GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Unlaoised on August 03, 2016, 10:23:52 AM

Title: NEW LAOIS MANAGER
Post by: Unlaoised on August 03, 2016, 10:23:52 AM
I know we've had some discussion in the last thread about it but I think it deserves a thread of its own...

I hear John Sugrue is not interested in it as he is building a new house.

I have heard Evan's from Tipp will be approached how true that is I don't know.

I think they should get back Sean Dempsey as a selector or be some way involved  but it needs to be a modern appointment with experienced selectors who are currently watching the championship here in Laois at moment .

I agree with Wolly I think there is still one kick left in this bunch of players!

Title: Re: NEW LAOIS MANAGER
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 03, 2016, 03:25:43 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 03, 2016, 10:23:52 AM
I think they should get back Sean Dempsey as a selector or be some way involved  but it needs to be a modern appointment with experienced selectors who are currently watching the championship here in Laois at moment .

I would doubt you are suggesting that Sean Dempsey would be a modern appointment? Sean had fantastic success in developing underage football but the type of football he tried to play with the seniors was more suited to the 70s than the 2010s. Would love to see him involved with coaching and development squads again as he was remarkably good.
Post by: SCFC on August 03, 2016, 07:07:07 PM
Please not Jason Ryan. He was ran out of Kildare.
Not sure about Evans either though he seems likeable.
I'd like something a bit fresh and left field. Johnny Doyle? Pauric Joyce?
Post by: County baller on August 03, 2016, 07:24:42 PM
While The Heath collapsed against Portlaoise at the weekend Donie Norton has made huge strides with their squad. He has experience with Justin McNulty as a selector. Could he be a candidate?
Post by: Don Draper on August 03, 2016, 11:40:14 PM
No to Norton. John Doyle, like Glen Ryan before him, can f**k off.
Post by: Unlaoised on August 04, 2016, 09:05:06 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 03, 2016, 11:40:14 PM
No to Norton. John Doyle, like Glen Ryan before him, can f**k off.

ha ha.....nice one....

Heard an Ex Dublin player has thrown his hat in the ring but he has other options I didn't hear who though
Post by: High Fielder on August 04, 2016, 10:41:00 AM
I don't mind who gets it as long as the players are happy and want to play for him. I don't want some friend of a friend, some journeyman or someone who believes they are owed the job to get it. I want the best we can get, fully endorsed by the players
Post by: Unlaoised on August 04, 2016, 03:27:10 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 04, 2016, 10:41:00 AM
I don't mind who gets it as long as the players are happy and want to play for him. I don't want some friend of a friend, some journeyman or someone who believes they are owed the job to get it. I want the best we can get, fully endorsed by the players

Well said !!!
Post by: Don Draper on August 04, 2016, 06:09:59 PM
Pat Ryan is probably out now anyway
Post by: Tony on August 05, 2016, 09:01:34 AM
Pat Ryan, like Lillis, is a very, very nice man. He's a very good all-rounder and has done excellent work for multiple sports in Laois.  I wouldnt mind seeing him involved in the background somewhere. However, I don't think he's anywhere near what we should be getting into the main job. I can think of a lot lot worse though. But as Don says, prob has a lot more to think about at the moment than Laois Football.
Post by: Tony on August 05, 2016, 09:36:01 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 04, 2016, 10:41:00 AM
Well said High Fielder. But the reality is that nobody will be liked by everybody.  Let's just get the most competent, committed and smartest guy we can get who can man manage as well (wishful thinking but there are men like that around). Not holding my breath but would be very dissappointed with a TOF/sean d/lillis style appointment. At least if we have someone decent with a very good tactical brain and good man management - everyone should be happy with that regardless if they're playing or not.
Post by: south Laois on August 09, 2016, 11:57:28 AM
It's gone very quite regarding our next manager. What's the latest rumours doing the rounds?
Post by: Unlaoised on August 09, 2016, 12:27:29 PM
I was told talks are on going and they have approached 4 guys ...

All I was told was one was a Laois man the other 3 were not and that Cunningham wasn't interested...

My source is usually spot on!
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 11, 2016, 11:49:01 AM
Paul Curran is one of the names being mentioned? Jason Ryan, John Evans names have also been circulated?
Post by: Don Draper on August 11, 2016, 12:09:54 PM
Paul Curran?

Get the f**k out of here.
Post by: south Laois on August 11, 2016, 12:34:42 PM
Wouldn't go near John Evans. I suppose Jason Ryan might be worth a chance as there is no obvious outstanding manager out there who is realistic.
Post by: OTF on August 11, 2016, 02:36:22 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 11, 2016, 12:09:54 PM
Paul Curran?

Get the f**k out of here.

Tell us more.
Post by: OTF on August 11, 2016, 02:37:03 PM
Quote from: south Laois on August 11, 2016, 12:34:42 PM
Wouldn't go near John Evans. I suppose Jason Ryan might be worth a chance as there is no obvious outstanding manager out there who is realistic.

Why ?
Post by: south Laois on August 11, 2016, 02:52:29 PM
OTF, Evans comes across to me as a bit of a spoofer, maybe that's just me. Jason Ryan did a good job with Wexford. Can't see too many other candidates if Cunningham or Sugrue are not interested.
Post by: redsetanta on August 11, 2016, 03:43:42 PM
I wouldn't have a problem with John Evans who did well in both Tipp and Roscommon. Ryan shot his bolt with Kildare in my opinion and as for the likes of PAul Curran you are as well giving the job to a Laois man if that's the height of your ambitions!
Post by: Giovanni on August 11, 2016, 04:42:18 PM
Evans is by far the best of the established managers in my opinion.

I thought that Jason Ryan actually underachieved with an excellent bunch of Wexford players.
Post by: south Laois on August 11, 2016, 05:04:46 PM
It's all about opinions but Ryan got Wexford to an All Ireland semi final and they've been in free fall since. He probably didn't get the backing with Kildare after all the money McGeeney spent.
Post by: Tony on August 12, 2016, 08:35:12 AM
Not exactly an awe inspiring list. Out of that bunch, I'd go with Jason Ryan. Smart, tactical, good man-manager, committed. He hasn't shown that he'd be a certain bet (his reign at Kildare was poor) but I've seen enough potential in him to give him a chance (especially if it's vs Paul Curran).

As for Evans, he's done a lot with Roscommon and Tipp, + underage & look where they are now. But I just don't see him fitting into the Laois set up and getting the most out of the players.

