GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Minder on September 03, 2011, 09:53:04 PM

Title: Up for the match - RTE 1 9.45pm
Post by: Minder on September 03, 2011, 09:53:04 PM
Car crash tv but I wouldn't miss it.
Title: Re: Up for the match - RTE 1 9.45pm
Post by: haze on September 03, 2011, 10:09:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 03, 2011, 09:53:04 PM
Car crash tv but I wouldn't miss it.

Same as. Cringe worthy at times but feck it, it's GAA chit chat so no harm done
Post by: ross4life on September 03, 2011, 10:24:42 PM
Marty Morrissey as Indiana Jones WTF?
Post by: Jinxy on September 03, 2011, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 03, 2011, 10:24:42 PM
Marty Morrissey as Indiana Jones WTF?

Dear god.
I'm watching something else, but I'm putting the remote control in the fridge just to be on the safe side.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2011, 12:41:07 AM
Watching this on Sky+. Two things of note - I think Davy Fitz has been at the green room hospitality and Grainne forgot to put her underwear on.
Post by: Jinxy on September 04, 2011, 02:23:47 AM
RTE Player here I come!
Post by: Stevie g 8 on September 04, 2011, 02:55:12 AM
Complete tripe and they roll out the great Michael, our future president.the show should be scrapped
Post by: AZOffaly on September 04, 2011, 11:12:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2011, 12:41:07 AM
Watching this on Sky+. Two things of note - I think Davy Fitz has been at the green room hospitality and Grainne forgot to put her underwear on.

I didn;t see it, but Davy doesn't drink, never has.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 04, 2011, 12:01:43 PM
Can't believe anybody watched that drivel..or that it still on. It sounds like it hasn't changed much from the "wheel out the ol fogies and play a few ballads" formula has it?
Post by: Hardy on September 04, 2011, 12:18:53 PM
RTÉ is still stuck in Din Joe* mode when it comes to the GAA, be it match coverage and punditry or magazine type programmes. They actually think this is what GAA people want. And maybe they're right, since the administration of the GAA itself is largely peopled by Din Joe types and since the rent-a-Din-Joe GAA personalities continue to collaborate with it and the uncritical majority continue to lap it up. If people stopped watching it or the Davy FitzGeralds stopped selling their dignity to it, they'd stop showing it. So that's the only option - don't be watching it.

(* Radio programme of the fifties- specialising in yokelry and rural hokum, with céilí bands, seanachaí and, most notably, the fabled "dancing on the radio" - people doing set dancing to a céilí tune with the clack of the heels rattling out on the wireless and the faint sound of the music in the background.)
Post by: INDIANA on September 04, 2011, 12:23:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2011, 11:12:31 AM

I didn;t see it, but Davy doesn't drink, never has.

more interested in hearing about the Grainne Seoige bit and underwear- or lack of
Post by: Jinxy on September 04, 2011, 01:17:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 04, 2011, 12:18:53 PM
RTÉ is still stuck in Din Joe* mode when it comes to the GAA, be it match coverage and punditry or magazine type programmes. They actually think this is what GAA people want. And maybe they're right, since the administration of the GAA itself is largely peopled by Din Joe types and since the rent-a-Din-Joe GAA personalities continue to collaborate with it and the uncritical majority continue to lap it up. If people stopped watching it or the Davy FitzGeralds stopped selling their dignity to it, they'd stop showing it. So that's the only option - don't be watching it.

(* Radio programme of the fifties- specialising in yokelry and rural hokum, with céilí bands, seanachaí and, most notably, the fabled "dancing on the radio" - people doing set dancing to a céilí tune with the clack of the heels rattling out on the wireless and the faint sound of the music in the background.)

It's like I said before Hardy, RTEs GAA coverage is geared towards old folks and people that only have a passing interest in the GAA.
It's the visual equivalent of Ovaltine for the former and for the latter it serves as a kind of historical reenactment of how their turnip-mangling forebears must have lived.
It's like a visit to Bunratty Castle for them.
Post by: Celt_Man on September 04, 2011, 02:30:13 PM
I have never watched or ever wanted to watch this cringeworthy shite.....

Grainne forgot to put her underwear on.

.....till now...
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2011, 09:13:11 PM
Sure RTÉ's main sports man is Ryle 'rugbyball-mouth' Nugent. No wonder GAA coverage is the way it is with him as the boss there.
Post by: Rossfan on September 04, 2011, 09:16:50 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on September 04, 2011, 02:30:13 PM
I have never watched or ever wanted to watch this cringeworthy shite.....

