GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Main Street on May 02, 2022, 04:24:44 PM

Title: Monaghan v Derry USFC SF Sunday May15th 16.00
Post by: Main Street on May 02, 2022, 04:24:44 PM
Monaghan will not be beaten.

Title: Re: Monaghan v Derry USFC SF Sunday May15th 16.00
Post by: tbrick18 on May 04, 2022, 10:10:01 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 02, 2022, 04:24:44 PM
Monaghan will not be beaten.

I think you're right.
Derry haven't a chance in this game. All we've done so far is stay in Div2 and beat a poor Tyrone side.
We might as well not turn up.
Monaghan for Sam!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2022, 10:38:37 AM
We're just happy to be in an Ulster Semi final thread on gaaboard tbh. Anything else is a bonus
Post by: lenny on May 04, 2022, 11:14:54 AM
Fancy Monaghan to win this one by 6 or 7 points. They're too streetwise and crafty for a young, naive but improving Derry side.
Post by: Estimator on May 04, 2022, 11:39:17 AM
Think this is the first Championship meeting in over 10years.  As fair I as I know, the last two encounters were in 2009. Memory of the game at Celtic Park being a fairly bad-tempered affair.  However, the only survivors from those two matches that year are Chrissy McKaigue and Conor McManus.  So that will have very little bearing on this game.
Monaghan have to be going in as favourites, as they have been a top division side for a number of years. Monaghan have won 17 USFC games over the last 10 years, including two titles and 2 final appearances, against Derry's record of 2 victories, zero final places. Last time Derry put together back to back performances was in 2011.
I'd say Monaghan's betting handicap would be set around the -3 mark.

Last 5 Championship Matches
2009 USFC
Derry 1-10 Monaghan 0-10
2009 Qualifiers
Derry 3-16 Monaghan 0-20
2008 Qualifiers
Monaghan 1-13 Derry 1-12
2007 USFC
Monaghan 0-14 Derry 1-09
2005 USFC
Derry 1-17 Monaghan 2-08
Post by: shawshank on May 04, 2022, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: lenny on May 04, 2022, 11:14:54 AM
Fancy Monaghan to win this one by 6 or 7 points. They're too streetwise and crafty for a young, naive but improving Derry side.

Think I read that one before, except replace Tyrone for Monaghan  ;D
Post by: Schkite on May 04, 2022, 12:53:08 PM
It'll be a tricky game for Monaghan, as I'm sure they've been looking at Tyrone as the likely opponents in a semi final. But the manner of Derry's win at the weekend will surely get rid of any chance of complacency and refocus the heads to the job at hand.

Derry on the other hand need to come down from the high of such a huge win and get their own focus back, but I've no doubt Gallagher will make sure of that.
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2022, 01:37:48 PM
I'm banking on an El Classico Ulster final, the first since 1952!
Post by: Dreadnought on May 04, 2022, 02:21:04 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 04, 2022, 01:37:48 PM
I'm banking on an El Classico Ulster final, the first since 1952!

Imagine! Although I'd take just getting past Donegal in any way at this stage. Monaghan, El Drumlin Classico final. Derry, repeat of 97. Either is good for me.
Post by: Gael85 on May 04, 2022, 03:58:58 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 04, 2022, 11:39:17 AM
Think this is the first Championship meeting in over 10years.  As fair I as I know, the last two encounters were in 2009. Memory of the game at Celtic Park being a fairly bad-tempered affair.  However, the only survivors from those two matches that year are Chrissy McKaigue and Conor McManus.  So that will have very little bearing on this game.
Monaghan have to be going in as favourites, as they have been a top division side for a number of years. Monaghan have won 17 USFC games over the last 10 years, including two titles and 2 final appearances, against Derry’s record of 2 victories, zero final places. Last time Derry put together back to back performances was in 2011.
I’d say Monaghan’s betting handicap would be set around the -3 mark.

Last 5 Championship Matches
2009 USFC
Derry 1-10 Monaghan 0-10
2009 Qualifiers
Derry 3-16 Monaghan 0-20
2008 Qualifiers
Monaghan 1-13 Derry 1-12
2007 USFC
Monaghan 0-14 Derry 1-09
2005 USFC
Derry 1-17 Monaghan 2-08

Darren Hughes also played in 2009. McManus played in the qualifier game that year.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/derry-survive-true-test-of-their-mettle-1.770275
Post by: Eire90 on May 04, 2022, 04:03:51 PM
where is this game
Post by: Dreadnought on May 04, 2022, 04:23:52 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 04, 2022, 04:03:51 PM
where is this game

