GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: snoopdog on May 30, 2011, 03:33:58 PM

Title: Qualifiers
Post by: snoopdog on May 30, 2011, 03:33:58 PM
so after another disappointing Ulster championship campaign we once again find ourselves in the qualifiers.

Does anyone know when this is likely to start think i heard Weekend of June 25th,

i take it draw wont be made for a while

Teams so far in qualifiers
Down
London
Antrim
Fermanagh
Sligo
Clare
Tipp
Longford
Wicklow
Offaly
Title: Re: Qualifiers
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 30, 2011, 04:59:33 PM
Mayo will probably end up in it later on in the year too.
Post by: ross4life on May 30, 2011, 05:14:23 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 30, 2011, 03:33:58 PM
so after another disappointing Ulster championship campaign we once again find ourselves in the qualifiers.

Does anyone know when this is likely to start think i heard Weekend of June 25th,

i take it draw wont be made for a while

Teams so far in qualifiers
Down
London
Antrim
Fermanagh
Sligo
Clare
Tipp
Longford
Wicklow
Offaly

Down the pick of the bunch there though another 6 teams have to be added yet! i'd say the draw is on June 12th
Post by: borderfox on May 30, 2011, 05:33:09 PM
Loser of Meath/Kildare has to join as well as Monaghan/Tyrone.Tough enough if you were drawn against one of those or even Sligo for instance.
If you are to join the qualifiers the best time is after a provincial semi final defeat IMO.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 30, 2011, 05:58:29 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 30, 2011, 04:59:33 PM

sooner rather than later would you not think
Post by: Blowitupref on May 30, 2011, 06:01:05 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 30, 2011, 05:58:29 PM

I'd still fancy Mayo for Connacht regardless of yesterdays game.
Post by: balladmaker on May 31, 2011, 10:31:23 AM
QuoteI'd still fancy Mayo for Connacht regardless of yesterdays game.

Not without Billy Joe ...  ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 10:47:43 AM
I think pretty much everyone would agree that Down will win the next match, that list of qualifiers are all a standard below us. But god it is disappointing. The only thing to hope for is that winning will start to give us momentum like last year. Also we get football pretty much every week (if we keep winning) which I like.

But lets not try to fool ourselves, we really really wanted Ulster this year. Ok, we will be looking to the positives that could come from a good qualifier run but we never wanted to be hear and I am quite willing to admit that I am depressed that we are.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 11:03:19 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2011, 10:54:09 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 10:47:43 AM
I think pretty much everyone would agree that Down will win the next match, that list of qualifiers are all a standard below us. But god it is disappointing. The only thing to hope for is that winning will start to give us momentum like last year. Also we get football pretty much every week (if we keep winning) which I like.

But lets not try to fool ourselves, we really really wanted Ulster this year. Ok, we will be looking to the positives that could come from a good qualifier run but we never wanted to be hear and I am quite willing to admit that I am depressed that we are.
Oh dear.

Come on Hardstation, that's not foolish arrogance, tell me honestly is there a team there that you think Armagh wouldn't not only beat but hammer? They are all division 3/4 teams. Armagh would tear any of those sides to pieces. Down are definitely better than any of those sides and it would be a major shock if we lost to any of them.
Post by: Canalman on May 31, 2011, 11:28:43 AM

Sweet Jesus!...... has to be one of the most arrogant posts ever on this board.

Dublin/Laois or Meath/Kildare to be thrown into the mix shortly  with alot more good sides to follow.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 11:46:20 AM
Because Kildare & Laois had already played I was assuming they were out of this stage of the qualifiers. I forgot to check that their games had in fact been preliminary matches.

True if we get drawn against Kildare, Meath, Laois, Donegal or Monaghan then we would have a tough game that would be far from a shock if we lost. If we were drawn against Dublin or Tyrone then we probably would be expected to lose. However no one expects Dublin, Tyrone, Kildare (probably) or Donegal to be in this stage of the qualifiers.

That leaves probably Cavan, Monaghan, Meath & Laois to be added to the list above along with Carlow, & Westmeath or Wexford.

If we draw Monaghan, Meath or Laois then, yes I would expect to be favourites and to win, but far from easily. If we play any of the rest then we will be Heavily favourites for the game (i.e. expected to win). Just because we played badly at the weekend doesn't suddenly make us a bad team, nor does it suddenly make the other teams as good as Armagh. Armagh would beat any of the teams listed once you realistically remove Dublin, Kildare, Donegal & Tyrone.

Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 12:01:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2011, 11:53:29 AM
You just keep digging.....

If I were you, I'd wait and see who you are drawn against before shooting your mouth off about what you are going to do in the qualifiers.

Okay, that does indeed sound like good advice. I am a bit too honest for my own good at times. But we are a good team despite our bad display on Saturday and we were beaten by a team that really put in an impressive performance.

But your advice sounds wise and sensible
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 31, 2011, 12:12:09 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 12:01:35 PM
If I were you, I'd wait and see who you are drawn against before shooting your mouth off about what you are going to do in the qualifiers.
Okay, that does indeed sound like good advice. I am a bit too honest for my own good at times. But we are a good team despite our bad display on Saturday and we were beaten by a team that really put in an impressive performance.
someone must have hi-jacked his account !!  ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 12:27:49 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 31, 2011, 12:12:09 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 12:01:35 PM
someone must have hi-jacked his account !!  ;)

Be careful now - perhaps you should heed the same advice, Derry still have to play Armagh so you could easily end up in the qualifiers too. And remember it was only last week that you claimed you are "The Arsenal of Gaelic football"
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2011, 08:15:39 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 30, 2011, 05:58:29 PM

Well yes, but sooner on in the year isn't one of my expressions. ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 31, 2011, 08:24:43 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 12:27:49 PM
Be careful now - perhaps you should heed the same advice, Derry still have to play Armagh so you could easily end up in the qualifiers too. And remember it was only last week that you claimed you are "The Arsenal of Gaelic football"
he'll be grand.
as for the qualifiers - I'd expect us to go by our 'traditional route' before too long !
(though you Armagh boys know more about going via  traditional routes!!! ;))

Absolutely the 'arsenal' of Gaelic football, like them we wear red and white and also like them we score loads but concede much more !! :D
Post by: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 09:03:18 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 31, 2011, 08:24:43 PM
he'll be grand.
as for the qualifiers - I'd expect us to go by our 'traditional route' before too long !

Absolutely the 'arsenal' of Gaelic football, like them we wear red and white and also like them we score loads but concede much more !! :D

Seriously - "you Armagh boys..." have you read any of my posts!!!!!!! ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 31, 2011, 09:40:25 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 11:03:19 AM

Oh dear.

Come on Hardstation, that's not foolish arrogance, tell me honestly is there a team there that you think Armagh wouldn't not only beat but hammer? They are all division 3/4 teams. Armagh would tear any of those sides to pieces. Down are definitely better than any of those sides and it would be a major shock if we lost to any of them.

If I am not mistaken haven't 3 of the teams listed beaten Down in the qualifiers or in Ulster ?  It certainly would not be a "major shock" if Sligo were to turn you over either.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 31, 2011, 09:53:03 PM
2009 qualifier Wicklow 1-15 Down 0-17, Down fans shouldn't take any team for granted.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 10:20:47 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 09:03:18 PM
he'll be grand.

yes you know the rules - maybe a ref

however you dont read my posts - you seemed to have missed the wee winky boy in the prev one !
Post by: PAULD123 on June 01, 2011, 11:12:37 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 10:20:47 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 31, 2011, 09:03:18 PM
he'll be grand.

however you dont read my posts - you seemed to have missed the wee winky boy in the prev one !

Yeah I get the wink "Traditional routes" it's reference to Drumcree I presume. But that's not what I was saying. If you read my posts it would become pretty obvious quickly that I am not from Armagh. I am a very depressed Down man. BTW I'm not a ref, but more of a pedant and the sort that reads instruction manuals and rule books.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 01:41:42 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 01, 2011, 11:12:37 AM
Yeah I get the wink "Traditional routes" it's reference to Drumcree I presume. But that's not what I was saying. If you read my posts it would become pretty obvious quickly that I am not from Armagh. I am a very depressed Down man. BTW I'm not a ref, but more of a pedant and the sort that reads instruction manuals and rule books.
...and the wink was also supposed to show hat I knew you were not an Armagh man, but Down lads go mad when called that...
QED !!
humour in the written word is fecking near impossible!

Anyhow, the qualifiers will be on soon and theres a good chance we'll met you in them !
....along with red hot favourites Kildare !  ;)
Post by: Corcaigh Abu on June 01, 2011, 04:48:28 PM

Oh dear.

Are you an Armagh man my god that 1 all irleand seem's to have gone to you're heads. ;D I was very dissapointed for Down i have always held Down football in great esteem.I always loved the way Down teams play football and Mickey Linden and James McCartan were and still are two of my favourite non Cork GAA personalities.I think Down can go on a run through the qualifiers but they have a long road back to Croke Park.To build on the progress they made last year they needed to win an ulster title.They have a fine forward line and if Ambrose Rogers get's fit and they put Dan Gordon into midfield then they will be strong enough there.The problem is that there backs are too lose.If they sorted there backline out they would be all ireland contenders.The other problem is that if you shut down Marty Clarke you shut down the supply into the forwards.Oh well i will be shouting for the Down boys and i wish them all the best except when there playing Cork.Maybe they might have beaten the Ourmagh boy's if they had the Mayo man playing for them. ;D
Post by: Groucho on June 01, 2011, 05:35:36 PM
What part of Cork was Larry Tompkins from? :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2011, 05:36:30 PM
Quote from: Groucho on June 01, 2011, 05:35:36 PM
What part of Cork was Larry Tompkins from? :D

And Shay Fahey?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 01, 2011, 05:41:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 01:41:42 PM
...and the wink was also supposed to show hat I knew you were not an Armagh man, but Down lads go mad when called that...
QED !!

Anyhow, the qualifiers will be on soon and theres a good chance we'll met you in them !

Cannot resist bait!

Kildare love the qualifiers, in the last 3 years have played 8 won 8 and who can forget Kildare 2-17 Derry 1-9  ;D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 01, 2011, 07:46:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 01, 2011, 05:41:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 01:41:42 PM
QED !!