Grainne forgot to put her underwear on.

.....till now...
+ 1  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on September 04, 2011, 09:29:02 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2011, 09:13:11 PM
Sure RTÉ's main sports man is Ryle 'rugbyball-mouth' Nugent. No wonder GAA coverage is the way it is with him as the boss there.

Did you see the cringeworthy ad on RTE for the rugby world cup?
Post by: sheamy on September 05, 2011, 11:31:41 AM
forget all other posts until someone explains this underwear thing please (I didn't see the show)
Post by: AQMP on September 05, 2011, 04:36:00 PM

Wouldn't you know, the first time in years I don't watch this shite and something interesting happens!
Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 05:02:17 PM
Quote from: sheamy on September 05, 2011, 11:31:41 AM
forget all other posts until someone explains this underwear thing please (I didn't see the show)

Use your imagination.
I'm pretty sure it'll be better than the reality.
Post by: snoopdog on September 05, 2011, 05:12:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 05:02:17 PM
Quote from: sheamy on September 05, 2011, 11:31:41 AM

Use your imagination.
I'm pretty sure it'll be better than the reality.

im ashamed to say i watched it, but im also devastated that i never noticed any lack of underwear.
It is a pile of crap though. Will they ever let poor old Michael retire.
Marty is such a mong only rte would give that a job
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2011, 11:44:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 04, 2011, 09:29:02 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2011, 09:13:11 PM

Did you see the cringeworthy ad on RTE for the rugby world cup?

Yes I did. The 'panel of experts' trotting out a few lines each. No means a rugby man myself so I haven't a clue what they're on about...As for the team playing with the children in another ad! Christ almighty!!
Post by: Stevie g 8 on September 14, 2011, 10:50:42 AM
an awful dated show
Post by: rrhf on September 14, 2011, 11:31:09 AM
The eyes of the GAA world will be underwear watching this Saturday night.  Popcorn and remote at the ready.. 
Post by: magpie seanie on September 14, 2011, 03:24:16 PM
This thread has gone on far, far too long without a photo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 14, 2011, 03:50:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 14, 2011, 03:24:16 PM

(http://www.carlowpeople.ie/multimedia/archive/00427/2f97efdc-e5be-41ec-_427799t.jpg)
Post by: heffo on September 14, 2011, 03:52:05 PM

(http://www.terracetalk.com/photos/cache/kerry-and-sam-maguire/172-paidibawn_w800.jpg)

Yerra, I think the Dubs have a great chance, the two Brogans are the best forwards in the country and I'd fear for Kerry to be honest. Now which way is the Green room??
Post by: sheamy on September 14, 2011, 04:03:35 PM
(http://www.showbiz.ie/images/stars2/irma-awards-11.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2011, 04:29:34 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00670/3108_Joanne-Cantwel_670404t.jpg)
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 14, 2011, 06:34:07 PM
Anyone else find it hard to take your eyes off Therese Maher and Stella last Sunday night?
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 14, 2011, 07:37:51 PM
haven't seen this shite in years, usually on the hunt for tickets or on the batter the night before the final. I plan to do both this year.

Anyone on for a biteen of a Gatherin' on Sat night with lots of yerras and a bit of skelping?
Post by: ross4life on September 14, 2011, 07:55:27 PM
If RTE want more viewers Grainne should wear this dress.

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/00031_Grainne-Seoige-2_122_79lo.jpg)
Post by: Celt_Man on September 14, 2011, 08:10:07 PM
as Miley used to say....

Well holy god!!!
Post by: Frank Casey on September 14, 2011, 08:21:42 PM
Just another idea for the dress ;)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3108/2633221543_22204a0a91.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on September 14, 2011, 09:10:10 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 14, 2011, 07:37:51 PM
haven't seen this shite in years, usually on the hunt for tickets or on the batter the night before the final. I plan to do both this year.

Anyone on for a biteen of a Gatherin' on Sat night with lots of yerras and a bit of skelping?