Athletic Grounds, Armagh
Post by: full moon on May 04, 2022, 07:45:36 PM
Monaghan to win I reckon.
Post by: Main Street on May 04, 2022, 08:34:18 PM
Before the 2007 semi final, Paul Finlay was surprisingly withdrawn due to an overly cautious medical opinion.
And at a roundabout somewhere on the road to Dungannon, a GAA official was robbed at hammer point of the considerable gate takings.
Post by: restorepride on May 04, 2022, 10:59:04 PM
Muineachán will rightly be favourites as they have been achieving consistently at a higher level than Doire for some time. Could be close though - big test for Doire. Does the truth lie nearer the Tyrone display or the Galway one? I doubt if Muineachán will let Doire go short from the kickout as Tyrone did for too long at the start. Likely to put at least one defender up front to stop Rodgers bombing forward or Doherty. For the first time in a number of years Doire's strength and conditioning will match Muineachán. Referee and interpretation of rules will have a big say in this one, I think.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on May 09, 2022, 04:25:48 PM
Was Brolly A Tool the last time Monaghan played Derry?
Post by: restorepride on May 09, 2022, 08:11:36 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on May 09, 2022, 04:25:48 PM
Yes - but no more than Dick Clerkin was.
Post by: Derry Optimist on May 09, 2022, 09:10:56 PM
In the press over the years successive Monaghan County teams have always  been portrayed as the great overachievers.This simplistic statement  is rather unfair as it hides the undoubted fact that every Monaghan player has always given his utmost for his team on the field of play.The current team and their loyal supporters have always done likewise. Given their size this is a phenomenal achievement.

By the same token, over the same period, Derry have been looked upon as the great under achievers.Again this is not entirely accurate as there were often real mitigating factors which hastened Derry's hasty descent into Division Four of the League. Slaughtneil's outstanding achievements at Provincial and All Ireland club level,in two codes, meant that at least a third of the starting fifteen were missing from the Derry County team for most of the league.An inintended cosequence of their success was that because the County had to field a weakened team especially in defence, they suffered the humiliation of rapid,successive  relegations.

Having watched Derry develop as  a well organised and competitive team very significantly under Rory Gallagher, I have no doubt that the Divisional gap between both teams, for the last seven years,has narrowed to such an extent that Sunday's encounter can be justifiably termed as a a fifty fifty contest.Hopefully, when the final whistle is blown next Sunday in the Athletic grounds Derry's resurrection will be complete and we will all be celebrating a famous victory.
Post by: joemamas on May 09, 2022, 09:38:02 PM
Quote from: Derry Optimist on May 09, 2022, 09:10:56 PM
In the press over the years successive Monaghan County teams have always  been portrayed as the great overachievers.This simplistic statement  is rather unfair as it hides the undoubted fact that every Monaghan player has always given his utmost for his team on the field of play.The current team and their loyal supporters have always done likewise. Given their size this is a phenomenal achievement.

By the same token, over the same period, Derry have been looked upon as the great under achievers.Again this is not entirely accurate as there were often real mitigating factors which hastened Derry's hasty descent into Division Four of the League. Slaughtneil's outstanding achievements at Provincial and All Ireland club level,in two codes, meant that at least a third of the starting fifteen were missing from the Derry County team for most of the league.An inintended cosequence of their success was that because the County had to field a weakened team especially in defence, they suffered the humiliation of rapid,successive  relegations.

Having watched Derry develop as  a well organised and competitive team very significantly under Rory Gallagher, I have no doubt that the Divisional gap between both teams, for the last seven years,has narrowed to such an extent that Sunday's encounter can be justifiably termed as a a fifty fifty contest.Hopefully, when the final whistle is blown next Sunday in the Athletic grounds Derry's resurrection will be complete and we will all be celebrating a famous victory.

Very well written and thoughtful post.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 09, 2022, 09:48:23 PM
Derry have improved but we don't have the more natural scoring forwards that Monaghan, Donegal, Galway, Kerry even Roscommon have. They are a few players not playing county fball I have in the Derry panel but there attitude likely can't match what's required. Hopefully a few of the Downeys and Murray increase scoring power in the nxt few years.
Post by: Main Street on May 09, 2022, 10:21:16 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on May 09, 2022, 04:25:48 PM
2009 was  annus horribleness, to get beaten once by Derry was bad enough but to get beaten twice was a horror revisited.
Thank feck there's no Paddy Bradley this time around.
Post by: toby47 on May 10, 2022, 10:41:04 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 09, 2022, 09:48:23 PM
Derry have improved but we don't have the more natural scoring forwards that Monaghan, Donegal, Galway, Kerry even Roscommon have. They are a few players not playing county fball I have in the Derry panel but there attitude likely can't match what's required. Hopefully a few of the Downeys and Murray increase scoring power in the nxt few years.

Names please
Post by: Estimator on May 10, 2022, 03:20:30 PM
Both sides will have their work cut out with the matchups.

Monaghan will be looking at curbing the scoring threat of McGuigan, but maybe more concerned about the runners from defence - Rogers, Doherty and McKinless. I'd suggest that McKinless might be the man targeted for some close attention.

Derry will be very worried about a ff line that scored 14pts the last day out against Down, and had 11 different scorers that day. I think Monaghan's entire fb line got on the score sheet as well.

Derry scored 1-18 against Tyrone.
Monaghan scored 0-23 against Down.

So this game will probably end up something like 0-12 v 0-09 :o
Post by: God14 on May 11, 2022, 12:04:17 PM
Stand tickets sold out
weather forecast favourable
Interest has peaked in Derry / see schools doing the red & white days
Huge neutral interest in this one
Id say we could get close to a sell out here?

