Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 06:28:25 PM

Title: Who is the most famous person you’ve met?
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 06:28:25 PM
Think we need a bit of a distraction.

So, let's have it...
Title: Re: Who is the most famous person you’ve met?
Post by: In hiding on January 05, 2021, 06:35:12 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown
Post by: Armamike on January 05, 2021, 06:41:13 PM
Woody Allen.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 05, 2021, 06:42:01 PM
Muhammed Ali
Post by: laoislad on January 05, 2021, 06:43:19 PM
Can't wait for all the bullshit made up stories on this thread
Post by: In hiding on January 05, 2021, 06:44:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 05, 2021, 06:43:19 PM
Believe me, I actually met Lindsey Mc Keown
Post by: pbat on January 05, 2021, 06:45:19 PM
Jonah Lomu and David Campese on the same day, they signed the same jersey for me.
Post by: whitey on January 05, 2021, 06:50:11 PM
Joe Biden, Larry Kudlow, Marcus Luttrell (Lone Survivor)

Saw Venus Williams on a flight. Saw Peter Lynch (Fidelity ) on a flight

Post by: laoislad on January 05, 2021, 06:54:54 PM
Quote from: In hiding on January 05, 2021, 06:44:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 05, 2021, 06:43:19 PM
Believe me, I actually met Lindsey Mc Keown
I've never heard of her.
Post by: JoG2 on January 05, 2021, 06:58:52 PM
Met Frostbit at the height of his powers in a Tesco Express. Civil bloke
Post by: michaelg on January 05, 2021, 07:19:12 PM
Quote from: In hiding on January 05, 2021, 06:35:12 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown
Was his hair and tash as luscious in real life?
Post by: armaghniac on January 05, 2021, 07:19:54 PM
I got Bill Shankley's autograph. Bertie Aherne said "howya lads" to me and a mate. I once sat at the next table in a restaurant to Niki Lauda.
I once stood near Francie Bellew at a funeral. 
Post by: reillycavan on January 05, 2021, 08:34:39 PM
Knockbride finest Larry Reilly. Met Ronnie Whelan.Sound lad
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 05, 2021, 08:51:45 PM
In before stephenite gets a chance to post on this thread ;D

Quote from: stephenite on June 21, 2008, 06:02:54 AM
Rode Baby Spice on a flight to Seattle
Post by: reillycavan on January 05, 2021, 08:54:02 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on January 05, 2021, 08:51:45 PM

🤣🤣
Post by: gallsman on January 05, 2021, 09:05:03 PM

Hahaha, that carried over from the old board I think!
Post by: In hiding on January 05, 2021, 09:08:28 PM
Quote from: michaelg on January 05, 2021, 07:19:12 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown
Was his hair and tash as luscious in real life?
Immaculate
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 09:18:40 PM
Met one of the actresses from Home and Away, back in the day when everyone knew who they were.
Post by: dublin7 on January 05, 2021, 09:28:47 PM
Met Pele when he was in Ireland years ago. Bought his autobiography and he signed it for me. Put it in my wardrobe at home. I've never even read it
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 09:34:17 PM
Pat Jennings
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2021, 09:34:56 PM
Met Rolf Harris in the toilets in Dun Laoghaire.
Post by: Seaney on January 05, 2021, 09:36:32 PM
Was there not some wab here who banged Wendy James. ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2021, 09:37:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2021, 09:34:56 PM

Did he show you how to play his didgeridoo?
Post by: sid waddell on January 05, 2021, 09:38:01 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on January 05, 2021, 09:28:47 PM
Met Pele when he was in Ireland years ago. Bought his autobiography and he signed it for me. Put it in my wardrobe at home. I've never even read it
Pele would appreciate that given that he used to endorse Viagra but claimed to have never used it
Post by: dublin7 on January 05, 2021, 09:40:03 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on January 05, 2021, 09:38:01 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on January 05, 2021, 09:28:47 PM
Pele would appreciate that given that he used to endorse Viagra but claimed to have never used it
Burst out laughing reading that. Top post
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2021, 09:40:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 05, 2021, 09:05:03 PM

Hahaha, that carried over from the old board I think!
I recall that from the old board. I think SS2 started it as someone (Minder possibly) had mentioned about drinking tequila slammers with Bill Gates.
Post by: Targetman on January 05, 2021, 09:45:22 PM
Linda Lusardi in Zoomarine (Albufeira), told the wife, she hadn't a clue who she was, this is a few years ago so she was still well fit!!
Post by: RedHand88 on January 05, 2021, 09:48:40 PM
Met Frank skinner randomly in Belfast one night. He was dead on and chatted a bit about the football that day.

