FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

snoopdog

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 28, 2021, 02:57:13 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 28, 2021, 12:38:59 AM
Twitter full to the beams tonight with people trying to make this one John Delaney's fault.

Seriously people, have a good long word with yourselves. The CEO of the FAI has no more input into player development than the Easter Bunny.

You might as well blame the Taoiseach.

—-

Right now the manager's role isn't about today. Ireland couldn't qualify for the finals unless there was mass murder in each of their opponents' training camps.

This doesn't mean Kenny is the right person for the job. But if he's brave enough to cull some of the absolute shite (like McClean) from the set up and instead raise the profile of young players to the point that EPL teams might take notice, that's enough. For now.

This. The new FAI are smart enough to realise we are poor. There is a serious group of players coming through - look at Bazunu tonight, many of whom are LoI produced despite the FAI and that takes time.  However Kenny got the gig on the basis he proved with Dundalk he could get blood from a stone, limited players over achieving. We aren't seeing anything like that
Who are these serious players coming through? 

dublin7

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2021, 12:10:32 AM
So don't blame the manager, blame his previous manager, Delaney?

How do you not know who John Delaney is? Delaney was not the former manager but the former CEO of the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) who had to resign in disgrace after pretty much bankrupting the organization. It's his mismanagement and failure to introduce any structures in Irish football that means we can't produce young quality football players in this country

It's the black of structures in this country to

dublin7

Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2021, 07:11:59 AM
Ireland have been underwhelming for a long time. They qualified for the Euros in 2012. Last in group. In 2016 they got to the last 16. The Euros have been diluted to include about half of the countries. No World Cup.since 2002.

Looking at Serbia during the week, most of their journeymen don't play in England. Maybe they get better experience.
But they probably don't earn as much money as the Irish players.

Serbia drew 2-2 with Portugal and are ranked above Ireland in the world rankings. They have players who play for real Madrid, Inter Milan, Man Utd amongst others and have a stronger squad than Ireland.

6th sam

Much as Delaney must take some of the responsibility it's not all down to him.
Compared to others we are a relatively small country , we have poor weather , poor facilities , and soccer isn't the dominant sport on the streets and fields . We have the additional issue of having access to several strong leagues next door: EPL, Echampionship, Efootball league, Scottish leagues , meaning that relatively speaking , domestic leagues suffer, as most top quality players leave these shores .
The IRFU by contrast to FAI seems to be much better run, and we punch above our weight rugby wise, by having strong domestic teams, amongst other things.
Irish soccer can never regain the success of the 90s as the world demographics of soccer dictate that we are extremely poorly placed to be a competitive soccer nation

Quote from: dublin7 on March 28, 2021, 09:13:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2021, 12:10:32 AM
So don't blame the manager, blame his previous manager, Delaney?

How do you not know who John Delaney is? Delaney was not the former manager but the former CEO of the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) who had to resign in disgrace after pretty much bankrupting the organization. It's his mismanagement and failure to introduce any structures in Irish football that means we can't produce young quality football players in this country

It's the black of structures in this country to

I know exactly who is is and was to the FAI he was (and you've put it in your post) the person who managed the FAI and in doing so managed all the managers

Quote from: 6th sam on March 28, 2021, 09:31:56 AM
Compared to others we are a relatively small country , we have poor weather , poor facilities , and soccer isn't the dominant sport on the streets and fields . We have the additional issue of having access to several strong leagues next door: EPL, Echampionship, Efootball league, Scottish leagues , meaning that relatively speaking , domestic leagues suffer, as most top quality players leave these shores .
The IRFU by contrast to FAI seems to be much better run, and we punch above our weight rugby wise, by having strong domestic teams, amongst other things.
Irish soccer can never regain the success of the 90s as the world demographics of soccer dictate that we are extremely poorly placed to be a competitive soccer nation

Not having this. Luxembourg has half the population of County Dublin and shares a land border with the Bundesliga and Ligue 1.

Quote from: dublin7 on March 28, 2021, 09:18:44 AM
Ireland have been underwhelming for a long time. They qualified for the Euros in 2012. Last in group. In 2016 they got to the last 16. The Euros have been diluted to include about half of the countries. No World Cup.since 2002.

Looking at Serbia during the week, most of their journeymen don't play in England. Maybe they get better experience.