Post by: Estimator on May 11, 2022, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 11, 2022, 12:04:17 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Looks like the stand and the opposite covered terrace are sold out.
Can only get tickets for the terraces behind the goals now.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 11, 2022, 01:10:23 PM
Always said a strong AI needs a good Derry team in it 😉😃
Post by: JoG2 on May 11, 2022, 01:15:15 PM
Stand tickets sold out

No-one does a bandwagon like us. Plenty of new jersey wearers about the town the last couple of weeks. If we did win on Sat, Clones will be a sea of red and white! Up Derry

The red/white days in schools are great BTW.
Post by: theticklemister on May 11, 2022, 01:31:14 PM
I mind when Armagh win Ulster in 99, it stopped a 17 year wait. Some jubilant crowd that day in Armagh. Fantastic to see. I can't see Derry doing that if we win even though it would be 24 years.

Mind you, Jesus it seems we are world beaters. We won one game against a shite Tyrone team. Give it a bit of time lads.
Post by: armaghniac on May 11, 2022, 02:24:00 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 11, 2022, 12:56:46 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Be careful where you stand there, there are no nets behind the goals and you could get a clatter of the ball.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 11, 2022, 02:31:18 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2022, 02:24:00 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 11, 2022, 12:56:46 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Be careful where you stand there, there are no nets behind the goals and you could get a clatter of the ball.

We always stand behind the goals when possible as the kids want a chance and catching a ball!  ;D
Post by: tbrick18 on May 11, 2022, 02:34:09 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 11, 2022, 01:31:14 PM
I mind when Armagh win Ulster in 99, it stopped a 17 year wait. Some jubilant crowd that day in Armagh. Fantastic to see. I can't see Derry doing that if we win even though it would be 24 years.

Mind you, Jesus it seems we are world beaters. We won one game against a shite Tyrone team. Give it a bit of time lads.

Some people are losing the run of themselves alright.
Hard to know where Derry are. I suspect Tyrone made us look better than we are.
Galway made us look worse than we are. In saying that, if we beat Monaghan I'll probably think we could win Sam lol.
We still can make it difficult for Monaghan and I think we'll be competitive, but Monaghan are a bit more battle hardened than Derry and that will probably see them over the line.
Post by: JoG2 on May 11, 2022, 02:44:16 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 11, 2022, 02:34:09 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 11, 2022, 01:31:14 PM

Some people are losing the run of themselves alright.
Hard to know where Derry are. I suspect Tyrone made us look better than we are.
Galway made us look worse than we are. In saying that, if we beat Monaghan I'll probably think we could win Sam lol.
We still can make it difficult for Monaghan and I think we'll be competitive, but Monaghan are a bit more battle hardened than Derry and that will probably see them over the line.

Hopefully we put in another big performance. Will be a huge battle. I know I put Derry by 6 in the prediction comp, but that's more a case of gambling to get up the leaderboard!
Post by: Armagh18 on May 11, 2022, 02:50:36 PM
Really looking forward to this one. As others have said, hard to know where Derry are at given Tyrone were brutal but they were seriously unlucky in division 2 not to go up. Monaghan obviously never easy to beat and have the forwards to do damage and the experience of playing in division 1 and the business end of Ulster for years now. Tough one to call and could go either way but fancy Monaghan to edge it.
Post by: God14 on May 11, 2022, 03:35:17 PM
Really looking forward to this one as a neutral. Yes Tyrone were shockingly poor last time out, but I was still hugely impressed by Derry. Their middle 8 is extremely mobile, athletic and pacy. Are Monaghan aging? I think they might be. If so they could get into real trouble in this sector. Tyrone were completely overrun even before the sending off. Monaghan could be in for a similar fate on Sunday.
Derry were ravenous the last day out. They played like a team that's waited 24 years for an Ulster Title. You just felt at the ground, that things had been building for them for a while towards this. Hunger & desire levels through the ceiling.
I also feel Derry have a big advantage on the line going into this game. Gallagher is way too smart tactically for Banty. Jimmy McGuinness' apprentice versus Mike Bassett. Advantage Derry.
Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 03:40:33 PM
It could work out well in Monaghan's favour  that we got to see Derry spring that deserved upset before this game.
I'll clutch at any straw.

David Gough is the appointed ref, I guess that rules out a good old fashioned melee.
Post by: timmyot501 on May 11, 2022, 03:42:37 PM
It is hard to know where either team is really.  Derry were impressive against Tyrone.  But was it a case that Derry were very good, Tyrone were very bad or a combination of both??  Likewise with Monaghan.  Down were poor, but they still stuck in 2 goals. Monaghan's league form was all over the place.  Should have beaten Tyrone and  Mayo but only came away with one point.  Did OK against Armagh to draw.  Awful against Kerry, good against Donegal, awful again v Kildare and played really well against Dublin.  This could come down to which Monaghan team turns up this weekend.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2022, 04:02:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 03:40:33 PM
It could work out well in Monaghan's favour  that we got to see Derry spring that deserved upset before this game.

