Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: 2024 League Competition......
Last post by ranch - Today at 07:13:57 AM

Rd 7 Games on 23/24 March.

Derry
Dublin
Kerry
Mayo

Cavan
Cork
Donegal
Louth

Wicklow
Down
Offaly
Westmeath

Carlow
Laois
Longford
Leitrim v Tipperary DRAW

GAA Discussion / Re: 2024 League Competition......
Last post by pbat - Today at 05:45:27 AM
Derry v Roscommon 
Dublin v Tyrone
Kerry v Galway DRAW
Monaghan v Mayo 

Cavan v Fermanagh 
Cork v Armagh
Donegal v Meath
Kildare v Louth

Antrim
v Wicklow
Down v Clare 
Offaly v Limerick
Sligo v Westmeath

Carlow v London
Waterford v Laois
Wexford v Longford
Leitrim v Tipperary
Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by Splash - Today at 12:57:31 AM
Quote from: Sandstorm on March 17, 2024, 10:08:04 AMI am not big into hurling but love Splash's posts. Very informative and no resorting to abusing anyone.
Great to see the hurlers making the league semi finals. Let's have an update on yesterday's game Splash and keep up the good work.
Quote from: ardtole on March 17, 2024, 11:48:52 AMSplash has certainly been a welcome addition to the Down forum. I enjoy the coverage of the ihc and jhc during the summer, games you would generally hear little about. It's encouraging to hear of progress at underage particularly at clubs like Castlewellan and CPN, where you would associate them more as football clubs.

Appreciate it. Just trying to keep as much hurling discussion going as possible. We all want the best for Down, Sandstorm,  ;D no call to resort to bickering or insulting anyone, and glad you find the talk about the junior and intermediate interesting,  Ardtole.

Glad yous are enjoying the bit of hurling discussion going on, lately.

Anyway, a great day out for the hurlers on Saturday. A 9 point win on such a miserable day. Not bad at all.

Daithí Sands was unreal, scoring 3-3 from play.

That relegates Meath and sends us into a league semi final. 70 minutes away from being back in Division One. Will now face Laois next week, in Laois.

Will be a very tough game. Down gave Laois a scare in the first round, and they'll not be expecting an easy game, and Laois will feel as though they're well fit to compete with Antrim, Westmeath, and Offaly next year. But Down have been going very good this season. Undefeated at home, and biggest loss was only 7 points after a late goal and some last minute frees by Laois in the first round.

Couple injuries and Eoghan Sands likely to miss the game after getting sent off the other day, but there's a good depth to this Down squad, so let's be hopeful.

Would be great to see Down in the Division One, and they've shown they're well fit to compete with the likes of Antrim, Westmeath, Offaly, etc.

Let's hope the momentum keeps going until Saturday.

GAA Discussion / Re: Peter Canavan:Ditching lea...
Last post by Eire90 - Today at 12:44:51 AM
Quote from: onefineday on Today at 12:30:04 AMDon't entirely disagree with canavan's sentiment, but you'd have to say that without a league final, there'd be far less likelihood of games having anything on the line and most games would likely be dead rubbers.
No need for d.2, d.3 or d.4 finals - pointless.

Re div 1, be nice to have some incentive that'd really make it worth winning - guaranteed top seed in Sam groups or something?
Or, something I proposed before, get rid of the neutral game (which is stupid anyway) and have the provincial winners and 4 second seeds (determined by league placings) get 2 home games.
To make the league final count - we could make League winners the top seed, the remaining 3 top seeds could be the winners of the strongest 3 provinces - determined by average league placings of participants.
That'd maybe put the warm weather training out of Kerry!!!

i have said merge the connaght and munster championships and the 4 seeds be 3 provincial winners and league champions.
Last post by onefineday - Today at 12:30:04 AM
Don't entirely disagree with canavan's sentiment, but you'd have to say that without a league final, there'd be far less likelihood of games having anything on the line and most games would likely be dead rubbers.
No need for d.2, d.3 or d.4 finals - pointless.

