GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GaillimhIarthair on April 26, 2007, 11:57:21 AM

Title: GAA Club Websites
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on April 26, 2007, 11:57:21 AM
I know this topic has probably been done to death on here, but Im looking to upgrade the Club website to something decent and I'm just wondering what are the approx costs involved and who would ye recommend to do a proper job in terms of setup etc.

Cheers
Title: Re: GAA Club Websites
Post by: ziggysego on April 26, 2007, 12:01:11 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on April 26, 2007, 11:57:21 AM
I know this topic has probably been done to death on here, but Im looking to upgrade the Club website to something decent and I'm just wondering what are the approx costs involved and who would ye recommend to do a proper job in terms of setup etc.

Cheers

GAA.ie give free templates and URLs for club websites.

Alternatively use the search to see the thread when this topic was last discussed ;)
Post by: Black and white on April 26, 2007, 02:01:08 PM
My club(kevin Lynchs) use gaelsport.  it is pretty good
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2007, 03:34:01 PM
QuoteMy club(kevin Lynchs) use gaelsport.  it is pretty good

Cost?
Post by: robertemmet on May 14, 2007, 08:31:17 PM
New Derry GAA Site

www.derrygaa.ie
Post by: heganboy on May 15, 2007, 03:52:00 AM
www.uujgaelic.com (with the tv...)
www.tyronegaa.ie
both done with gaelsport. Try and get someone to sponsor your site and/or the text messages- your club should make money from the website, not have a cost to maintain it. Give the lads at gaelsport a yell and see if they can help, there's details on their website.
Post by: Black and white on May 15, 2007, 10:04:23 AM
that is a poor attempt at a county website rob!! but tipical of the derry county board.  i think the kevin lynchs site cost something like £35 a month not sure dont deal with it myself
Post by: robertemmet on May 15, 2007, 10:26:04 AM
Every man is entitled to their opinion B&W.  If you have any spare time, I am sure the lads doing the site would appreciate any help, articles, photos etc to help improve it!

Post by: Black and white on May 15, 2007, 01:44:22 PM
to be honest i know a lot of people do a lot of good work for the gaa, but in my dealing with a few of the derry county board, i have found them a disgrace i must stress a few not all.  the website is a big improvement, i just thought it was an opportunity to do something really good which has been missed. i will not be helping them for personnel reasons which shouldnt effect my relationship with derry gaa, but it does as these people seem to think they are derry gaa
Post by: robertemmet on May 15, 2007, 08:07:39 PM
The website is nothing to do with the county board.  The people who setup the site are nothing to do with the county board.

So whatever problem you have due to previous experiences with co board, don't take it out on the ones doing the site.
Post by: flairgun on May 15, 2007, 10:34:47 PM
You might want to try calling Gaelsport as opposed to emailing them by the way.
I tried emailing them for a quote a couple of times and got no reponse from them.
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2007, 10:36:43 PM
Quote from: flairgun on May 15, 2007, 10:34:47 PM
I tried emailing them for a quote a couple of times and got no reponse from them.

That alone should say that might not be the best people to be building a website for you then.
Post by: Black and white on May 16, 2007, 09:45:32 AM
robert are you saying the derry gaa website has nothing to do with the derry county board? so it is not an official website just a fan website? i find that amasing, that a county would let fans run an official site.  is m hasson not on the county board?
Post by: Black and white on May 16, 2007, 09:49:09 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 15, 2007, 10:36:43 PM
Quote from: flairgun on May 15, 2007, 10:34:47 PM

That alone should say that might not be the best people to be building a website for you then.

Ziggy have you had anything to do with gaelsport?  they do our website and other systems and do seem to be very good we have never had a bad word to say about them. what has been your expereince?
Post by: robertemmet on May 16, 2007, 10:16:25 AM
It is the official derry website, but my point is that the webteam is not part of the county board, but a group of individiuals setting up an information facility for Derry fans, howerver the site is endorsed by the county board.

If someone wishes to setup a derry fan site, they are very welcome to do so.
Post by: Black and white on May 16, 2007, 12:06:07 PM
so your post stating the website has nothing to do with the county board is a lie? look dont get me wrong the website is a big improvement, you must have had something to do with it, but when i said i didnt want to contribute because of the county board you saiid it had nothing to do with them.  websites are one of the strongest marketing tools as well as a communication tool and the gaa are going to have to get up to speed on that. just becasue we are no 1sport in ireland doesnt mean we can slip. www.gaa.ie is the weakest sport website in ireland of the top 7-8 sports.
Post by: the colonel on May 16, 2007, 12:20:04 PM
anrtimgaa.net is a good page, look on the links to sites like gort na mona's and cushendalls who have good pages.
Post by: carnaross on November 04, 2007, 10:25:32 AM
St. Benedicts in Leeds use "intheteam" as a template for our site. They cover loads of sports. There is an annual cost depending on the variety required. It is relatively easy to administer once up and running. There is both a guestbook and a forum. Several clubs in the north of England use it. Worth a look.
Post by: amallon on November 06, 2007, 12:38:30 AM
Our site www.mayobridge.com is hosted with the GAA.  They provide a content management system and the template for the site.  The site is very easy to update its much like using a word processor but its pretty limited in the layout and functionality.  Its free but your site won't be hottest site on the web, although I believe there are some improvements in the pipeline.