Ryan has a lot of potential - he's young and hungry for success. He'll know he didn't do himself justice with kildare. We can forget about Curran and likely whoever it is from Laois (Joe Higgins?). Evans is way too risky for me and could mark a mass exodus in the squad. Ryan is my number 1 out of those candidates.
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2016, 09:18:42 AM
Yeah agree 100% Tony. A poor list and Ryan probably the best of them with a point to prove too. Unless Chris Conway wants it (unlikely) I'd have no interest either in a Laois candidate. The difference between the reality (the list above) and the fantasy (Parkinson asking for James Horan) should serve as a good reminder to everyone of our place in the world of GAA. That said, we don't owe anyone anything, so giving the likes of Curran a leg up is a complete no no for me
Post by: Giovanni on August 12, 2016, 09:42:41 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 12, 2016, 08:35:12 AM
Evans is way too risky for me and could mark a mass exodus in the squad.

Why do you think this would happen? I would have thought, on the contrary, that Evans' key advantage is his ability to get a good spirit and belief in the camp. I don't think he's much of a tactician so that mightn't please everyone here but his teams always play with confidence and spirit. Generally, I'm surprised that Laois support don't seem to give him much credit for the work he's done everywhere he's been.

Cavan are also looking for a manager now too and I'd be surprised if they wouldn't be looking at Evans so it may not be feasible to get him anyway. For me, Jason Ryan would be an equivalent appointment to Tomas O Flatharta - now that's where you might get the exodus......
Post by: Tony on August 12, 2016, 01:38:38 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on August 12, 2016, 09:42:41 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 12, 2016, 08:35:12 AM
Evans is way too risky for me and could mark a mass exodus in the squad.
I don't think he's much of a tactician so that mightn't please everyone
Exactly. He's not. So that's a major deal breaker for me. The players aren't stupid either. They'll see he's not up to much in the brain department after about 3 months in the job and they'll lose interest in playing for him accordingly.

Jason Ryan is in no way a bluffer. He knows exactly what he's doing. I agree that his spell at Kildare was very underwhelming but I really do think he still has a LOT to offer. He's a fantastic coach, young, hungry for success, a superb man-manager & a good tactician. I'd be satisfied with that appointment. Out of the names that have emerged, his makes the most sense, by far, for me.
Post by: Tony on August 12, 2016, 02:45:17 PM
One more point and then I'll leave it at that.

If you think about it, both Laois & Ryan are a good fit. Laois are after a very poor season but we can do a lot better and we do have potential. Similarly, Jason is on the back of a poor spell at Kildare but there's not much doubt in his ability and potential. Both know they've under achieved and both are hungry for far better success. Both are also hoping to prove themselves and reach our potential.  Jason's a very smart guy and is as sound as they come. He'd be 100% committed to Laois and wouldn't be an excuse man like Mick "We couldn't find a pitch to train in for 4 months" Lillis. No disrespect to Mick but he wasn't up to it. Curran and Evans (and likely the Laois candidate) just sound like "more of the same". At least Ryan is fresh, young and eager to prove himself.
Post by: Giovanni on August 12, 2016, 04:09:15 PM
That's an interesting take on it.

I don't doubt at all that Jason Ryan is a nice guy. He certainly comes across well in media interviews.

I wouldn't consider him to be a tactical genius either (judging by the work he did in Kildare and Wexford) and I doubt the players would be particularly inspired by the appointment. His record in Kildare is appalling and they have far greater playing and financial resources than we do. Evans took Roscommon from Division 3 to Division 1 while Ryan was going in the opposite direction with Kildare.

If he comes to Laois, I very much hope I'm wrong but for me that would be the last nail in the coffin for this group of players.
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 12, 2016, 10:05:59 PM
Hold on lads, maybe I'm wrong but I thought the players are playing for laois , not the manager...all my life I've seen laois players dictate this , that and the other with regards the manager... it's never , ever been our players fault and imo it'll never change ....

For the record , I've no problem with Ryan , Curran or Evans taking over but like every year with laois we await as to whether the players approve , maybe I'm old school but I think it's a joke .
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on August 14, 2016, 11:06:11 PM
Bit baffled with the posts about paul curran

Had a lot of success with ballymun and clan na geal ..

Highly though of ex player and i know ballymun lads respected him as manager

Young and keen to impress .. i think he be a good appointment

Maybe im missing something ?
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 14, 2016, 11:30:22 PM
The main thing is that Laois start using Kingston more as in my opinion he is the most complete full forward in the country and down in Clare Laois just wouldn't kick in the ball  .remember attride goal against Dublin came from quick ball into Kingston I can't stress how good he is on his day WE NEED TO USE HIM and build the team around him
Post by: Don Draper on August 15, 2016, 08:30:26 AM
We'll get nothing out of Kingston until we get a manager who believes in him, and him to believe in both the manager and himself. Otherwise, he'll be yet another unfulfilled talent.

He's approaching his peak, if not already there as a result of an early start and injuries. Both he, and the CB need a rocket up their holes.

Post by: Joeythelips on August 15, 2016, 08:41:11 AM
Any update on this? Some games on past week where a manger might spot an odd diamond in the rough. Come on County Board, get the finger out
Post by: Tony on August 25, 2016, 08:53:32 PM
No news here about new manager at all. Anyone have any underground news? My fear is that the next we'll hear about it : It'll be a very underwhelming appointment.
Post by: High Fielder on August 26, 2016, 09:29:36 AM
I have no names Tony, but I'm told there is very little interest
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 26, 2016, 09:38:31 AM
Worryingly quiet now, at this stage we be left with Keith Higgins or a Chris Conway type of appointment
Post by: Don Draper on August 26, 2016, 09:46:02 AM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 26, 2016, 09:38:31 AM
Worryingly quiet now, at this stage we be left with Keith Higgins or a Chris Conway type of appointment
Keith Higgins would be a very leftfield appointment, but I'd admire the ballsiness of it. Would he give up the hurling, or would he try combine the kicking hurling and managing?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 26, 2016, 10:07:08 AM
Malachy McNulty should be the first name on their list, doing a good job with Portlaoise no reason why he can't do the same with Laois. 
Post by: County baller on August 26, 2016, 10:15:16 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 26, 2016, 10:07:08 AM
Malachy McNulty should be the first name on their list, doing a good job with Portlaoise no reason why he can't do the same with Laois.