Met Ian Rush, John Barnes and Aldridge at a meet and greet.

Spoke briefly with George Stephanopoulos once. He was Clintons white house communications director for a while in the 90s. It was actually in his office where Bill met.... you know.
Post by: Capt Pat on January 05, 2021, 09:54:16 PM
Met Mary McAlese walking in Glendalough when she was president. She said hello. Got an autograph off Gary Linaker in 1990.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 05, 2021, 09:55:47 PM
Met Jack Charlton in a river in Ballina.
Post by: trailer on January 05, 2021, 10:05:02 PM
Adrian Logan
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2021, 10:09:19 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 05, 2021, 10:05:02 PM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2021, 10:10:47 PM
I've met the great Daniel O'Donnell a few times, great singer
Post by: laoislad on January 05, 2021, 10:20:19 PM
Bobby Robson and his wife asked me for directions after a game in Lansdowne Rd one night.

Kerry Katona and that fella from Westlife were sitting behind me at the Ireland v Iran World Cup game many moons ago.

Was at an Irish function in Melbourne in 2002, Daniel and Majella were there. Majella asked us did we want our photo taken with Daniel. Told her no, she wasn't happy.

Played soccer against Henry Shefflin and JJ Delaney.
Played tag rugby with Alan Quinlan. Had no idea who he was and was wondering why everyone was taking selfie's with him.

Was in a lift with a half dozen or so All Blacks. They were staying in a hotel I was doing work in.Also had absolutely no idea who any of them were so they could have been famous or not.

Was owed money for years from a well known and All Ireland winning Meath footballer for a job I did. He was a cnut.

Only ever asked for one autograph in my life and that was from John Aldridge. Have met plenty of footballers but never asked for a photo or autograph.
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 10:21:30 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on January 05, 2021, 09:54:16 PM
Met Mary McAlese walking in Glendalough when she was president. She said hello. Got an autograph off Gary Linaker in 1990.

I hope Lineker washed his hands before he signed his autograph! :D

Met Mary McAleese down in Kerry last year too.
Post by: reillycavan on January 05, 2021, 10:22:51 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2021, 09:34:56 PM

Hope you didn't drop the soap.
Post by: Orior on January 05, 2021, 10:40:52 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown

Lindsay. Great craic and an average golfer, lol
Post by: Orior on January 05, 2021, 10:43:46 PM
Met Kevin Keegan in Heathrow. We both looked at each other.

Met Gaybo outside the set of Fair City.
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2021, 10:49:45 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 05, 2021, 10:43:46 PM
Met Kevin Keegan in Heathrow. We both looked at each other.

He would've loved it, if you asked for his autograph. Loved it.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 05, 2021, 10:49:58 PM
Jurgen klopp as well actually, from when he was Dortmund manager. Met him at John Lennon airport. Still have the photo to prove it! The man is a giant.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2021, 10:52:01 PM
The Pope. Sound wee man
Post by: Man Marker on January 05, 2021, 11:00:22 PM
Met Princess Diana in the 90's
Post by: Gmac on January 05, 2021, 11:06:48 PM
Eric cantona at 94 World Cup
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 05, 2021, 11:24:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2021, 10:09:19 PM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?

Deadly craic. Wouldn't always tell the cleanest jokes either.

If you're involved in the international GAA or any emigrant community you get to meet a lot of top brass. GAA presidents that I've met:

Other notables that I've met:

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2021, 11:26:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 05, 2021, 11:24:15 PM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?