Post by: Captain Scarlet on November 08, 2007, 05:43:30 PM
we have a thing called cutenews

www.johnstownbridgegaa.com

its a nice site but was let go for a while, only gettin it goin now. its a good format but as i said we need to get it going again with pics especially.

Post by: catweazle on November 08, 2007, 09:53:36 PM
Armaghgaa.net have redesigned their website also, sportsmanager.ie seem to be doing a lot of the County board websites around the country at the moment
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 08, 2007, 10:51:10 PM
the laois website is quite interesting

www.rentamidget.com
Post by: culchy1 on November 09, 2007, 09:20:10 AM
Try out our club website, www.RasharkinGAC.ie (http://rasharkingac.ie)

Our club is currently doing a development draw, for which you can purchase tickets online !

Any support is welcome.
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2007, 06:55:16 PM
It's a dead link culchy1.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 10, 2007, 12:52:33 PM
Quote from: amallon on November 06, 2007, 12:38:30 AM
Our site www.mayobridge.com is hosted with the GAA.  They provide a content management system and the template for the site.  The site is very easy to update its much like using a word processor but its pretty limited in the layout and functionality.  Its free but your site won't be hottest site on the web, although I believe there are some improvements in the pipeline.

Thats not a bad site, yes it is simplistic, but it has eveything you would want, I see your handy with the youtube videos yourself
Post by: robertemmet on December 13, 2007, 09:56:49 AM
Stumbled across the Leitrim website.

It is brilliant, take a look

http://www.leitrimgaa.ie
Post by: Louth Exile on February 15, 2008, 06:53:41 PM
Quick Question on Hosting a Club Website

I am in the process of having a website developed for our club, the set up cost is being sponsored with the hosting cost being the only cost to the club. I was told by the developer it would be €300 per anum for the hosting cost. I have subsequently been told that this is expensive and it should only be between €100 and €150. Can any of you please advise me??
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2008, 07:02:23 PM
I'm paying roughly €230.
Post by: WeeDonns on February 15, 2008, 08:37:42 PM
Feck Ziggy, my hosting and domain is only costing about £30 a year

www.drumraghgfc.net (http://www.drumraghgfc.net)
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2008, 08:51:01 PM
That's your site WeeDonns? Like the re-design.
Post by: WeeDonns on February 16, 2008, 01:27:23 PM
Aye Ziggy. Got sick of updating the old html based site so i replaced it with that one about a year ago using Joomla. It's far far handier. You don't need to have dreamweaver/frontpage to update it or have any web design experience at all.
For any of you thinking about setting up a club website, i'd recommend using Joomla. The way i have it now, the Chairman, Secretary, PRO and a few others can all update the site by just logging in and typing into a user friendly interface. It can even be updated from your blackberry/mobile.

It's really easy to set up, just check www.joomla.org.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 17, 2008, 12:22:07 PM
Thanks for the replies lads, I somehow knew I'd find out the hosting cost for greencastlegfc  :)

Even from the two responses that we have there it can be seen that there is a significant disparity in the hosting costs the different clubs are paying. I know that the gaa.ie sites are hosted free but the vast majority of them are very poor (with a few notable exceptions) and we don't want to go down that route.

I don't think I'll get much of a response to the question in the local section, think it might be no harm posting the question on the main gaa section.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 17, 2008, 01:33:39 PM
Thats what he put it forward, we are getting a professional job done on the design, based on the simmonstown site on the link below
http://www.simonstowngfc.com/

For what we are getting in terms of a site, it is pretty good, but the hosting seems pricey
Post by: WeeDonns on February 17, 2008, 02:05:39 PM
I don't think that simonstown site has a content management system though?
Seriously, for any of you setting up websites for your clubs you'd need to have a content management system. The simonstown site there, is like our old site, where the pages have to be edited offline in dreamwweaver/frontpage and uploaded. In this case it's usually left up to one person that knows what they're doing and will eventually piss you off.
I have 7 people in the club now that can upload notes etc, which means i have very little work to do on the site.
The sites below use content management systems similar to joomla;
http://www.ardboegfc.com/
http://www.fintonagaa.info/
http://www.beraghredknights.com/
http://www.omaghstendas.com/
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2008, 04:36:45 PM
WeeDonns, I am trying to redesign the Greencastle website from scratch, using aspx. However it's driving me nuts, as my knowledge on the technology is medium-to-average.

