GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Armagh => Topic started by: sam03/05 on November 25, 2007, 06:08:48 PM

Title: Crossmaglen Rangers
Post by: sam03/05 on November 25, 2007, 06:08:48 PM
They are some club. What is the secret to their success?
Some reckon they are probably the richest club in Ireland due to the money they got from the Brits.
A guy told me today that they have played in 23 finals either at Armagh, Ulster or All Ireland level and have never lost anyone know if that is true?

anyway they are a great club and a real credit to the GAA.
Title: Re: Crossmaglen Rangers
Post by: Armagh Exile on November 25, 2007, 06:17:56 PM
Crossmaglen have played in 22 finals - not counting replays - and have never lost.
12 Armagh
6 Ulster
4 All-Irelands
They are the greatest club team ever and are worthy of this thread.
Congratulations to them on their latest win.  When you consider they played the last two games without Francie, John D, Cathal and a still not fully fit Stephen they are just a awesome side.
Post by: dontcare on November 25, 2007, 06:19:36 PM
no they have never lost a final or a replay of any game either, good going.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 06:28:09 PM
richest club in Ireland? that's interesting but i wouldn't think they're the richest in armagh never mind Ireland.
Post by: Shortso79 on November 25, 2007, 06:40:08 PM

Cross have an excellent underage structure.

When one senior player retires - there's a new young quality player to take his place.

It's a production line of great players.

The hunger is there too - embred into each player

Post by: Tyrones own on November 25, 2007, 07:09:36 PM
Quote from: Armagh Exile on November 25, 2007, 06:17:56 PM
Crossmaglen have played in 22 finals - not counting replays - and have never lost.
12 Armagh
6 Ulster
4 All-Irelands
Congratulations to them on their latest win.  When you consider they played the last two games without Francie, John D, Cathal and a still not fully fit Stephen they are just a awesome side.

Surely this isn't the same Stephen that didn't belong on the County team because he didn't
even warrant his place on the Cross starting 15 ???
Post by: corn02 on November 25, 2007, 07:11:12 PM
What is your point?
Post by: sam03/05 on November 25, 2007, 07:21:29 PM
i thought they got 1.5 million compensation from the british government. due to them taking part of the ground. if that is true then surely they must be one of the richest clubs in the country
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 07:57:36 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on November 25, 2007, 07:21:29 PM
i thought they got 1.5 million compensation from the british government. due to them taking part of the ground. if that is true then surely they must be one of the richest clubs in the country
I don't know how accurate that is, but if it's true they do a good job hiding it. 
Granted they've a great stand and club house but a criticism I would have of them is that they never tried to expand and over the last ten years when they've been so successful they have never tried to take advantage of that, in a financial sense, and never were ones to break their neck fundraising.

Post by: Over the Bar on November 25, 2007, 08:15:14 PM
QuoteThey are the greatest club team ever and are worthy of this thread.

Nemo Rangers are in fact the greatest football club team ever, their achievements made all the more impressive since Cork is such a successful hurling county.  Cross are undoubtedly second and unless Armagh club football can mount a realistic challenge to their position, they will continue to practially get a by into Ulster each year and probably eclipse Nemo in future.  Well done to them.
Post by: Orior on November 25, 2007, 08:42:50 PM
The Brits should take some credit for this Cross team. Throughout the troubles, their presence created a mentality of no surender, and never beaten. Yes, today's win should even help them get over their Croatian depression.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 25, 2007, 09:20:04 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 25, 2007, 08:15:14 PM
QuoteThey are the greatest club team ever and are worthy of this thread.

Nemo Rangers are in fact the greatest football club team ever, their achievements made all the more impressive since Cork is such a successful hurling county.  Cross are undoubtedly second and unless Armagh club football can mount a realistic challenge to their position, they will continue to practially get a by into Ulster each year and probably eclipse Nemo in future.  Well done to them.

