The best cover song in the world....ever

Started by BarryBreensBandage, October 18, 2014, 01:39:16 AM

BarryBreensBandage

"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

I preferred the Pet Shop Boys version.

Can I ask for a rule on this thread? No posting of links without telling us what's behind it.

Yes, I always felt that Willie Nelsons interpretation of this great Elvis composition
was the most authentic version. It is almost as if he wrote the song himself.

It takes a special talent to pull that off.

love this as a thread, here's my attempt at a few contenders:

Nirvana: The man who sold the world : David Bowie original
http://youtu.be/fregObNcHC8

Bruce and the E street Band: because the night : Patti Smith original
http://youtu.be/HcqUSi8QPN0

Johnny cash: Hurt : 9 inch nails
http://youtu.be/SmVAWKfJ4Go

Gary Jules: Mad world  :Tears for fears
http://youtu.be/4N3N1MlvVc4

Jeff Buckley : Hallelujah : Leonard Cohen
http://youtu.be/y8AWFf7EAc4

the 4 of us : sound of the underground : girls aloud
http://youtu.be/VY8ZwziLu8M

paddy casey (dublin gospel choir) : no diggety / grandmas hand : blackstreet
http://youtu.be/aHY7YQslDk4

and maybe three you didn't know were covers
soft cell : tainted love : gloria jones
http://youtu.be/ZeJkbqjQvnk

happy mondays : step on : john kongos
http://youtu.be/2CQLAhNlbfQ

aretha franklin : respect : otis redding (original also a classic)
http://youtu.be/6FOUqQt3Kg0

but the top covers
sinead o connor: nothing compares to you : the family (yes written by prince but not recorded by him)
http://youtu.be/iUiTQvT0W_0

run dmc : walk this way : aerosmith ( i know they're still on the cover...)
http://youtu.be/4B_UYYPb-Gk

and the outright winner(s) because its a tie
otis redding : try a little tenderness : bing crosby (yup bing friggin' crosby!)
http://youtu.be/TXmLjbTBcdU

and
the temptations : Papa was a rolling stone : the undisputed truth
http://youtu.be/pJV2pWFyfn4

original here if you fancy it http://youtu.be/2s6W4FR39qQ

Satisfaction - Devo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEZCQWs60LI
Was disappointed when I heard the Stomes versionm

Toxic - Brittany Spears.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxIZuPB9U4g
An X-Factor audition but excellent.

We did this thread before a few times but:

Hendrix - All along the watchtower - bigger hit than Dylan's original
http://youtu.be/TLV4_xaYynY

Tommy Emmanuel - Classical Gas - original Mason Williams (not a song but still a recording of another's work)
http://youtu.be/S33tWZqXhnk

U2 - Helter Skelter - The Beatles
http://youtu.be/RHAq1R_XpCA

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 18, 2014, 02:32:33 AM
Yes, I always felt that Willie Nelsons interpretation of this great Elvis composition
was the most authentic version. It is almost as if he wrote the song himself.

It takes a special talent to pull that off.

Didn't willie nelson write it and Elvis the one who covered it? The Elvis version is by far and away the best one IMO, especially the version where the guitar is more promo any than the piano. One of my favourite so songs.

Sorry to turn it into Doctor Who, but it was too good not to share.

Foxes performs 'Don't Stop Me Now' on board the O...: http://youtu.be/h-OTYT02W7E

Sorry lads couldn't resist...apologies for the poor quality but yiz have all seen it before...brilliant .

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XJj2ei6WNQs