If you're involved in the international GAA or any emigrant community you get to meet a lot of top brass. GAA presidents that I've met:

• Sean Kelly
  • Nicky Brennan
  • Christy Cooney
  • Liam O'Neill
  • Aogán Ó Fearghaíl

• Gavin Newsom when he was running for re-election as Mayor of SF
  • Enda Kenny
  • Michael D Higgins

Michael D, one of Ireland's finest, Gael and gentleman
Post by: HiMucker on January 05, 2021, 11:33:49 PM
Bate the head off Conor McGregor one night outside coppers years ago
Post by: J70 on January 06, 2021, 12:00:30 AM
Being a reserved, shy type in real life, I've never really wanted to meet famous people. Most of the time I wouldn't know what the f**k to say!

Have crossed paths with a few though.

Had my picture taken with Andrea Pirlo at a meet and greet thing in a pub. About the closest I've got to "meeting" a major star.

Got books signed by David Attenborough, E.O. Wilson, Michael Mann (climatologist) and others, if that counts?

I sat watching a Liverpool game in the Abbey Hotel with Paul McGrath and Tony Boyle about 20 years ago. We all gathered independently under the tv in the corner of the bar. No words were really exchanged although we shared a laugh or two over some shite going on in the match. I'd say Tony Boyle was star struck by McGrath. I was impressed to be sitting there with both of them!

Served Adam Clayton one night at a job I had in college.

Finally, I exchanged pleasantries with Jon Tester, a US Senator from Montana, in an airport one time. He was amused by my young toddler I was chasing around after.

Post by: J70 on January 06, 2021, 12:01:01 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 05, 2021, 11:33:49 PM
Bate the head off Conor McGregor one night outside coppers years ago

Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2021, 12:05:05 AM
Quote from: Seaney on January 05, 2021, 09:36:32 PM
Was there not some wab here who banged Wendy James. ;D

I thought you only signed up a couple of months ago - what's your other usernames?
Post by: Franko on January 06, 2021, 12:10:27 AM
This twitter thread is a longish read but worth it.

The lad does a load of Ketamine or something then meets Mary McAleese.

https://twitter.com/shockproofbeats/status/992006545473966082?s=21
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2021, 12:10:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 05, 2021, 10:40:52 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown

he might mean Lindsey McKeon
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindsey_McKeon (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindsey_McKeon)
Post by: In hiding on January 06, 2021, 12:12:42 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2021, 12:10:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 05, 2021, 10:40:52 PM
Lindsey Mc Keown

he might mean Lindsey McKeon
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindsey_McKeon (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindsey_McKeon)
Nah I mean Linfields finest
Post by: whitey on January 06, 2021, 12:21:51 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 06, 2021, 12:00:30 AM
Being a reserved, shy type in real life, I've never really wanted to meet famous people. Most of the time I wouldn't know what the f**k to say!

Have crossed paths with a few though.

Had my picture taken with Andrea Pirlo at a meet and greet thing in a pub. About the closest I've got to "meeting" a major star.

Got books signed by David Attenborough, E.O. Wilson, Michael Mann (climatologist) and others, if that counts?

I sat watching a Liverpool game in the Abbey Hotel with Paul McGrath and Tony Boyle about 20 years ago. We all gathered independently under the tv in the corner of the bar. No words were really exchanged although we shared a laugh or two over some shite going on in the match. I'd say Tony Boyle was star struck by McGrath. I was impressed to be sitting there with both of them!

Served Adam Clayton one night at a job I had in college.

Finally, I exchanged pleasantries with Jon Tester, a US Senator from Montana, in an airport one time. He was amused by my young toddler I was chasing around after.

On knowing what to say....LOL

I had read one of Joe Biden's books and so I had an in....otherwise I wouldn't have had the nerve to approach him just to say hello and ask for a photograph (his politics are similar to mine so that also helped)

When I was in secondary school a lad in my class family owned a pub in a somewhat remote area, and U2 (the entire band) spent several nights in there over Christmas one year
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 06, 2021, 12:45:33 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2021, 11:26:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 05, 2021, 11:24:15 PM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?

• Sean Kelly
  • Nicky Brennan
  • Christy Cooney
  • Liam O'Neill
  • Aogán Ó Fearghaíl

• Gavin Newsom when he was running for re-election as Mayor of SF
  • Enda Kenny
  • Michael D Higgins

Michael D, one of Ireland's finest, Gael and gentleman

Certainly is. He has a great wit, and plenty of yarns to tell. His wife's a lovely woman too, I spoke to her a bit longer.