David Gough is the appointed ref, I guess that rules out a good old fashioned melee.
You started off this thread with real confidence has that confidence faded?
Post by: twohands!!! on May 11, 2022, 04:51:42 PM
Derry shot exactly 50% from play (9 out of 18) the last day.

I keep an eye on this stat and it's rare enough that a side will win an intercounty game if they are only kicking 50% of their shots from play.

As a comparison Monaghan kicked 13 out of 19 (68%) in their win over Down.

In both these game all 4 sides were 100% from deadballs. Monaghan and Derry got 10 points, Tyrone got 7 and Down got 3.

I'll be very surprised if this game doesn't go all the way to the wire and the winning margin to be narrow enough.

Would favour Monaghan to get over the line but wouldn't be any bit surprised if Derry managed to get the result here.

Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 04:54:10 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2022, 04:02:59 PM

You started off this thread with real confidence has that confidence faded?
I started off this thread with a bold statement, but obvious to me, one to be taken with a dose of salt.
Post by: restorepride on May 11, 2022, 10:54:04 PM

Probably! His decision making could have a big bearing! Players' discipline with be crucial - any bets on who will get the first yellow?! I'd go for McKinless or younger Hughes. Monaghan have more scoring options that Doire, from Beggan to McCarron. If I was neutral (which I am not!), Monaghan by 3.
Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: restorepride on May 11, 2022, 10:54:04 PM

Probably! His decision making could have a big bearing! Players' discipline with be crucial - any bets on who will get the first yellow?! I'd go for McKinless or younger Hughes. Monaghan have more scoring options that Doire, from Beggan to McCarron. If I was neutral (which I am not!), Monaghan by 3.
You can be a lot of things, but I hope you're not a curse. :)
Post by: restorepride on May 12, 2022, 12:01:59 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: restorepride on May 11, 2022, 10:54:04 PM

You can be a lot of things, but I hope you're not a curse. :)
I detect a hint of superstition?! Rory Gallagher hasn't planned for that - good move!
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2022, 08:49:38 AM
I have the feeling Derry are coming back after a long time lost. They were unfortunate not to get out out of D2.
They steamrollered the all Ireland champions and a number of players were prominent, a very good sign.
Plus they have loads of energy.
I would have them as favourites.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 12, 2022, 11:35:06 AM
Looking forward to this as a neutral. Well as neutral as a Cavan man can be towards Monaghan, and someone who has some links to Derry.

Anyways, obviously think it'll be very close. Both teams quarter finals hid a lot about where they are at. Down were bad and Monaghan didn't get much of a challenge and coasted for a lot. That space and time won't be there next time. Derry clearly impressive v Tyrone. The red card did change things and Tyrone looked half disinterested, but Derry were looking very good at that stage, and never took the foot of the throat. The celebrations after were like winning a final, crowd on the pitch and all. Have Derry come down sufficiently from that emotional high to be right for this? Can be hard to get back to level after a game like that. I expect they will though.

I've a hot take. I think Monaghan have moved from a Championship team, to one set for the League. I think there's a slight obsession with clinging on to Division 1 status yearly. The odd excursion down to Division 2 would be no harm to Monaghan, allow a better refreshment of players, new blood in, and get a run of wins in. Rather than an odd win and a draw, and staving off relegation with an injury time score in the final game, Monaghan need to become a Championship side again. The 2013 and 15 titles were on the back of rising the Divisions, lifting cups by winning Division 3 and 2 titles, and entering Division 1 on a run of results built up over years. I don't see that there right now. Bar 2018 run and Ulster final last year, what have they really done as a Division 1 mainstay last 6 years? Every other Division 1 mainstay has won something in that time. There's clutch moments here and there, but you need more than that. The Championship losses since 2016 do not make good reading for them, and that's my worry for them. Kill themselves all Spring to stay in Division 1, and their summer usually suffers.

Derry consequently have rose the divisions and are rarely losing matches these days. Unlucky to miss promotion on a points total that would see them up every other year (and the McGuigan red which was a joke). They've got huge momentum, and belief in their squad and manager. Likes of McKinless and Doherty were class the last day, and their forwards were on point too for the most part too. Need a big defensive display, as keep one of the big forwards like McManus quiet, and McCarron will step up too (and vice versa). Need to keep a handle on all of them there. There's nothing I've seen like Derry confidence when things are going well for them. They'll have huge belief they can win, and I think they'll sneak it. I'll take Derry by 2 in an absorbing tight game.
Post by: J70 on May 12, 2022, 12:22:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 12, 2022, 08:49:38 AM
I have the feeling Derry are coming back after a long time lost. They were unfortunate not to get out out of D2.
They steamrollered the all Ireland champions and a number of players were prominent, a very good sign.

Personally, I'd have Derry as favourites for Ulster, even at this point.

As Dreadnought lays out, they've been building towards something.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 12, 2022, 12:38:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 12, 2022, 12:22:02 PM

Cute hoorism starting ;)
Post by: tbrick18 on May 12, 2022, 12:41:34 PM

Let's not get carried away.
In championship terms we've beaten a Tyrone team that didnt show up.
That's it.
We're not even favourites for our next game, let alone Ulster.
Of course, the hope is we can win Ulster, but it's hope and not expectation.