Completely agree with you here I fear if we bring in someone from outside the county we'll be giving out a large paycheque to a manager who has no real interest in improving our county. At least Malachy McNulty will be 100% committed to the cause.
Post by: Tony on August 26, 2016, 10:41:44 AM
In all fairness to Malachy, he's a fine man but the pigs in my field would probably manage Portlaoise to success in Laois at the moment. 
He doesn't have nearly enough experience to warrant an inter county job. Having said that, I'd much prefer him over the likes of some other names mentioned.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 26, 2016, 10:46:01 AM
Problem is Laois don't have the money for a good manager so we have to take a bit of a flyer on an unproven one.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 26, 2016, 12:01:32 PM
Im sure the county board will find some great lad from Dublin or something who will be our savior, Bring back Tomas O Flatharta sure he doing mighty with kilmacud minors.. In all seriousness we need a new manager soon, its dragging on, need him in place to catch some the championship, It has to be someone who has a bit of passion for Laois football and who is capable for the Job. Mick ticked one box, we thought he ticked both but unfortunately it all fell to sunder half way through the league and the panic set in and we got Cunningham,   I am not buying this rubbish of a rebuild, we have been on a rebuild since 2007, ive a pain in my backside watching our footballers under achieving, this year we go to the bother of beating Armagh twice to loose to lets be frank a fairly average Clare team who we beat a couple of years ago.
Post by: The Monument Road on August 26, 2016, 03:56:58 PM
Whispers i know but could the next manager be managing a team in the north american county final this sunday......all eyes should be on the NA final this sunday in Canton....kick off 3.30.....The Wolf Tones are playing 8) :o ;D :) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 26, 2016, 08:19:29 PM
FFS
Post by: south Laois on August 29, 2016, 12:00:21 PM
This is getting beyond rediculas at this stage. Does anyone even have an inkling of whos in the frame for the job?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 29, 2016, 09:11:38 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on August 26, 2016, 03:56:58 PM
Whispers i know but could the next manager be managing a team in the north american county final this sunday......all eyes should be on the NA final this sunday in Canton....kick off 3.30.....The Wolf Tones are playing 8) :o ;D :) ;) ;) ;)

Would you care to elaborate on this riddle... ??
Post by: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 10:48:35 AM
John sugure name seemed to be the one on everyone's lips on Sunday evening in O'Moore Park
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 30, 2016, 11:14:22 AM
Supposedly not interested
Post by: Don Draper on August 30, 2016, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 10:48:35 AM
John sugure name seemed to be the one on everyone's lips on Sunday evening in O'Moore Park
Should have given it to him last year so.
Post by: Tony on August 30, 2016, 03:55:51 PM
I personally don't mind that it's taking this long or even another month IF they get the right man.
Post by: south Laois on August 30, 2016, 04:29:21 PM
I'd be happy enough with John Sugrue. He's the players choice and that's important. Would love to see Joe Higgins or Padraig Clancy involved as well.
Post by: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 04:31:45 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 30, 2016, 11:14:22 AM
Supposedly not interested

Yes that was said a few months ago but according to the men in the know(down beside the tunnel on Sunday evening)it seems to be a story that's gathering legs!!!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 30, 2016, 08:04:01 PM
Wouldn't be the first time we gave the job to someone who wasn't interested!
Post by: Tony on August 30, 2016, 08:11:14 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 30, 2016, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 10:48:35 AM

Should have given it to him last year so.
In fairness, hindsight is a great thing and i dont think anyone could have imagined how poor lillis's performance was going to be.

I'd be very happy with sugrue, especially when the alternatives seem to be very uninspiring. And as someone mentioned, the players have asked for him, and they know a lot better than you, me or the average lad on the terrace.
Post by: Tony on August 30, 2016, 08:57:48 PM
I've never met the man himself, but he seems like a gas character. His CV doesn't look too bad, either. Here's our possible new manager having bit of craic with the ice bucket challenge >>>> https://www.facebook.com/john.sugrue.777/videos/10152212015185895/

;D ;D ;D
Post by: skeog on August 30, 2016, 09:41:43 PM
surely Banty be worth a shot he knows how to motivate personnel
Post by: Tony on August 31, 2016, 08:36:42 AM
No.
Post by: redsetanta on August 31, 2016, 09:46:40 AM
The only personel that Banty would motivate is the CB so he can get his expenses cheque.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 31, 2016, 10:21:15 AM
Banty was ran out of Meath so that will probably mean the Laois CB would take him in a heartbeat.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 31, 2016, 10:32:56 AM
No prob with John Sugrue but why is he a shoo-in when his overall profile is quite similar to Malachy McNulty.  South Kerry are not exactly a poor little club
Post by: Don Draper on August 31, 2016, 10:53:00 AM
To answer your question.

Physical trainer to an All Ireland winning side. Involved in Kerry side regarded as one of best ever for close to 10 years on and off. Worked with Jack O Connor and Pat O Shea. Involved with Laois set up under McNulty, and with Cheddar and the hurlers last year. Respected anywhere he's gone, most notably by our current players.

While South Kerry obviously have talent, organizing it and making it work isn't an easy job, were it to be, they'd be winning yearly. So he's not just a coach or a physio, he can organize and inspire.

Much further down the road than Malachy, who is someone I have huge time and respect for. It would be a very Laois thing to do, to turn down someone like Sugrue once. It'd be hilarious to do it twice. He may not be the answer but if he's not, then good luck finding it.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 31, 2016, 12:47:48 PM
I am happy enough with John however been a physical trainer and well liked are not usually the things that make you a shoo in for an inter county job.  South Kerry are a pretty decent side and in fairness all you can do is your best with them which John did.   However my question is how does this make him a more outstanding canidate than Malachy McNulty or any other well liked physical coach.  I would prefer our managers come from within our own county and train teams within our own county.  I am sure John is here for the long haul and I wish him the best,  however I would be worried about the way we are appointing managers.  A couple of months ago Anthony Cunningham was getting the job based on very little.  John is more in line with what I would be looking for a young manager within the county however I feel we should not be overlooking people within our own set up namely because we know all their faults too well in favour of a more exoctic unknown manager.
Post by: Tony on August 31, 2016, 01:01:08 PM
John has an excellent, detailed, varied, strong managerial and coaching / training CV and is perfect for the job. Malachy has hardly any experience with a club that was already walking over the competition. Why would we bring him in? Maybe in 5 years if he proves himself long - term but we're really clutching at straws if he's named over John Sugrue, provided John is interested.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 31, 2016, 02:07:30 PM
As I have said no problem with John Sugrue however I don't see this super C.V he has.  It's promising slightly more than Malachy's who in his first season won the County Title and got to an Leinster Club Final where he was unlucky to lose.  This after taking over a Portlaoise team last year that was perceived to be at the beginning of the end hence why he got the job(no one else wanted it).  Again I wish John Sugrue the best and hope he makes a good fist of it but without the finances and the higher level backing this is an uphill task no matter how good you are. 
Post by: Jimmy P on August 31, 2016, 02:56:29 PM
How in good jasus is Malachy McNulty being even mentioned for this? Chap only in his 2nd year coaching at club level and as someone has already stated coaching probably the most dominant club side in Laois's history with a massive number of players at his disposal. Let him get at least 5 good years under his belt then mention him
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 31, 2016, 03:41:02 PM
What do we know about the tactical capability of Sugrue? Perhaps someone has an insight. The suggestions are that he is progressive and smart but is there any evidence of this?
Post by: Tony on August 31, 2016, 04:15:01 PM
When the competition is Pat Roe, Joe Higgins, Luke Dempsey, Banty, then yes, Sugrue is by far the best tactician out there. M. McNulty shouldn't be mentioned (obviously insufficient experience) but it illustrates how much we're scraping at the barrel.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 31, 2016, 05:26:02 PM
No matter who it is, it's terrible that the appointment still hasn't been made and SFC quarter finals in next weekend.
Post by: Unlaoised on September 06, 2016, 11:29:59 AM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on August 31, 2016, 05:26:02 PM
No matter who it is, it's terrible that the appointment still hasn't been made and SFC quarter finals in next weekend.