Actually, the greatest challenge that Cross faced in this year's Championship (to date) was in Armagh, when they got it tight in a draw with Dromintee!

Given the logic that you were applying to Armagh football, in your previous post, based on a false premiss (quoted above), does it now follow that in the light of this new 'fact', you feel  that once Cross get out of Armagh, they have a bye to an All Ireland Club Semi Final?

Bring back Tyrone's Big Daddy/JohnnyBoy!   ;)
Post by: Pangurban on November 25, 2007, 09:36:02 PM
Undoubtedly a great Club and Team. Just wondering are all players native to the parish or do they from outside
Post by: Over the Bar on November 25, 2007, 10:40:19 PM
QuoteJust wondering are all players native to the parish or do they from outside

Donaldson is the obvious one, but are ther any others who have played for other clubs?
Post by: Orior on November 25, 2007, 10:42:50 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on November 25, 2007, 09:36:02 PM
Undoubtedly a great Club and Team. Just wondering are all players native to the parish or do they from outside

Do St Galls turn away St Mary's students?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 10:47:02 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 25, 2007, 10:40:19 PM
QuoteJust wondering are all players native to the parish or do they from outside

Donaldson is the obvious one, but are ther any others who have played for other clubs?
Stephen Clarke and John Murtagh

Cross share the parish of upper creggan with three other clubs.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2007, 10:53:21 PM
Lads, there is no doubt we are the best team of the modern era.  I am enjoying a few beers down in Cork here after watching the lads showing how great they actuall are!

As regards the lecality of the players, there are  3 that played for other clubs, JD as mentioned, John Murtagh, nephew of the manager and Stevie Clarke.  Clarkie is different as he actually started out playing for Cross but his family moved to Mullaghbawn.  He transferred back I think during minors but I cannot be a 100% sure of that. 

As regards whether they are the greatest ever in comparison to Nemo I had an argument with a journalist down here about that.  Yes, nemo have won the most AI's but they have been spread over a greater period of time and very few players would fall into the status of the Macs or Oisin in longevity.  A further point is that Nemo are streets behind in terms of local success.  They did not win the Cork Championship until the early 70's when Billy Morgan and a few others made the breakthrough.  It is all relative.  I believe that as a group of players we were the best ever single group and the current squad is building nicely on that.   
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 11:07:32 PM
Quotepints as for cross sharing a with other parish, yes your correct but there are a few borders if thats what you could call it where players can play for any team,
Only as far as cross is concerned!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 11:17:18 PM
Quote from: dontcare on November 25, 2007, 11:12:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 11:07:32 PM
Quotepints as for cross sharing a with other parish, yes your correct but there are a few borders if thats what you could call it where players can play for any team,
Only as far as cross is concerned!

dont think thats right pints, glen hanratty played for cross and then moved to play for the bridge,

So?
Post by: RONAN on November 26, 2007, 09:40:22 AM
Have to agree with Broken Crossbar in sayin that Cross are without doubt the best club of the modern era. They just seem to keep goin and goin, if one player gets injured, another able replacement fills in without any fuss. Credit were credit is due to Oisin as well, proved yesterday, weather you like him or not, he is probably one of the best forwards of the modern game.
Post by: shark on November 26, 2007, 10:10:20 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2007, 10:53:21 PM
very few players would fall into the status of the Macs or Oisin in longevity.   

Just to pick you up on that point, Stephen O'Brien played in the 89, 94 and 03 winning sides. Jimmy Kerrigan and Tony Nation  in 82, 84, 89 and 94. Dinny Allen in 79, 82, 84 and 89. Joe Kavanagh and Colin Corkery in 94 and 03. Thats only off the top of my head. The Cross lads have won all-irelands 10 years apart, a magnificent achievement but in terms of longevity they are not alone.