I do agree, we've been building and improving over this last couple of years. Is it enough yet? Time will tell.

On the game itself, I think Derry will set up similarly to how we did against Tyrone. I don't see any major surprises in terms of personnel or positioning. Derry were able to show that they can get scores from other outlets and not just McGuigan which makes it more difficult for Monaghan.
Monaghan will have had time to prepare and won't give away as much ball from kickouts as tyrone did.
It has the makings of a tense, tight low scoring game. They will want to make sure they don't concede frees in the scoring zone. A goal would likely win it.

Post by: marty34 on May 12, 2022, 01:13:21 PM
south Derry have a great chance in this match from what I'm hearing and reading.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 12, 2022, 01:31:53 PM
Against us in the Ulster club the 2 x Hughes' were miles off the pace and I honestly thought they were both finished. Maybe they are better suited to the Monaghan system though??
Post by: J70 on May 12, 2022, 01:58:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2022, 12:38:14 PM

Cute hoorism starting ;)

Nah, that's not my thing.

I honestly been very seriously impressed by them. The Tyrone game did not come out the blue. They could easily (and probably should) have beaten us last year, now they've gone that next step and annihilated Tyrone.

In addition, I have very serious reservations over this Donegal team. Far too slow, ponderous and one-dimensional, and I question whether we will be fit to match a very hungry Derry team were we to meet in the Ulster final.
Post by: God14 on May 12, 2022, 02:10:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 12, 2022, 01:31:53 PM
Against us in the Ulster club the 2 x Hughes' were miles off the pace and I honestly thought they were both finished. Maybe they are better suited to the Monaghan system though??

Thats my take on it also

Sure Monaghan have the better FF line. With proven fire power in McCarron and McManus.
But they need supply, and from 5 - 12 Derry are loaded with serious horse power. I dont think Monaghan will live with that.

Derry at 11/8 with PP, way overpriced. The only reservation is that the likes of Benny Heron & to a lesser extent Niall Loughlin are unlikely to scale the heights they did the last time. It had the feel of everything going right for Derry when Heron was swinging over 40yard beauties last time out. Scoring efficiency is the only thing i can see harming Derry chances.
Post by: Schkite on May 12, 2022, 02:28:45 PM
Jaysus, reading through this has me wondering should I even show up to the game. Sounds like it's completely in Derry's hands whether they win or not, and Monaghan are just a crumbling decrepit team waiting to be put out of their misery.
Post by: JoG2 on May 12, 2022, 02:39:12 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 12, 2022, 02:28:45 PM
Jaysus, reading through this has me wondering should I even show up to the game. Sounds like it's completely in Derry's hands whether they win or not, and Monaghan are just a crumbling decrepit team waiting to be put out of their misery.

The prediction thread would suggest otherwise. Any point our bucks turning up should be the cute hooer question surely?
Post by: Main Street on May 12, 2022, 03:10:00 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 12, 2022, 02:10:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 12, 2022, 01:31:53 PM

Thats my take on it also

Sure Monaghan have the better FF line. With proven fire power in McCarron and McManus.
But they need supply, and from 5 - 12 Derry are loaded with serious horse power. I dont think Monaghan will live with that.

Derry at 11/8 with PP, way overpriced. The only reservation is that the likes of Benny Heron & to a lesser extent Niall Loughlin are unlikely to scale the heights they did the last time. It had the feel of everything going right for Derry when Heron was swinging over 40yard beauties last time out. Scoring efficiency is the only thing i can see harming Derry chances.
The Hughes' brothers looked just fine against Dublin.
Post by: Estimator on May 12, 2022, 03:27:11 PM

Monaghan favourites for this and rightly so. Playing good football against the teams in the top division, for a good few years now. Hoping Derry will compete to the end, but Monaghan will probably win a low scoring encounter with about 3points to spare. Handicap on PP: -1 Evs. Buying money.
Post by: J70 on May 12, 2022, 03:59:51 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 12, 2022, 02:39:12 PM

The prediction thread would suggest otherwise. Any point our bucks turning up should be the cute hooer question surely?

Yeah, prediction thread is around 50/50 I'd say.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 12, 2022, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 12, 2022, 03:27:11 PM

Monaghan favourites for this and rightly so. Playing good football against the teams in the top division, for a good few years now. Hoping Derry will compete to the end, but Monaghan will probably win a low scoring encounter with about 3points to spare. Handicap on PP: -1 Evs. Buying money.

Playing in the Top Division hasn't actually done Monaghan much good up to now...
Post by: lenny on May 12, 2022, 04:36:13 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on May 12, 2022, 04:17:47 PM

Playing in the Top Division hasn't actually done Monaghan much good up to now...

I've a feeling this will end up 1.14 each after normal time. Monaghan have better and more experienced players to come off the bench and that should see them through after extra time.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 12, 2022, 04:39:36 PM

The thing is that their historic form in the league since they got promoted in 2014 would have been very handy if the new championship structure was in place.