It grinds my gears when a story appears about him on social media, the comment trolls are awful. I don't know what those gobs1tes have against Michael D.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 06, 2021, 12:46:13 AM
Salman Rushdie. Sound fella, very interesting to listen to.
Post by: sid waddell on January 06, 2021, 12:55:08 AM
Jesse Jackson opened a door for me once, a literal door

It was at a speaking gig he was doing and the guy at the door said it was full, he shut the door, Jackson was mingling in the foyer just beyond

A couple of girls standing beside me shouted "Jesse"

Jesse heard them and beckoned meself and the girls in, which was very nice of him
Post by: J70 on January 06, 2021, 01:42:42 AM
Neil DeGrasse Tyson once held the door for me when I was walking into the American Museum of Natural History in NY. Very pleasant fellow.
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 06, 2021, 02:14:34 AM
Outside of football...Snoop Dogg, actor Dennis Haysbert, Mary McAleese. 
Post by: ziggy90 on January 06, 2021, 07:32:58 AM
Met Howard Kendall in a bar at Euston Station. He had a couple of pints with us and talked away about football.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 06, 2021, 08:43:31 AM
Toadfish.

(I haven't met many famous people)
Post by: trailer on January 06, 2021, 08:52:17 AM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?

He's wonderful.
Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2021, 09:03:14 AM
Michael Jackson held the door open for me in the Aquarium in Portaferry.
Post by: sensethetone on January 06, 2021, 09:14:35 AM
Bernard Mc Hugh was in The Elk one Friday night after being on The Kelly Show.
Post by: johnnycool on January 06, 2021, 09:45:44 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2021, 09:03:14 AM
Michael Jackson held the door open for me in the Aquarium in Portaferry.

He'd a habit of doing that...

Liked to hang around the touch tank with the kids.
Post by: trileacman on January 06, 2021, 10:15:39 AM
Mahatma Ghandi

He was a bit of a w**ker to be honest.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 06, 2021, 10:24:08 AM
John Delaney at a soccer function I got roped into to but when I said I was a GAA man he tuned into that straightaway.

Stories about him broke soon after but to me he was very civil to talk to and didn't make out to be the big guy.

Post by: Aristo 60 on January 06, 2021, 10:25:03 AM
aside from that Benny Coulter in a pub in Mayobridge is still the most famous person I have met or ever want to meet.

Post by: GetOverTheBar on January 06, 2021, 10:38:44 AM
Joe Brolly, he bought me a pint.

Great fella.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 06, 2021, 10:41:23 AM
I met Brolly at an underage prize giving years ago when I worked near the court house so would walk through it at lunch. He said when I met him I really know your face from somewhere but just not sure where.

Weeks later I was walking through the court house and he was coming out. He shouted at me - "I knew it - I never forget a face that ugly." p***k  ;D

(To be fair while I'm not a massive fan of some of his stuff these days he was decent coming to the prize giving and he was dead on with the above just being a bit of craic)
Post by: GetOverTheBar on January 06, 2021, 10:47:23 AM
Couldn't say a bad word about him, ran into him in Dublin in a hotel bar. I was waiting for the woman to get ready and he must have been coming in from the game that night with RTE. Ended up chatting away for a good 45 mins before she landed. He was great craic, I think being a Tyrone man greased the wheels for some good old abuse.
Post by: Taylor on January 06, 2021, 11:02:30 AM
A lot of Brolly's punditry stuff is completely different to what the man himself is like.

Great company to be in & a very civil fella
Post by: imtommygunn on January 06, 2021, 11:06:41 AM
Yeah I think a lot of that is just a show.

Andy Walker back when he was at celtic. (Outside parkhead)
Post by: J70 on January 06, 2021, 01:02:21 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 06, 2021, 10:41:23 AM
I met Brolly at an underage prize giving years ago when I worked near the court house so would walk through it at lunch. He said when I met him I really know your face from somewhere but just not sure where.

Weeks later I was walking through the court house and he was coming out. He shouted at me - "I knew it - I never forget a face that ugly." p***k  ;D

(To be fair while I'm not a massive fan of some of his stuff these days he was decent coming to the prize giving and he was dead on with the above just being a bit of craic)

Post by: Orior on January 06, 2021, 01:22:15 PM
Adrian Logan

What's he like?

