Sayings only the Irish use

Started by qwerty123, November 25, 2013, 02:26:54 AM

qwerty123

I know there was a great thread a couple of months ago about words only the Irish use, but what about phrases and sayings only the Irish use:

He'd eat the beard of Moses
Work away - Can I use that? Aye, work away
Tis yourself! Tis herself!
How's the form?
To be sure to be sure.
C'mere to me will ya.
I haven't that in donkeys years.
Your one over there.
My nose was tripping me.
I will in my a**e
I didn't no nothing.
I wouldn't give him the steam of my p**s if he was dying of thirst.
She's a bit of alright.
You couldn't love him if you reared him.
There's no nicer man you could stick a grape into.
The tide wouldn't take her out.
Putting 'so' at the end of phrases.

Then there's loads of similies too - as lazy as shugh water / i feel like a burst sofa / as useful as balls on a priest (not sure how much that applies now though)

Any more? There's plenty out there

Quote from: qwerty123 on November 25, 2013, 02:26:54 AM
I know there was a great thread a couple of months ago about words only the Irish use, but what about phrases and sayings only the Irish use:

He'd eat the beard of Moses
Work away - Can I use that? Aye, work away
Tis yourself! Tis herself!
How's the form?
To be sure to be sure.
C'mere to me will ya.
I haven't that in donkeys years.
Your one over there.
My nose was tripping me.
I will in my a**e
I didn't no nothing.
I wouldn't give him the steam of my p**s if he was dying of thirst.
She's a bit of alright.
You couldn't love him if you reared him.
There's no nicer man you could stick a grape into.
The tide wouldn't take her out.
Putting 'so' at the end of phrases.

Then there's loads of similies too - as lazy as shugh water / i feel like a burst sofa / as useful as balls on a priest (not sure how much that applies now though)

Any more? There's plenty out there

That's surely more English than Irish...

Use of the words "grand" and "sound"

"To be sure to be sure"

I have never heard anyone say this. Have heard "to be sure" but never it doubled up.

el_cuervo_fc

CD

and yer ma

I'll knack yer windies in

yer ma's yer da

Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Aristo 60

would drink it outafa baby's nappy

(normally reserved for those who enjoy a drink by those who don't enjoy a drink)

Quote from: maddog on November 25, 2013, 11:38:28 AM
"To be sure to be sure"

I have never heard anyone say this. Have heard "to be sure" but never it doubled up.
Never heard it either.
It would be a stock phrase for stage Oirish though, to be sure.

CD

Quote from: Aristo 60 on November 25, 2013, 12:47:44 PM
would drink it outafa baby's nappy

(normally reserved for those who enjoy a drink by those who don't enjoy a drink)

would take a swally from a dirty sock
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Sure where would you leave it
Scattered showers and sunny spells
Go away would you
Stop the lights
Bleedin deadly
Ya wha
I wo not (yes you wo!)
He was horsed off the pitch
A soft goal

"The reality of the situation" , which means "you are not going to like this"

"Gardai are satisfied that" has 30500 hits in google
Eg  "Gardai are satisfied that five members of the gang were present when Det Gda Donohoe, a father of two, was shot dead"
Why would that be satisfying ?