Their league position since they got promoted would have got them in the 3rd seeds group every single year (including this one) since 2014 under next year's structure.
Post by: screenexile on May 12, 2022, 04:40:02 PM
I'm expecting another good performance which Monaghan will pip by 2-3 points.

That way I won't get too disappointed!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2022, 09:04:12 PM
Monaghan playing at a higher standard past 7yrs. Derry played in Division 4 just 3 years ago. Derry lack abit of scoring power. Monaghan favourites for this one, Derry posters blowing up Derry must followed them through their travels past 3/4yrs.Outside of the Tyrone game, Derry been poor enough at home this year, didnt blow the doors of Down and Cork when they been shown to be poor enough this year and the Galway game was very poor. Game be tight but if Derry are to win I think they need find the net twice cause I think Monaghan def score a goal.
Post by: Main Street on May 12, 2022, 09:44:22 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 12, 2022, 03:59:51 PM

The game might be 50/50 or close enough  but Monaghan are ahead in the prediction thread by a double score. 
Doesn't that count for something? surely the GAAboard finest can't all be wrong?
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on May 12, 2022, 09:49:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 12, 2022, 09:44:22 PM

The game might be 50/50 or close enough  but Monaghan are ahead in the prediction thread by a double score. 
Doesn't that count for something? surely the GAAboard finest can't all be wrong?

29-17 for Monaghan with about 10 more votes expected.
Post by: restorepride on May 12, 2022, 11:08:19 PM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on May 12, 2022, 09:49:40 PM

If this is accurate, Derry can't win!
Post by: Main Street on May 12, 2022, 11:42:34 PM
The prediction thread's oracle reputation will not recover should Derry upset their vaticination
Post by: restorepride on May 13, 2022, 12:07:16 AM
Quote from: marty34 on May 12, 2022, 01:13:21 PM
south Derry have a great chance in this match from what I'm hearing and reading.
Are we talking Tobermore or Upperlands? Say what you're hearing.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 13, 2022, 08:04:01 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 12, 2022, 04:39:36 PM

The thing is that their historic form in the league since they got promoted in 2014 would have been very handy if the new championship structure was in place.

Their league position since they got promoted would have got them in the 3rd seeds group every single year (including this one) since 2014 under next year's structure.

Yeah likely so. But with the system we had, it didn't do them much good since 2015. Clinging on every year and peaking in Spring and then losing repeatedly to lower teams in Championship shows them being in Division 1 at the time isn't all that
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 13, 2022, 10:16:30 AM
Quote from: restorepride on May 13, 2022, 12:07:16 AM
Quote from: marty34 on May 12, 2022, 01:13:21 PM
Are we talking Tobermore or Upperlands? Say what you're hearing.

Áth an Phoirt Leathain had a club until the early 70s. Tirgarvil Seán Mac Diarmada.

Squeezed out on all sides by Kilrea, Lavey, Glen, Slaughtneil and Swatragh.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2022, 10:20:29 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on May 12, 2022, 09:49:40 PM

#groupthink

Post by: Main Street on May 13, 2022, 11:18:41 AM
I suppose there could be a number of Derry supporters laying off/hedging their bets and voting for Monaghan.
Post by: oakleaflad on May 13, 2022, 11:28:22 AM
I went for Monaghan by a few points as I genuinely think they'll win. The fact that we're seemingly in with a decent chance against an established Division 1 side is really heartening though given where we've come from in the last few years.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 13, 2022, 11:42:07 AM
McKaigue on McManus?
Post by: southderryman on May 13, 2022, 01:38:37 PM
Is there any other game on before this one on sunday ? Or just a standalone fixture?
Post by: restorepride on May 13, 2022, 01:45:28 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 13, 2022, 11:42:07 AM
McKaigue on McManus?
McManus tends to play out a bit these days - McGrogan?
Post by: southderryman on May 13, 2022, 02:04:06 PM
Delighted to be in the semi final because I didnt expect it.

Very hard to know where derry are actually at after the last game as others have said derry were very good but tyrone were awful

I am very wary of expecting too much from any derry team. We have consistently fallen flat and failed to back up 1 big perfomance with another, here's hoping that finally changes on sunday

I think monaghan will push up on our kick out so dont see as much handy possession this time round.

Could be a tight low scoring game, a goal will be a big factor for whoever gets it

Hopefully Goughs previous issue with McGuigan is not a factor come sunday, although I suspect it will.

Heart says derry by 2, head says monaghan by 3.
Might stick a fiver on the draw!
Post by: Cavan19 on May 13, 2022, 02:05:19 PM
Hope Derry smash them and go all the way.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 13, 2022, 04:42:02 PM
Quote from: southderryman on May 13, 2022, 02:04:06 PM

Very hard to know where derry are actually at after the last game as others have said derry were very good but tyrone were awful

I am very wary of expecting too much from any derry team. We have consistently fallen flat and failed to back up 1 big perfomance with another, here's hoping that finally changes on sunday

I think monaghan will push up on our kick out so dont see as much handy possession this time round.