Also Nemo might not have come on the scene since the early 70's but they do already have the most Cork SF Championships (16). Nearly averaging one every two years and this while the likes of St.Finbarrs and O'Donovan Rossa were winning all-irelands. So they do have quite impressive local success. No Armagh club won an Ulster title between '75 and '95 so I think its a valid point that Nemo are coming from a more difficult county championship.

Anyways just tying to liven up a pretty one sided debate here, both superb clubs and surely odds on the meet in the all-ireland final this year.
Post by: orangeman on November 26, 2007, 11:31:53 AM
Cross are without doubt the finest team in the modern era and that's all that matters !!!!!!

We'll never see a team like them again - the only way a better team will come along is if the GPA come along and introuduce a transfer system.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 26, 2007, 11:42:41 AM
delighted to see Cross won again.
Maybe a super all Ireland final between the two greatest clubs in the history of the GAA could occur next St Patricks day ?
Is the draw for the semi finals keeping them apart hopefully?
Post by: bennydorano on November 26, 2007, 12:12:27 PM
Cross will play Leinster champs if they get past the British Champs
Post by: stpauls on November 26, 2007, 12:25:55 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2007, 10:53:21 PM

As regards the lecality of the players, there are  3 that played for other clubs, JD as mentioned, John Murtagh, nephew of the manager and Stevie Clarke.  Clarkie is different as he actually started out playing for Cross but his family moved to Mullaghbawn.  He transferred back I think during minors but I cannot be a 100% sure of that. 

BC is right here, Stephen Clarke did move to Mullaghbawn and played with us until he got his driving licence and was able to drive himself to Cross for training!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 26, 2007, 01:02:38 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on November 26, 2007, 12:12:27 PM
Cross will play Leinster champs if they get past the British Champs

next up is the battle of britain so to speak then  :o
Post by: Zapatista on November 26, 2007, 01:48:07 PM
If I had of known the GFA would spawn the ultimate footballing unit and it would be Crossmaglen in Armagh I might of reconcidered.
Post by: thebuzz on November 26, 2007, 02:09:28 PM
Generally speaking when a team have had a lot of success the older players lose the hunger but in Crossmaglen's case it's different. Aaron Kernan said in an interview a couple of weeks ago that it was the fear of losing which kept them going more than anything else. I'd say that this is the case because they have been winning for so long and they don't want to have the name of being the first team that lost. A mixture of this and the hunger of the new less established players keep them going from strength to strength.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 26, 2007, 02:26:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 10:47:02 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 25, 2007, 10:40:19 PM

Stephen Clarke and John Murtagh

Cross share the parish of upper creggan with three other clubs.

If rumours are true there will also be a former club man of your joining that list in the coming years!!

A lot of successfull teams will have one or two that is no home grown, fair play to Cross, they are an amazing club and the best of luck to them.
Post by: AFS on November 26, 2007, 07:32:05 PM
The idea that the Armagh club championship is weak is misconception. If Crossmaglen were in anyone of about 25 other counties they'd have a similar record. Of the 12 Armagh titles they've won they've gone on to win the ulster championship 6 times. This means that 6 out of the last 12 years they definitely would have won any county championship in ulster. They've also won the all Ireland 4 times out of 11 meaning that in those 4 years they obviously would have won any county championship in Ireland.

For me there is only a handful of counties in which Cross would not have a similar record, namely: Derry, Mayo, Cork, Galway and maybe Laois,  and Tyrone. Even in these 'stronger' counties they would still have at least 7 or 8 of the last 12 though.
Post by: glenullinabu on November 26, 2007, 09:10:56 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 26, 2007, 07:32:05 PM
For me there is only a handful of counties in which Cross would not have a similar record, namely: Derry, Mayo, Cork, Galway and maybe Laois,  and Tyrone. Even in these 'stronger' counties they would still have at least 7 or 8 of the last 12 though.

personally i think theyd have cleaned up in derry too, apart from losing a couple of finals to maybe the near great bellaghy team of the 1990s and the ballinderry ai champions
Post by: Tyrones own on November 27, 2007, 08:28:05 PM
Quote from: corn02 on November 25, 2007, 07:11:12 PM
What is your point?