Tall blonde girls with big tits.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 06, 2021, 01:59:07 PM
Jack Nicholson said hello to me one day, I didn't realize who he was until I saw everyone looking at him.
Ran into Muhammad Ali at Fort Lauderdale airport as I was in my way up to New York to watch the Ireland v Italy World Cup game in 1994.
Post by: tbrick18 on January 06, 2021, 03:25:01 PM
I met Martin O'Neill at a funeral, very civil. Turns out he was in school with my mother.

I was once in the toilets before the beginning of a networking event that had a guest speaker lineup of Peter Canavan, Tommy Bowe and Michael O'Neill who was managing NI at the time.
Washing my hands this other fella was fixing his tie. We chatted a few mins, I asked him if he'd far to come and he said Scotland. I thought to myself he's keen for a wee event like this. It was only when they brought the guest speakers out that I realised I'd been speaking to Michael O'Neill. He must have thought I was a right clown...or that I was taking the piss.

I've met Brolly numerous times.

I met Martin McGuiness at a Fleadh in Maghera, had to be mid 90s.

I was on a flight from Spain and finished up standing beside Johnny Vegas at the baggage carousel. He seemed like a grumpy git.

I bumped into Andrea Corr after a free concert in Omagh years ago.

I met Paddy Kielty in a chinese in Botanic Avenue in Belfast back in the 90s just after The Empire comedy night. On the same night, I was standing beside one of the singers from atomic kitten in the Empire. Mind blown.

Pope.

Post by: general_lee on January 06, 2021, 04:05:34 PM
Gary Lineker. Frank Bruno at the airport. Paddy Barnes. Bumped into a few local tv ones out and about.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2021, 06:50:54 PM
Met Lineker, briefly shared a taxi with Jimmy (now James Nesbitt) and a few others on the old thread. Since the old thread I can add Dennis Quaid as he was playing in a band in a pub I was drinking in in Montreal about 3 years ago. Strange man and not a powerful singer either but the pub was full of MILFs.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 06, 2021, 06:55:48 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on January 06, 2021, 03:25:01 PM
I met Martin O'Neill at a funeral, very civil. Turns out he was in school with my mother.

I was once in the toilets before the beginning of a networking event that had a guest speaker lineup of Peter Canavan, Tommy Bowe and Michael O'Neill who was managing NI at the time.
Washing my hands this other fella was fixing his tie. We chatted a few mins, I asked him if he'd far to come and he said Scotland. I thought to myself he's keen for a wee event like this. It was only when they brought the guest speakers out that I realised I'd been speaking to Michael O'Neill. He must have thought I was a right clown...or that I was taking the piss.

I've met Brolly numerous times.

I met Martin McGuiness at a Fleadh in Maghera, had to be mid 90s.

I was on a flight from Spain and finished up standing beside Johnny Vegas at the baggage carousel. He seemed like a grumpy git.

I bumped into Andrea Corr after a free concert in Omagh years ago.

I met Paddy Kielty in a chinese in Botanic Avenue in Belfast back in the 90s just after The Empire comedy night. On the same night, I was standing beside one of the singers from atomic kitten in the Empire. Mind blown.

Pope.

I met McGuinness myself a few years before he got sick. Very civil fella. Met Gerry Adams a few years before that. Apparently that time he was arrested in 2014 he was sitting in jail reading a copy of my book that I'd given to McGuinness.

Also I once met Phil Liggett the cycling commentator and his mate Paul Sherwen who passed away a few years back. Great craic the pair of them. I got Liggett's autograph on my racing license and I told him I always remember his commentary at the 1987 Tour stage finish at La Plagne (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQojh-wqL04) where Roche made his big epic comeback against Delgado. I told him Jimmy McGee somehow knew Roche was motoring and didn't sound at all surprised when Roche nearly caught Delgado on the line, but Liggett's commentary was far better because he didn't see it coming. I told him it was "the greatest commentary since the Hindenburg."

Post by: dublin7 on January 06, 2021, 07:16:42 PM
A friend of mine is friends with Ian Rush and he came over to a Dublin v Mayo game a few years ago. He didn't say anything to us about it and we're sitting in Meaghers before the game when Ian Rush walks over sits down beside us with his minder. He was sound out and very down to earth.