Cannot resist bait!

Kildare love the qualifiers, in the last 3 years have played 8 won 8 and who can forget Kildare 2-17 Derry 1-9  ;D

me  :(
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 09:55:26 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 01, 2011, 05:41:37 PM
Cannot resist bait!

Good man !!  :D

Most certainly you for one will undoubtedly keep reminding me of this- even when Kildare do their usual Devon Loch impression and are back to being he richest but worst county team in Leinster again !
Right now they are unbackable favourites against a rag taggle Meath side that are in turmoil on and off the field. Kildare should win easily by about 15 points, its theirs to lose.
However, I dont like the look of young Connor at FF. !
Post by: PAULD123 on June 02, 2011, 10:04:10 AM
8 wins in 8 games that is some record. Of course all records come to an end sooner or later. But full credit, it's a lot better than Down's qualifier record. Until last year we had only won 6 out of 15 games in the qualifiers (I think).

Post by: Dougal on June 02, 2011, 10:06:36 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 02, 2011, 10:04:10 AM
8 wins in 8 games that is some record. Of course all records come to an end sooner or later. But full credit, it's a lot better than Down's qualifier record. Until last year we had only won 6 out of 15 games in the qualifiers (I think).

kerry have never lost a qualifier.not sure how many they've played,but id imagine its more than 8.
Post by: laoislad on June 06, 2011, 11:11:47 AM
When is the draw being made?
Post by: borderfox on June 06, 2011, 11:32:33 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 06, 2011, 11:11:47 AM
When is the draw being made?
Sunday night
Post by: PAULD123 on June 06, 2011, 11:16:31 PM
Sunday 12th June with first qualifier being played Saturday 25th June.

With regard to home advantage, the qualifiers all are played at the home of the first team out unless that team has been away the year before in round 1, is that correct?

Also Down played Sligo last year but it was nuetral in Cavan, how come? I went to teh game but never thought about the fact that it was nuetral.
Post by: ross4life on June 06, 2011, 11:41:15 PM
Round 4 qualifiers have always been in neutral venues or a toss of the coin for home advantage like it was for Limerick v Cork last year, earlier rounds are home & away but the weaker counties are sometimes given home advantage.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 06, 2011, 11:53:35 PM
And the draw is being made in Carrick, so all eyes on Leitrim next Sunday. Neither Leitrim or Ross will be in this qually draw though.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 12, 2011, 05:46:41 PM
All set up for a Louth v Meath glamour tie up in Drogheda!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 12, 2011, 06:03:28 PM
Quote from: Dougal on June 02, 2011, 10:06:36 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 02, 2011, 10:04:10 AM

kerry have never lost a qualifier.not sure how many they've played,but id imagine its more than 8.
The qualifiers were introduced in 2001, so there has been 10 years of them. In that period, Kerry has won 6 Munster Championships, so I'm not sure they'd be up to 8 qualifer games.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 12, 2011, 06:04:08 PM
Some mood music with the XX.
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2011, 06:05:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 12, 2011, 05:46:41 PM
All set up for a Louth v Meath glamour tie up in Drogheda!

You called it!

Sluddenly its game on.
Post by: Tubberman on June 12, 2011, 06:06:10 PM
Louth v Meath. FFS  :D :D
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2011, 06:09:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 12, 2011, 06:07:13 PM
Westmeath in Casement. Happy enough.

Your name is on the cup.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2011, 06:10:16 PM
We accept the Cavan challenge.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2011, 06:19:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2011, 06:10:16 PM
We accept the Cavan challenge.

Have they ever met in the championship before?
Post by: SHEEDY on June 12, 2011, 06:20:09 PM
down away to clare. nice short trip on a sat night.  :(
Post by: bennydorano on June 12, 2011, 06:27:36 PM
Dry them ffs. Lovely draw for Down to get the show back on the road, I was hoping for an away trip to Monaghan.
Post by: gerry on June 12, 2011, 06:48:13 PM
Any chance of the full list of games
Post by: Shrewdness on June 12, 2011, 06:51:55 PM
Quote from: gerry on June 12, 2011, 06:48:13 PM

Clare v Down
Laois v Tipperary
Cavan v Longford
Louth v Meath
Offaly v Monaghan
Antrim v Westmeath
London v Fermanagh
Wicklow v Sligo
Post by: gerry on June 12, 2011, 06:57:43 PM
Cheers. Fermanagh never thought they would be playing football in the capital this year. lol
Post by: Blowitupref on June 12, 2011, 07:45:36 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 12, 2011, 06:51:55 PM

Clare v Down
Laois v Tipperary
Cavan v Longford
Louth v Meath
Offaly v Monaghan
Antrim v Westmeath
London v Fermanagh
Wicklow v Sligo

Alot of 50/50 ties there! Down,Fermanagh should win not so sure about the rest.
Post by: thewobbler on June 12, 2011, 07:55:21 PM
Interestingly all the Ulster teams were kept apart, and none of them are without strong chances. There could be 7 of them in the hat for round 2.

Based on the Mayo game, London v Fermanagh could be the game of the round in terms if a talking point.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 12, 2011, 07:58:23 PM
I'm afraid I agree. No good can come of this fixture.
London, though, may have played their hand and let things go a bit after throwing it away against Mayo. I hope.
Post by: FermGael on June 12, 2011, 07:58:57 PM
Do not know what to think.
We have a very inexperienced team and heading over to London will not be easy.
London gave Mayo a serious scare and they will be very happy with getting Fermanagh.

As wobbler says, it could very well be a talking point
Post by: sammymaguire on June 12, 2011, 08:12:48 PM
It would have been better to lose away to Sligo or someone and forget about this year, than play London, win, lose or draw as anything other than win could really set Fermanagh back ten years
Post by: Maguire01 on June 12, 2011, 10:11:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 12, 2011, 07:45:36 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 12, 2011, 06:51:55 PM

Clare v Down
Laois v Tipperary
Cavan v Longford
Louth v Meath
Offaly v Monaghan
Antrim v Westmeath
London v Fermanagh
Wicklow v Sligo

Alot of 50/50 ties there! Down,Fermanagh should win not so sure about the rest.
I'd almost have Fermanagh as a 50/50 tie.

And I'd expect Monaghan to be a bit better than 50/50 against Offaly as well.
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2011, 10:16:00 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 12, 2011, 07:55:21 PM
Interestingly all the Ulster teams were kept apart, and none of them are without strong chances. There could be 7 of them in the hat for round 2.

Based on the Mayo game, London v Fermanagh could be the game of the round in terms if a talking point.

London would have prepared all year for that one. Mayo would have ignored it and trained for Galway 4 weeks later. We nearly got caught out but Fermanagh will win handy.

But I'm looking forward to: Louth v Meath = Sludgematch.
Post by: ross4life on June 12, 2011, 10:33:42 PM
Clare v Down- Down should have enough class to see this through
Laois v Tipperary - After the poor showing v Dublin, Laois should get back to winning ways
Cavan v Longford - Longford kicking too many wides will cost them again.
Louth v Meath - Revenge for Louth sure it has to be?
Offaly v Monaghan - Monaghan with away win.
Antrim v Westmeath- Antrim to edge it
London v Fermanagh - London suprise factor gone Fermanagh should win this with a bit to spare.
Wicklow v Sligo- really 50/50 but i'll give the vote to my Connacht neighbours.
Post by: western exile on June 12, 2011, 10:35:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 12, 2011, 10:16:00 PM

London would have prepared all year for that one. Mayo would have ignored it and trained for Galway 4 weeks later. We nearly got caught out but Fermanagh will win handy.
Fermanagh beat London in their league game in Enniskillen  by 6 points only 2 months ago.  I would expect London to do better than that at Ruislip, especially since they look to have improved since then.  There is no evidence that Fermanagh have improved since then
Post by: Blowitupref on June 12, 2011, 11:04:08 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2011, 10:35:57 PM

Fermanagh beat London in their league game in Enniskillen  by 6 points only 2 months ago.  I would expect London to do better than that at Ruislip, especially since they look to have improved since then.  There is no evidence that Fermanagh have improved since then

The team Mayo lined out with v London, Fermanagh would have beaten them.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 12, 2011, 11:43:38 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2011, 10:35:57 PM

apparently it's been moved to the Emirates to accomadate the crowd.
Post by: Gold on June 13, 2011, 12:28:16 AM
Westmeath will be tricky--i'd say we've the worst record in the country in the qualifiers. We've only won once since it began--a 1 point win v Leitrim i think whilst being beaten by Clare at home etc.
Post by: AQMP on June 13, 2011, 09:24:54 AM
Clare v Londondown - Straighforward enough for the Queen's favourite team??
Laois v Tipperary - Tight one here..Laois by one score
Cavan v Longford - Cavan looked poor enough yesterday, I'll go for Longford
Louth v Meath - Meath
Offaly v Monaghan - Monaghan
Antrim v Westmeath - 50/50.  Home venue could give Saffrons the edge but we've been nothing short of awful in the qualifiers.  Antrim after ET??
Brits v Fermanagh - Jaysus Fermangh can't lose this...can they??
Wicklow v Sligo- Too close to call...emmm a wild guess, Sligo maybe after extra time
Post by: amallon on June 13, 2011, 10:18:46 AM
Clare v Down- I would expect Down to win this one if the heads are right
Laois v Tipperary - Laois
Cavan v Longford - Cavan were so poor yesterday its hard to see them recovering
Louth v Meath - Louth might have found it hard to get over the Carlow defeat if they had drawn any other team but surley this draw must have been a massive boost for them.  Louth to win
Offaly v Monaghan - Monaghan to win
Antrim v Westmeath- Westmeath
London v Fermanagh - Fermanagh
Wicklow v Sligo- Sligo
Post by: Bogball XV on June 13, 2011, 11:20:30 AM
Quote from: FermGael on June 12, 2011, 07:58:57 PM
Do not know what to think.
We have a very inexperienced team and heading over to London will not be easy.
London gave Mayo a serious scare and they will be very happy with getting Fermanagh.