Couldn't agree more...
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 06, 2016, 12:04:17 PM
Here's one man that we should have been chasing, I'm sure we're as attractive as Leitrim... ??

(http://cdn-02.independent.ie/incoming/article35010125.ece/7c942/AUTOCROP/h342/john.jpg)

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/double-allireland-winning-manager-set-for-surprise-return-to-intercounty-football-35010128.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/double-allireland-winning-manager-set-for-surprise-return-to-intercounty-football-35010128.html)
Post by: Don Draper on September 06, 2016, 12:12:08 PM
Johnno is going in as a selector to a former player whom he managed. Also his stint with Mayo last time out was poor and he's out of the game for a long time. We may as well give it to Colm Browne again as him.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 06, 2016, 12:48:35 PM
True, but we always seem to react better to high profile people. The talent is there, we just need the right person to get it out of us.. ala Micko....
Post by: SCFC on September 06, 2016, 10:17:35 PM
Does anyone know or care at this stage?  >:(
Post by: Don Draper on September 06, 2016, 11:06:47 PM
They will if its a **** like Curran
Post by: High Fielder on September 08, 2016, 09:56:19 AM
Quote from: SCFC on September 06, 2016, 10:17:35 PM
Does anyone know or care at this stage?  >:(

We all care but it's obvious that it's a struggle. If you want the best you have to pay accordingly because there are no candidates at the moment in Laois. Someone like Mick Dempsey would keep most happy, but in truth, that's the exercise we are engaged in here; CB saving face, players give a general thumbs up as do supporters, finances kept intact. Doubt it will be a wow appointment.

Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on September 08, 2016, 10:15:08 PM
Whats your beef with curran Don?

From what i know of him,  hes a decent bloke what a good cv ..

I think hed have the players respect

Maybe im missing something ?
Post by: Tony on September 09, 2016, 09:18:22 AM
I can think of a lot worse appointments.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 09, 2016, 03:45:42 PM
Nearly 2 months since Lillis stood down, loads of championship games been played for a new manager to view any players who may have some potential. What is the delay? Is Cunningham not an option?
Post by: OTF on September 09, 2016, 05:31:38 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on September 09, 2016, 03:45:42 PM
Nearly 2 months since Lillis stood down, loads of championship games been played for a new manager to view any players who may have some potential. What is the delay? Is Cunningham not an option?

If interested he'd be viewing them anyway, so I wouldn't be to concerned from that point.
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 12, 2016, 09:28:28 AM
Cunningham said he didnt want it, only way he will take it at this stage is if Limerick or Wexford don't go for him, absolute farce at this stage, the only way the CC can justify the delay in a successor is if we pull off a coup by getting James Horan or Mc Stay if the Rossies turf him out which is unlikely, but we will probably end up with some sort of bandit like Paul Bealin
Post by: portlaoisekid on September 12, 2016, 08:19:29 PM
Some of the names being touted around over the weekend that are in the running for the laois job are truly shocking , I would not let them train an u12 team ... it's a joke
Post by: Tony on September 12, 2016, 09:43:15 PM
Who knows if those names are in contention even. The boring reality is we'll just have to wait and see, but it's not going to be an amazing appointment. There's no foresight in the CB - they'll likely hire someone that will keep us in decline for the next few years. What we need is a proactive manager who sees our potential but at this point, I'm really not holding my breath at all.
Post by: Unison on September 12, 2016, 10:17:58 PM
What are the most recent names being touted.
Post by: SCFC on September 15, 2016, 07:34:46 AM
Give it to Pillar.  :D
We can point at scoreboards as good as any Dub!
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 15, 2016, 11:29:26 AM
I read recently that Tony McEntee was approached but turned it down. Pity as he's a top quality manager. Good to see they are after managers of that calibre.

With Kiely getting the Limerick job, could a management of Cunningham and Sugrue be a runner?
Post by: Tony on September 15, 2016, 11:44:11 AM
No, because neither Cunningham nor Surgue want it.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on September 15, 2016, 01:01:25 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 15, 2016, 11:29:26 AM
I read recently that Tony McEntee was approached but turned it down. Pity as he's a top quality manager. Good to see they are after managers of that calibre.

Wonder why he turned it down? Are we offering Mickey Mouse money?
Post by: Uisce on September 15, 2016, 01:28:02 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on September 15, 2016, 01:01:25 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 15, 2016, 11:29:26 AM

Wonder why he turned it down? Are we offering Mickey Mouse money?

We probably are, the CB see himself and Goofy as a duo that can bring the team forward.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 15, 2016, 02:29:00 PM
This is a joke process, top quality known managers are not interested in Laois.  So we overpay a risky type, cannot for the life of me see why we just don't go with our own and let it pan out what way it may over a couple of years.  Start a process of having to train the minor and U21 to get a shot at senior.  We develop good managers who are interested in Laois.
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 15, 2016, 02:39:52 PM
It amazes me how no names, no comments, nothing coming from the CB, Im not sure about the Tony Mc Entee thing, sure why would the CB go near him when Mayo are about to go into the AI Final, at least they'd wait till next week.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 15, 2016, 05:42:36 PM
20 years ago today Laois won their first minor All ireland at football, and produced great players. These players were also well coached. Yet we never seem to produce any decent coaches of note, although we are quick to slag off our own.
Post by: SCFC on September 18, 2016, 05:36:18 PM
We probably got rid of Tom Cribbin too soon.
Wonder would Jerome Stack be an option? Superb coach who would command respect of all players.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on September 19, 2016, 12:02:03 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on September 15, 2016, 05:42:36 PM
20 years ago today Laois won their first minor All ireland at football, and produced great players. These players were also well coached. Yet we never seem to produce any decent coaches of note, although we are quick to slag off our own.