There'll be some amount of balls hoppin on Saturday night.
During Gráinnes bits on up for the match.
Post by: armaghniac on September 14, 2011, 09:28:37 PM
There are always knockers about this programme.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 15, 2011, 03:01:03 AM
Quote from: Frank Casey on September 14, 2011, 08:21:42 PM
Just another idea for the dress ;)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3108/2633221543_22204a0a91.jpg)

I wonder what she'd look like as a blonde

(http://www.cine5x.com/fotos/brigitte_nielsen_2.jpg)
Post by: snippets on September 15, 2011, 08:44:12 AM
So we have Paidi on the rip telling yarns, dittys and cackling
We have Micko full of fun and laughing and telling yarns and cackling
Then They'll bring in the dour faced dubs, Paddy Cullen, Brian Mullins etc.  bate so many tiimes by Kerry they forgot how to smile.... ever. 
Should be a good show. 
Post by: thejuice on September 15, 2011, 01:24:23 PM
I endured the Hurling UpForTheMatch when I was home last. To be fair its not as bad as it remember it being back in the day. However the boggery garbage of Mike Denver and the likes of him are the most cringeworthy aspect. If there is anything worse on this planet than Irish country music (not to be mixed up with folk music)?

The Mike Denvers', the Big Toms', the Declan Nerneys' that ply their trade here need to be shoved in a bog hole and covered over and hopefully they'll make useful turf someday. They should never ever be on television and if it can be helped, on the radio.
Post by: ross matt on September 15, 2011, 04:07:45 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 15, 2011, 01:24:23 PM
I endured the Hurling UpForTheMatch when I was home last. To be fair its not as bad as it remember it being back in the day. However the boggery garbage of Mike Denver and the likes of him are the most cringeworthy aspect. If there is anything worse on this planet than Irish country music (not to be mixed up with folk music)?

The Mike Denvers', the Big Toms', the Declan Nerneys' that ply their trade here need to be shoved in a bog hole and covered over and hopefully they'll make useful turf someday. They should never ever be on television and if it can be helped, on the radio.
[/b]

Agree 1000pc.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:56:30 PM

To be fair the Hurling UFTM last year with Joe Hayes and The Ratler was good craic, the hurling one this year was a pile of rubbish tought. The family quiz and the boggery garbage is what RTE think the GAA supporter wants to see, not a chance they'd reel that out if there was a rugby equivalent.
Post by: spuds on September 16, 2011, 11:32:05 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:56:30 PM

To be fair the Hurling UFTM last year with Joe Hayes and The Ratler was good craic, the hurling one this year was a pile of rubbish tought. The family quiz and the boggery garbage is what RTE think the GAA supporter wants to see, not a chance they'd reel that out if there was a rugby equivalent.
Rugby heads have to put up with George Hook and Tom McGurk which is punishment enough.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2011, 06:08:31 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 16, 2011, 11:32:05 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:56:30 PM

Rugby heads have to put up with George Hook and Tom McGurk which is punishment enough.

I'd rather them than the 3 Nualas.
Post by: Frank Casey on September 16, 2011, 08:31:43 PM
Returning to the real point of this thread...

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00387/0709_grainne_i_387110g.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 17, 2011, 01:05:13 AM

Ach wouldya give over ya Meath hoor. Sure we'll all going out the same way we came in.
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2011, 01:05:07 PM
Things the border counties have contributed to the island of Ireland.

1. Country and western music.
2. Lads that wear chains around their necks and refuse to fasten the top two buttons of their shirt.

And..... that's it.
Post by: INDIANA on September 17, 2011, 01:07:02 PM
The only way I would watch this is if its presented by a bunch of Victoria Secrets models.

Other then that it is the biggest steaming pile of shite known to RTE. Absolute cringefest.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 17, 2011, 03:02:12 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 14, 2011, 07:55:27 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 17, 2011, 01:07:02 PM
The only way I would watch this is if its presented by a bunch of Victoria Secrets models.

Other then that it is the biggest steaming pile of shite known to RTE. Absolute cringefest.

Can I change your mind?

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/00031_Grainne-Seoige-2_122_79lo.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2011, 10:04:41 PM
Whats Gráinne wearing tonight?
Post by: Minder on September 17, 2011, 10:06:31 PM
Is Des wearing a cheap suit?
Post by: boojangles on September 17, 2011, 10:32:05 PM
So everybody's Up for the Snatch..... But is Grainne?
Post by: ONeill on September 17, 2011, 10:43:33 PM
Mary Black. Who thought to invite her?
Post by: AQMP on September 18, 2011, 10:22:00 AM
I didn't even last to the end of the Paddy Cullen, Micko love-in and how Bernard Brogan met his wife.  Cringeworthy shite.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on September 19, 2011, 10:52:37 AM
we never heard the ould players stories before ;)
Post by: orangeman on September 05, 2015, 09:52:18 PM
Grainne back on duty.