Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

LaurelEye

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 13, 2007, 01:24:50 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on June 13, 2007, 01:02:52 PM
Why are there so mnay wankers in Cavan football

your guess is as good as mine.

You dont hear of any of the Longford or Westmeath lads going over to the US,and christ we have as good a chance as progressing in the qualifiers as they do.

Well, Longford managed to do OK in the qualifiers last year in spite of one player fecking off to San Fran the week after the Dublin game. It didn't do us any harm and it could serve to motivate the rest of them, provided things are OK otherwise.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

LaurelEye

Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 13, 2007, 01:20:08 PMI hoep the guy in the Echo goes to town on these players this weekend as well, you needn't rely on the Celt to reflect the mood of the supporters.

To judge by the commentary on Hoganstand, the general attitude of the Cavan supporters seems to be in support of their players walking off as they see fit. Perhaps it's a case of the loudest voices drowning out the rest, perhaps people don't want to rock boats within the respective clubs, but that seems to be the general outlook all the same.

I'm not saying I agree with it (I don't), but it seems to chime with the general "where's mine?/what's in it for me?" attitude in this country these days. Idealists like yourself and myself are a dying breed, maniac :(
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Quote from: LaurelEye on June 13, 2007, 03:42:06 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 13, 2007, 01:20:08 PMI hoep the guy in the Echo goes to town on these players this weekend as well, you needn't rely on the Celt to reflect the mood of the supporters.

To judge by the commentary on Hoganstand, the general attitude of the Cavan supporters seems to be in support of their players walking off as they see fit. Perhaps it's a case of the loudest voices drowning out the rest, perhaps people don't want to rock boats within the respective clubs, but that seems to be the general outlook all the same.

I'm not saying I agree with it (I don't), but it seems to chime with the general "where's mine?/what's in it for me?" attitude in this country these days. Idealists like yourself and myself are a dying breed, maniac :(

The thing with the hoganstand is that it is heavily sensored. I used to post there a bit but half them didn't get published. There is a strong editorial bias in many of the debates. I keep in contact with a lot of friends at home and I would say that most of them are disgusted with what these boys did. Most players would think twice before doing that to their local club never mind the county team. Anyway, most of them clowns on the hoganstand are 15 year olds that don't have fully developed brains so I would mind what they are saying.

Some lad on Hoganstand reckons he was at the Mayo match, I pasted his analysis below....

Cavan v Mayo
I went over to the cavan mayo match last night. Cavan were missing a lot, obviously none of the USA bound lads and no pierson mckeever fordey or sean brady, while mayo seemed to have nearly everyone apart from a few (andy moran, pat harte, david brady, could be more...)

Fairly high intensity with a massive amount of turnovers on both sides but good hard hitting
In truth cavan could have won by more - jayo got both goals and could have had another, donal thomas came on and got thru a couple of times and fired over
Johnny crowe played well on mcdonald, mccabe was good, as was walsh larry and cian mackey. Keith fannin and michael hannon were good in the full back line

Hopefully might help get things back on track and give us a few more days out during the summer
martin , cavan Ireland , 13/06/2007 at 16:01

anglocelt39

Shooting the messangers:

A few folks here have gone in seriously hard on Gunner and Jelly and, while I understand their frustration and certainly agree that some (not all) panelists are entitled to feel let down, I can't agree with the stick that they are getting.

Without knowing either of these fellas, they certainly struck me, up to now, as being two of the more committed members of the panel, good levels of fitness/committment, no major stories of them being among the more, ahem, social members of the team/panel. So they hammer along training through the shite all winter, we achieve our first objective of getting out of Division 2B and Messrs Keoghan and Grimley advise us that all is sweetness and light-fitness/training/togetherness etc. Next thing we line up for the first round of the Ulster Championship with at least three players that I counted in a state of unfitness that would not have been tolerated in the days of McHugh or, god help us, Val Andrews. This is then compounded by a level of tactical awareness on the sidelines that the Cavan Echo memorably dubbed "Under 12 Challenge"-whatever the problem, replace the corner forwards. Out we go at the replay and then a seven week wait ensues and most of the information about our panelists revolves around an element of socialising. Numbers at training total 16 on one night.