Sat beside the former ref Pat McEneaney on a flight to London a few years ao as well. He was sound as well and chatted away for the flight.

Like several others I've met Brolly at a few functions and found him a gas character. Always cracking jokes and having a laugh
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2021, 07:18:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2021, 06:50:54 PM
Met Lineker, briefly shared a taxi with Jimmy (now James Nesbitt) and a few others on the old thread. Since the old thread I can add Dennis Quainton as he was playing in a band in a pub I was drinking in in Montreal about 3 years ago. Strange man and not a powerful singer either but the pub was full of MILFs.

A genuine lol moment... Poetry
Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2021, 09:45:22 PM
Got a lift from Foster from Foster and Allen in Birmingham one night. Barry McGuigan and Brendan Shine were also in the motor.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2021, 10:04:44 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 06, 2021, 07:18:15 PM
Met Lineker, briefly shared a taxi with Jimmy (now James Nesbitt) and a few others on the old thread. Since the old thread I can add Dennis Quainton as he was playing in a band in a pub I was drinking in in Montreal about 3 years ago. Strange man and not a powerful singer either but the pub was full of MILFs.

Quaid. I dont know who Dennis Quainton is!
Post by: Main Street on January 06, 2021, 10:15:00 PM
I would like to put in a word for Phil Lynott. I traveled across  London to see the original 3 piece Thin Lizzy play a gig in front of 20 or so  people at Dagenham Roundhouse. The roadie recognized me from hanging about after gigs in some Irish ballrooms of dubious romance. He brought me around to the 'dressing room' to meet Phil. He was stoned, I was stoned. I had a joint going, we shared mouth fluids.  I was a juvenile and Phil was just perfect in the moment. Brian Downey gave a nod while banging away on some practice drum kit and Eric Bell was drunk, pissing into a sink in the corner and  was no way going to engage with a spotty fan from Ireland.
During the gig Phil dedicated a song to me,'Look what the wind just blew in'. 
The gig was brilliant, probably the best Lizzy gig i witnessed  outside the time when Gary Moore replaced Eric first time around.
Post by: Capt Pat on January 06, 2021, 10:17:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2021, 10:04:44 PM

Quainton is a village in Buckinghamshire, I googled it, it isnot a surname.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 07, 2021, 02:50:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2021, 09:45:22 PM
Got a lift from Foster from Foster and Allen in Birmingham one night. Barry McGuigan and Brendan Shine were also in the motor.

Were they singing "The Woodlands Of Loughglynn?"
Post by: BennyCake on January 07, 2021, 03:26:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2021, 09:45:22 PM

Have you been studying that Dreams/Reality diagram properly?
Post by: JoG2 on January 07, 2021, 03:35:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2021, 10:04:44 PM

I thought it was some old groover from a rock band, regardless, comedy gold!
Post by: michaelg on January 07, 2021, 04:03:16 PM
Met Alain Robidoux in a kebab shop in Edinburgh
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 07, 2021, 10:45:59 PM
I bumped into Johnny Adair in the toilets at Portadown train station.
Post by: HiMucker on January 07, 2021, 11:23:38 PM
Marcus Aurelius once touched me on the shoulder
Post by: Armamike on January 08, 2021, 12:09:06 AM
A few toilet encounters here.  I said hello to Jimmy Nesbitt in the toilets at the Waterfront.

Woody Allen and his stepdaughter/wife walked by me on 5th Avenue NY.  Should have said hello to him, had plenty of time as he wasn't moving too quickly.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on January 08, 2021, 09:38:20 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 07, 2021, 11:23:38 PM
Marcus Aurelius once touched me on the shoulder

But did you know him?
Post by: fearsiuil on January 08, 2021, 01:20:24 PM
Once met Donie Vaughan in a shoe shop in Claremorris.

Twice bumped into David Drake at a gym in Castlebar, had one long chat with him before Andy Moran told me to go with him for a stretch.