As wobbler says, it could very well be a talking point
having seen you against derry, i would agree.  This could be a London win, not necessarily an upset though.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 13, 2011, 11:43:16 AM
Clare v Down-  Down
Cavan v Longford - Larries
Louth v Meath - Meath
Antrim v Westmeath - Antrim
London v Fermanagh - Fermanagh
Wicklow v Sligo - Wicklow
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 13, 2011, 12:12:58 PM
Clare v Down- Nice draw for Down. Should be comfortable enough for them.
Laois v Tipperary - Tipp beat them last year in Thurles but home advantage should see Laois gain revenge.
Cavan v Longford - Longford should have beaten Laois. If they can get enough ball into Kavanagh they'll have Cavan in trouble.
Louth v Meath - God knows. Mahem probably.
Offaly v Monaghan - If Monaghan can hold McNamee, they should be too good.
Antrim v Westmeath - Tough one to call. Antrim have had longer to recover from their provincial defeat and that might tell.
London v Fermanagh - If London can reproduce their performance against Mayo then they might trouble Fermanagh.
Wicklow v Sligo - Wicklow are always tough to beat in Aughrim. Hard to know if Sligo will have the belly for the back door.
Post by: amallon on June 13, 2011, 01:45:18 PM
Any word on dates and venues?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 13, 2011, 02:02:14 PM
Louth/Meath in Breffni Park on Sat 25th live on RTE. Nothing about the others confirmed yet.

Our minors play Galway on that evening so wouldn't be surprised if our game was on Sunday v. Wicklow.
Post by: waitingforsam on June 13, 2011, 03:02:48 PM
Louth's mouth-watering clash with Meath in the first round of the All-Ireland Football qualifiers will be played in Kingspan Breffni Park as a double-header with Cavan's clash with Longford.

The teams were paired in yesterday's draw in what will be a repeat of last year's Leinster Football final.

All of the qualifiers will take place on Saturday 25 June.

Wicklow's match with Sligo will take place in Aughrim at 7pm.

Offaly face Monaghan in Tullamore and Laois host Tipperary in Portlaoise at the same throw-in.

London and Fermanagh will begin the day's action in Ruislip, with their clash getting underway at 1:30pm.

Antrim host Westmeath at 2pm in Casement Park, while Clare take on Down in Ennis at 3pm.
Post by: western exile on June 13, 2011, 03:27:18 PM
Clare v Down-  Down
Cavan v Longford - Longford
Louth v Meath - Meath
Antrim v Westmeath - Antrim
London v Fermanagh - London
Wicklow v Sligo - Sligo
Post by: magpie seanie on June 13, 2011, 03:39:54 PM
Quote from: waitingforsam on June 13, 2011, 03:02:48 PM
Louth's mouth-watering clash with Meath in the first round of the All-Ireland Football qualifiers will be played in Kingspan Breffni Park as a double-header with Cavan's clash with Longford.

The teams were paired in yesterday's draw in what will be a repeat of last year's Leinster Football final.

All of the qualifiers will take place on Saturday 25 June.

Wicklow's match with Sligo will take place in Aughrim at 7pm.

Offaly face Monaghan in Tullamore and Laois host Tipperary in Portlaoise at the same throw-in.

London and Fermanagh will begin the day's action in Ruislip, with their clash getting underway at 1:30pm.

Antrim host Westmeath at 2pm in Casement Park, while Clare take on Down in Ennis at 3pm.

Why are the Antrim/Westmeath and Down/Clare games on early in the day and ours isn't? Maybe Sligo is much closer to Wicklow than I thought. When you factor in that our minors are due to play Galway that evening its a bit of a head scratcher.
Post by: Fear Boirche on June 13, 2011, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: amallon on June 13, 2011, 01:45:18 PM
Any word on dates and venues?

The CCCC has confirmed the times, dates and venues for the eight Round 1 GAA Football All-Ireland Qualifiers.

The hugely-anticipated meeting of Louth and Meath, a repeat of last year's Leinster GAA Championship final, has been fixed for Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday, June 25, with a 7.00pm throw-in. The game will be screened live on RTÉ 2.

Although Louth had home advantage after being drawn first in Sunday's draw in Carrick-on-Shannon, the game will be played at the neutral Cavan venue because the Louth county ground, Drogheda, has a capacity of just 4,000.

Last year's provincial final between the two sides ended in controversy when Meath won the game with a disputed late goal from Joe Sheridan.

The game will be preceded by the meeting of Cavan and Longford, which has a 5.00pm start at the same venue.

Elsewhere, last year's beaten All-Ireland champions, Down, will travel to Cusack Park, Ennis to face Clare, with the game throwing in at 3.00pm.

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 1
Saturday, June 25 2011

Cusack Park, Ennis: Clare v Down, 3.00pm

Portlaoise: Laois v Tipperary, 5.00pm/7.00pm*
*(If part of Double Header with SHC Laois v Uíbh Fhailí, throw in will be at 5pm. Or as a Stand Alone fixture, throw in will be at 7pm)

Casement Park, Antrim v Westmeath, 2.00pm

Kingspan Breffni Park: Louth v Meath, 7.00pm

Ruislip: London v Fermanagh, 1.30pm

Kingspan Breffni Park: Cavan v Longford, 5.00pm

Aughrim: Wicklow v Sligo, 5.00pm

Tullamore: Offaly v Monaghan, 7.00pm

Meanwhile, the throw-in times for next weekend's GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Preliminary Round games have also been confirmed.

Cork travel to Portlaoise, where they will face Laois at 3.00pm, while the meeting of Antrim and Westmeath also has a 3.00pm throw-in at Casement Park.

Should Cork advance, they will play Offaly the following Saturday at Páirc Uí Chaoimh (throw-in 3.00pm) in Phase II, while a Laois win would see the O'Moore men have home advantage at Portlaoise against Offaly (3.00pm).

If Antrim advance to Phase II they will play Carlow in Casement Park at 4.00pm on Saturday, June 25, while a Westmeath win would give the Lake men home advantage at Cusack Park, Mullingar against Carlow (3.00pm).
Post by: magpie seanie on June 13, 2011, 05:24:30 PM
Where did you get that from? I don't see anywhere saying that Sligo v. Wicklow is at 5pm.
Post by: Fear Boirche on June 13, 2011, 05:32:04 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 13, 2011, 05:24:30 PM
Where did you get that from? I don't see anywhere saying that Sligo v. Wicklow is at 5pm.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1306111439-louth-meath-fixed-for-parnell-park/ (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1306111439-louth-meath-fixed-for-parnell-park/)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 13, 2011, 08:16:58 PM
Id like to go to both Seanie but i think i might chose the home game for the Minors tbh,

Charlie Harrison quotes prior to the leitrim game:
"Losing to Leitrim doesn't even come into it. We will be inconsolable if that happens. If things don't go well we will struggle for the rest of the season.''

At senior level we are in disarray, we are also missing costello for wicklow game and curran, with cawley gone to USA aswell, Sean Davey is injured, along with all the other long terms who are getting back but wont make this game, Johnny Davey, David Kelly and Colm McGee.

Harrisons above quote doesnt really do much to motivate any Sligofan to travel 3.5 hrs to watch a struggle and probable loss, we are extremely vunerable mentally atm. If there is no change and minors are clashing a handful will only go to the senior game as the minor performance is much more important imo to Sligo football.

Post by: ross4life on June 13, 2011, 08:27:31 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 13, 2011, 08:16:58 PM
Id like to go to both Seanie but i think i might chose the home game for the Minors tbh,

Charlie Harrison quotes prior to the leitrim game:
"Losing to Leitrim doesn't even come into it. We will be inconsolable if that happens. If things don't go well we will struggle for the rest of the season.''

At senior level we are in disarray, we are also missing costello for wicklow game and curran, with cawley gone to USA aswell, Sean Davey is injured, along with all the other long terms who are getting back but wont make this game, Johnny Davey, David Kelly and Colm McGee.

Harrisons above quote doesnt really do much to motivate any Sligofan to travel 3.5 hrs to watch a struggle and probable loss, we are extremely vunerable mentally atm. If there is no change and minors are clashing a handful will only go to the senior game as the minor performance is much more important imo to Sligo football.

Well if your missing all them players it's hard to see ye winning in Aughrim but then again maybe the Wicklow team that scored only 5 points v Kildare will turn up & not the one that scored 2-16 v us.
Post by: Orior on June 13, 2011, 08:37:09 PM
Seems to be a bit of confusion as to whether Antrim play Westmeath at 2pm or 3pm.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on June 13, 2011, 09:20:01 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 13, 2011, 08:37:09 PM
Seems to be a bit of confusion as to whether Antrim play Westmeath at 2pm or 3pm.

Both. The hurlers play this Saturday at 3pm, the footballers are the week after at 2pm
Post by: Don Johnson on June 13, 2011, 09:58:43 PM
So what matches do you think will be televised? Who has the rights for the qualifiers?

Obviously Louth Meath will be. Possibly two others?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 13, 2011, 11:53:12 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on June 13, 2011, 09:58:43 PM
So what matches do you think will be televised? Who has the rights for the qualifiers?

Obviously Louth Meath will be. Possibly two others?

I'd say one more Cavan v Longford.
Post by: ross4life on June 14, 2011, 12:10:19 AM
I would like to see London v Fermanagh on TV is would be a big boost to London GAA to have a game televised but i guess the 1.30 throw in rules that out.
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2011, 12:11:59 AM
QuoteI would like to see London v Fermanagh on TV is would be a big boost to London GAA to have a game televised

Let the TV in London show it.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2011, 09:48:52 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 14, 2011, 12:10:19 AM
I would like to see London v Fermanagh on TV is would be a big boost to London GAA to have a game televised but i guess the 1.30 throw in rules that out.
I'm sure anyone in London that's interested will go to the game.
I suspect they wont have much problem fitting them in.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 14, 2011, 05:44:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 12, 2011, 06:07:13 PM
Westmeath in Casement. Happy enough.