Coaching means different things. Our minors of the 90s and 00s were well coached to have very high skill levels. Individually, we had the best crop of players in the country which will get you minor trophies. What we lacked, and still lack, are strong tactical team coaches who can set up a team and train players to play to modern systems effectively.
Post by: Don Draper on September 19, 2016, 02:47:12 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 18, 2016, 05:36:18 PM
We probably got rid of Tom Cribbin too soon.
Smartest thing posted on this forum since I joined. Blackguarded.
Post by: OTF on September 19, 2016, 03:55:00 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on September 19, 2016, 12:02:03 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on September 15, 2016, 05:42:36 PM

Coaching means different things. Our minors of the 90s and 00s were well coached to have very high skill levels. Individually, we had the best crop of players in the country which will get you minor trophies. What we lacked, and still lack, are strong tactical team coaches who can set up a team and train players to play to modern systems effectively.
What we lack is Managers /coaches who are able to get the players to play at the  required intensity, our teams recently (underage) just saunter around the field half asleep  miles of their men, that's the big difference.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on September 20, 2016, 10:40:24 PM
Charlie McKeever could be an interesting option, Donegal man who is a principal in clonmel, was over both the clonmel commericals team that won the munster title and was in charge of the tipp minors who kerry bet in last years All ireland.
While he wouldnt have experience with an intercounty adult team he has had very good success with an adult club team and an underage intercounty set-up
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 21, 2016, 10:03:50 AM
May aswell offer Davy Fitz the job at this rate
Post by: Don Draper on September 21, 2016, 10:09:52 AM
Davy has 2 jobs lined up.
Post by: south Laois on September 22, 2016, 04:39:24 PM
It's getting very worrying at this stage. Not  even a murmur of who's in contention. Could it mean the county board are holding out for a top class manager? I doubt it!! I shudder to think we could end up with a Luke Dempsey type  of appointment.
Post by: SCFC on September 22, 2016, 10:30:10 PM
Hearing it's Paul Curran's job if he wants it.
Post by: redsetanta on September 23, 2016, 09:22:51 AM
I would rather see a former laois player take the job than someone like Paul Curran. Will he turn out to be another bluffer like Bealin?
Post by: south Laois on September 23, 2016, 12:21:03 PM
What former Laois player would you like to see get it redsetanta? I wouldn't be overly upset if Paul Curran got it as there isn't an outstanding candidate beating down the door to get the job.
Post by: theoldvet on September 23, 2016, 06:47:04 PM
WOULD MICK DEMPSEY EVER CONSIDER TAKING THE LAOIS JOB ?
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 23, 2016, 08:15:56 PM
Quote from: theoldvet on September 23, 2016, 06:47:04 PM
WOULD MICK DEMPSEY EVER CONSIDER TAKING THE LAOIS JOB ?

Not a notion.
Post by: Tony on September 25, 2016, 01:52:43 PM
A source of mine close to county board member tells me an appointment will be made before start of October.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 25, 2016, 05:28:32 PM
Any clues to who they have in mind Tony?
Post by: Unlaoised on September 26, 2016, 08:59:42 AM
Not that lipped

I've got information that's it's Peter Creedon former Tipperary football manager.

It will be common knowledge later this evening
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 26, 2016, 10:31:10 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on September 26, 2016, 08:59:42 AM
Not that lipped

I've got information that's it's Peter Creedon former Tipperary football manager.