Alan Dillon calls to the house every few years.
Post by: HiMucker on January 10, 2021, 04:27:18 AM
Right I'll be honest, the first couple of ones I was ball baggin. Me and McGregor was probably fair digs, I didn't batter him. Marcus was a yuppy **** and didn't really take me on. But I got off with Nadine Coyle once at an underage disco, bit of a bunny boiler tbh.
Also sat on a easy jet flight beside judge Jules going to Ibiza back in the day and had no clue who he was. Got chatting to him, sound man, and was like "going out for a bit of partying?" And he goes "nah, doing a bit of D Jaying" I was all, (as I wasn't really cool at the time, well not as Cool as now), "my mates do a bit of decks as well, you doing a few bars and that?" And he was was all " yeah". I thought he was doing the gig in a few shamrock bars or something. Boy from Belfast besides me near wets himself elbowing me going "here  mate, ye nat know who da f**k dat is? Dats Judge Jules". Lost on me, but he was  a down to earth fella
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2021, 10:14:02 AM
Shane McGowan told me to f**k off in the toilets at QUB student union and I called Bono a wee shit in Annabells on my brothers stag party when they made us get out off the VIP section for him and his entourage. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 10, 2021, 12:56:18 PM
Met Jeff Stelling in a hotel bar. He was as he is on TV. A total legend.
It's a long story but he went over and above. Ill not bore you with it as I am sure no one is interested.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 10, 2021, 01:52:39 PM
Met Pat Short, Jennifer Ellison and Johnny Vegas at airports. Also met Robbie Keane and the missus in a pub in London. At international rules in Melbourne in 2008 drank with all the Irish players after. All were great craic and mixed except Kieran Donaghy who stayed in the private area. Cavanagh and Coulter were great craic. So was Pat McEnaney. I was drinking a pint with Pat when a lad walked in who was a pitch invader during game. Pat says your the eegit who was on the pitch tonight. Also on same trip to Australia met a few Irish rugby players. Gavin Duffy, Ian Dowling, Bernard Jackman and Malcom O Kelly.
Post by: BennyCake on January 10, 2021, 02:56:12 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 10, 2021, 04:27:18 AM
Right I'll be honest, the first couple of ones I was ball baggin. Me and McGregor was probably fair digs, I didn't batter him. Marcus was a yuppy **** and didn't really take me on. But I got off with Nadine Coyle once at an underage disco, bit of a bunny boiler tbh.
Also sat on a easy jet flight beside judge Jules going to Ibiza back in the day and had no clue who he was. Got chatting to him, sound man, and was like "going out for a bit of partying?" And he goes "nah, doing a bit of D Jaying" I was all, (as I wasn't really cool at the time, well not as Cool as now), "my mates do a bit of decks as well, you doing a few bars and that?" And he was was all " yeah". I thought he was doing the gig in a few shamrock bars or something. Boy from Belfast besides me near wets himself elbowing me going "here  mate, ye nat know who da f**k dat is? Dats Judge Jules". Lost on me, but he was  a down to earth fella

How appropriate for her. Underage? No?  ::)
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 03:12:02 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2021, 10:14:02 AM
Shane McGowan told me to f**k off in the toilets at QUB student union and I called Bono a wee shit in Annabells on my brothers stag party when they made us get out off the VIP section for him and his entourage.

Load of South Armagh boys in Annabel's. The notions on ye. What was wrong with the Carrickdale or the Forum?!
Post by: From the Bunker on January 10, 2021, 03:41:11 PM
Met the Williams Sisters, Serena and Venus, after a mickey mouse tennis tournament in the RDS Dublin possibly 20 years ago. Some specimens! Incredibly athletic women. Especially Venus. She was/is just a monster of a woman. Think those Girls would have achieved at most sports if they threw their hand to them.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2021, 04:05:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 03:12:02 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2021, 10:14:02 AM

Load of South Armagh boys in Annabel's. The notions on ye. What was wrong with the Carrickdale or the Forum?!

Annabel's is where it's at...well in fairness it was over 20 years ago now....f**k that makes me feel really old!
Post by: Aughafad on January 10, 2021, 05:51:37 PM
Joe Frazier in Con murphy bar Philadelphia
Post by: thebuzz on January 10, 2021, 11:15:45 PM
Ronnie Drew asked me for directions in Cookstown one day. Met him at Glendalough once as well. Saw Noel Gallagher walking down the street in North London (didn't actually speak to him though). Met Martin McGuinness when he came to our house on the campaign trail.
Post by: BennyCake on January 10, 2021, 11:28:02 PM
Met Martin McGuinness too, at a football dinner.

