close to what you said... (apart from one poster who was not doing it but giving an example)
if you search a bit more you will find  I called it exactly as it played out .
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2022, 01:18:47 PM
Checking worldometer every now and then and seeing how other countries were getting on.
Post by: Eire90 on July 03, 2022, 04:09:17 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on June 30, 2022, 04:27:47 PM
discovering people were actually virologists, then 2 years later you find out they are international war experts before quickly moving on to become economists

i see a lot of them have now move onto abortions and lgbt stuff they claim not to be sheep yet they all seem to follow what each other and what american right wingers are doing.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2022, 09:47:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 02, 2022, 11:03:13 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 01, 2022, 11:10:49 PM

Sorry to hear that.

Oh that's breaking my heart!! I'd be lost without my furry buddies!!
Post by: Taylor on July 04, 2022, 08:23:01 AM
RadioGaGa being right about an awful lot of things
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2022, 08:47:30 AM
The paranoia on vaccine passports changing everything forever then they disappeared and so did the people saying that ;D
Post by: toby47 on July 04, 2022, 02:23:12 PM
£0.99 a litre of diesel.......
Post by: From the Bunker on December 04, 2022, 05:54:14 PM
This is a (not so fond) memory from Lockdown.

People like this show you just how the lynch mob work!

Luckily Youtube has historically recorded this moment of madness.  ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPlWF4gp0r8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPlWF4gp0r8)
Post by: Orior on December 04, 2022, 06:22:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 04, 2022, 05:54:14 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPlWF4gp0r8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPlWF4gp0r8)

I totally agree with Joe O'Shea 100%.

My own memories surround working from home, and walking, and being able to do more research. In other words, I made it into a benefit.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 04, 2022, 06:49:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2022, 06:22:32 PM

My own memories surround working from home, and walking, and being able to do more research. In other words, I made it into a benefit.

Do you agree with the present lockdowns in China?
Post by: bennydorano on December 04, 2022, 06:58:51 PM
Cycling on empty roads, carryouts & takeaways are my lingering memories.

I see Damo & Ivor social media pages have all turned a tad rightish.
Post by: Orior on December 05, 2022, 10:14:26 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 04, 2022, 06:49:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2022, 06:22:32 PM

Do you agree with the present lockdowns in China?

If the latest strain is like that in the West i.e. mild, then no.