Christmas Parties

Started by southdown, December 06, 2013, 12:29:53 PM

Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 01:05:03 PM
I believe bigfella has hired the whole of the Europa for his company's staff outing.
Go for a locka pints first to warm up, stick with wine through the dinner and move onto the bottled beers afterwards. They'd tick with the bottles til the indigestion clears then you can have a coupla halfuns. You'll be grand.

Gallybander

What are people's opinions on Christmas parties?
Every year the papers have articles warning people about not punching the boss or groping a colleague.
But I've been going to these things for years and they're always tame. Nothing unusual happens, bar drinking.

Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 12:45:09 PMWhat are people's opinions on Christmas parties?
Every year the papers have articles warning people about not punching the boss or groping a colleague.
But I've been going to these things for years and they're always tame. Nothing unusual happens, bar drinking.

Punch yer boss and get back to us good man

Last year there was a Christmas party in at the same time as ours, some woman obviously going for her annual binge, absolutely wrote off at about 7pm being held up by two colleagues, one roaring the place down "She's been spiked!!!"

Brendan

Haven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!

Gallybander

Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
What sort of scandal?

Brendan

Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 01:08:45 PM
Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
What sort of scandal?

Bosses attacked, people caught taking coke in the toilets, groping etc

Gallybander

Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:10:41 PM
Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 01:08:45 PM
What sort of scandal?

Bosses attacked, people caught taking coke in the toilets, groping etc
I need to switch companies!

jb77

Fisticuffs last year, wasn't there wont be at any for the foreseeable. People who don't touch drink all year and don't know their capabilities

We'd a sacking after last year. Some people a disaster.

Have seen multiple bad enough incidents over the years too.

That just leads to people getting pissed earlier in the day lol

An Watcher

I feel like its dying a death a bit?  Back in the day everyone couldn't wait to get out on the lash.  Now, I feel like many if thr young ones need to be persuaded and those that do attend, dont hang around.  The way it is intended suppose

Ah the craic has rightly, I may add, died down on the Xmas parties.. Never any issues bar one while working on the tools but, christ when I worked in mixed setting it was an eye opener alright..

We'd have the lunch or just after work locally now with those in your team, far more sensible and no aftermath to worry about
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

In my Belfast days we went to the hotel beside Bot (wellington?) where there were a few Xmas parties on at same time. Wasn't our firm but a couple were at it in the toilet

That's all I've got

Ethan Tremblay

At my own a few years ago a guy was more or less being racist to a co-worker who was chinese.   

He also went on to offend a co workers wife, when she stated she was a chair of a feminist organisation in her spare time, he responded with "whats that, womens rights and all that sh1t. 

At the wifes there has been numerous affairs, fights, ones blocked.  Her crowd has 200+ working for them.  Needless to say they are also now having christmas lunch instead.
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...