Post by: Blowitupref on June 14, 2011, 06:38:21 PM
To keep this thread ticking over, teams that will be in the draw for round 2

Limerick
    Waterford
    Derry/Armagh
    Donegal/Tyrone
    Leitrim
    Galway/Mayo
    Kildare/Dublin
    Wexford/Carlow
Post by: PAULD123 on June 14, 2011, 07:24:08 PM
Definatley some tough draws coming up in round 2. Any one of Armagh/Derry, Mayo/Galway or Dublin/Kildare, and even Donegal/Tyrone will mean either a division1 or very good division 2 side being in the hat. That's four teams out of eight that anyone would want to avoid
Post by: macdanger2 on June 14, 2011, 07:38:37 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 14, 2011, 07:24:08 PM
Definatley some tough draws coming up in round 2. Any one of Armagh/Derry, Mayo/Galway or Dublin/Kildare, and even Donegal/Tyrone will mean either a division1 or very good division 2 side being in the hat. That's four teams out of eight that anyone would want to avoid

Yeah, any of those four could easily be a provincial final - it might actually be an advantage to the 4 losing teams however to lose in a semi-final rather than a final considering the record of provincial finalists in Rd 4 qualifiers.
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2011, 08:00:27 PM
QuoteYeah, any of those four could easily be a provincial final - it might actually be an advantage to the 4 losing teams however to lose in a semi-final rather than a final considering the record of provincial finalists in Rd 4 qualifiers.

It might. If some of these "top ten" teams get beaten at this stage and they get somebody like the winners of Westmeath/Antrim then they are on the road again, if they get a Div 1 team like Monaghan or Down they might not proceed and it wouldn't be great season.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 15, 2011, 10:59:27 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 14, 2011, 07:38:37 PM
Yeah, any of those four could easily be a provincial final - it might actually be an advantage to the 4 losing teams however to lose in a semi-final rather than a final considering the record of provincial finalists in Rd 4 qualifiers.

The record is staggering. Out of 40 Round 4 qualifiers since the back-door began, only 15 losing provincial finalists have made it through to the quarter finals (37%). 2005 was the only year all four losing finalist went through, but in 2010, 2004 & 2003 none made it at all.

This could be because provincial finals rarely have the best two teams in the final. They have the best teams either side of a draw. So they normally have the best team (who has beaten the second best team on the way to the final) playing the team that came through the "weak" half of the draw, or had a lucky victory. That means the losing finalists have to play the teams that in truth would have been the second best in each province.

Basically it's not that getting to provincial final is of any disadvantage at all when entering the qualifiers it is simply that being in the weak half of the draw, or a weak provincial tournament is an unrealistic advantage which is shown up when you have to face the best of the rest from the stronger provinces/draws.
Post by: snoopdog on June 15, 2011, 12:24:06 PM
Do the 8 that come hrough this round of qualifiers be drawn agianst the 8 losing semi finalists?
Or is it an open draw?
Post by: western exile on June 15, 2011, 12:28:14 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 15, 2011, 12:24:06 PM
Do the 8 that come hrough this round of qualifiers be drawn agianst the 8 losing semi finalists?
Or is it an open draw?
The former.
Round 3 is the only round that is open draw (because there are only qualifiers in it)
Post by: Blowitupref on June 16, 2011, 03:06:16 PM
What do you guys make of the fixture schedule? this week only one football game (Armagh v Derry) & next weekend 12 games, wouldn't it be better to have half of the qualifiers on this Saturday?
Post by: snoopdog on June 16, 2011, 04:33:51 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 16, 2011, 03:06:16 PM
What do you guys make of the fixture schedule? this week only one football game (Armagh v Derry) & next weekend 12 games, wouldn't it be better to have half of the qualifiers on this Saturday?

The whole set up of the championship is a joke, yep half the qualifiers could be out of the way by sunday evening. But common sense never comes into it with the GAA.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 16, 2011, 04:50:30 PM
Yeah that's unreal right enuf. Only 1 game this weekend.

I know this has been chatted about a lot before but I was just having a look at the performance of teams who won their province in the last 5 years.

In the last 5 years there have been 20 teams in the semi final stages
Of this 20, only 7 have been provincial winners & its getting less and less each year

In 2006 there were 3 winners out of the 4 provincial winners
In 2007 that fell to 2 teams
In 2008 & 2009 that fell to just 1 team (Cork)
Last year ALL provincial winners lost for the 1st time

Here are the Provincial Winners in AI 1/4 finals since 2006
2010 Roscommon, Tyrone, Meath & Kerry - All 4 Lost - Cork won AI via back door
2009 Mayo, Tyrone, Dublin & Cork - Cork the only winners - Kerry won the AI via Back door
2008 Galway, Armagh, Dublin & Cork - Cork the only winners - Tyrone won AI via back door
2007 Sligo, Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry - Dublin & Kerry only winners- Kerry won AI front door
2006 Mayo, Armagh, Dublin & Cork - Mayo, Dublin & Cork - Kerry won the AI via Back door

Is it just coincidence or are teams doing better going via the qualifiers.
Only once in the past 5 years has a team won the AI the traditional way.
Dublin who had won the previous 5 Leinsters (05-09) on the trot, then "mysteriously" got hammered by Meath last year but then went on and should have beated Cork, the eventual Champions

When Tyrone won the AI in 2005 they played 10 games in total beating the Ulster, Leinster, Munster & AI champions. During the campaign many said they would get too tired as they'd too many matches on the trot whereas others said that this was good for them to build up a head of steam.

Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2011, 07:57:39 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 16, 2011, 04:33:51 PM

The whole set up of the championship is a joke, yep half the qualifiers could be out of the way by sunday evening. But common sense never comes into it with the GAA.
Just to annoy ye bucks a bit more -- 8 teams will be gone out of the Championship before Galway even play their first game :-*
Post by: ross4life on June 17, 2011, 07:46:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 16, 2011, 07:57:39 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 16, 2011, 04:33:51 PM

Just to annoy ye bucks a bit more -- 8 teams will be gone out of the Championship before Galway even play their first game :-*

9 we knocked out the boys from the big apple  :P
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2011, 10:28:16 PM
So round two draw tomorrow after the Dublin v Kildare game

Bowl A                                                                          Bowl B
Limerick                                                                          Wicklow
Waterford                                                                       Offaly
Leitrim                                                                            Meath
Galway/Mayo                                                                   Antrim
Armagh                                                                           London
Donegal/Tyrone                                                               Longford
Dublin/Kildare                                                                   Laois
Carlow/Wexford                                                               Down
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2011, 11:18:33 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 25, 2011, 11:12:02 PM
How is home advantage decided?
Going to be a bowl C first team drawn will have home venue.
Post by: thebuzz on June 25, 2011, 11:54:54 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2011, 10:28:16 PM
So round two draw tomorrow after the Dublin v Kildare game

Bowl A                                                                          Bowl B
Limerick                                                                          Wicklow
Waterford                                                                       Offaly
Leitrim                                                                            Meath
Galway/Mayo                                                                   Antrim
Armagh                                                                           London
Donegal/Tyrone                                                               Longford
Dublin/Kildare                                                                   Laois
Carlow/Wexford                                                               Down

It makes a great change for me not to be waiting for the second round draw. Derry have been in it every year since 2001.
Post by: ross4life on June 26, 2011, 12:18:06 AM
I would like to see Leitrim win their first ever qualifier game but looking at the teams they could get it's hard to see it  :-\
Post by: balladmaker on June 26, 2011, 12:39:59 AM
Armagh v Meath ... watch this space
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2011, 07:22:31 AM
London 0-15 Fermanagh 0-09

Antrim 0-16 Westmeath 1-07

Down 1-13 Clare 1-12

Longford 2-16 Cavan 0-11

Wicklow 1-18 Sligo 0-16

Laois 2-16 Tipperary 0-11

Meath 5-08 Louth 2-08

Offaly 1-18 Monaghan 1-10

Post by: Hardy on June 26, 2011, 05:43:10 PM
I hope it's Tyrone.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2011, 05:54:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 26, 2011, 05:43:10 PM
I hope it's Tyrone.

Antrim v Tyrone - Casement
Post by: passedit on June 26, 2011, 06:08:58 PM
anybody but kildare
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on June 26, 2011, 06:10:27 PM
Down AT HOME vs Leitrim

Happy days
Post by: Capt Pat on June 26, 2011, 06:15:06 PM
London will probably win again. Waterford in.London.
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2011, 06:30:35 PM
Poor Longford. They could have got Waterford..

Draw:

Limerick v Offaly

Down v Leitrim

Laois v Kildare

Longford v Tyrone

Armagh v Wicklow

Meath v Galway

Antrim v Carlow

London v Waterford
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2011, 06:34:17 PM

Draw:

Limerick v Offaly, cant call - draw

Down v Leitrim with handicap

Laois v Kildare

Longford v Tyrone

Armagh v Wicklow with handicap

Meath v Galway

Antrim v Carlow

London v Waterford with handicap
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2011, 06:37:48 PM
Laois vs Kildare will be a cracker!
Post by: Orior on June 26, 2011, 06:38:27 PM
Great open draw. This is why I like the qualifiers
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 26, 2011, 06:38:50 PM
Looking at that draw, I'd fancy Longford as the most likely underdog to spring a surprise.
Post by: Main Street on June 26, 2011, 06:43:58 PM
I think Longford would prefer not to burdened by being tagged as the team most likely to be the super underdog.
It should be a toss up between that game and Meath v Galway for the main televised game.
Post by: passedit on June 26, 2011, 06:50:30 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2011, 06:37:48 PM

Tv game.

down will be happy enough though liam doyle will be a bit confused.
Post by: Armaghgael on June 26, 2011, 06:53:09 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 26, 2011, 06:50:30 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2011, 06:37:48 PM

Tv game.

down will be happy enough though liam doyle will be a bit confused.

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2011, 06:55:44 PM
POR vs Micko - this is what concerns me.

But Stevie and Jamie should cause a few problems.
Post by: ross4life on June 26, 2011, 06:57:08 PM
Feel sorry for Leitrim worst possible draw teams like them should be allowed a home game. London will fancy a 2nd championship win.
Post by: under the bar on June 26, 2011, 07:46:44 PM
QuoteLooking at that draw, I'd fancy Longford as the most likely underdog to spring a surprise.

