AISF Mayo v Dublin

Started by Mayo4Sam14, August 09, 2015, 01:08:54 AM

Mayo v Dublin Replay

Mayo
Dublin

If Mayo lose by more than 3 points esp in a disappointing manner all kinds of fools will be out with Pitchforks for the Boys .

Quote from: rosnarun on August 12, 2015, 10:25:54 AM
If Mayo lose by more than 3 points esp in a disappointing manner all kinds of fools will be out with Pitchforks for the Boys .

In fairness ye could use the 'we just weren't good enough' excuse for the Kerry games back in the mid 00s and the mid 99s. Everyone knows this Mayo team have been good enough to win an AI and if they don't do it they will go down as the greatest nearly men in GAA history.

of course they were good enough in the mid 90's the meath game ended in a a freak colm coyle point to draw the game. you literal could not gert closer than that.
and the kerry one we lost to to genius that was Maurice Fitz in his prime , no shame there even if he did not have a great team to back him up,

id agree with 2004 and 2006

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 11, 2015, 08:06:49 PM
Quote from: StephenC on August 11, 2015, 07:31:52 PM
Whilst I know that only an AI will cut it, Mayo people have to be pretty happy with the joint management team so far? Navigated the league well and maintained D1 status, and seem to have tailored training well to peak at this time of year. No rumblings of discontent coming from the camp (that I've heard at least) and some good tactical abilities demonstrated (against us in particular).

They had a tough act to follow but seem to be doing a fine job so far?

I was fairly sceptical with the manner in which they were appointed but all credit to them, they've done extremely well
Yeah, I thought Pateen wouldn't be able to organise a piss up in a brewery, going by his record the last time he was manager. He took a fine team and managed to lose every championship game they played. After the league game against the Dubs and thhe diabolical display of our team I was 100% certain that they wouldn't be able to beat Catty Barry, never winning the Connacht fiinal. However, himself and Noel seem to be on top of the joob and impproving with each outing. Now, only two to go! :D

Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 12, 2015, 01:29:11 PM
Whilst I know that only an AI will cut it, Mayo people have to be pretty happy with the joint management team so far? Navigated the league well and maintained D1 status, and seem to have tailored training well to peak at this time of year. No rumblings of discontent coming from the camp (that I've heard at least) and some good tactical abilities demonstrated (against us in particular).

I was fairly sceptical with the manner in which they were appointed but all credit to them, they've done extremely well
Yeah, I thought Pateen wouldn't be able to organise a piss up in a brewery, going by his record the last time he was manager. He took a fine team and managed to lose every championship game they played. After the league game against the Dubs and thhe diabolical display of our team I was 100% certain that they wouldn't be able to beat Catty Barry, never winning the Connacht fiinal. However, himself and Noel seem to be on top of the joob and impproving with each outing. Now, only two to go! :D

At least he's continued his fine tradition of losing to Roscommon Lar.

Won you a national title I think.

Quote from: Canalman on August 12, 2015, 02:01:45 PM

Won you a national title I think.

2 National Titles - NFL and U-21.

Mayo4Sam14

Who are people rating as favorites heading into this one? I haven't seen any odds but in my mind Dublin would still be clear favorites?
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!

Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 12, 2015, 10:31:22 PM
Who are people rating as favorites heading into this one? I haven't seen any odds but in my mind Dublin would still be clear favorites?

Dublin clear favourites with the bookies.

Quote from: Hardy on August 12, 2015, 10:41:38 PM
Dublin 8/13
Mayo 13/8

We've shortened slightly since Sunday

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 12, 2015, 10:45:35 PM
Dublin 8/13
Mayo 13/8

That'll be down to our  shrink-ray specialists .

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 12, 2015, 10:53:55 PM
Dublin 8/13
Mayo 13/8

That's grand, we'll use it to stay under the radar.

Dublin 8/13
Mayo 13/8

It's down to location, location and location. I don t hear the president of the GAA talking about giving big games to large provincial grounds these days? Hmmmmm. I cant imagine Limerick being used again - ever- for an AI semi in football. A joke!

Dublin should not be losing this at home. Mayo would need to be better considerably everywhere to win this, and while I think we are better we are not better enough to overcome the advantages that Dublin have.

I'm also half expecting Cormac Reilly appointed for this, just to put us in our place more. I remember Eamon McEneaney being given the job of us v Kerry in 04, after he fucked us in 06. Right away he gave the most soft couple of frees against Heaney, just to show how strong he was. I have no expectation of fairness going into this at all.

Mayo4Sam14

Quote from: moysider on August 13, 2015, 12:03:08 AM
Dublin 8/13
Mayo 13/8

It's down to location, location and location. I don t hear the president of the GAA talking about giving big games to large provincial grounds these days? Hmmmmm. I cant imagine Limerick being used again - ever- for an AI semi in football. A joke!

Dublin should not be losing this at home. Mayo would need to be better considerably everywhere to win this, and while I think we are better we are not better enough to overcome the advantages that Dublin have.

I'm also half expecting Cormac Reilly appointed for this, just to put us in our place more. I remember Eamon McEneaney being given the job of us v Kerry in 04, after he fucked us in 06. Right away he gave the most soft couple of frees against Heaney, just to show how strong he was. I have no expectation of fairness going into this at all.

Surely home advantage couldn't make that much of a difference
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!