Re div 1, be nice to have some incentive that'd really make it worth winning - guaranteed top seed in Sam groups or something?
Or, something I proposed before, get rid of the neutral game (which is stupid anyway) and have the provincial winners and 4 second seeds (determined by league placings) get 2 home games.
To make the league final count - we could make League winners the top seed, the remaining 3 top seeds could be the winners of the strongest 3 provinces - determined by average league placings of participants.
That'd maybe put the warm weather training out of Kerry!!!
Last post by Laois Rising - Today at 12:23:28 AM
I think the league is worth protecting and winning a national competition in Croke Park on a finals day is something worth striving for by any team. We should be building up the significance of and celebrating the achievements of counties winning a national league title.

What Derry has achieved so far this year is hugely impressive and watching them in a league final v Dublin in Croker in front of 40,000 plus would interest me far more greatly than having to watch the 24 championship group games dragged out over 4 weeks that are played to lose only four counties from the All-Ireland race by the end of it. We should be protecting the big footballing days on our calendar, not trying to get rid of them.     
General discussion / Re: Hamas launch attack on Is...
Last post by theskull1 - Today at 12:21:30 AM
How Israel controls Governments

General discussion / Re: The IRISH RUGBY thread
Last post by JoG2 - March 18, 2024, 11:49:30 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 18, 2024, 10:10:23 PMThe 6N isn't a European championship. It's a private members competition. And an extremely successful one at that.

What could any of its members possibly gain from changing things up? I can't think is a single thing.

This concept of it growing the game is nonsense. Sports do not grow in popularity by providing a showcase for mismatches.

Like the Euro / WC qualifiers or the old All Ireland series?
Laois / Re: Laois Senior Footballers 2...
Last post by Jd - March 18, 2024, 11:49:15 PM
We were very poor Saturday evening but Leitrim probably wanted it a bit more. You saw the reaction at the end they treated it like an all Against the wind I think our keeper struggled a bit and kept kicking the short ones to the wettest place on the pitch where lads were struggling to hold their feet. A good few turnovers came from that.that kick has to be on the chest. We looked a bit exposed when Leitrim just lorried the ball in long and they probably left a few goals behind them. A poor result but hopefully not too costly
General discussion / Re: Teachers get it handy!
Last post by Milltown Row2 - March 18, 2024, 11:47:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 18, 2024, 10:20:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 18, 2024, 09:56:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 18, 2024, 08:46:03 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 18, 2024, 05:23:25 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on March 18, 2024, 04:44:30 PMTo a point but this deal (~13% and no workload agreement) is going to fly over the finishing line without a bother.
I don't think, say, 4% and an agreed workload solution would.
Money talks.

The younger teachers are blinded by the money and haven't ever went through the unrealistic inspection show/game/charade or whatever you'd like to call it.
What's the fear teachers have of being inspected? My wife is yapping about it and she hasn't been inspected in 14 years!  ::) Maybe if inspections were more frequent e.g. annually, there would be less fuss about it.

A principal killed herself recently in England after an inspection based on the results given afterwards

Inspections do bring a level of pressure on the school and teachers.

Inspections though need to be look at in how they are conducted.

And no issues with regular 'pop in' day inspections. Having been through a few back in the day you'll never be perfect to what they are looking but providing you're not some clampit you'll get through it

Many jobs have some form of inspections or audits but you usually know well in advance

But I don't think inspections are a major issue when talking to teachers

She didn't kill herself because of an inspection. She killed herself because she had problems with her mental health, exacerbated by the outcome of an inspection.

We have some form of audit almost weekly and regulatory inspections every couple of years. The latter aren't for the faint-hearted but they are important.

Today, the coroner's conclusions validate what our family has known for a long time - that Ruth took her own life as the direct result of the process, outcome and consequences of an Ofsted inspection of the school she led and loved, Caversham Primary School," Prof Waters

But you know better