Point being Corn is that i remember the up roar from the Orchard men castigating large
Joe for playing him on the county team "when he doesn't even warrant a place on the Cross team"
Then to get a mention in the same sentence as the loss of Francie and co being detrimental to their success
was a little confusing, that's all.
Post by: corn02 on November 27, 2007, 09:20:15 PM
Big difference between Club and County Tyrones own.
Post by: seanaglis on November 27, 2007, 10:21:48 PM
I remember playing against cross in the minors a few years ago and they had a full-back was one of the best players i ever played against, Willie clarke. He was brilliant - why is he not on the cross panel? Peter Rogers was playing too, what happened to him? Can BCB1 answer this?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 28, 2007, 12:19:20 AM
Quote from: corn02 on November 27, 2007, 09:20:15 PM
Big difference between Club and County Tyrones own.

I definitely agree corn but the "He can't even get his place on the Cross team"
was quoted directly from Armagh men on this board a number of months ago, that's the reason for me questioning
Armagh Exile adding Stephen's name to a list of players that were being sorely missed :-\
Post by: Leo on November 28, 2007, 09:14:59 AM
I was a guest at a day at the races run by Crossmaglen at Fairyhouse a few years ago when they were raising money for the new stand. Spoke to the organisers Magee Events who told me they had done over 100 of these events all over Ireland and that Cross were the best committee they dealt with.
Over 1000 at the evnt and not a hitch or hint of trouble. I felt proud to be a guest of that club that day and I'm not even from Armagh.
That sort of organisational stability is I believe an essentail ingredient in their tremendous success on the pitch.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2007, 09:39:17 AM
Cross wouldn't have won 12 Kerry titles either, because the Divisional sides in Kerry are stronger than a lot of clubs, they just aren't allowed to enter the All Ireland Club. For example South Kerry have beaten Dr. Crokes 3 times in recent years, and Cross had a struggle with them.

Crossmaglen are a fantastic club side, and are a credit to Armagh football. They deserve all the respect in the world. Let's leave it at that.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 28, 2007, 09:43:20 AM
QuoteCross wouldn't have won 12 Kerry titles either, because the Divisional sides in Kerry are stronger than a lot of clubs, they just aren't allowed to enter the All Ireland Club. For example South Kerry have beaten Dr. Crokes 3 times in recent years, and Cross had a struggle with them.

Because the divisional sides are stronger than alot of clubs.  Not too familiar with why they do that in Kerry, but why should a divisional side be allowed to enter the provincial championship, never mind the county championship.  I'm sure every county could follow suit and have a North, South, East or West team, but its hardly fair.

Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2007, 09:46:18 AM
I'm not saying they should be, in fact I have this argument all the time down there. Precisely because they are strong, I feel it is correct that they are not allowed enter. It's an unfair advantage.

However, Kerry, (and other counties) allow it because it raises the standard of their county championship, which in turn helps raise the standard of the players coming through to the county team. Because the standard is high, therefore, I would say that Cross would not have won 12 on the trot in Kerry, but they would be perennial contenders, and frequent winners. Similar to other club teams like Gaelteacht, Crokes, Laune Rangers etc.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 28, 2007, 09:48:53 AM
Yeah, I agree that they wouldnt have won 12 in a row.  Who beat Dr Crokes this year?
Post by: corn02 on November 28, 2007, 10:36:20 AM
Fair enough Tyrones own. I would of been one of the ones who said that about him. The games against Donegal and Derry he defientely done better than I expected but he would still not be good enough for the Armagh team in my eyes. He is impressing though and if he keeps continuing I am sure he will prove me wrong.
Post by: illdecide on November 28, 2007, 11:24:18 AM
Cross are a fantastic team no one can dispute that. But IMHO i believe when Mr McConville, McEntee's, Donaldson and Belew quit (which is not that far away) they will be very beatable. Don't get me wrong they will still win their fair share of Armagh titles but they will not dominate they way they are at this present time.

