St. Molaise Gaels
Ballymote
Calry/St. Joseph's
Tourlestrane
St. Mary's
St. Farnan's
St. John's

Fair enough seanie i ll say no more on the matters its just that i did not particulary like been called a clown or been told to fcuk off to another thread any way i ll say no more im at the airport heading away on a weeks holiday so i try and forget about it  wink

Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 14, 2008, 05:51:36 AM
Fair enough seanie i ll say no more on the matters its just that i did not particulary like been called a clown or been told to fcuk off to another thread any way i ll say no more im at the airport heading away on a weeks holiday so i try and forget about it  wink

Ya probably got a bit carried away last night. The parsons thing is a touchy subject with me. Anyway sorry for the abuse.

Enjoy the holiday 8).

Games called off. A anti climax but im glad, the conditions wouldnt suit us. Next weekend i presume and im sure sligogaa will have the re fixtures up soon.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 13, 2008, 04:27:53 PM
you seem more interested in whats going on there than in Sligo. I could say that about a few of the Sligo posters on here though lately. I couldnt give a shite about mayo or Galway clubs even if a sligo man or 2 is playing for NUIG which is probably your comeback. It looks to me that maybe some Sligo people have serious case of identity or memory loss.
And who is that swipe directed towards may I ask? Does it trouble you that much that some of us may take an interest in how things are shaping up in the neighbouring counties, no harm in it is there? It's not as if we're ignoring our own affairs in doing so. Grow up FFS.

As for Parsons, he did play for Curry at one point DR, but others didn't take kindly to it and off he (and others) went back to Charlestown. It's a sore point in Curry, naturally enough. There's a few on the Charlestown team who should be playing with Curry, but little can be done about that now.

Anyway, Curry had more pressing issues yesterday, drawing with Harps in a keenly-contested semi, not a high-scoring affair but the backs on either side did a fine job, Curry were kicking a lot of high balls in, some very aimless and silly, but they didn't do badly off the breaks, Harps worked the ball in well, but other than Taylor few of the forwards posed a real threat, Danny Grady had chances, including a right sitter, but couldn't put a foot right, midfield didn't show too well during the game either, despite the relatively poor performance from their opposite numbers. The missed penalty would have been a turning point had Harps lost, a poor effort from Taylor, but he has done similiar in the past. Didn't see what the last free was for, but if it was a late tackle, then how stupid could anyone be to do it, right in front of goal in that situation, twas a gimme for Taylor. But after crusing through to the semis this was a test that Harps needed and they survived it, just. Not that I'd tip them with too much confidence in the replay, Curry are better placed to take them than Easkey were at this same stage last year.

Didn't see too much of the Intermediate game, but it seemed that Michael's were unlucky to lose, but they looked shaky in the backs, and with the likes of Finan and O'Brien around that proved costly. Mullinabreena aren't quite the side they were in 2005, but have a good chance in the final, time will tell who they will meet there. I'm rooting for Harps FWIW. ;)

Quote from: Owenmoresider on September 14, 2008, 06:05:40 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 13, 2008, 04:27:53 PM
you seem more interested in whats going on there than in Sligo. I could say that about a few of the Sligo posters on here though lately. I couldnt give a shite about mayo or Galway clubs even if a sligo man or 2 is playing for NUIG which is probably your comeback. It looks to me that maybe some Sligo people have serious case of identity or memory loss.
And who is that swipe directed towards may I ask? Does it trouble you that much that some of us may take an interest in how things are shaping up in the neighbouring counties, no harm in it is there? It's not as if we're ignoring our own affairs in doing so. Grow up FFS.

As for Parsons, he did play for Curry at one point DR, but others didn't take kindly to it and off he (and others) went back to Charlestown. It's a sore point in Curry, naturally enough. There's a few on the Charlestown team who should be playing with Curry, but little can be done about that now.

Anyway, Curry had more pressing issues yesterday, drawing with Harps in a keenly-contested semi, not a high-scoring affair but the backs on either side did a fine job, Curry were kicking a lot of high balls in, some very aimless and silly, but they didn't do badly off the breaks, Harps worked the ball in well, but other than Taylor few of the forwards posed a real threat, Danny Grady had chances, including a right sitter, but couldn't put a foot right, midfield didn't show too well during the game either, despite the relatively poor performance from their opposite numbers. The missed penalty would have been a turning point had Harps lost, a poor effort from Taylor, but he has done similiar in the past. Didn't see what the last free was for, but if it was a late tackle, then how stupid could anyone be to do it, right in front of goal in that situation, twas a gimme for Taylor. But after crusing through to the semis this was a test that Harps needed and they survived it, just. Not that I'd tip them with too much confidence in the replay, Curry are better placed to take them than Easkey were at this same stage last year.