On that basis do you reckon Meath have no chance then?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 26, 2011, 07:56:47 PM
Meath have a long way to go but are heading in the right direction. We will not be underdogs v Galway, especially at home. If we had to travel it might be another story. We have beaten them twice in the past year or so (granted they were only challenege matches) and in our last meeting in the qualifiers (albeit 2007). 2001 isn't relevant in the grand scheme of things as COR alluded to on TSG.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 12:12:52 AM
Limerick v Offaly
Down v Leitrim
Laois v Kildare
Longford v Tyrone
Armagh v Wicklow
Meath v Galway
Antrim v Carlow
London v Waterford

Gonna be some top games in round 3 when the 8 winners from this round square off.
Post by: joemamas on June 27, 2011, 01:52:04 AM
Did anybody else pick up on Ger Canning asking Paddy Naughton and Willie Joe during the draw to " Give it a little stir around", sounding like a cooking class, the two boys must have felt like right eejeets.

Post by: AQMP on June 27, 2011, 11:06:48 AM
Limerick v Offaly...Offaly pulled a big performance out of the bag to trim Monaghan, so I'll go with them
Down v Leitrim...the head says Down all the way but they made heavy weather of Clare, I'll go for Down by one or two
Laois v Kildare...with apologies to my Tyrone and Meath friends Kildare are the best team in the qualifiers.  Should win by 5 or 6
Longford v Tyrone...this could be tight and Glen Ryan has Longford going well...Tyrone after ET??
Armagh v Wicklow...Home advantage to see Armagh home??
Meath v Galway...based on the weekend's games Meath by four or five
London v Waterford...a big win and home draw, could be London again
Antrim v Carlow...hmmm good draw for Antrim but Carlow are a better team than they showed yesterday.  Mick McCann a big loss to us, but James Loughrey is back and looks to be in great nick.  Casement Park advantage, I'll go for Antrim by one score then draw the winners of London/Waterford ;)

Post by: waitingforsam on June 27, 2011, 03:17:04 PM
9.07.2011 (Sat)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship

Round 2

Newry 3.00pm An Dún v Liatroim

Referee: TBC

(E.T. if Necessary)

Portlaoise 7.00pm Laois v Cill Dara TV3

(E.T. if Necessary)

Pearse Park, 7.00pm An Longfort v Tír Eoghain

Longford Referee: TBC

(E.T. if Necessary)

Morgan Athletic 7.00pm Ard Mhacha v Cill Mhantáin

Grounds Referee: TBC

(E.T. if Necessary)

Páirc Tailteann 7.00pm An Mhí v Gaillimh

Navan Referee: TBC

(E.T. if Necessary)

Casement Park 2.00pm Aontroim v Ceatharlach

(E.T. if Necessary)

Ruslip 6.30pm Londain v Port Láirge

(E.T. if Necessary)

09-10.07.2011 (Sat/Sun)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship

Round 2
Post by: tonto1888 on June 27, 2011, 03:31:47 PM
kildare/laois should be good. Id expect us tosee of wicklow
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 03:33:19 PM
So it's our sworn enemies Galway again.
I hate them so much.  >:(
Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 03:52:29 PM
I would expect the Laois Kildare match to be the obvious choice for live TV coverage.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 27, 2011, 03:57:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 03:52:29 PM
I would expect the Laois Kildare match to be the obvious choice for live TV coverage.

Yep tis...TV3 7pm.
Post by: Hardy on June 27, 2011, 04:24:22 PM
I know he probably has super powers, being an alien and all, but how is E.T. going to ref all those matches at the same time?
Post by: PAULD123 on June 27, 2011, 04:29:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 26, 2011, 06:57:08 PM
Feel sorry for Leitrim worst possible draw teams like them should be allowed a home game. London will fancy a 2nd championship win.

I understand your sentiment that weaker teams should be given the best possible chance. But you are forgetting the fans that travel to the match. It cost me almost 100 Euro in petrol alone to go to that match in Clare. Surely its not fair that some fans would be required to shell out that money every time just because their team is doing well? I was dreading another away draw and not because I would worry so much about advantage, simply because of the costs starting to really mount up.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 05:02:32 PM
What's the story with so many 7pm throw ins these days? Not fair for the traveling support IMO
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2011, 05:10:09 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 05:02:32 PM
What's the story with so many 7pm throw ins these days? Not fair for the traveling support IMO

Saturday afternoon shopping traffic in a lot of the provincial towns is the reasoning often offered.

Evening throw ins generally generate a better atmosphere in my experience.
Post by: ross4life on June 27, 2011, 05:14:42 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 27, 2011, 04:29:50 PM

I understand your sentiment that weaker teams should be given the best possible chance. But you are forgetting the fans that travel to the match. It cost me almost 100 Euro in petrol alone to go to that match in Clare. Surely its not fair that some fans would be required to shell out that money every time just because their team is doing well? I was dreading another away draw and not because I would worry so much about advantage, simply because of the costs starting to really mount up.

Point taken. i was only thinking of it from a Leitrim point of view.
Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 05:17:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2011, 05:14:42 PM

Are you from Leitrim?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 05:18:38 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2011, 05:10:09 PM

Saturday afternoon shopping traffic in a lot of the provincial towns is the reasoning often offered.

Yes they do generate better atomspheres but for some traveling support especially with small children they don't get home until very late at night.
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 05:48:31 PM
Quote from: waitingforsam on June 27, 2011, 03:17:04 PM

Pearse Park, 7.00pm An Longfort v Tír Eoghain

Longford Referee: TBC

(E.T. if Necessary)

b**tards are at it already.
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 05:50:22 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 05:18:38 PM

Yes they do generate better atomspheres but for some traveling support especially with small children they don't get home until very late at night.

Kids love being let stay up late.
Post by: ross4life on June 27, 2011, 06:02:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 05:17:44 PM

Are you from Leitrim?
No.
Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 06:06:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2011, 06:02:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 27, 2011, 05:17:44 PM

Are you from Leitrim?
No.

Interesting.
Post by: tommysmith on June 27, 2011, 06:23:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 05:50:22 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 27, 2011, 05:18:38 PM

Kids love being let stay up late.

I would hope the parents wouldnt let them out off sight either with the likes of you about.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 27, 2011, 08:27:52 PM
Or play one or two of them on a Sunday.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 28, 2011, 02:36:18 AM
Last three years the All Ireland winner has come from round 2.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 28, 2011, 08:11:20 AM
I have to say that the weekend's qualifiers produced probably the best set of results one could hope for.

No longer will Fermanagh, Monaghan, Cavan or Louth be sullying this year's championship. And for that we should be grateful.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2011, 12:48:16 PM
My blog thoughts here, http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/ (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/)
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:54:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2011, 12:48:16 PM
My blog thoughts here, http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/ (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/)

I stopped at "nary a mention of economics, recessions"!

Only joking, serious body of work there and obvioulsy a lot of time put into it. It reads as a very good round-up of the weekends action, even if Mayo were a miss, but at least you predicted we would win.

Hopefully we'll be on your 'hit' list soon.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 28, 2011, 12:55:02 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 28, 2011, 08:11:20 AM
I have to say that the weekend's qualifiers produced probably the best set of results one could hope for.

No longer will Fermanagh, Monaghan, Cavan or Louth be sullying this year's championship. And for that we should be grateful.

Who would you like to see knocked out of the next round?
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 28, 2011, 01:08:10 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 28, 2011, 12:55:02 PM

Who would you like to see knocked out of the next round?

Nobody really. Tyrone at a push, but that's unlikely. Carlow maybe too, but only because they play Antrim.

Ask me again after the provincial finals.
Post by: snoopdog on June 28, 2011, 01:11:59 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 28, 2011, 02:36:18 AM

Tyrone were in the qualifiers from Round 1 in 08.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2011, 01:15:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:54:09 PM

Only joking, serious body of work there and obvioulsy a lot of time put into it. It reads as a very good round-up of the weekends action, even if Mayo were a miss, but at least you predicted we would win.

Not really a lot of time. You'd be surprised (or maybe not) at the rate of sh1te I can come out with. A lunch time exercise, because I'm a loser :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2011, 01:27:39 PM
AZ, I was in for the whole Carlow game, Adrian Flynn for Wexford was superb at half-back, looks a real natural and Carlows defensive problems started with their full-forward line and in particular their 14 who just didn't want to know. Good ball was going in but it was just coming straight back out, their full-back line actually did ok considering the pressure they were under.

Brosnan was very poor on Sunday, didn't impose himself at all and I can see Dublin's half-backs gobbling him up.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 28, 2011, 01:33:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2011, 01:15:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:54:09 PM

Not really a lot of time. You'd be surprised (or maybe not) at the rate of sh1te I can come out with. A lunch time exercise, because I'm a loser :D

I enjoyed it. Better than a lot of stuff you'd catch in the Irish Media anyway.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 28, 2011, 01:36:20 PM

Didnt get many bites, did ya Sam?  :P
Post by: western exile on June 28, 2011, 02:25:38 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 28, 2011, 01:11:59 PM

There were only 3 rounds of qualifiers in 2 of the 3 years mentioned, as the div 4 counties were only allowed Tommy Murphy and not Sam Maguire.  So effectively, the round 1 then was more like the current round 2.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 28, 2011, 03:48:27 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 28, 2011, 02:25:38 PM

There were only 3 rounds of qualifiers in 2 of the 3 years mentioned, as the div 4 counties were only allowed Tommy Murphy and not Sam Maguire.  So effectively, the round 1 then was more like the current round 2.

Eh yeah, except that there are a significant number of Div-4 teams that are still in it. 
Post by: western exile on June 28, 2011, 04:24:21 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 28, 2011, 03:48:27 PM
Quote from: western exile on June 28, 2011, 02:25:38 PM

Eh yeah, except that there are a significant number of Div-4 teams that are still in it.
Touchy touchy there BB!   ;)
Yes there are. And rightly so.  And there probably would have been back in 2008 if they had been allowed to enter.
But all of that is beside the point that was being made.  Back then, the first round was like round 2 as we know it in current format i.e. 3 wins will get you to the AI quarter final.