It will be common knowledge later this evening

Wouldn't be very excited by if Peter was appointed, sure it was  Tommy Toomey who called the shots when Creedon managed Tipp
Post by: Unlaoised on September 26, 2016, 12:42:07 PM
Well that's what I heard in O'Moore Park yesterday!
Post by: south Laois on September 26, 2016, 08:33:07 PM
Peter Creedon it is then. Don't know much about him.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 26, 2016, 08:56:11 PM
This prob won't end well hopefully I will be proved wrong.
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on September 26, 2016, 09:30:15 PM
if it is creedon, the current administration will have managed to finally kill of the last flickers of hope within the county.
2 predictions...division 4 here we come, and sacked by this time next year.
Post by: Tony on September 26, 2016, 09:38:56 PM
As my source suggested, manager named this week. If you don't know anything about Creedon, why even post? Sacked next year? Div 4? He has just been named and people are writing him off. I've been following his CV - he's actually a good fit for Laois, given the competition. What were people expecting - Micko to come back or something. It was never going to be a huge appointment. My prediction is that, if our players commit, this will be a wise move. Let's hope he can also have a say about our underage coaching and structure too, given his vast experience with very successful underage setup in Tipp.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 26, 2016, 09:41:45 PM
Tony are you Peter O Neill  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D    This is a bad appointment not because Creedon is good or bad but because the appointment is so insignificant it does not bind the county together can't see players rowing in behind this.
Post by: beano on September 26, 2016, 09:45:10 PM
Ah lads, I know he isn't "high profile" but give the man a chance!! At least he has intercounty experience and has been working with players at a similar level to Laois. He should be a big improvement on lillis!
Post by: welcomehome on September 26, 2016, 11:26:07 PM
think he should be a given a chance....any one know any of the selectors...
Post by: redsetanta on September 26, 2016, 11:48:59 PM
He's a better shot than Paul Curran in my opinion.
Post by: SCFC on September 27, 2016, 07:40:03 AM
No problem with man. How the hell did it take so long to appoint him though?
Post by: Tony on September 27, 2016, 08:12:07 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 26, 2016, 09:41:45 PM
Tony are you Peter O Neill  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D    This is a bad appointment not because Creedon is good or bad but because the appointment is so insignificant it does not bind the county together can't see players rowing in behind this.
Stupid thing to say ballyroan  ;D. Do you think Glen Ryan, Paul Curran or Jason Ryan would have a unanimous positive reaction? Course not.
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 08:46:18 AM
Peter Creedon has been on the Laois Co Board radar for the past few months . He has actually been to a 4 or 5 matches in Portlaoise . By all accounts could be a shrewd appointment . Very meticulous in planning and preparation , fitness wont be an issue .
Next step is the recruitment of two local ex players to come on board with Creedon and Mickey McGeehan who happened to be involved with Laois on two occasions before !!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 27, 2016, 09:00:19 AM
How can saying this appointment is a waste of time be stupid, at worst it's a different opinion.  Peter Creedon is  a low profile appointment who will at best keep us in Division 3 at worst relegate us to Division 4.   The County Board by going this way is continually showing short-term behavior when have they stopped and asked what is going wrong with Laois Football ? They have continually kept their heads down and avoided criticism they are volunteers and maybe that is not in their remit.  But under their stewardship Laois Football is now at it's lowest point in over 30 years.  So if you think Peter Creedon is going to sort all this by being a good manager well good for him.  I just think Laois Football is in bigger trouble than just needing a new manager.  I think at this stage we are very much like Offaly which is quite amazing considering where we were over 4 years ago.  It wont be too long before people on here are dancing over a promotion to Division 3 from Division 4.   Laois need to have a strategic look at what they are doing not appointing a manager who at best is low profile to fire fight what is now a disaster.
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Interesting  points BallyroanAbu . Who would you like to have taken over the Laois Senior Manager position ?
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 27, 2016, 09:33:38 AM
What ever manager comes in he just does not have the pick of players required to compete. If you think about it he has only half a county to choose from as the other half is caught up in hurling and we are to small a county for that. And in fairness to the players that do come in well they put their lives on hold to put on the jersey no matter how bad we think they are. It all leads back to the underage structure where parents coach teams just because their kid is on it. Before we coach the players we need to coach the coach. Also underage football should be non competitive up until a certain age and this would also help as the coach sees not other option but to win and forgets about developing the player.
Post by: south Laois on September 27, 2016, 10:32:47 AM
Jesus Ballaroan abu, you sound like you want to run him out of the county before he even starts. Give the man a chance!!!!!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 27, 2016, 10:33:24 AM
My point is the County Board has done nothing more than put new tyres on a banged out car.  Laois's major problem is money and this comes down to an issue every club in Ireland faces facilities or teams.  Simply put Laois will into the future continue to under perform because they will allocate less and less money towards the senior team.  This has the dual effect of the team not performing well and sponsors/general public allocating less and less towards the county. Centre of Excellence is all very well but it is no advantage as every other county in the country is getting one.  The running costs will I imagine come from other places namely the Senior Teams and as we are not getting more this will be a self defeating circle.   Personally for a small county like Laois the pathway should be clear take the minors or U21's do a good job then your Senior Manager.   We should be bringing our coaches along and also giving them expenses for their time.  If your are a young manager then you should understand the way in which you get the Senior Job.  In real terms Joe Higgins, Chris Conway are no longer young.  Seems to me Laois are happy to bring him 50/50 chances from outside the county but are afraid to take a chance on their own.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 27, 2016, 10:34:26 AM
He should have never been appointed is what I am saying he is merely the only one that said yes in a list of bad candidates.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 27, 2016, 10:46:37 AM
Quote from: LaoisHeart on September 27, 2016, 09:33:38 AM
What ever manager comes in he just does not have the pick of players required to compete. If you think about it he has only half a county to choose from as the other half is caught up in hurling and we are to small a county for that. And in fairness to the players that do come in well they put their lives on hold to put on the jersey no matter how bad we think they are. It all leads back to the underage structure where parents coach teams just because their kid is on it. Before we coach the players we need to coach the coach. Also underage football should be non competitive up until a certain age and this would also help as the coach sees not other option but to win and forgets about developing the player.

"Before we coach the players we need to coach the coach"

Well said LaoisHeart. Instead of bringing in coaches to a hall somewhere in laois to show them powerpoint presentations and the like, the county board should be sending out coaches like a Niall Tully or a Tommy Conroy to the clubs at least once a month to take a training session and help the clubs coaches, showing them drills etc. We may actually produce a decent coach or two as a result.

Peter Creedon seems like a decent coach but you could say the same about Sean Dempsey (in fact Dempsey was more successful), Creedon was Tipp minor manager, then u-21 manager then senior manager. Looking within our county there does not seem to be many potential coaches coming through. I think Derek Conroy has shown potential with the u-21s and he should be appointed selector to gain more experience from Creedon with the long term plan of having him as senior coach further down the line.

I think Creedon will do a decent job once all the players buy into it, people are putting down the appointment but we were hardly going to get Jim McGuinness so its a steady appointment. He will have the team much better prepared than Lillis who was way out of his depth and I can see us winning Division 3.

Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 10:56:04 AM
No local involvement on the line seemingly . Tommy Toomey who guided Tipp u21 s to the All Ireland Final last year and was selector with the Tipp Senior footballers this year has been named along with Michael O'Loughlin who was with Cork u21 s this year .
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 11:14:29 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 10:56:04 AM
No local involvement on the line seemingly . Tommy Toomey who guided Tipp u21 s to the All Ireland Final last year and was selector with the Tipp Senior footballers this year has been named along with Michael O'Loughlin who was with Cork u21 s this year .

This can't be coming cheap?
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 27, 2016, 11:19:58 AM
Not surprised with Tommy joining as Peter relys on him big time, only thing surprising that he is willing to leave Tipp. This is basically the management team that beat us in the Qualifiers a few years back in O Mooore park.
Post by: south Laois on September 27, 2016, 11:33:02 AM
Looking on the bright side, it could be possible that Liam Kearns benefited this year from Peter Creedons work.
Post by: El Jefe on September 27, 2016, 11:36:11 AM
Why only a one year contract? In fairness its going to be a project that's going to take longer than one year
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 12:01:44 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 11:14:29 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 10:56:04 AM

This can't be coming cheap?

I wouldnt think so Don . I know Tipp were desperate to hang on to Toomey . It seems Creedon did not want to commit to the Laois Job without Toomey guaranteeing his involvement which contributed to the delay of the appointment.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 12:08:53 PM
It's going to be a tough job as in my opinion this team is not up to much. A lot of the core players such as quigley Timmons strong donoher meaney begley munelly etc are either 30 31 or over and no one capable of stepping into there boots , lack of outstanding young players OCarroll when has his head right is one that springs to mind as being good enough
Post by: steven seagal on September 27, 2016, 12:26:55 PM
QuoteThis can't be coming cheap?

