GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on February 11, 2008, 08:53:17 PM

Title: Roscommon Vs Meath
Post by: thejuice on February 11, 2008, 08:53:17 PM
Well this is the pick of the second round I think we'd all unanimously agree.

Although we're starting 2 weeks late thanks to Cork, hope fully we can show some form against the Rossies. The 10 point defeat to Monaghan was a dissapointing show for the men from the west. But our O'Byrne lame exit to Longford suggests we're not up and running just yet.
Title: Re: Roscommon Vs Meath
Post by: Rossfan on February 11, 2008, 08:59:05 PM
Although Aertel has this game down for Hyde Park - the word on Shannonside is that it's in Kiltoom.
Hope ye Meathies can find it  :)
Post by: Jinxy on February 11, 2008, 10:03:46 PM
Sounds like gamesmanship to me. "Lets bring them f*ckers to Kiltoom!!" 
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 11, 2008, 10:23:16 PM
The way the Rossies are going, if they switched it back without telling them, they would probably still lose.

Is Kiltoom a good-standard ground? Facilities etc.
Post by: thejuice on February 12, 2008, 10:32:29 AM
Well its officially down for Hyde park according to GAA.ie

Will many of the Roscommon Minors keep their place from last week, I suppose its a bit early in the week for team selections though
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 11:35:53 AM
Kiltoom was a grand setup when I was playing anyway. I'm not sure if it would have the facilities for any sort of a crowd mind you, but the clubhouse and pitch and stuff were lovely.
Post by: thejuice on February 12, 2008, 11:49:53 AM
I dont know, this seems a bit suspicious, dragging us off to a quiet corner of Roscommon, I suspect an ambush.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 12:16:09 PM
I think Kiltoom is the grounds of Clan na Gael.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 12, 2008, 12:29:47 PM
Id say going on last years Division 2 final and then the Championship after that, Meath are on a different level to us right now. For that reason and even allowing for the fact Meath have not played a game in the league yet i would expect Meath to come out of this one comfortably enough.

I think Ros are a division 3 side at this moment in time and for that reason I cant really see us staying in this division - the only thing that may happen is if Cork are relegated then there is a glimmer of hope. Not sure Kiltoom could cater for this game, should be a decent Ros contingent - assume Meath would bring a decent crowd?
Post by: thejuice on February 12, 2008, 12:51:59 PM
Just looking at it on the map, they're pretty close, why not have it in Hyde park?
Post by: Shrewdness on February 12, 2008, 01:02:46 PM
Kiltoom is home to the St.Brigid's club and is actually closer to Athlone than Hyde Park..It's also the venue where Ros dished out a 16 point beating to the great Meath team around late 80's/early 90's.

Expect Meath to gain full revenge on Sunday.....I understand the pitch at Hyde Park is a bit heavy ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 01:06:47 PM
Ah, Brigids. That's right. Where are Clan na Gael from? They're just over the border from Offaly as well aren't they?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 12, 2008, 01:21:33 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 11, 2008, 08:53:17 PM
Well this is the pick of the second round I think we'd all unanimously agree.
Thanks for that!  :D
Post by: shark on February 12, 2008, 01:36:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 01:06:47 PM
Ah, Brigids. That's right. Where are Clan na Gael from? They're just over the border from Offaly as well aren't they?

Clann Na Gael are also just outside Athlone, on road to Ballinasloe. Where as Brigids are on Roscommon road out of Athlone. The two clubs between them have dominated the Ros senior championship for god knows how long, although I dont think Clann are too hot at the moment.
Post by: thejuice on February 12, 2008, 02:23:50 PM
would be nice to get a walk long the shoes of Lough Ree before the game. Havent been there in ages.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 02:44:32 PM
What's the club directly over the border from Shannonbridge? The other side of the river.
Post by: revsperminute on February 12, 2008, 03:18:31 PM
The club directly accross the bridge from Shannonbridge would be Padraig Pearses.

Kiltoom will be big enough for the crowd that will attend whats the biggest attendance that can be expected in truth about 4000. Well then its capable although parking will be interesting. I think the reason for the game being played in Kiltoom is because the county board promised St. Bridgets a NFL game this year and had fixed the Cork game for the venue but as the way the situation is with Cork there was no guarantee of this game going ahead so they decided to full fill the request to St. Bridgets with the Meath game thats going ahead on sunday.
Post by: Rudi on February 12, 2008, 05:44:28 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on February 11, 2008, 10:23:16 PM
The way the Rossies are going, if they switched it back without telling them, they would probably still lose.