P.S.  I was in Pearse Park last year when Longford beat Mayo, and I was in at Páirc Esler too, when Longford pushed Down all the way.  So I fully expect  Tyrone to have their work cut out for  them on the 9th.

Post by: waitingforsam on June 29, 2011, 02:16:25 PM
Ulster Council tried to get down & Armagh to have a double header for their qualifier game.

Neither was willing to give up home advantage.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 29, 2011, 02:46:38 PM
Too right. Why should either team give up precious home advantage. Secondly when money has been spent to develop their respective home stadia, why would they give up home advantage? And finally, why should a supporter be forced to pay increased costs (because I am assuming they would ramp up the price) because of  a match that they have no interest in seeing anyway?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2011, 02:48:52 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 29, 2011, 02:46:38 PM
Too right. Why should either team give up precious home advantage. Secondly when money has been spent to develop their respective home stadia, why would they give up home advantage? And finally, why should a supporter be forced to pay increased costs (because I am assuming they would ramp up the price) because of  a match that they have no interest in seeing anyway?

I agree with your first two points, but the third? Really? A GAA fan would have 'no interest' in seeing an All Ireland Championship Senior match at the same venue as the one they are attending?

I love double headers.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 29, 2011, 03:03:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2011, 02:48:52 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 29, 2011, 02:46:38 PM

I agree with your first two points, but the third? Really? A GAA fan would have 'no interest' in seeing an All Ireland Championship Senior match at the same venue as the one they are attending?

I love double headers.

Ok perhaps I meant more that they would have no interest in paying to see the match of two teams they don't support. yeah for sure many would watch it on TV but there will be relatively few Armagh fans inside Parc Esler and likewise few Down fans in the Athletic Grounds (though timing would allow it). There will be some, but by and large very few fans would be interested in paying to see the rival county when they have their own match to pay for on the same day
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 29, 2011, 03:18:35 PM
Quote from: waitingforsam on June 29, 2011, 02:16:25 PM
Ulster Council tried to get down & Armagh to have a double header for their qualifier game.

Neither was willing to give up home advantage.

Strange. Its got absolutely nothing to do with the Ulster Council.
Post by: waitingforsam on June 29, 2011, 04:48:56 PM
Strange, but fact.
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2011, 05:42:28 PM

Great work there AZ - enjoy the other sports snippets. Looking forward to the next one.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 29, 2011, 08:51:16 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 28, 2011, 01:36:20 PM

Didnt get many bites, did ya Sam?  :P

Wasn't looking any. Read back over my posts. Fermanagh and Cavan has been despicably poor; embarrassingly so, they have no right to be competing in a Senior football competition. I've proposed an amalgamation of the two in the past - sure it's all we hear anyway with the Sean Quinn stuff. Monaghan's "tactics" and behaviour on the pitch annoy me - there is no excuse for the common thuggery they try to pass off as football. Happy to see Louth out as well, even though they've changed the badge. I dislike their manager and his attire and his political career forged on Sludden's incompetence.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 02, 2011, 06:06:35 PM
From hoganstand.com

Football  Qualifer draws next weekend

The draws for the 2011 All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers Rounds Three and Four will take place on Sunday week July 10th at Croke Park.

The draws will take place after the Leinster Football final.

Rounds 3 & 4 Football Qualifiers

1. Round 3 and Round 4 Football
Two bowls - Round 3 Draw (Bowl 1), Round 4 Draw (Bowl 2)

Round 3 Draw
Bowl 1: 8 Winners from Round 2
Down/Leitrim
Armagh/Wicklow
Longford/Tyrone
Waterford /London
Offaly/Limerick
Galway/Meath
Kildare/Laois
Carlow/Antrim

First team out has home advantage
Games to be played on July 16th

Each tie in Round 3 is drawn to play against a team from Bowl 2 in Round 4

Bowl 2: Beaten Provincial Finalists
Cork/Kerry
Dublin/Wexford
*Donegal/Derry
*Mayo/Roscommon

"The winner of these games will not be known on July 10th. Slip name should read as above.

Venues to be determined by C.C.C.C
Games to be played on July 23rd

Logistics
Draw two teams from Bowl 1 (to make 3rd Round tie), followed by drawing one from Bowl 2 (To make 4th Round fixture)

1. Draw Team 1 from Bowl A - open and announce (e.g. "Leitrim")
2. Draw Team 2 from Bowl A - open and announce (e.g. "London")
3. Announce 3rd Round Fixture (Leitrim v London i.e. Leitrim at HOME to London)
4. Draw one team from Bowl B to make Round 4 Fixture (e.g. "Donegal or Derry)
5. Announce 4th Round Fixture "Leitrim or London v Donegal or Derry" - AT A NEUTRAL VENUE

Repeat steps 1 to 5 four times to complete draw
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 01:18:23 PM
Limerick versus Offaly fixed for 2pm Saturday in the Gaelic Grounds. Nice day out, with the double header being Galway and Cork in the hurling.

Feel sorry for the Limerick fans as they get treated like Offaly. 2pm in the Gaelic Grounds, with a 7pm throw in in Parnell park for the hurling v Antrim. Given that Cork are playing Galway in the Gaelic Grounds as well, it'll be hard for them to leave and head up the M7. Even worse for Galway, they have no chance of being in Navan for 7.
Post by: Lone Shark on July 04, 2011, 01:30:18 PM
Very few Galway dual supporters though, at least I've met very few in my years living down here and following games. Limerick would have a lot more crossover, nearly as much as ourselves.
Title: Am
Post by: drici on July 04, 2011, 02:56:00 PM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/7353dcdf43ba9c62cf1fbe3df8292524cf863b44cd0afde71f355080bc768df56g.jpg)

Carlow won't have to leave until nine o'clock now(if they are travelling on the same day as the game).
Match moved to 3-00pm.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:06:21 PM
Ah Luke, I'd say it's bad preparation to face that drive on the day of the game no matter what. Surely an overnight in a travel lodge or something would be better?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 03:45:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:06:21 PM
Ah Luke, I'd say it's bad preparation to face that drive on the day of the game no matter what. Surely an overnight in a travel lodge or something would be better?

County boards don't have the money for over-nighters anymore, Flanagan was cribbing something similar about our game down in Wexford. A 2 and a half hour drive took 3 and a half hours as they had to factor in a few stops to let the lads loosen their legs.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:46:35 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 03:45:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:06:21 PM

County boards don't have the money for over-nighters anymore, Flanagan was cribbing something similar about our game down in Wexford. A 2 and a half hour drive took 3 and a half hours as they had to factor in a few stops to let the lads loosen their legs.

They might if they didn't, ah never mind.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 03:51:54 PM
Carlow and a lot of teams do like their players to spend the pre-match evening in their own environment, eliminates the boredom factor ensures players get a better nights sleep.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:53:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 03:51:54 PM
Carlow and a lot of teams do like their players to spend the pre-match evening in their own environment, eliminates the boredom factor ensures players get a better nights sleep.

Absolutely, and in most cases that's fine. But surely a night in a hotel is preferable to a 4 hour drive on the day of a game?
Post by: armaghniac on July 04, 2011, 03:57:13 PM
QuoteAbsolutely, and in most cases that's fine. But surely a night in a hotel is preferable to a 4 hour drive on the day of a game?

Carlow - Belfast is 3 hours, perhaps this is marginal.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:58:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 04, 2011, 03:57:13 PM
QuoteAbsolutely, and in most cases that's fine. But surely a night in a hotel is preferable to a 4 hour drive on the day of a game?

3 hours with a straight run, in a car. I'd bet it's longer in a bus, and I assume they're taking the coach. You don't want players driving that distance.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2011, 04:34:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:58:11 PM

3 hours with a straight run, in a car. I'd bet it's longer in a bus, and I assume they're taking the coach. You don't want players driving that distance.

That's why they hire a bus driver ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 04:43:19 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2011, 04:34:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:58:11 PM

That's why they hire a bus driver ;)

Em. Yeah. That's why I said it takes longer in a bus, and I assume they will take a bus because you don't want players driving for 3 hours in a car.
Post by: Ludraman on July 04, 2011, 05:00:46 PM

de carlow bies should wind there watches forward and hour after work on de friday. then they would go to be an hour earlier and wud be well rested on saturdat mornign. den they should wind it on another hour when they get up so dat it wud feel like a 4 0'colck game for them. wudn't be so bad then, no?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 09:25:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:53:33 PM

Absolutely, and in most cases that's fine. But surely a night in a hotel is preferable to a 4 hour drive on the day of a game?

It's probably a 3.5 hrs to Belfast from Carlow. Carlow schedule will probably be

Meet 9:30  for breakfast
Depart 10:15
Arrive Dundalk  12:00 for pre-match meal and brief team meeting
Depart Dundalk 13:00
Arrive Casement 14:00
Throw-in 15:00

The extra hour makes that more manageable so I'd say Luke was right to have a whinge and get it changed. 

The logistics of travelling on a Friday night is a pain in the hole, lads would have to take a half-day from work, travel is longer because of week-end traffic, you get bored in the hotel, only so many meetings you can have, players won't sleep as well. Players will just spend too much time thinking about the game. Plus it would cost you the guts of €2k to stay over night in a hotel.

In and out on the same day is always preferable.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 09:43:05 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 09:25:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 03:53:33 PM

It's probably a 3.5 hrs to Belfast from Carlow. Carlow schedule will probably be

Meet 9:30  for breakfast
Depart 10:15
Arrive Dundalk  12:00 for pre-match meal and brief team meeting
Depart Dundalk 13:00
Arrive Casement 14:00
Throw-in 15:00

The extra hour makes that more manageable so I'd say Luke was right to have a whinge and get it changed. 

The logistics of travelling on a Friday night is a pain in the hole, lads would have to take a half-day from work, travel is longer because of week-end traffic, you get bored in the hotel, only so many meetings you can have, players won't sleep as well. Players will just spend too much time thinking about the game. Plus it would cost you the guts of €2k to stay over night in a hotel.

In and out on the same day is always preferable.