If you look at what has happened in Laois in the last week, it must be pricey enough. Talk over the weekend was that both Cheddar and Mark Rooney saw their tenures come to an end because they were costing too much money, and Laois weren't going to continue to foot the bill. Within days, we appoint a new senior football manager who looks to be bringing three of his own selectors with him. Maybe it's all a coincidence, but it doesn't look good.
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 01:07:22 PM
It was between Evans and Creedon in the end . Curran was a non runner . Laois candidates showed little interest . Evans priced himself out to say the least .
Post by: El Jefe on September 27, 2016, 01:16:42 PM
Is Rooney gone too? Minor trials coming up and no manager?
Post by: Unlaoised on September 27, 2016, 02:17:05 PM
Very Surprised that there is no local involved as a selector etc?

Maybe a clean slate is what we need.

Will we get a few more years out of Quigley,Timmons,Begley,Strong etc?I for one hope so !I think they should all get together and say lads one more push get some silverware in a division three title and get Laois football back to division two.

We might not have the greatest minor teams in recent years but all it takes is a couple of players to come through ..

Lets not write of the season before this one has even started!
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 02:30:13 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 01:07:22 PM
Curran was a non runner
Small mercies and all that.
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 02:34:48 PM
Quote from: El Jefe on September 27, 2016, 01:16:42 PM
Is Rooney gone too? Minor trials coming up and no manager?

Creedon is also taking over the U21 s  and will have an advisory role with the Minors too .
Post by: Tony on September 27, 2016, 02:38:50 PM
It's all sounding pretty impressive so far, if I'm honest. We've gone from a man who couldn't find a pitch to play in for the whole winter to a man who's organising the underage structure & getting a very experienced team on board with him. Early days though. PS Yes he was at some club games recently, we were wondering what he was doing at the Stradbally Ballylinen match - he had 2 other men with him also.

Let's not forget : this man is one of the leading men behind the rise of Tipperary footballers over the last decade  - going from nothing to semi final of all- ireland this year.
Post by: Tony on September 27, 2016, 03:02:13 PM
For people who don't know a lot about Creedon, this is a decent summary:

http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/sport/217389/creedon-comes-to-laois-football-with-impressive-tipperary-record.html#.V-pZujRoZqc.twitter
Post by: redsetanta on September 27, 2016, 03:27:38 PM
All things considered it's a good appointment.
Post by: steven seagal on September 27, 2016, 03:55:47 PM
QuoteCreedon is also taking over the U21 s  and will have an advisory role with the Minors too .

That's unprecedented I would think, to give someone that level of control? An input to all three Laois teams? All reports about him seem good, and I don't mean to talk him down or anything, but we are placing a huge amount of faith in him if he's going to be involved with the three squads. Mark Rooney got us to a first minor final in nearly a decade, and he hasn't been kept on. Derek Conroy seemed to be doing well with the U-21s but he won't be there next year now presumably. I don't like the idea that two of our best young managerial options in the county won't be involved at intercounty level next year.

I hope Creedon is a success, and everything seems to indicate he is a good appointment, but judging from what has come out in the last day or so, we seem to have completely handed the reins over to him. Our track record of appointments in recent years is woeful, so I hope we've gotten this one right. God only knows where we go if it doesn't pan out.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 27, 2016, 04:32:55 PM
That sounds good, even Wooly on twitter says he is excited after asking around about him. As i said last year I think Laois have the players to be competitive in Div 2, so winning Div 3 should be their goal and see where it takes us from there.

"Creedon is thought to be on the lookout for a Strength and Conditioning Coach, while one or possibly two local selectors will also be added to the setup."
I would hope so, Conroy and Rooney have shown potential so should be involved in some capacity in the set up so they can develop as coaches.

I am looking forward to 2017 already.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 04:39:23 PM
I'm not
Post by: Unlaoised on September 27, 2016, 04:59:32 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 04:39:23 PM
I'm not

:( :( :( :( :(

I think the backroom team he has in place is very impressive!
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 05:03:03 PM
I'm not worried about the back room team it's the players I'm worried about
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 27, 2016, 05:48:57 PM
Great appointment, this guy has been through it all and has some good success on his CV. It can be easy enough to take over a good team and succeed but to do what he did with Tipperary was outstanding.
Most of the foundation work for the present Tipp team was laid by him and one of his selectors and we all know how good Tipp turned out even after losing some of their more experienced players. Good work must have been done a few years ago to have guys at a level to step in to the team when they needed them.
I'm delighted he will have input into teams in the lower grades as they are the future and he needs to know what's coming up.
It's a much better outcome than I was expecting and best of luck to all concerned..
Post by: south Laois on September 27, 2016, 06:01:08 PM
I couldn't have put it better Junior!! Looking forward to next year. Hopefully all the players stay on board.
Post by: OTF on September 27, 2016, 07:26:13 PM
Seems more of director of football than senior team manager.

Would have being a great appointment over under age teams.
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 27, 2016, 10:09:36 PM
Sounds costly.

Does anyone else find it contradictory that he has been given a role with the U21s & minors but only appointed for one year?

Bit muddled there between long term & short term thinking!
Post by: Target Man on September 28, 2016, 07:24:47 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 27, 2016, 05:48:57 PM
Great appointment, this guy has been through it all and has some good success on his CV. It can be easy enough to take over a good team and succeed but to do what he did with Tipperary was outstanding.
Most of the foundation work for the present Tipp team was laid by him and one of his selectors and we all know how good Tipp turned out even after losing some of their more experienced players. Good work must have been done a few years ago to have guys at a level to step in to the team when they needed them.
I'm delighted he will have input into teams in the lower grades as they are the future and he needs to know what's coming up.
It's a much better outcome than I was expecting and best of luck to all concerned..

What is all this great success on his CV? I don't see it, also Tipp did better this year after changing manager and losing a few of their better players. He may well be a good manager but his record is not much better than others linked with job unless I'm missing something

It must be a very expensive ticket given he is bringing 3 of his own guys in and taking u21s. Any Laois selector likely to have token input, making it unlikely our better coaches/managers will want to be involved. Not much left for Laois coaches, and all other county football and hurling squads likely to be underfunded because of cost of this setup.
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 07:34:22 AM
Hilarious. 

Given out to if they don't spend.

Given out to for spending.

Post by: Tony on September 28, 2016, 09:11:54 AM
Exactly Don - some people never happy no matter what happens.

Credit where it's due : This is an excellent appointment. It was made with the help of outside businessmen in Laois - somewhat similar to m.o.d / kearns era. It's probably the best appointment we could have made in our circumstance. The appointment is made better with the inclusion of McGeehin / Toomey and the fact that Creedon will oversee the underage setup. That's a proper setup : competent, proactive people looking for progress. The opposite of last year, really, which is only a positive thing.