Kiltoom ground has recently been worked on, all facilities are excellent. Parking will be a problem so expect a long walk. The ground is located 7 miles outside Athlone on the main Roscommon road, its quarter of a mile down a wee road to the right.

2 Senior Connacht titles since GAA began Sligoman & possibly on your way to D 4 football next season, dont be shouting too loud ;)
Post by: Rossfan on February 12, 2008, 08:37:54 PM
Quote from: Rudi on February 12, 2008, 05:44:28 PM

2 Senior Connacht titles since GAA began Sligoman & possibly on your way to D 4 football next season, dont be shouting too loud ;)

Be fair now Rudi - they have 50% more than that - a whole 3 - unless of course the GAA only began in 1939 when we started winning All Irelands. ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 13, 2008, 01:02:49 AM
Quote from: Rudi on February 12, 2008, 05:44:28 PM

Kiltoom ground has recently been worked on, all facilities are excellent. Parking will be a problem so expect a long walk. The ground is located 7 miles outside Athlone on the main Roscommon road, its quarter of a mile down a wee road to the right.

Oh I expect us to be in the same division next year, and we're not going to get promotion either. And past history is fine and well, but we're on top of the pile for now, though realistically third.
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:04:56 AM
Meath will be without midfielder Mark Ward and the recently returned Joe Sheridan for their trip to Roscommon on Sunday.

Ward has an ankle injury while Sheridan twisted a knee at training last week and will be laid up for four to six weeks. Sheridan returned to the Meath squad earlier in the year after quitting in the middle of last year's championship campaign.
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 03:35:17 PM
Change of venue for Roscommon/Meath clash
13 February 2008

Roscommon's Division Two NFL home game against Meath will now be played at Kiltoom instead of Dr Hyde Park.

Rossies officials took the decision to switch the venue amid fears that the county grounds could be waterlogged if there is any rain in the run-up to the weekend.

Sunday's game has a 2.30 throw-in and brings the Royal County back to the scene of their humiliating 16-point drubbing in 1990.
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2008, 09:05:59 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 03:35:17 PM
Change of venue for Roscommon/Meath clash
13 February 2008

Roscommon's Division Two NFL home game against Meath will now be played at Kiltoom instead of Dr Hyde Park.

I towld ye that yesterday !! pay attention.
Ros team - Claffey, O'Connor A McDermott Murtagh,O'Gara Kenny Daly, O Carroll Mannion, Tiernan FRANKIE !!!! Cregg, Heneghan Dunning and S Kilbride.
Enda Kenny the U21 full forward at no 6  :o David O'Gara star minor forward ( equaliser v Kerry 2006  ;)) also in the Half back line and Frankie to play his first League game since 2005 or was it 2004.
Hopefully we wont lose by 10 like the last day but any team with Maughtan in charge makes optimism an impossibility :-\
Post by: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 09:02:17 AM
Is there anyone going to the Roscommon / Meath match that would be willing to text updates to the Live Scores service on GAA Radio?  The number to send your texts to is 447624804328. The service is free for everyone to view at http://www.gaaradio.com/scores/liveScores.jsp . Thanks.
Post by: thejuice on February 17, 2008, 11:26:09 AM
Meath Vs Roscommon 2:30 Sunday Sport LMFM

http://www.lmfm.ie/
Post by: thejuice on February 17, 2008, 02:57:21 PM
Roscommon 1-3
Meath 0-5

26 mins gone, Meath had a poor start, Fay sounds like he's having a good game.
Post by: Hardy on February 17, 2008, 03:41:58 PM
Roscommon 1-10, Meath 0-13, 20 minutes into second half
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2008, 04:15:06 PM
Sounds like we were lucky to come out of it with a draw. A few close, tough games will do the younger lads no harm anyway.
Post by: whassupp2 on February 17, 2008, 04:18:45 PM
sounded like a cracking game on shannonside radio.
ros' missed a penalty in the 31st minute.

Post by: thejuice on February 17, 2008, 04:45:19 PM
Aye, hope Shane O'Rourke is ok, we did well to finish level though i got the impression we had the chances to win, as did the Rossies. Next game is against Westmeath, we'll need to up our game to come away with a result from that
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2008, 05:09:34 PM
That was our first competitive game in a good while. I'd expect the lads to improve on the back of it.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 17, 2008, 09:48:48 PM
Bloody Meath!!! I had a fiver on Monaghan/Derry/Down/Meath.... it was all going so well.