Those men cannot be replaced, the young guys coming in are good but they are not in that class...
Post by: crossfire on November 28, 2007, 11:31:46 AM
TO SEANAGLIS
The "Demon" drink in both cases.

However Willie has a brother Jamie who has just joined the panel from the minors.
Hasn't got the bad habits of big bro and will be a brilliant corner forward.
Watch out for him.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 12:37:32 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 27, 2007, 08:28:05 PM
What is your point?

Point being Corn is that i remember the up roar from the Orchard men castigating large
Joe for playing him on the county team "when he doesn't even warrant a place on the Cross team"
Then to get a mention in the same sentence as the loss of Francie and co being detrimental to their success

I have to say here that when people use the argument about SK not even being first choice with his Club at number 11, then they are being a wee bit disengenuous. SK is not first choice because the best number 11 in the County also plays for the same Club, i.e. John McEntee. John McEntee would still be playing for the County if he had not chosen to retire at the start of this year.
Post by: Candyman on November 28, 2007, 12:43:51 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 12:37:32 PM
What is your point?

I have to say here that when people use the argument about SK not even being first choice with his Club at number 11, then they are being a wee bit disengenuous. SK is not first choice because the best number 11 in the County also plays for the same Club, i.e. John McEntee. John McEntee would still be playing for the County if he had not chosen to retire at the start of this year.
Rufus old buddy, old pal... ;)
I have to disagree with part of your post...
You are right about the whole John Mac playing number 11 but surely if SK is good enough to warrant a place on the Armagh starting line-up he should be taking the place of say Martin (Fish)Aherne(sp?) in the cross half forward line???
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 01:01:24 PM
Quote from: Candyman on November 28, 2007, 12:43:51 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 12:37:32 PM
What is your point?

Rufus old buddy, old pal... ;)
I have to disagree with part of your post...
You are right about the whole John Mac playing number 11 but surely if SK is good enough to warrant a place on the Armagh starting line-up he should be taking the place of say Martin (Fish)Aherne(sp?) in the cross half forward line???

Candyman my old china!  I didn't say SK was good enough to warrant a place on the starting line up!   ;)
Post by: Candyman on November 28, 2007, 01:05:49 PM
I know I know, lets not go on like POG & Snowed Under!!!  :P
I do have a point though (which has been raised a number of times on the board...)
Post by: orangeman on November 28, 2007, 01:06:38 PM
I'd love to see the Mc Entees back again for Armagh - class footballers and nice lads too.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 01:09:55 PM
Quote from: Candyman on November 28, 2007, 01:05:49 PM
I do have a point though (which has been raised a number of times on the board...)

:D :D POG and my fellow Harps  man Snowed Under!   :D :D

Yes, you do have a point - I don't like to get involved in the SK argument as, regardless of the lad's right/ablity to play for Armagh, I do have genuine sympathy for the predicament he finds himself in and the fact that this predicament is the root of so much heated debate and anger.
Post by: Candyman on November 28, 2007, 01:15:07 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 01:09:55 PM

Yes, you do have a point - I don't like to get involved in the SK argument as, regardless of the lad's right/ablity to play for Armagh, I do have genuine sympathy for the predicament he finds himself in and the fact that this predicament is the root of so much heated debate and anger.
correcto!!!  ;D
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 03:15:41 PM

You're sure of that Rufus?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 28, 2007, 03:25:35 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 03:15:41 PM

You're sure of that Rufus?

Well if the criterion is payment of membership, then I am not so sure!   ;)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 05:48:19 PM
Pat Molloy correct for once. BTW i'd always like to see the Harps win.
Post by: bigfrank on September 05, 2009, 08:51:12 PM
any word on teams or scorers???
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 05, 2009, 08:55:39 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on September 05, 2009, 08:52:15 PM
I guess Ronan Clarke must have did the business?