Didn't see too much of the Intermediate game, but it seemed that Michael's were unlucky to lose, but they looked shaky in the backs, and with the likes of Finan and O'Brien around that proved costly. Mullinabreena aren't quite the side they were in 2005, but have a good chance in the final, time will tell who they will meet there. I'm rooting for Harps FWIW. ;)

Give me a one good reason so then why youd be so interested in neighbouring county club scene? Enlighten me please.

Ive was told he never played for curry.

Im not surprised your rooting for harps against our lads. And Im the one that needs to grow up. And lastly what does FWIW mean?

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 14, 2008, 08:34:26 PM
Give me a one good reason so then why youd be so interested in neighbouring county club scene? Enlighten me please.

Ive was told he never played for curry.

Im not surprised your rooting for harps against our lads. And Im the one that needs to grow up. And lastly what does FWIW mean?
Why should I do that? My interest in GAA matters doesn't stop at the county boundary you know. Sure I'd know a fair few Mayo lads through college and so on, and tend to keep an eye on how they are doing. You seem to think that we shouldn't comment on anything that doesn't involve Sligo, but then you go posting on affairs in that well-known neighbouring county, Yorkshire. The suggestion that I'd be more interested in other counties affairs than our own is one I take particular exception to, the evidence here is overwhlemingly otherwise.

Parsons played for Curry but I don't know how often, maybe only a handful of games if even that.

Well you shouldn't be, I've a lot of time for Harps, would know quite well a good few of that team through school, socialising etc., whereas I know nobody playing or indeed otherwise, in that sprawling North Sligo region. So it's hardly a surprise. FWIW is For What It's Worth.

Following a meeting of the C.C.C. the new dates for the postponed Championship games from last weekend have been announced along with the replay of the Senior Semi Final

Saturday 20-September-08

McCormack Fuels - Intermediate Championship

Semi Final

Eastern Harps                    V   St Molaise Gaels             Ballymote              1:00 PM

Sligo Estates - Senior Championship Relegation

Final

Geevagh                           V   St Marys                        Enniscrone             2:00 PM

Sligo Estates - Senior Championship

Semi final replay

Curry                                V   Eastern Harps                Tourlestrane          4:30 PM

Sligo Estates - Senior Championship

Semi Final

Coolera/Strandhill              V   Tubbercurry                   Markievicz Park      5:00 PM

From SLIGOGAA.ie

Congratulations to Liam Og Gormley, Sligo's GAA Games Manager who has graduated as a Tutor Trainer in Gaelic Games                                                                                                                                     Coach Education Moving Up a Gear!!

On Saturday, September 13th 40 GAA Coach Education Programme Tutors graduated as Tutor Trainers for the next phase of the implementation of the programme. In doing so, the GAA are the first National Governing Body in Sport to have their own specifically trained Tutor Trainers.

Previously Tutors have been trained directly through the National Coaching and Training Centre, the Limerick based body charged with supporting the implementation and development of Coach Education and Accreditation by the Irish Sports Council.

The Tutor Trainer qualification was approved by the NCTC (who have changed identity to Coaching Ireland as of Saturday), who undertook the training of the group over 5 weekends since last January. GAA President, Nickey Brennan presented the certificates of qualification to the group together with Coaching Ireland Director Michael McGeehin at the award ceremony in Croke Park on Saturday night.

Among the graduates were newly appointed Leitrim joint manager John Morrison, National Hurling Coordinator Paudie Butler, successful Laois underage manager Séan Dempsey, former Meath Manager Eamonn Barry, former Galway hurler Sean Silke, and former Roscommon footballer Paul Earley.

The event was organised under the remit of the National Games Development Committee, whose chairman Christy Cooney, thanked Coaching Ireland for their work with the GAA and charged the newly qualified Tutor Trainers with advancing the quality and standard of both Coaching and the Coach Education Programme in the Association. For every Coach Education Tutor trained by the Tutor Trainers, 20 Coaches will be tutored, and through those Coaches, 400 plus players will be coached.