So, were Meath bad or have the Rossies improved that much in the past 2 weeks?
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 18, 2008, 02:08:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 17, 2008, 09:48:48 PM

My opinion Maguire is that Monaghan are a much better side than both Ros and Meath - I think ye will do very well in the leaugue this year. In fairness to Meath they will improve though.
Post by: agorm on February 18, 2008, 02:29:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 17, 2008, 09:48:48 PM
Bloody Meath!!! I had a fiver on Monaghan/Derry/Down/Meath.... it was all going so well.

Probably a bit of both. Roscommon were definitely up for it and started both halves very well. These Meath players havenot played together yet this year and that showed especially towards the end. Meath essentially could afford to play without Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Stephen O' Rourke who went off with a hamstring about halfway through the first half and still have pretty decent firepower up front. Midfield were good in the first half albeit against a poor Ros midfield. Meath's problems are at the back and we need some bigger, tougher,faster backs in the Meath tradition if we are to do anything of note in the upcoming years. I saw nothing yesterday to give any hope that we would not be pushed aside the way the Cork boys did last August.
Fair play to Roscommon, they kept at it and could easily have won as they missed a penalty at the death.

One point. Can you imagine a county taking a pretty significant national league game to an out of the way venue and putting no signs on the road to identify where the pitchg is?? I am serious! There was not even a sign for Kiltoom GAA pitch.  There was a sign on the opposite side of the road for St Brigids Sports Club and a turn needed to be taken there. I can only assume that people followed the car in front when turning in on the basis that Roscommon people knew where they were going. We certainly missed the turn and had gone quite a distance before we knew we were wrong. Nothwithstanding that, the event was well organised by the local club.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 18, 2008, 04:02:10 PM
They did it to us in the FBD in Ballinlough, lucky I knew the way already. Thats another well run Ros club. They a nice bunch the Rossies but they like to make it hard for you.
Post by: Rudi on February 18, 2008, 04:38:47 PM
Locals took it for granted that 1 mile of cars parked on both sides of the road in Kiltoom yesterday was an indicator that a match of sorts was taking place. Didn't realise Meath people were as thick as the ones in Mayo ;D :D. Only having a laugh, I guess it should have been sign posted better. Anyhow the match was fantastic our best performance under Maughan, had we came into the game with any confidence would have probably won it with 6 to spare. Saying all that Meath were rusty yesterday, & you get the feeling will have much bigger days ahead of them this summer, always liked the Meath lads big, tough, direct & supporters are good craic & quite humble. Division does not look as strong as earlier predicted, Armagh have gone back a lot, Cork will probably cancel another few games cause their nice new socks might get dirty :'( ;D, Dublin only beat WMeath by 2 at home. A fired up Monaghan defo have the winning of this division.. Good luck to Meath for rest of campaign football needs a team like Meath.
Post by: thejuice on February 18, 2008, 04:44:42 PM
Quote from: Rudi on February 18, 2008, 04:38:47 PM
always liked the Meath lads big, tough, direct & supporters are good craic & quite humble. Good luck to Meath for rest of campaign football needs a team like Meath.

Ah your making me blush.......
Post by: Rossfan on February 18, 2008, 08:41:13 PM
Glad ye Meath lads found the pitch despite our best efforts to send ye astray :D
We expected nothing yesterday but got a pleasant surprise and should have won in the end.
If we can keep playing with that spirit for the rest of the NFL we might survive in div 2.
Next up Cork which according to the Stolensheepers will also be in Kiltoom.
Hopefully they wont have warmed up at that stage or will the hoors be all fired up for every game?
Post by: The Claw on February 19, 2008, 12:13:28 AM
Would agree generally with what is being said here, the Rossies should have beaten us out the gate, not only with the missed penalty, but with the heap of wides. Maybe the Ross forwards lacked a bit of bottle in the finishing. From a meath point of view, there were some positives, Cian Ward was excellent from placed balls and play, Kevin Reilly was good at the back and Brayor was very good up front. One problem was the tackling in the forwards, the Roscommon backs were very good at taking the ball out of defence and our half forward line need to stop this. That said, i'd say the lads were rusty, it was a long time since the UCD game