FAI...New Manager is Heimir Hallgrimsson

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Baile Brigín 2

That was a hard one to take.

Other than bringing Idah on over Kenny, I think the manager got it spot on. Fitness was worrying but out of his control. Going asleep at the near post, pulling a player for no reason and two shite penalties the same.

But the point is we and the players, staff etc are genuinely gutted to have lost there. We are competitive at the level we should be for the first time in a while.

Squad depth remains a problem, would we have skimmed that with Cullen, Scales and Ferguson...?

AustinPowers

That's the end of Roy's Sky mobile advert  then.

I liked  that one too.

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 26, 2026, 11:11:18 PMThe 'Johnny come lately' supporters will be disappointed and revert to complaining about the group.

It's been a great couple of months and hopefully we can build on that.

The World Cup in America will be sh1te with all the disruption in the world - at least that's my consolation.
Trump has his gestapo at the airports now so it will genuinely be a shit show.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 27, 2026, 12:22:17 AMFifa still don't have agreement for the Boston stadium, the Yanks are acting the bollocks with the Haiti team, never mind the fans and then there is Iran. It has shitshow written all over it

Don't forget the visa bond program that affects at least five of the qualified African countries. They basically have piss to pay a deposit promising to leave the country.

Bogman

Where to we stand with Euro 2028 qualifiers? Are any of the co hosts guaranteed a spot?
It be a hoor to miss a tournament we are co hosting
Tomorrow is not guaranteed

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 27, 2026, 06:49:44 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 26, 2026, 11:11:18 PMThe 'Johnny come lately' supporters will be disappointed and revert to complaining about the group.

The World Cup in America will be sh1te with all the disruption in the world - at least that's my consolation.
Trump has his gestapo at the airports now so it will genuinely be a shit show.

Lol no it won't. Bookmarking this for July.

Ronnie

Disappointed for the north & south.  What odds on Iran participating?

Quote from: Ronnie on March 27, 2026, 08:56:08 AMDisappointed for the north & south.  What odds on Iran participating?

The FAI should lobby Trump and his VBF Infantino to allow us take part instead of Iran.

tiempo

Still one of the all time sketches, there's a longer version unfortunately can't get it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67-fkHCyQBE

An Watcher

Pity the ref forgot his cards as how the Czechs didn't get one until after the 90th minute is beyond me.  Couple of irish lads were walking a tightrope

GTP

The manager said they had a list of penalty takers including Szmodics, I am guessing Idah was also on the list, since he took one, and was brought on with this in mind. Probably suited that game better than Kenny would have with corners and long throws and crosses coming into the box at both ends.
I don't think Czechia would have got two goals without the gift of the penalty. ROI players should have known that having got a soft one the referee would have to judge any contact in their defence to the same standard. The squad managed to maintain interest in the qualifying long after I had thought given the start to the campaign.

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 27, 2026, 12:06:58 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on March 26, 2026, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 26, 2026, 11:20:44 PM

Disagree, they said that about Qatar and it was unreal. Best final in my lifetime and I'm nearly 40.

I suppose we don't know how it'll go down, Qatar was different as it was, well Qatar, a country with a lorry load of cash and no history. The USA atm is a bit of a shit show with a vile human child rapist running it (apologies lad), but the cost of attending is only for the wealthy or extremely daft.

I'm a little older, ah Mexico 86 , Italia 90 #panini ❤️

Lol USA 94 my first world cup that I remember, probably only because we were in it. Hard to beat a good panini. I read the new one will be nearly 1000 stickers. Games gone.

Great days...you knew the names of every player competing. Swapping duplicates in the playground, delighted when you completed a team 🎉

Quote from: Ronnie on March 27, 2026, 08:56:08 AMDisappointed for the north & south.  What odds on Iran participating?

Have to qualify first and there will be two spots reserved for 2 that don't qualify. Were Scotland, Wales, abd Ireland not to qualify, will be two best qualifiers.

Quote from: GTP on March 27, 2026, 09:55:48 AMThe manager said they had a list of penalty takers including Szmodics, I am guessing Idah was also on the list, since he took one, and was brought on with this in mind. Probably suited that game better than Kenny would have with corners and long throws and crosses coming into the box at both ends.
I don't think Czechia would have got two goals without the gift of the penalty. ROI players should have known that having got a soft one the referee would have to judge any contact in their defence to the same standard. The squad managed to maintain interest in the qualifying long after I had thought given the start to the campaign.

Never mind judging to the same standard. I know you don't mean to but talking about "any contact in their defence" kind of reduces some of the culpability. Their penalty was as stonewall as can be, and as stupid as can be as well. No excuse whatsoever for conceding it.

JPGJOHNNYG

Our penalty shootout record is getting as bad as England's, might need to practise them after all. Our playoff record is also pretty grim, the only really good outcome and performance was against Bosnia, Iran and Estonia were pub teams. We have now lost out to Holland, Belgium, turkey, France, Slovakia, Czech republic (maybe another that I have forgotten) ffs