No, Ronan Clarke only scored 1 or 2 points.  The better team win a tight game 7 points to 4.

Plus Pearse Ogs were denied a certain penalty half way thru the 2nd half.
Post by: Schkite on September 05, 2009, 10:06:23 PM
Jaysus, end of an era so.
Post by: IVEDECIDED on September 05, 2009, 10:13:41 PM
Quote from: seanaglis on November 27, 2007, 10:21:48 PM
I remember playing against cross in the minors a few years ago and they had a full-back was one of the best players i ever played against, Willie clarke. He was brilliant - why is he not on the cross panel? Peter Rogers was playing too, what happened to him? Can BCB1 answer this?

I can - drink and women!!
Post by: IVEDECIDED on September 05, 2009, 10:15:40 PM
12 Armagh
6 Ulster
4 All-Irelands

That must have been a different cross that lost last years all-ireland final then!!! idiots!
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2009, 10:19:43 PM
Some team.

Post by: emainmacha on September 05, 2009, 10:25:33 PM
Photos from game

http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/sets/72157622132856617/detail/
Post by: Quagmire on September 05, 2009, 10:36:14 PM
Peter Rodgers has been having back problems for quite a while now, between that and the beer, he hasn't kicked ball in years.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on September 05, 2009, 11:44:29 PM
Quote from: IVEDECIDED on September 05, 2009, 10:15:40 PM
12 Armagh
6 Ulster
4 All-Irelands

That must have been a different cross that lost last years all-ireland final then!!! idiots!

Brains and you'd be dangerous!    :D
Post by: orangeman on September 05, 2009, 11:59:17 PM
Cross must be wondering what happened tonight. 4 points over 60 + minutes of football. They'll be doing some head scratching. 4 points is bound to be their lowest ever score.

Cross have given us tremendous entertainment over a long number of years. Thanks lads. End of an era.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 06, 2009, 12:02:47 AM
Glad they are gone.... wasn't always won with football!
Post by: orangeman on September 06, 2009, 12:08:40 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 06, 2009, 12:02:47 AM

?? what else ?
Post by: AFS on September 06, 2009, 12:18:24 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 06, 2009, 12:08:40 AM

?? what else ?

Surely you Tyronies should be able to spot a bitter Derryman by now?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 06, 2009, 12:18:52 AM
Quote from: IVEDECIDED on September 05, 2009, 10:15:40 PM
12 Armagh
6 Ulster
4 All-Irelands

Who is the idiot now??  Tool
Post by: Spirit of 94 on September 06, 2009, 12:24:28 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 06, 2009, 12:08:40 AM

?? what else ?
Tactics and bravery and a blatant disregard for "history".
Post by: bigpaul on September 06, 2009, 01:06:43 AM
Have to say, the last time Cross and Bellaghy played in the club c'ship, in Cross, Bellaghy gave one of the most cynical displays of football I have ever seen! Among many other things, the goalkeeper went down with a 'sore hand' on about four occasions in the second half, when they had built up a lead with the wind in the first-half. 
Post by: bennydorano on September 06, 2009, 09:04:01 AM
No they wont, and they were mising a few first teamers last night, but quite a few Armagh ones (myself included) have been saying for a while that the calibre of the young ones coming through is nowhere near the claibre of the Macs , McConvilles et al.  If those boys retire, which they will do at some stage, Cross will come back to the rest of the pack.  They always have been and always will be amongst the favourites for the Armagh Championship annually.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2009, 10:13:32 AM

Whatever you reckon, I have a strong memory of a cracked jaw from one of your players in 1996 and I can go back as far as 1986 to when we palyed you boys to show that football didn't always win it for Bellaghy.  Have some respect for yourself and shut up.