So then Jelly and Gunner get phone calls asking them to come to Chicago and play for the summer for SERIOUS bloody mullah. I know of players from other counties that have received the offers and they are certainly enough to make people think. I have  no doubt they did agonise over it but can fully understand, theyre not going to be getting that offer in 10 years time and Cavan would not be the greatest at looking after some of it's former stars that could do with some support. Whether we like it or not folks Money is now the common language of this country and is one reason why self employed men like, for instance, Trevor Crowe cannot make the committment we would all love to see.

Of course a win in the qualifiers and this will soon be forgotten. The really sad thing is that, rather than banging on about these guys actions, the county board should perhaps be doing some serious soul searching as to why a situation has arisen whereby two Railway Cup players have taken this action. Problem for our county board is that part of the responsibility may lie a bit close to home.

Finally-not real clever of Donal to dismiss this lot as well as Gaynor. My feeling is that Gaynor and Jelly will be wearing the blue Jersey when the current management team is well forgotten

Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

cavanmaniac

I can see why they went ac39. It's a good offer, they're young men, not tied down, and in Gunners case it's a chance to base himself Stateside and make another few bucks at the handball, which is all he has to put bread on the table.

But their decision to jump now, 2 weeks before our next game, shows how flimsy their commitment to the cause really is when the surface is scratched. The first wave of a bit of cash and they literally can't wait to drop their knickers. I agree fully with Keogan when he says that this shows what they really think of Cavan football. Cavan football, in return for their own ackowledged efforts has nurtured them, given them their profile, improved them as players and I'm sure has had various positive knock on effects in their personal and professional lives.

St. Brendans in Chicago doesn't give a f**k about Cavan or its footballers, or even about Gunner and Sean Johnston for that matter. It has done nothing for the development of the game in Cavan, and by flashing the wallet at players before they are finished their commitments to the hundreds of volunteers and team mates that have given them so much at both their clubs and county team, is absolutely bang out of order.

I have no problem with players going over on a jolly - once their commitment to the clubs and people that helped make them what they are, and gave them the platform for being head hunted by glory hunting american clubs (who'd be better off investing their money in teaching locals the games, especially if it's such big sums we're talking here) has been realised. I'm just an idealist like Laurel Eye says, I guess.

I do agree that Jelly will play again in a Cavan shirt long after the current management is gone and I suspect you offered this as a tacit endorsement of what they're doing and their greater importance in the overall scheme of things to come down the line than Keogan, but welcoming back guys like this is just more quick-buckism of the type that has hindered our county team for years. A good player is forgiven all ills for the short term gain, nobody looks at the bigger picture of why some of our best players have lost sight of what playing for a county like ours should still mean - or is all that obliterated by the 'what's in it for me' attitude as well, or more so in the place of Cavan players especially, 'sure they'll beg me to come back anyway, I'll look after meself and play when it suits me.'

All this still applies irrespective of how unfit the likes of Mulvey etc were against Down. Those guys aside there was a definite upswing in player commitment to training this year and a much better attitude and pride/fighting spirit in the squad. This pair (soon to be trio?) going against that grain makes all this even more lamentable and inexscusable. I applaud Keogan if he stays brave and keeps guys like this off the panel because 15 fighting and passionate Cavan men with pride in their county and its jersey is better in the long term than a bunch of malcontents with delusions of grandeur, serving their own interests first and behaving like guys who have a sideboard full of medals when in fact nobody would recognise them or give them a second look outside their own county.

Sorry for banging on but this really fucks me off altogether.

shotstopper1

Just a suggestion, but do any of ye think that if the county championships were up and running (or even regular league games) would these lads be as quick to head off.As it is they can feck off for 2 months in the middle of summer to the states, and arrive back in time to play in the semi - finals of the championship in mid August.(presuming the Gaels & Mullahoran get that far).
The County Board are as big a culprits in this as the players are,and Keoghan should have held his whist,some management.