GAA President, Nickey Brennan stated that "in this current era, where information on coaching has never been so vast, the Association must endeavour to utilise advances in technology to filter the key relevant information through to more coaches using e-learning and related applications."

The GAA's Coach Education Programme has seen in excess of 35,000 participants certified at various levels since the early 1990s. At the beginning of this process a group of approximately 20 individuals went to train as Tutors in the National Coaching and Training Centre (N.C.T.C.) and became the initial Master Tutor Group. Many of this group advanced to Tutor Trainer status through the current process.

Foundation Level, Level 1 and Level 2 Courses have been developed in the intervening years since that first group qualified in Limerick and those courses have been added to through a range of coaching workshops that focus on the many coaching related topics that engage our thousands of volunteer coaches up and down the country. 

Earlier this year, the GAA Fun Do Coaching Resource won the Best E-Learning Product or Course Award at the Digital Media Awards and has been acclaimed by coaches of all levels at home and abroad.

jjjshabadoojnr

Was at the St Michaels -V- Mullinabreena Game at the weekend. Thought it was a really exciting game especially in 2nd half. The highlight for me was the evergreen Padraig McHugh Scoring a point from just inside the half way line. An absolute boomer of  a point. You have to admire the man for the dedication he has shown down through the years. Never seen a bit of dirt from him on the pitch either, definitely deserving of an inter championship medal (second to Molaise gaels winning it of course!! ;)
Cant help feeling watching the game that St Michaels did nt learn any lessons from the Farnans game last year. In my opinion they were a better team from midfield and into the full forward line than Mullinabreena. There backs and especially thier full back line was very dodgy. The fourth C/M goal was a farce . Thier man ran around the outside of 4 static St Michaels defenders and flicked it on the outside of the boot to the net.
Shane o Brien was strangely quiet for C/M. They made a few important changes though, esp moving Kivlehan to full back to cope with McGoldrick who was getting a lot of space from Mchugh. C/M have serious pace to burn in their ff line and are capable of scoring goals at will (as Seanie will know to well!!), remind me a bit of the Cavan county team - would nearly score more goals than points.
Would be hopeful that if our lads come through against Harps (could be hard achieved - if rumours to be believd they were only bet by Harps seniors by 2 points in challenge game 2 weekends ago) that we should win out this year considering our junior team (with probably 4 starters from current Senior team it has to be said) beat C/M in Junior league final. But who knows what can happen in champ football. Unfortunately couldnt stay for Senior semi. Will the drawn game stand to Curry more? Its a pity the way the fixtures have panned out for this Saturday, but I suppose it is to be expected with AIF on Sunday

Intermediate Championship Semi Final

Corran Park,Ballymote 1.00pm

Eastern Harps 0-08       St.Molaises Gaels 1-12 FullTime

Ref: Des Henry

Senior Championship Relegation Final

Enniscrone 2.00pm

St.Marys  2-13     Geevagh  0-10  Full Time

Ref: John Griffin

Senior Champonship Semi Final Replay

Tourlestrane 4.30pm

Eastern Harps 1-13    Curry   2-08 Full Time

Ref: TJ Kevaney

Tubbercurry 0-11 Coolera 0-11 FT

Was at both SMG great win over harps and Tubber v coolera draw. Will give bigger reports when i have time. But im absolutely delighted with our performance, outstanding football and moves and excecuted scores.

Tubber v coolera was very entertaining and draw probably a fair result.

Congrats St Molaise Gaels. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Looking forward to the final.

The Stand Side

Congrats to SMG on reaching the final  :) . You must be favourites for the title now. 

Sounds like the Harps Curry game was a cracker. 

Didn't get to any of the matches so looking forward to reports.  Any word on how Tourlestrane got on yesterday?

Just watched the 2 all Irelands. 2 great games. Congrats to Tyrone and Caroline Currid of Grange Co Sligo who i know is involved in the tyrone backroom set up. Great to hear brain dooher thanking Caroline aswell in his speech. Cant wait to pick her brains as to how tyrone do things for Sligos future benefit ;). Caroline was captain of sligo ladies for a few yrs and excellent footballer i might add.

St Molaise Gaels 1-12 Harps 0-8

This was an emphatic victory by our lads, this performance would of tested any senior side in Sligo. It was tit for tat early on with harps getting handy frees to go 3-2 up. We took controll after the early sparring and Cathal burns started to get on top in midfield and deliver quick quality ball into Martin Feeney. Feeney was Outstanding in the first. He got one score akin to sloyans against kildare in 01. From play he won ball and finished it from distance everytime. It was a display worthy of a county call up which IMO is long overdue. He deserves a chance anyway. 0-7 in the first half from feeney. 4 from play. Wilson scored a penalty after feeney was upended in the square. To leave it 1-8 to 0-3 at HT.