In your opinion. In my opinion it's only preferable if it's a handy trip. Offaly is grand, because we can hit nearly anywhere within 3 hours, but if it was longer than that, I always prefer to go the day before. But maybe I like hotels :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 09:49:50 PM
Typical selfish player not worried about the group dynamic or what the coaches or managers have to worry about  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 10:07:36 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 09:49:50 PM
Typical selfish player not worried about the group dynamic or what the coaches or managers have to worry about  :D

Guilty as charged :D

However, as a coach now, I would prefer my scenario to yours for the long trips. I would obviously prefer yours for games where we'd be there in good time, having left on the same day, without leaving at the crack of dawn.

So inside a 2-3 hour radius I'd be all for an itinerary like you've outlined.

Any longer than that, and I'm afraid I'd prefer to be up the night before.

I also find that hotel the night before can focus the mind too, like a business trip, but again, that could be just me.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 10:15:05 PM
In fairness that Carlow trip would be the limit for me, anything over that would be an over night trip, they're just a pain in the hole to plan as you'll players trying to kill time in the morning as well don't forget...
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 10:26:12 PM
I know what you mean.

But sure with the auld technology now with your Y boxes, your SP3s and them nintendo CSIs or whatever you call them,  sure they're grand. And they'll all be doing the twit thing as well I suppose.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 10:29:49 PM
What are Carlow like? It's hard to know where Antrim are at the minute so don't know what to expect of this one.

If they can beat Louth I would expect that it will be a close encounter one way or another as I would imagineAntrim and Louth are of a comparable level.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 10:33:14 PM
I haven't seen much of them, I know Dinny saw them v Wexford. I suppose the main 3 men would be Tommy Walsh, the famous Carlow-Wicklow-Carlow again midfielder, Brendan Murphy, who was a great minor and had a stint in Oz, and Daniel Saint Ledger, who's a decent forward.

At home I'd expect Antrim to have too much for them.

Dinny?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 10:37:45 PM
Ah I didn't realise Walsh was back but did notice Brendan Murphy seemed to be doing a lot of damage for them. That has the makings of a strong midfield.

Saint Ledger I recall from a league game a year or two ago - he looked ok but Carlow very poor that day. Carlow, from what I recall, have produced a few minor teams of decent standard over recent years so no doubt have improved.

Expecting a close enough game but hopefully we'll come out the right side of it...
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2011, 11:00:15 PM
Thomas Walsh drifts in out of games, doesn't impose himself at all.

Carlow tend to carry the ball towards the midfield and the launch low diagonal balls into the space between the two forward lines, the delivery was quite good but too many 50/50 and even 60/40 balls were won by Wexford. Their full back line is much maligned but they are under so much pressure because their forward line just can't retain possession but they held their discipline well. Murphy at midfield tries to do too much and and will going missing for periods.

I think Saturday will be tight and I don't think there is too many goals in Antrim, lack of atmosphere might hinder them but even though Carlow are starting to believe Antrim will contain their attack comfortably and I can imagine Antrim will win with 3 or 4 to spare, it will be low scoring maybe 1-10 to 9pts
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 09:38:01 PM
With Wicklow drawing with Armagh how does the Gaa sort out the fixtues now?

Round 3 next week
Round 4 July 24th
QFs 1st,2nd August.

Play a game mid week or push one of the QFS back?
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2011, 10:31:17 PM
They'll have to push a round 4 game and then a Quarter Final back like in 2009 when Ros drew with Wexford.
THe Semis are last 2 Sundays in August so there's hardly any need to panic.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 10, 2011, 12:55:33 AM
It won't happen, but this the way the 'big' counties would like Sunday's draw set-up:

Bowl A:
Down
Kildare
Meath
Tyrone

v

Bowl B:
Antrim
Limerick
Waterford
Wicklow/Armagh ;)
Post by: AQMP on July 10, 2011, 01:29:33 PM
Four Ulster teams in the draw so get ready for some derbies ;)  Antrim v Down and Armagh (if they get through) v Tyrone would suit the GAA.

From an Antrim point of view would be happy to avoid Kildare and Tyrone anything after that is a bonus.  Would have a good chance against Waterford and maybe Wicklow (if they get through) but the rest are probably better than us (though we did bate Meath in the league)
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 10, 2011, 03:09:08 PM
What time is the draw?
Post by: NP 76 on July 10, 2011, 03:19:36 PM
Think its on after the Munster Hurling Final live from Croke Park
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 05:44:28 PM
Feel like Tyrone will get Meath and the losers from Mayo/Ross.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 05:48:28 PM
The pitch will be fierce crowded.
Post by: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 05:48:59 PM
I hope the Connacht loser avoid the like's of Kildare,Tyrone it's already unfair having to play 6 days later.
Post by: snippets on July 10, 2011, 05:54:55 PM
Will the tyrone armagh and down antrim games be a double header in croker
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 05:56:49 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 05:44:28 PM
Feel like Tyrone will get Meath and the losers from Mayo/Ross.

:D :D
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 05:58:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 05:48:28 PM
The pitch will be fierce crowded.

It'd be a bit of craic all the same.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 06:08:36 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 10, 2011, 03:09:08 PM
What time is the draw?

6.45pm
Post by: ziggysego on July 10, 2011, 06:26:22 PM
Cheers.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 10, 2011, 06:28:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 05:48:59 PM
I hope the Connacht loser avoid the like's of Kildare,Tyrone it's already unfair having to play 6 days later.

What's the fuss everyone makes about a provincial loser having to play 6 days later. Everyone who wins a qualifier round 3 has to play 7 days later. Why this outpouring of sympathy for the sake of one day????
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 06:32:31 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on July 10, 2011, 06:28:51 PM

What's the fuss everyone makes about a provincial loser having to play 6 days later. Everyone who wins a qualifier round 3 has to play 7 days later. Why this outpouring of sympathy for the sake of one day????

Slight difference, one would be coming off the back of a win & other has to pick themselves up after losing a provincial final.
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2011, 06:33:49 PM

Only if we happen to lose.
If it's MWR sure they should play it on Monday  ;D
Post by: Caid on July 10, 2011, 06:48:16 PM
The bottom half of Joanne Cantwell's face looks like Podge & Rodge :/

Limerick (home) v Waterford
Post by: gerry on July 10, 2011, 06:50:03 PM
tyrone v armagh/micklow
Post by: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 06:50:24 PM
Ah bollix
Post by: Caid on July 10, 2011, 06:50:51 PM
Limerick v Waterford v Wexford

Tyrone v Armagh/Wicklow (no bother for Micko's men) vs Mayo / Roscommon

Antrim  v Down v Cork

Meath v Kildare v Donegal/Derry
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 06:51:45 PM
Heed nobody has too far to travel as each one is a provincial Derby!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 06:51:57 PM
meath vs kildare  ;D ;D......................................
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2011, 06:53:45 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 06:50:24 PM
Ah bollix

:-\ :-\ :-\

Another good reason to bate the rhubarbs  :D
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 07:08:32 PM
Limerick vs Waterford - Limerick

Limerick vs Wexford - Limerick

Quarter Finalist 1 - Limerick

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wicklow vs Armagh - Armagh

Tyrone vs Armagh - Tyrone

Mayo vs Roscommon - Roscommon

Tyrone vs Mayo - Tyrone

Quarter Finalist 2 - Tyrone

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Antrim vs Down - Down

Cork vs Down - Cork

Quarter Finalist 3 - Cork

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meath vs Kildare - Kildare

Donegal vs Derry - Derry

Kildare vs Donegal - Kildare

Quarter Finalist 4 - Kildare

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Provincial Winners - Kerry, Dublin, Derry and Roscommon
Back Door Winners - Limerick, Kildare, Cork and Tyrone

Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:08:44 PM
The pub owners of Navan are already installing hitching posts and water troughs outside their establishments.
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2011, 07:14:59 PM
The losers from the West got their extra week!
Post by: laoislad on July 10, 2011, 07:15:54 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 06:51:45 PM
Heed nobody has too far to travel as each one is a provincial Derby!

Tyrone v Wicklow..
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 07:18:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:08:44 PM
The pub owners of Navan are already installing hitching posts and water troughs outside their establishments.

;D ........................... gonna be some whooping and hollering in your neck of the woods

(http://www.roundstonesummerfest.com/news/wp-content/culchie13.jpg)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 07:42:13 PM

Limerick vs Waterford - Limerick

Limerick vs Wexford - Wexford

Quarter Finalist 1 - Wexford

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wicklow vs Armagh - Armagh

Tyrone vs Armagh - Tyrone

Mayo vs Roscommon - Mayo

Tyrone vs Roscommon - Tyrone

Quarter Finalist 2 - Tyrone

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Antrim vs Down - Down

Cork vs Down - Cork

Quarter Finalist 3 - Cork

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meath vs Kildare - Kildare

Donegal vs Derry - Donegal

Kildare vs Derryl - Kildare

Quarter Finalist 4 - Kildare

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Provincial Winners - Kerry, Dublin, Donegal and Mayo
Back Door Winners - Wexford, Kildare, Cork and Tyrone
Post by: snoopdog on July 10, 2011, 07:51:15 PM
Gutted . if we get past Antrim we will be tanked by Cork. Why did those idiots have to make the last round draw tonight. Could they not have let us get over Antrim first.
Although with Down i wouldnt be suprised if we lost to Antrim.
I fell as if the championship is already over for us even  though we still may have 2 games to go.
Need Danny Hughes and Ambrose getting run outs next week if we are to have any chance.
Post by: David McKeown on July 10, 2011, 08:20:53 PM
Did I imagine it or was there not a promise last year that beaten provincial finalists would get a week off. Did this not happen or does it just not apply to Ulster teams?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 08:43:00 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 10, 2011, 08:20:53 PM
Did I imagine it or was there not a promise last year that beaten provincial finalists would get a week off. Did this not happen or does it just not apply to Ulster teams?

Is provincial fixture planning  a central decision or is it at the relevant provincials councils behest, so long as the provincial championships are finished by 17th July to fit in with the qualifiers/QFs.
Post by: AFS on July 10, 2011, 08:49:31 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 10, 2011, 07:51:15 PM
Gutted . if we get past Antrim we will be tanked by Cork. Why did those idiots have to make the last round draw tonight. Could they not have let us get over Antrim first.
I fell as if the championship is already over for us even  though we still may have 2 games to go.
Need Danny Hughes and Ambrose getting run outs next week if we are to have any chance.