Serbia drew 2-2 with Portugal and are ranked above Ireland in the world rankings. They have players who play for real Madrid, Inter Milan, Man Utd amongst others and have a stronger squad than Ireland.

Kolorov is 35 and doesn't start for Inter, he is a squad player at the end of his career.
Matic did not feature against Ireland.
Whos the Real Madrid player?

shark

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 28, 2021, 10:03:00 AM

Kolorov is 35 and doesn't start for Inter, he is a squad player at the end of his career.

Jovic. But doubt he will ever play for them again.

6th sam

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 28, 2021, 09:51:35 AM
Quote from: 6th sam on March 28, 2021, 09:31:56 AM

Not having this. Luxembourg has half the population of County Dublin and shares a land border with the Bundesliga and Ligue 1.

We should be beating Luxembourg granted , but Tbf they are in the middle of mainland Europe where soccer is very strong in terms of participation , coaching , resources , and glamorous teams. We have none of that . The influence snd ethos of the GAA is dominant throughout most of this country , soccer here has serious ground to make up on the GAA , never mind looking to be competitive on a world stage. The sums don't add up, anyone that thinks we can easily re-capture the "glories" of 88,90,94,02 is seriously deluded. If we can't best Luxembourg , we may hope we don't qualify anyway , as we are seriously out of our depth against top teams.

Are there not more kids playing soccer that GAA?

dublin7

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 28, 2021, 10:03:00 AM

Luka Jovic was on the bench against Ireland as he can't get a game for Real Madrid. Serbia are 30th in the world rankings and Ireland are 42nd and have players playing regularly in the Champions league. You can criticize the Serbia players, but how many of that Irish starting eleven as regulars at their clubs? Most are playing at championship level of football.

While Ireland should be beating Luxembourg there is no statistics that show they should be beating Serbia based on quality

dublin7

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2021, 10:38:38 AM

If you play GAA or rugby in Ireland (and you're good enough) there is a clear path to follow from underage/schoolboy level all the way up to inter county/international level.

Soccer doesn't have anything close to that sort of structures for football in this country thanks mainly to mismanagement at the top level by the likes of John Delaney so Ireland doesn't produce quality players for the international side meaning we are relying on clubs in the UK to do the job for us.

Changing the manager of the senior international team won't suddenly mean Ireland has better players to pick from or start producing players for the international dide

sid waddell

Quote from: dublin7 on March 28, 2021, 10:50:32 AM

If you play GAA or rugby in Ireland (and you're good enough) there is a clear path to follow from underage/schoolboy level all the way up to inter county/international level.

Soccer doesn't have anything close to that sort of structures for football in this country thanks mainly to mismanagement at the top level by the likes of John Delaney so Ireland doesn't produce quality players for the international side meaning we are relying on clubs in the UK to do the job for us.

Changing the manager of the senior international team won't suddenly mean Ireland has better players to pick from or start producing players for the international dide
Correct, changing the manager won't suddenly mean Ireland has better players to pick from

But the current senior international manager is trying to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear

It's basically impossible to do that

Senior international football isn't about development, it's about getting results with the players available

At international level you have a very limited time frame to develop a system, the nature of international football is stop start, with games taking place in small blocks of two or three, weeks or months apart, you get about 10-12 games a year

Try learning a language or musical instrument like that, you won't do it

The cutting edge of football tactics now involves sophisticated methods of attacking as Manchester City and Liverpool demonstrate

Developing these attacking systems takes way longer than organising a simple defensive framework

Tactics at international level are way behind club level - therefore simple, pragmatic, defensive or counter attacking game plans tend to win out - France had a very pragmatic game plan at the last World Cup even with a super talented squad

At the last World Cup we saw teams full of attacking talent struggle hugely to break down defences which were organised according to basic plans - that's because that attacking talent isn't used to playing with each other and didn't play according to a familiar attacking system

Spain, with oceans of attacking talent, struggled hugely to break teams down at the 2010 World Cup, never mind 2018

Ireland has basically no attacking talent

Unsurprisingly we are struggling to break teams down while attempting to play on the front foot

6th sam

Yes definitely more playing in Dublin, belfast , Derry but overall how do you define participation?
Soccer is/was played by most of us, informally, but In terms of underage soccer and retention ireland is way behind the countries it wants to compete against,

Could we not just send the Dublin team out? Couldn't be any worse than these lads and would give the other counties a chance.