Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

cavanmaniac

Quote from: The Bottom Brick on April 10, 2007, 08:04:54 PM
QuoteIm off the opinion its too late to be bringing players into the panel now,if they havent been training with the county for the last month.

What??!!! Are you insane Ballyhaise Man?

Don't you know that Anthony Gaynor should be on the Cavan team!!!

In fact, we'd nearly be better off playing with 13 a side and just Gaynor in the half back line rather than not having him on the panel. :D

That'd be just silly Brick. We've trouble enough with 15.

On the subject of bringing players in late to the panel, it never did Pete McGrath and Down any harm when they were winning All-Irelands and he-whose-name-you-won't-hear-mentioned was himself a late call-up to the senior squad under Coleman, and an inspired one at that if you recall the replay performance against Down. You can find any number of excuses not to include a player if that's your ultimate aim, but the best and only valid reason to call one back in is the difference they could make to a genuine problem area on the team.
Anyway, people are growing tired of the argument so I'll park it there but it will be rear its ahead again all too soon.

The Bottom Brick

Quotethe issue/problem/disaster was only shown up in Croke park where Cavan were cruelly exposed for NOT having a CHB and poor Bernard morris tried to play the kingdom on his own

Rubbish. Morris was Ulster Writers Footballer of the Year that season, and he lined out at centre back all summer. So he was voted the top centre back in the province - how can you then say we had no CHB?

In 97 Cavan struggled past Fermanagh, blitzed a strong Donegal team (who lost to a last minute goal in the following years Ulster final) and then beat a Derry team with the likes of Downey, Tohill, Brolly, McKeever et al still flying.

Nothing wrong with that run I wouldnt think
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

The Bottom Brick

QuoteThis doesn't hold, at least one other current player (who played most of the league games),had opted out and didn't join the panel until after the McKenna Cup. 

I agree - I didn't say this was a valid reason, I asked was this Keogan's reasoning?

Presume you're talking about Miller?
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

Quote from: The Bottom Brick on April 11, 2007, 11:09:55 AM
Quotethe issue/problem/disaster was only shown up in Croke park where Cavan were cruelly exposed for NOT having a CHB and poor Bernard morris tried to play the kingdom on his own

Rubbish. Morris was Ulster Writers Footballer of the Year that season, and he lined out at centre back all summer. So he was voted the top centre back in the province - how can you then say we had no CHB?

In 97 Cavan struggled past Fermanagh, blitzed a strong Donegal team (who lost to a last minute goal in the following years Ulster final) and then beat a Derry team with the likes of Downey, Tohill, Brolly, McKeever et al still flying.

Nothing wrong with that run I wouldnt think

wouldnt be in agreement with the run up to the ulster final given the state (drink) of Donegal football at that stage
as for Derry, youd have to be watching them for as long as I have to feel the pain. Though Cavan followers have suffered for years also.

BUT the main point here is - I presume you saw the game v Kerry.
Did you not see that Cavan were  raped , pillaged and slaughtered in the CHB area.
For all the awards garnered in the ulster championship run (again I would say against weak enough opposition) the position was only found wanting in this game and cruelly exposed.
I felt EXTREMELY sorry for Morris that day.
The game was a bit emabarrassing.
I was brought up to believe that If you dont have a decent CHB, your team will be weakened straight away.
The old school of thinking is that this is the key position in Gaelic football.
I might not be correct in what I am saying above - but thats my opinion.

trim blue

Very odd bit of posting there Lynchboy, when you win a provincial title you are the best in the province at that point in time and are worthy champions. Cavan were beaten that day in Croker by overdoing  the short-passing in the second half and by Kerry moving Fitzgerald to midfield where he proceeded to pump high balls into the FF line, the killer score coming when Mike Frank got on the end of one and scored that goal. The game was far from embarassing and featured one of the best goals ever scored in Croker by Cahill. Its funny but when I think of embarassing things from '97 I can't get past Mullins matchday getup, I mean that hat and those shorts! ;D
ah sure tog out anyway

Quote from: trim blue on April 11, 2007, 01:18:47 PM
I think of embarassing things from '97 I can't get past Mullins matchday getup, I mean that hat and those shorts! ;D
you should see the cut of him now!

The Bottom Brick

QuoteFor all the awards garnered in the ulster championship run (again I would say against weak enough opposition) the position was only found wanting in this game and cruelly exposed.

Very harsh

Cavan beat Fermanagh, then hammered a Donegal team who the following season were pipped by a last minute goal in the Ulster final.

They then took on a Derry team boasting the likes of Tohill, Brolly, Downey, McKeever, Coleman who had earlier defeated Tyrone (who had won the previous two Ulsters) and who would go on to win the following year's Ulster title!

So in the semi and final Cavan beat the two teams who would be in the final the following year - hardly "weak enough opposition".
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

anglocelt39

so the debate about bringing players into the panel at a late stage (i.e. Ga@#%r) goes on. Maniac makes the point that Down were not above bringling lads into panels at late stages, to good effect. But sure why go that far back, or indeed why go that far geographically now that I think of it.  Think in fact of the fateful preliminary round against Down last year-McKeever suddenly rehabilitated from an extended bout of socialising, Peter Reilly lining out despite his best efforts to retire a few months previously, Larry and Jason looking like two versions of the Tellytubbies at the time. Have I totally lost it or did a half fit Pierson get stretchered onto the starting line up as well. I remember looking on in serious embarassment and thinking the Sean Brady was the one forward who actually looked fit enough to be playing championship football. Anyway that was in part down to an injury crisis and cetain players having too much influence over selection matters (that's what I reckon for what it's worth). Luckily for us McKeever has been forgiven his transgressions. We are now in a much better place but still with serious problems at two key positions, nobody should indulge in a huge bout of whinging if the panel was now to be added to to cover this serious defects.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

cavanmaniac

Jasus ac39, you got me thinking now about late paratroopers arriving on the scene.

Anyone remember Paul Murphy the Cork lad who Val Andrews/Liam Austin?can't recall actually, drafted in right before a championship game, I think with Derry? He did this two years in a row. The first year he actually caught a decent bit of ball but second year did feck all and promptly disappeared never to be heard of again. He was working at the Slieve Russell or something in the gym. Bizarre chapter in Cavan football.

We were also linked with moves for former Kerry players as well, Jack Ferriter or some bleddy thing...

Ho hum.

trim blue

Maniac I remember when Pat Fallon of Mayo played for us (early '90's?) and he was absolute shite, I think we dragged him down to our level...
ah sure tog out anyway

cavanmaniac

Never knew that. Knew he worked up our way for a spell, was it as a bank official or something? Pat Holmes did the same and lined out for the Gaels but kept his county allegiances at home.

I presume he got a run with us as a raw enough recruit before coming to prominence later...

The TopKat

Bottom Brick, what do you have against the Celt???  ??? ???

cavan4ever

Quote from: The TopKat on April 12, 2007, 12:22:48 AM
Bottom Brick, what do you have against the Celt???  ??? ???

The standard of writing in the celt has really dropped.  They even have a big report in this week from the cavan/wexford game which im sure was in it last week.  The amount of mistakes that does be in it is unreal.  The 2 free papers are alot better for G.A.A.

North Longford

In the sports section of last weeks celt they actually repeated the same page twice!!!

cavan4ever

Quote from: North Longford on April 12, 2007, 08:50:02 AM
In the sports section of last weeks celt they actually repeated the same page twice!!!

Thats right it was pictures of some functions.  they must have monkeys working in there .