Was on a plane with Babs Keating once. He walked up and down the aisle in his bare feet, so he did.
Post by: StPatsAbu on January 11, 2021, 12:10:36 AM
Freddie Mercury in Harrods and Mick Jagger in Covent Garden
Post by: sid waddell on January 11, 2021, 12:45:12 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 10, 2021, 11:28:02 PM

Was on a plane with Babs Keating once. He walked up and down the aisle in his bare feet, so he did.
Sat beside Sean Boylan on a plane once

One of his travelling companions broke my ankle and then trampled on my head, I needed a bandage after it

In all seriousness though, he's a thorough gentleman, said hello and introduced himself as "Sean" and we chatted away goodo

He was on a flight from Belfast going over to the Heino final in Edinburgh in '09, as was I

Post by: stephenite on January 11, 2021, 04:29:07 AM
Baby Spice
Post by: Taylor on January 11, 2021, 08:26:23 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 11, 2021, 04:29:07 AM
Baby Spice

Go on.................
Post by: johnnycool on January 11, 2021, 09:14:41 AM

Babs was never fond of the old socks and shoes in his playing days!!  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 11, 2021, 10:38:01 AM
Quote from: Taylor on January 11, 2021, 08:26:23 AM
Baby Spice

Go on.................

Ah jaysus don't start that auld story again.....
Post by: Taylor on January 11, 2021, 10:41:33 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 11, 2021, 10:38:01 AM
Baby Spice

Go on.................

Never gets old and would brighten up a dreary Monday morning
Post by: tbrick18 on January 11, 2021, 10:56:19 AM
Quote from: Taylor on January 11, 2021, 10:41:33 AM
Baby Spice

Go on.................

Well I haven't heard the story....so go on...

Never gets old and would brighten up a dreary Monday morning
Post by: stephenite on January 11, 2021, 08:19:42 PM
Baby Spice

Go on.................

Post by: BennyCake on January 11, 2021, 09:08:02 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 11, 2021, 09:14:41 AM

Was only joking about the bare feet  ;D But he was on the plane alright.
Post by: johnnycool on January 11, 2021, 09:54:33 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 11, 2021, 09:08:02 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 11, 2021, 09:14:41 AM

Was only joking about the bare feet  ;D But he was on the plane alright.

I knew you were but might have been lost on some of the young cubs on here   ;D
Post by: Hound on January 12, 2021, 08:16:36 AM
Spent 4 or 5 hours drinking with Kenny Cunningham. Albeit he didn't drink. He had just played a game with Wimbledon. He doesn't come across great on TV imo, but he was an absolute gentleman. He said he supported Liverpool as a kid. He had just submitted his PFA team of the year, so we had great fun dissecting that, in particular his choice of Andy Cole for centre forward!
Didi Hamann and Dominic Matteo were in the same place. They were drinking and didnt stay long, so I just went over and annoyed them for a couple of minutes.

Had a pint with Paul Geaney about 2/3 years ago and he described Mayo as the most cynical team in the country, the masters of the Dark Arts!

I was in business class on a flight to New York a number of years ago. Not my usual mode of transport and I was supposed to do some work on the plane, but once they gave me the glass of bubbly on entering, that went out the window and it was all "movies and booze"! Michael Noonan was a minister at the time and was one seat across and one seat ahead so I'd a very good view of him. He worked the whole way across apart from a quick snooze at the end.

About 15-20 years ago I answered the door of the place I was working to Jack O'Shea. I was only a young buck and he was very ignorant and aggressive. Albeit he was owed money by a company I was representing, so he probably had some cause!
At a club match a couple of years ago I asked Brian Mullins a question about a Vincents player. I dunno whether he just didn't know the answer or just didn't wanna speak to a randomer, but I was taken aback with his gruff response. 

Was in a business meeting with the two Bernard Brogans. Senior was a bit coy/reserved. Junior was very bubbly, chatty and just very likeable and down to earth.

Post by: GetOverTheBar on January 12, 2021, 10:32:47 AM
Diarmuid Connelly on day in Croker too! (During his time out).

Great fella, asked him did he not miss it out of cheek and he said with an accent like mine was I lost down here, he's in some shape. Very, very lean, not the kind of hulking physique the TV shows.