Our lads started were we left off. Great moves and short passing and interplay and support play and 2 early scores finished off by Dara Currid. To put is out of sight effectively. Des Herny decided to take centre stage. All through the game he was a disaster. not allowing any physical contact. Our lads were left puzzled by some of his decisions. Cluelessly consistent. Id say we got 6 yellows and mark quinn was sent off for 2 yellows after a disgraceful decision was given against Dara currid late in the 2nd half. Mark obviously told henry the truth and like most egosticial centre of attention seeking refs henry duely booked him. How dare you question me i get everything right kinda of atitude. I have been told by several players if this idiot gets the final we will object. Who could put it past the idiots running the show at the Sligo CCC.
Harps did rally late but we were always comfortable. Colm feeny i thought had a great game making himself available for a pass and supporting our men in possession, caraway ran at harps with purpose, Cathal Burns was outstanding at midfield outshone quinn and wilson for us. Eoin wasnt on the ball alot but what he did he did well getting good points from play and frees. Martin Feeney MOFTM and i hope he keeps it up.

Id have one worry for the final, Our FB Aaron mchugh was very sluggish and Michael Finan Coolaneys danger man will expose him if he gets the ball sio the final is no foregone conclusion. But our lads play to there potential we can be outstanding at times. This is massive yr to get on and progress because every GAA man in our club is eyeing a future Owen B heading North in within the next 5yrs ;).

Tubber 0-11 Coolera 0-11

Tubber started brightly playing with a slight breeze at there backs. Kelly and Mcgee scoring impressive points. McGee on this viewing impressed me throughout and looks strong and has pace and two good feet. Definitly worth a shot at County. Coolera were sluggish and took them a while to get going but a few frees later and were back in the game. 7 to 5 to tubber at HT. Tubber started 2nd half brightly again with gary curran putting good ball into the forwards.  Gilmartin and Quinn match up i watched closely.. Gilmartin caught a few balls and laid off and put long good ball down the flanks into his forwards. Also got a good score.  Costello for coolera was very sharp to breaks and out in front all the time and got some good scores. Coolera owned the ball 2 nd half after tubber were 9 to 6 up. Tubber were hanging on. Coolera got few frees and one 15 yarder which was badly missed by costello and one he will look back on with dismay.Coolera puled level and looked the favourites but it point for point late on. Con o meara came on for coolera as target man, he is big and awkward but no football in him but did make a nusance of himself and was lucky enough to win the free for the eqauliser. Severs missed late on for tubber and McGee last gasp shot got a excellent block from a coolera defender and drop short into keepers hands. All in all a good game with some good football. Mcpartland was very quiet for coolera and only excuse is must be coming back from injury.  for me gilamrtin looks better than quinn and is younger and has to partner taylor next yr for Sligo..Tubber created loads of space in the first half for there forwards to isolate the coolera backs but once coolera countered this a crowded the defence in 2nd half tubber were suffocated and coolera eventually got on top to come back. I think tubber have better footballers but coolera have experience and were cuter so its hard to see how next day will go.

paddypastit

Sligonian - will you give the Quinn bashing a break or at least give the rest of us a break from it.  I have no idea how how he played but your obsession on this topic for the past two years is wearing and an otherwise interesting report is tainted by it. Your observation may indeed be correct but give it a rest
come disagree with me on http://gushtystuppencehapenny.wordpress.com/ and spread the word

Quote from: paddypastit on September 22, 2008, 01:01:41 AM
Sligonian - will you give the Quinn bashing a break or at least give the rest of us a break from it.  I have no idea how how he played but your obsession on this topic for the past two years is wearing and an otherwise interesting report is tainted by it. Your observation may indeed be correct but give it a rest

Happy now. ::). I forgot some lads on here cant handle the truth. Quite a michevious post though insinuating im obsessed with it. I just want to see Sligo have the best possible midfield we can.

Its does piss me off this hyper sensitivity towards any comments about certain players. Can a man not call a spade and spade anymore.

Well i heard two reports which contradicted your view. Wasn't at any game so can't say myself. Intermediate final has been brought forward by a week too.