At least there's a chance these players will be available in the future (Gunner could/but unlikely change his mind about retiring).What if Cian Mackey takes up Cork City's invitation to train with them and is successful, chances are he may not play for the County again.

anglocelt39

Fair points in there Maniac.

Who are Gunner and Jelly letting down? I don't think they owe a whole lot to Cavan supporters who, like me, are an increasingly fickle and critical lot. Clubs/counties that nurtured/developed them-up to a point but that is a two way street.

Who they have let down is the other panel members and the management team. But here's my point-as far as I'm concerned a number of other players have let their fellow panel members down already-the three players (not just Mulvey, 20% of the bloody team) who lined out against Down clearly unfit for 70 minutes of championship football, the fella who split his time between Monaghan United and the County Panel, the number of blokes who, we are led to believe, did not let county committments get in the way of their social committments. Surely as Gunner and Jelly were contemplating their offer their thinking was informed by the attitudes of othe panel members. Interestingly these two guys would have had exposure to another side of sports preparation-Gunner with the Handball and Jelly with a DCU Sigerson Cup team.

Hopefully we will win at least one game in the qualifiers although it will be challenging. If the season becomes a bit more shambolic I will gladly line up to cast the first stone at Mr Grimley who has been reassuring us of the mini-Armagh style revolution that was undeway during his tenure, Jaysus boy there were some large panting elephants in the drawing room at Breffni during the preliminary round. Anyway, no more bitching and hopefully Grimley can turn this into a bit of a siege thing with the remaining players.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Martin Reily at wing back?  :o

as for the team,Like the idea of two ball winners in the half forward line in Galligan and Cullivan.

Dermot Sheridan at Full Back? i think thers place on the team for him but not full back

No Sign of Darren Rabbitte which is diappointing.

anyway its always good to win, against what looks to be a strong Mayo team.

cavanmaniac

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 16, 2007, 10:13:49 PM
two ball winners in the half forward line in Galligan and Cullivan.

No offence but any time I've seen (CiarĂ¡n) Galligan he looks like he wouldn't win a ball if it was first prize in a raffle and he had bought all the tickets. A big strapping lad and every inch of him is scared of his shite. :o

I saw him up close in Newry and he ran around all day after Down lads steadfastly refusing to put a tackle on anyone. Going through the motions and hoping nobody noticed. It's a shame that when we unearth a genuine big strong player, he looks like he'd fall over in a swoon if you flicked him with a leaf of lettuce or be in traction for a month after a firm handshake. Very disappointed in him so far and seeing as you can't buy bravery I don't see him changing much.

Or am I being too harsh?

cavan4ever

Your right maniac there is no football in him and he lets games drift by him without making an impact.  He is getting out shone this year at club by his midfield partner who is 33/34.  I don't wanna be to harsh on the lad cos he gives more commitment that most but he isn't even a good club player.

Homer

Would agree with both accounts on Galligan. No questioning the lad's commitment in training if only he could commit to a 50-50 in Newry.

Hair pulling stuff to think one of his own club-men can admit his flaws and inadequacies as a club midfielder yet Keoghan and Co. would start the fella midfield in an Ulster Championship match.  ::)

we are back to a McCabe, Walsh Midfield for the rest of this year anyway,No-one else has shown themselves to be up to the required standard  ::)

C4ever
Paul Slowey is indeed playing great stuff for you lads, averaging what 4 or 5 points per game from MF?

i seen Donal Thomas was brought on as a sub in that Mayo game aswell.
Dont think he has it for Intercounty either though,

who was it that mentioned Homers clubmate McDermott as a possible option a few weeks back?
im beginning to see the possibilities there.Heard hes playing great stuff for Ballinagh.

cavan4ever

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 18, 2007, 04:48:41 PM

C4ever
Paul Slowey is indeed playing great stuff for you lads, averaging what 4 or 5 points per game from MF?

i

Yeah i haven't seen him playing aswell in a long time playing serious stuff , he's making the lad beside him look awful bad.  Yeah he has 9 points from his last 2 games can't remember what he has scored before that but he has been catching any ball that comes near him.