Could be a tight low scoring game, a goal will be a big factor for whoever gets it

Hopefully Goughs previous issue with McGuigan is not a factor come sunday, although I suspect it will.

My feelings exactly.
I've learnt over the years to never expect too much with Derry.
I don't think Gallagher will let them get carried away with themselves but you just never know what will happen on the day.

Hard to know what the matchups will be. Mckaigue def a man marker. Monaghan have a couple or 3 forwards who would need man marked.
Post by: southderryman on May 14, 2022, 10:58:43 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 13, 2022, 04:42:02 PM
Quote from: southderryman on May 13, 2022, 02:04:06 PM

My feelings exactly.
I've learnt over the years to never expect too much with Derry.
I don't think Gallagher will let them get carried away with themselves but you just never know what will happen on the day.

Hard to know what the matchups will be. Mckaigue def a man marker. Monaghan have a couple or 3 forwards who would need man marked.

Aye i would hope Gallagher had them focused again quickly, but we wont know until tomorrow.

If goal chances do present themsleves we need to be far more ruthless, that is a weak point so far.

I think mckaigue will go on mccarron and rodgers on McManus but could just as easily be other way round.

Is paudie tad fit? Would be a massive plus if he was
Post by: bennydorano on May 15, 2022, 12:28:02 PM
I think today will see a changing of the guard. Strongly fancy Derry to follow up the Tyrone win with another convincing win.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 15, 2022, 01:53:46 PM
Your optimistic,
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 02:01:16 PM
Is this available online? I know it's on bbc2 but I only have the iPad...
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 02:10:07 PM
Ah I thought it was at 2
Post by: An Watcher on May 15, 2022, 02:19:25 PM
One win and its changing of the guard!!
Post by: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 03:12:42 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 15, 2022, 12:28:02 PM
I think today will see a changing of the guard. Strongly fancy Derry to follow up the Tyrone win with another convincing win.

Jesus Christ.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 04:14:50 PM
Derry look very strong here, and Monaghan don't look at the races at all
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 04:17:05 PM
Gough could destroy this game!
Post by: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 04:21:06 PM
Never a free, refs need to see when the ball carrier holds the arm of the tackler and dives to the ground.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 04:21:44 PM
Hard to like Rory Gallagher.

Interesting game. Derry defensive setup working this far.
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 04:23:37 PM
Monaghan too slow getting the ball in to the forward line.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 04:24:23 PM
Too many Derry men there. They put a lot back.
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 04:27:25 PM
Typical Monaghan, good one day and brutal the next.
Post by: Wolfetones on May 15, 2022, 04:28:27 PM
3 very soft frees to keep Monaghan in it.
Post by: greatpoint on May 15, 2022, 04:28:58 PM
Monaghan shiteing the bed?
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 04:31:57 PM
they're being forced to shoot from distance or under extreme pressure and they don't seem ready for it
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 04:33:01 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 15, 2022, 04:28:58 PM
Monaghan shiteing the bed?

Always a possibility when managed by Banty. They have been terrible in defence and  31 minutes to score from play.
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 04:33:40 PM
dont know the stats but monaghan have probably had at least as many if not more scoring chances. Derry are converting their chances
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 04:34:38 PM
How's that not a yellow card??
Post by: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 04:36:41 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 03:12:42 PM

Jesus Christ.

Not even going to delete this. Fair play.
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 04:37:29 PM
You'd think that Monaghan never even bothered reviewing the Tyrone v Derry game to see how Derry were setup.
Post by: Eire90 on May 15, 2022, 04:37:57 PM
are derry serious contenders for the all ireland
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2022, 04:41:48 PM
Derry in poll position to reach the Ulster final. HT Derry 2-7 Monaghan 0-6
Post by: greatpoint on May 15, 2022, 04:42:04 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 15, 2022, 04:37:57 PM
are derry serious contenders for the all ireland

Right behind Mayo.
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 04:44:05 PM
Banty has got it all wrong today.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 04:49:44 PM
I am not convinced Harte likes Derry  ;D

Banty has got it wrong. Derry are very good but their style is flooding players back which has been done for years. Banty should be combatting that.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 04:56:30 PM
Quote from: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 04:44:05 PM
Banty has got it all wrong today.

Just today?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 05:01:02 PM
I still have a feeling Monaghan will win this.
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:05:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 05:01:02 PM
I still have a feeling Monaghan will win this.
they missed 2 handy scores already this half (although one of them did look over)
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:05:48 PM
Monaghan are back!!