I had a design in my head that I want to use, so I was wondering if Joomla flexible enough for me to use my own design or do you work from templates?
Post by: Louth Exile on February 17, 2008, 06:13:54 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on February 17, 2008, 02:05:39 PM
I don't think that simonstown site has a content management system though?

We will have content management on ours, I think its essential, there are probably going to be 5 us with access
Post by: aidanmcg33 on February 18, 2008, 12:07:02 AM
you just create one template  - tricky enough, and apply it in the adminstration panel. or you can buy templates i know someone who customises gaa templates.
Post by: WeeDonns on March 09, 2008, 01:02:21 PM
Aye ziggy, i just downloaded a free template and changed the images in photoshop and some colours in the CSS sheet and just applied the template to the site. Theres loads of ones you can download for free.
I used a book called 'Building Websites with Joomla' by Packt publlishing which i downloaded for free from mininova. This has a step by step guide to building your website and publishing it. It also has a chapter showing you how to create your own template for use with joomla.

Has anyone out there with a joomla/mambo website got a good component for displaying league tables???? i know there's a Joomleague component but i couldnt be assed customising it to display GAA scores. The only place i've seen one that's not just plain html is here;
http://www.kinawleygfc.com/component/option,com_wrapper/Itemid,44/
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on March 21, 2008, 07:42:43 AM
The Beragh Website is impressive alrite, was wondering where do you get the template they have used it is similiar to the derrygaa one aswell. Looks good.
Post by: aidanmcg33 on August 02, 2008, 12:35:28 AM
Here is the website I've set up for our club http://www.silverbridgegfc.com (http://www.silverbridgegfc.com) It's still undergoing some work and theres a lot more content to be added to it but its starting to take shape.
Post by: leenie on January 04, 2010, 03:54:25 PM

Trying to get our club up and running with a good website... looked into gaelsport and it seems like a good option...

so if i used them do i then have to pay extra for hosting or do they sort that...

i'm not that knowledgeable when it comes to this stuff... looked through the powerpoint and video on how to manage it and i think i could manage it..

going to ring them but i haven't a clue what to ask..

any advice? want to have all info gathered to bring to committee next week. cheers!
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 04, 2010, 04:03:11 PM
No they would host it on their servers and I'd imagine that it would be included in their cost. 
The CMS is probably straight forward to use as well.
Will be similiar to the GAA Registration system as it was developed by the same company. 
Post by: leenie on January 04, 2010, 04:06:42 PM

do have an idea of what they cost...?

i'd be looking for the basic package to begin with and work from there.....
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 04, 2010, 04:16:50 PM
http://www.servasport.com/club.html (http://www.servasport.com/club.html)
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 04, 2010, 04:19:31 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 04, 2010, 04:16:50 PM
http://www.servasport.com/club.html (http://www.servasport.com/club.html)
They are the same company as Gaelsport. 
Servasport have developed the GAA Registration System which is compulsary from March this year. 
As part of that clubs will have a database of members, with communication tools including the texts etc. 
Post by: WeeDonns on January 05, 2010, 10:07:03 AM
Quotedo have an idea of what they cost...?

£800pa according to the warrenpoint PRO that spoke at the Ulster club conference.
I assume thats just for the first year and then they'll only charge for hosting

what club are you from leenie?
Post by: norabeag on January 05, 2010, 10:22:35 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on January 05, 2010, 10:07:03 AM
Quotedo have an idea of what they cost...?

£800pa according to the warrenpoint PRO that spoke at the Ulster club conference.
I assume thats just for the first year and then they'll only charge for hosting

what club are you from leenie?
Do not think it would be as much as that.
I rememember from our AGM that it was in the region of £30 a month
Post by: WeeDonns on January 05, 2010, 11:58:40 AM
Yep, I know it's not likely to be that much, but I have the guys handout here and it says "annual website system costs of £800"
I'm thinking this might also cover text messaging

Still, I think £360pa is expensive for a club website.x10 what we pay.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 05, 2010, 12:05:17 PM
Only expensive if the club has someone capable of setting up & running themselves. 
You could probably say a website is vital for a club now a days, so they must look for some solution if they don't have members capable of doing it themselves. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 05, 2010, 01:17:04 PM
I think our website is something in the region of E150 a year to host. Some crowd in Dublin do it. Never a bother with it.
Post by: robertemmet on March 30, 2010, 01:04:36 AM
Slaughtneil's new Site is www.slaughtneil.com
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2011, 12:58:10 AM
Grencastle GAA have relaunched their website tonight. A good 8 months planning and building.

www.GreencastleGAA.com (http://www.greencastlegaa.com)