Good idea I reckon. Gives a lot more focus to the qualifiers now that teams know their exact route to the quarter finals from this far out.
Post by: David McKeown on July 10, 2011, 08:51:06 PM
My understanding is it's centrally organised for tv to avoid other provincial finals in both codes
Post by: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 08:58:34 PM
I read somewhere Ulster/Connacht finals will be on earlier next year with the Munster final on last. Ulster loser no doubt got the short straw in the draw this time, not only a 6 day turn around but possibly v Kildare.
Post by: bennydorano on July 10, 2011, 08:59:04 PM
Think Tyrone could have the scent of Sam in their nostrils after that.  Hopefully Wicklow will does us a favour and save us from the inevitable embarrasment that would await.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 10, 2011, 09:01:08 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 10, 2011, 07:51:15 PM

We were always going to have to face a top quality side sooner or later. yeah it's really tough having to face Cork even if we do overcome Antrim but if we want to be a top team then we have to prove it. lets face it we have to face a step up even just to beat Antrim but at least it is a Divsion 3/2 team and gives the team the chance we wanted. We could be facing the on-fire Kildare or Tyrone.

I think we have to face the fact that while we may be in the top 6-7 teams in the contry, we are not even close to the top 2. Kerry & Cork are way ahead of us, but on a good day anything is possible. We have next week to think about before we can even look at trying to match Cork. But, when we were paired with Kerry last year we all thought our championship was over. Bring it on, the talent is there, lets just hope the boys can make it work.
Post by: bennydorano on July 10, 2011, 09:03:28 PM
Your an optimistic soul Paul.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 10, 2011, 10:50:39 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 10, 2011, 09:03:28 PM
Your an optimistic soul Paul.

I would say realistic. We did run Cork to a single point in the final, beat Kerry, and only lost in the league to Kerry by 2 points this year. We are not as good as them but close enough to get close.

We have to be realistic and say that we have a better than good chance against Antrim. But that does not mean I am writing them off. We have to produce a top display, but if we do then we would certainly be favorites. But against Leitrim and Clare we have proven that we are vulnerable enough to be at great risk in the next match
Post by: customsandrevenue on July 11, 2011, 01:23:24 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on July 10, 2011, 10:50:39 PM
We have to be realistic and say that we have a better than good chance against Antrim.

How are ya doin' paddypower.com?
Post by: Rossfan on July 11, 2011, 09:53:25 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 10, 2011, 08:20:53 PM

It's only for  Ulster teams as the GAA don't want ye to lose the bags o' spuds from ye're showlders  ;D ;D
I think Ros had a motion to that effect but it likely got lost in the GAA way of doing things somewhere along the line.
Anyway the Provincial Councils knew the dates for Round 4 from way back so they could have organised themselves a bit better.
The  Connacht Championship has  6 games ( 4 in Ireland) yet it took from 1st May to 17th July(barring a replay) to play it  ::) ::)
Post by: David McKeown on July 11, 2011, 04:26:25 PM
I thought central council scheduled provincial finals to suit tv though? Very little the provincial boards could do then
Post by: armaghniac on July 11, 2011, 05:42:19 PM
GAA ALL-IRELAND SFC QUALIFIERS:

Saturday, July 16

SECOND ROUND REPLAY:

Wicklow v Armagh, Aughrim, 7pm; Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

THIRD ROUND:

Limerick v Waterford, Gaelic Grounds, 7pm; Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)
Antrim v Down, Casement Park, 7pm; Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)
Meath v Kildare, Páirc Tailteann, 7pm; Referee: Joe McQuillan (Cavan)

Post by: AQMP on July 11, 2011, 05:45:53 PM
SECOND ROUND REPLAY:

Wicklow v Armagh - Armagh
THIRD ROUND:

Limerick v Waterford, - Limerick
Meath v Kildare - Kildare
Antrim v Down - Down Ah feck it...Antrim
Post by: western exile on July 12, 2011, 12:16:13 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 11, 2011, 05:42:19 PM
THIRD ROUND:

regarding good referees...  as the song goes, "2 out of 3 aint bad" 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2011, 09:17:05 AM
My roundup here...

http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/tipp-on-roll-waterford-in-spin.html (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/tipp-on-roll-waterford-in-spin.html)
Post by: Go home ref on July 17, 2011, 11:00:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 11, 2011, 05:42:19 PM

Saturday, July 16

SECOND ROUND REPLAY:

Wicklow v Armagh, Aughrim, 7pm; Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

THIRD ROUND:

I noticed from the sunday game that Cormac Reilly is maintaining his pathetic standard of refereeing in this instance he gave a penalty and then when the limerick players moaned he went to the umpire and gave a throw ball??! The man is shocking bad
Post by: Lily4life on July 17, 2011, 11:07:16 PM
It's madness letting Cormac Reilly keep messing up games.
As McStay said how could it be a throw ball? It was either a penalty or it went wide?
Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 02:13:53 PM
Quote from: Lily4life on July 17, 2011, 11:07:16 PM
As McStay said how could it be a throw ball? It was either a penalty or it went wide?

I know he's going to destroy another team/match before the season is out
Post by: Bogball XV on July 18, 2011, 02:40:48 PM
or could have been a fifty as I think the limerick man on following through after scything down the waterford lad might have touched the ball.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 18, 2011, 03:29:27 PM
Saturday 23 July

All-Ireland SFC Round 3 Qualifier
Tyrone v Armagh, Omagh, 7pm

All-Ireland SFC Round 4 Qualifier
Wexford v Limerick, Portlaoise, 7pm
Cork v Down, Croke Park, 6pm
Derry v Kildare, Croke Park, 4pm

Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 04:05:13 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 18, 2011, 02:40:48 PM
or could have been a fifty as I think the limerick man on following through after scything down the waterford lad might have touched the ball.

Indeed well one thing is for sure it wasnt a throw ball
Post by: ross4life on July 18, 2011, 04:10:40 PM
I'd say Tyrone/Armagh v Roscommon will be a double header in Croke park with one of the Quarter finals.
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2011, 04:16:22 PM
QuoteI'd say Tyrone/Armagh v Roscommon will be a double header in Croke park with one of the Quarter finals.

Quite probably. Cavan would also seem a possible venue for this game.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2011, 04:18:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 18, 2011, 04:16:22 PM
QuoteI'd say Tyrone/Armagh v Roscommon will be a double header in Croke park with one of the Quarter finals.

Quite probably. Cavan would also seem a possible venue for this game.
Or Clones.

Only qualifier game live next weekend is Cork v Down, What no live Kildare game that can't be right?
Post by: cornafean on July 18, 2011, 04:30:59 PM
Very confusing info on gaa.ie   ???

http://gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/2/1807111545-croke-park-to-host-qualifiers-double-header/

Croke Park will host a double-header of GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 4 Qualifier action next Saturday evening, July 23.

Cork and Down meet in a repeat of last year's GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship final at GAA Headquarters at 6.00pm. The game will be shown live on TV3.

The curtain-raiser is another eagerly-awaited fixture, the meeting of beaten Ulster champions Derry and Kildare, which kicks off a top-class afternoon's entertainment at 4.00pm.

The all-Ulster Round 3 Qualifier meeting of great rivals Armagh and Tyrone has been fixed for Clones at 7.00pm on the same day.

The remaining Round 4 fixture will be played at Portlaoise, where Wexford will play Limerick, the game throwing in at 7.00pm.

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Qualifiers Round 3
Saturday, July 23
Tyrone v Armagh, Omagh, 7.00pm

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Qualifiers Round 4
Wexford v Limerick, Portlaoise, 7.00pm
Cork v Down, Croke Park, 6.00pm
Derry v Kildare, Croke Park, 4.00pm

Post by: ballinaman on July 18, 2011, 04:45:33 PM
It'll be Clones as round 4 games are neutral venues. Typical RTE to make a c**k up though!
Post by: meatsy86 on July 18, 2011, 05:00:47 PM
your wrong ballinaman, this is a round 3 fixture, thus with Tyrone being the home team this game will be played in Omagh!!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 18, 2011, 05:05:41 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 18, 2011, 04:45:33 PM
It'll be Clones as round 4 games are neutral venues. Typical RTE to make a c**k up though!

I thought this was round 3?
Post by: meatsy86 on July 18, 2011, 05:19:25 PM
Round 4 Down have played 3 games in the qualifiers to date this will be the fourth!!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 18, 2011, 05:24:31 PM
Quote from: meatsy86 on July 18, 2011, 05:19:25 PM
Round 4 Down have played 3 games in the qualifiers to date this will be the fourth!!

We're talking about Tyrone v Armagh. I know the other games are round 4.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:28:22 PM

You should apologise to RTE.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 18, 2011, 05:42:37 PM
Quote from: meatsy86 on July 18, 2011, 05:19:25 PM

Yeah, but you have to remember Armagh had a replay of the round 2 Wicklow game when we were [playing round 3 against Antrim. So now we are in round 4 and Armagh are still a week behind in round 3. So it is correct that the game is home advantage for Tyrone. having no room for replays makes the fixture list a bit more confusing

Don't you remember the "Bowl C" fiasco?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2011, 12:21:08 AM
Bookies are going for straight forward Tyrone,Wexford,Cork & Kildare wins next weekend do you agree or should i put some money on one of the outsiders?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2011, 09:53:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:28:22 PM

Yeah ballinaman, seriously - what a c**k up you made. 8)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2011, 10:11:33 PM
my recap http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/mayo-and-donegal-crowned.html (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/mayo-and-donegal-crowned.html)
Post by: ballinaman on July 20, 2011, 11:11:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2011, 09:53:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:28:22 PM

Yeah ballinaman, seriously - what a c**k up you made. 8)
Sincerest apologies to all.. :D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2011, 06:33:39 PM
And this week's.

http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/dublin-validated-waterford-redeemed.html (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/dublin-validated-waterford-redeemed.html)
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 31, 2011, 11:11:49 PM
The auld qualifier thread is very quite. Anyone from Cork around ?