Well done Ogs, this is not an end for Cross, I actually think it is the beginning of a new era for them.  They may not dominate as much as they have over the last 13 years but the next 5 months will let a lot of battered bodies rest and recover.  Time for a lot of thinking and evaluation, and time to plan another onslaught next year!
Post by: orange2009 on September 06, 2009, 10:32:51 AM
Match report and reaction to Crossmaglen's first defeat in Armagh SFC in 13 years

http://www.armagh-gaa.com/Armagh-TV/News/Crossmaglen-fall-in-SFC-for-first-time-since-1995.aspx
Post by: INDIANA on September 06, 2009, 11:12:04 AM
Some run lads 1995. All good things come to an end unfortunately. Mighn't be a bad thing though for Armagh football.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 06, 2009, 11:29:41 AM
It's been constant for those boys for a long time. With provincial club football you really don't get much of a close season especially if you win. A rest will do a lot of them the world of good and they may be better for it.

It makes ulster a lot more interesting now. No Mayobridge and no Crossmaglen. St Galls would be the only one of the teams we expect to challenge every year left. I could see Cargin beating them too.

TFAL covering himself in glory as usual I see.
Post by: bennydorano on September 06, 2009, 11:37:41 AM
I always maintained that Cross probably denied an excellent Dromintee team at least 1 Ulster Club title, the Ogs would probably feel the same.  Have to say after the game last night the Ogs looked very focused and might have their sights set on more that the Armagh SFC. 

Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 06, 2009, 12:18:04 PM
Who'd be the favourites for the Armagh SFC now lads?
Post by: Madge on September 06, 2009, 12:20:57 PM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 06, 2009, 12:18:04 PM
Who'd be the favourites for the Armagh SFC now lads?

The Og's would have to be. They were second in the btting anyway after Cross and now with beating them they would have to be hot favourites.
Post by: crossfire on September 06, 2009, 01:38:38 PM
Quote from: IVEDECIDED on September 05, 2009, 10:13:41 PM
Quote from: seanaglis on November 27, 2007, 10:21:48 PM

I can - drink and women!!

You are a bit slow.

I answered that question almost 2 years ago on previous page.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 06, 2009, 03:03:25 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on August 19, 2009, 12:37:30 PM
I think November 29th will see Crossmaglen playing Glennullin. I wonder what odds you would get on that now?

i hope he kept his money in his pocket. Doesnt fancy Bellaghy either obviously. tonesfirstandlast but backs other clubs in between. (cue the portglenone gag for the 146th time)
Post by: omagh_gael on September 06, 2009, 03:24:10 PM
with cross gone how will it affect Armagh next year with the cross lads available for the full NFL?
Post by: behind the wire on September 06, 2009, 05:51:20 PM

Shows how little you know about football.

i cant think of any successful team that could win so much with good clean football. why? because its been a common occurence for teams to enter ulster championship games with the intention of kicking cross off the field, ballinderry last year was a good example. point is cross could play it whatever way the opposition wanted to play it and still come out on top. sign of a great team.
Post by: winsamsoon on September 06, 2009, 06:10:50 PM
FFS lads it is easy now to sit back and take pot shots at the cross when they have finally been beaten. I don't think any of the cross lads would deny that on occassions the cross were cynical whores but as the lads have pointed out there were other teams trying the same against them.

The Cross always did what they had to do to win because it was in their mentality. I can tell you if my club would have achieved the same record as cross i wouldn't care if they have to kill the other team. So i really don't see how people can knock them for this as they had it to do to win.