I just hope the players come back; it's a huge committment. Hopefully knowing a good setup is now in place, all of our lads from last year will come back. Would also be nice to see Cahir Healy back / few new faces.
Post by: Target Man on September 28, 2016, 09:53:13 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 07:34:22 AM
Hilarious. 

Given out to if they don't spend.

Given out to for spending.

If the money is there or can be raised to fund this setup and all the other teams and initiatives the county board needs to run, then that's great. I think that's questionable though, given two moderately successful managers have stepped down in last week, reportedly because they were denied things they felt they needed by the county board.

Creedon seems a decent manager, and I think he's probably a good appointment given what was likely available to us. I don't see anything that exceptional in his record with Tipp though. Toomey seems well regarded and has been successful, I know nothing about McGeehin.
Post by: Unlaoised on September 28, 2016, 10:30:04 AM
Talking to one current player he said word on the street is that they are excited about the appointments and that McGeehan is well respected the country over with regard fitness training techniques etc etc...
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 28, 2016, 02:57:27 PM
Whats going on with the Mark Rooney situation ?
Post by: El Jefe on September 28, 2016, 04:08:27 PM
Heard a rumour there's a new man about to come in?
Post by: redsetanta on September 28, 2016, 04:39:33 PM
Jaysus lads there's nothin but rumours going around.

Reminds me of the Roy Chubby Brown line where someone comes up to him and says 'Hey Chubby, there's a rumour going around that you've got a 10'' c***! Chubby says ' I know, I started it'
Post by: theoldvet on September 28, 2016, 06:52:22 PM
There's that many rumour going around
I don't know which one to believe  ;D  ;D
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on September 29, 2016, 12:17:49 PM
Good appointment by the sounds of it.
If we'd had a better setup we could have made it to the quarters this year ..
Hopefully the more experienced players will commit ..
There is some talent coming through ..
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 29, 2016, 02:52:55 PM
Meath Dublin Kildare are by far are much further down the road unfortunately. Yes we got to a minor final but Dublin, Meath & Kildare on same side of the draw. Club wise is no comparasment at Minor, you look at Dublin teams playing Kildare and Laois Club teams and it can be quite painful to watch sometimes. We have a long way to go in my view unfortunately, I would quote Emo played a Dublin team the week of the Laois minor championship final and were beaten by an under strength opposition by all accounts.  Yes a minor final is great to be in but it has to be more consistent going forward.
Post by: Unlaoised on October 04, 2016, 03:46:08 PM
Looking for two Laois selectors....I'd love to see some Portlaoise involvement and maybe one from over the Stradbally Carlow side....

He needs to get the likes of Healy, and Paul Kingston back in there along with Gary Walsh James Finn and Conor Boyle among others!
Post by: south Laois on October 04, 2016, 04:50:34 PM
If he's looking for two Laois selectors, I'd like to see him pick two from Chris Conway, Joe Higgins, Padraig Clancy and Derek Conroy.
Post by: Sanny on October 04, 2016, 09:35:37 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on October 04, 2016, 03:46:08 PM
Looking for two Laois selectors....I'd love to see some Portlaoise involvement and maybe one from over the Stradbally Carlow side....

He needs to get the likes of Healy, and Paul Kingston back in there along with Gary Walsh James Finn and Conor Boyle among others!

Don't think Healy will commit due to his loyalty to Hurlers unfortunately. Him and Kingston would definitely add to the squad. The other three i'm afraid have been tried and are not up to the standard required. Maybe time to go with a more youthful approach and build with some good young lads that were on show in the championship.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on October 04, 2016, 10:07:46 PM
Defo have gary walsh in the squad sanny !!!!!
Post by: Tony on October 05, 2016, 08:31:25 AM
Gary Walsh not up to standard? I don't agree - he's clearly one of our top performers, especially on his day.

Finn & Boyle have a place too in my opinion (the only thing boyle lacks is pace) - perhaps squad members but i've seen enough from both to warrent a place.

Would really like to see some more game time for younger lads, likes of O O Carroll, Ryan, Sheil
Post by: les Antiques on October 05, 2016, 09:58:04 AM
Pretty confident Healy will commit to the footballers this year as Cheddar was one of the main reasons he showed such fantastic loyalty to the Hurlers .
Post by: redsetanta on October 05, 2016, 10:47:36 AM
I wouldn't be so sure. Would depend on what the hurling set up is going to be like. He admits that hurling is his first love.

Also, he has been travelling back and forth for the last few years from UK what's to say he will continue to do this. I know he is a proud and determined Laois man but that's tough going.
Post by: Joeythelips on October 13, 2016, 11:21:55 PM
Decent enough draw for us in Leinster, getting promotion in league and reaching Leinster final are achievable goals next year if we get our act together.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 14, 2016, 12:53:49 AM
Great draw, avoid Dublin and our first two games at home. If we win the first against Longford we have a mouth-watering tie against the Lillies...

1st Round:
Louth v Wicklow
Laois v Longford
Carlow v Wexford

Quarter-Finals:
A: Louth or Wicklow v Meath
B: Laois or Longford v Kildare
C: Carlow or Wexford v Dublin
D: Offaly v Westmeath

Semi-Finals:
Winner Q/Final A v Winner Q/Final B
Winner Q/Final C v Winner Q/Final D
Post by: GAA-SMART on October 14, 2016, 08:57:52 AM
Can beat Kildare, id be more worried about Longford, They are no Wicklow lads, this isnt a Gimme this time (No Offense to Wicklow but we were never going to loose against them  this year) any team that goes to Clones and beats Monaghan are a decent team.
Post by: SCFC on October 14, 2016, 03:13:28 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on October 14, 2016, 08:57:52 AM
Can beat Kildare, id be more worried about Longford, They are no Wicklow lads, this isnt a Gimme this time (No Offense to Wicklow but we were never going to loose against them  this year) any team that goes to Clones and beats Monaghan are a decent team.
Agreed. Longford are very decent. Will be a tough opener. Conor Meredith is one player who won't be playing, he is travelling abroad for work for a year.
Post by: Don Draper on October 14, 2016, 04:08:30 PM
Quote from: SCFC on October 14, 2016, 03:13:28 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on October 14, 2016, 08:57:52 AM
Agreed. Longford are very decent. Will be a tough opener. Conor Meredith is one player who won't be playing, he is travelling abroad for work for a year.
Thought he was in college. The Merediths are a nomadic tribe sadly.