On the actual Armagh championship the ogs will of course be bookies favourites but they are no cross. The stigma that cross had is not with the ogs. Last night there were players from all other clubs in the championship at the game. They weren't saying that is an awesome ogs teams but they were saying the championship is now wide open. The og's will get the next game the play just as tight. Now i am not saying they are not going to win it but they have a long road to go "one swallow doesn't make a summer" and all that. Whoever the og's get in the next round will give them all they want. The og's will be high on confidence but it can quickly be brought down to earth. But that is all in the future and for a change it is without Cros. For the benefit of the  other clubs this is a good thing
Post by: wheres he takin er from on September 06, 2009, 08:14:12 PM
fair due's to cross. Great team, finally lost a game doesn't mean they're gone. Surely they'll be ragin hot favourites this time next year in armagh, refreshed and remotivated. On a side note i absolutely adore going to ulster club games in cross and pints afterwards. Gonna miss it this year. :(
Post by: orange2009 on September 07, 2009, 09:42:11 AM
Crossmaglen captain Aaron Kernan and Pearse Og Manager Brendan Hughes react to the Ogs historic victory over Crossmaglen at the weekend

http://armagh-gaa.com/Armagh-TV/News/More-reaction-from-Crossmaglens-defeat.aspx
Post by: thebandit on September 07, 2009, 10:01:23 AM
Quote from: orange2009 on September 07, 2009, 09:42:11 AM
Crossmaglen captain Aaron Kernan and Pearse Og Manager Brendan Hughes react to the Ogs historic victory over Crossmaglen at the weekend

http://armagh-gaa.com/Armagh-TV/News/More-reaction-from-Crossmaglens-defeat.aspx

Those clips are very good, the ulster website stuff has been very good this year as well.
Post by: robertemmet on September 08, 2009, 01:11:12 PM
Crossmaglen are a brilliant outfit, they are a club that everyone else are envious of.  I am sure they will be back again with the tremendous conveyor belt of youth they have.
Post by: Family guy on September 08, 2009, 09:49:06 PM
What club did johnny murtagh play with before he went to play for cross,and at what age did he move???
Post by: crossfire on September 08, 2009, 10:16:55 PM
His father Raymond was from Cross but went to live in Cullyhanna when he got married.
John played underage for Cullyhanna until he was about 15.
His father then built a bungalow on his home place in Cross and the family moved back there.
John then transferred to Rangers.
The current Rangers manager Donal is his uncle.
Post by: Family guy on September 09, 2009, 03:10:23 AM
thank
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on September 10, 2009, 03:46:02 PM
I'm sure many's a steward at the venues around Ulster glad to see the back of this arrogant bunch of players and officials
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 07:35:19 PM
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 28, 2009, 07:41:07 PM
Quote from: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 07:35:19 PM
Well pintsofguinness how r u keepin.do u no me from da club. Sit u down u spy. Sunday game ringtone
Wha?
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 07:44:59 PM
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 28, 2009, 07:47:10 PM
Um, no. 
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 07:47:49 PM
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 28, 2009, 08:08:26 PM
Quote from: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 07:47:49 PM
U from armagh
Yeah, but I'm a 'bridge man, your a Harps man and your asking me do I know you from the club on the cross rangers thread, I'm very confused. 

Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:11:14 PM
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 28, 2009, 08:12:23 PM
Quote from: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:11:14 PM
How did u no im a harps man
Ive read your posts!
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:16:05 PM
Who do u think will win the county final
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 28, 2009, 08:26:08 PM
Quote from: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:16:05 PM
Who do u think will win the county final
I don't know but I hope ogs do it.  Nothing against the Harps but I'd like to see ogs do it after beating Cross. 
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:29:49 PM
I no the ogs r goin in strong favs but u never no wat wuld happen. The harps wuld put up a better display than that clan eriann game last nite.
Post by: Madge on September 28, 2009, 09:02:42 PM
Quote from: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 08:11:14 PM
How did u no im a harps man

You have it written under your name you fool.
Post by: ITS KAAAT on September 28, 2009, 09:05:41 PM
Post by: thewanderer on September 29, 2009, 11:02:34 AM
get back to school to fool. wise upppppppppppppp. no more silly posts as ur making a fool of yourself. :-[