Won't be much in this.
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:11:05 PM
Gough doing Gough  things!!
Post by: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:11:09 PM
How many wides have Monaghan
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:11:39 PM
Derry need a change or 2!
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:11:55 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:11:09 PM
must have close to 10 but despite that they are still in this
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:13:16 PM
Should have been a 3rd Derry goal. Monaghan defending is as bad as I've seen from them.
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:13:53 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:13:16 PM
Should have been a 3rd Derry goal. Monaghan defending is as bad as I've seen from them.
thought beggan should have saved the 1st but he redeemed himself there
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:20:45 PM
Derry need to make some subs!
Post by: thewobbler on May 15, 2022, 05:21:57 PM
This is a superb game of football.
Post by: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:22:10 PM
Quote from: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:11:55 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:11:09 PM
must have close to 10 but despite that they are still in this

Also add at least three into goalkeepers hands
I feel for them they are bursting a lung but self destructing
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:23:44 PM
3rd Derry goal has arrived. That should be it.
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:25:24 PM
You f**king beauty!!!!
Post by: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:28:32 PM
Good for Derry
Nice to see them back
Hopefully they go on and win Ulster.
Is it me or is Rory Gallagher over the top
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:32:47 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:28:32 PM
Good for Derry
Nice to see them back

Nah you're right he needs to tone it down no call for it at all!
Post by: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 05:33:44 PM
As I said earlier in the week, Monaghan are not a great Championship team recently. Derry on a good run, winning games, building up, and getting the players in the right place. Monaghan just never seem to be right for summer after expending a lot of energy staying up in Division 1. Priorities all wrong
Post by: thewobbler on May 15, 2022, 05:35:02 PM
Super show from Derry. They're a well balanced, superbly conditioned and smart team.

Poor McKinless is referred differently to everyone else. Must drive him mad.
Post by: seafoid on May 15, 2022, 05:37:19 PM
So much for the wisdom of the board. Derry are back. Fág an bealach.
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:37:38 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 15, 2022, 05:35:02 PM
Super show from Derry. They're a well balanced, superbly conditioned and smart team.

Poor McKinless is referred differently to everyone else. Must drive him mad.

He's a serious serious player Gallagher has done well to get him disciplined and committed.
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:38:09 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 05:33:44 PM
As I said earlier in the week, Monaghan are not a great Championship team recently. Derry on a good run, winning games, building up, and getting the players in the right place. Monaghan just never seem to be right for summer after expending a lot of energy staying up in Division 1. Priorities all wrong
poor shooting cost them today. Derry have been super efficient in front of goal though
Post by: NotedObserver on May 15, 2022, 05:38:22 PM
McKinless, the glen man Doherty and mcguigan the main players but well supported. The tactics brings back the years a wee bit but Derry playing it well
Post by: Main Street on May 15, 2022, 05:39:40 PM
We were made to look powder puff in the first half and Derry in workmanlike fashion controlled the 2nd half  not letting Monaghan get close enough or build up real momentum.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2022, 05:39:48 PM
FT Derry 3-12 Monaghan 0-17. Fully deserved win for Derry and will be hard bet in the final.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 15, 2022, 05:42:52 PM
Really enjoyed that game. Terrific first half from Derry then they hung in during the second half and crucially scored almost every time they went up the field, when Monaghan were guilty of not capitalising on being on top. Big for Derry to follow up the Tyrone win with another impressive performance.
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:44:32 PM
That sidestep from McKinless though 🔥
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:46:21 PM
I'd be worried if i was from Donegal. That Derry team are very focused and determined. Men on a mission.
Post by: Eire90 on May 15, 2022, 05:47:18 PM
can derry play tyrone in the quarters if derry win ulster
Post by: grounded on May 15, 2022, 05:49:37 PM
Delighted for Derry. Well deserved. Thoroughly enjoyed the game as well .
Post by: straightred on May 15, 2022, 05:50:59 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:46:21 PM
I'd be worried if i was from Donegal. That Derry team are very focused and determined. Men on a mission.
not sure. Monaghan look poorly prepared and only started playing the 2nd half. Donegal won't make that mistake
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:52:13 PM

We probably should have beaten Donegal last year but for a small lack of belief which shouldn't happen this time.

Donegal have improved though and it's a final so who knows but I'm just so happy we're back challenging again it's given the whole county a lift!
Post by: bennydorano on May 15, 2022, 06:00:17 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 04:36:41 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 03:12:42 PM

Jesus Christ.

Not even going to delete this. Fair play.
Derry players seem to have parked their club matters above all else mentality and bought into what Rory Gallagher is selling, that combined with huge talent and superb organisation & tactics makes them a serious outfit. I think Monaghan are running on fumes at this stage, well fit for anyone on their day but definitely on the wane.

Donegal will be a different kettle of fish, they've more to offer up front and could unpick that Derry defence, but then again Bonner wouldn't inspire huge confidence on the Donegal line.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 06:03:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 05:52:13 PM

We probably should have beaten Donegal last year but for a small lack of belief which shouldn't happen this time.

Donegal have improved though
and it's a final so who knows but I'm just so happy we're back challenging again it's given the whole county a lift!
That's debatable. For long stages there was nothing between themselves and Cavan and won with two goals that a well organised Derry defence will hardly concede.
Post by: OakLeaf on May 15, 2022, 06:08:08 PM
Great performance from Doire. Gough gave us nothing in the second half. Yellow cards for Derry and nothing for Monaghan for exactly the same tackles. Now for Donegal..... another step up in class.
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 06:10:34 PM
Very poor 1st half proved costly for Monaghan. Derry have become masters of the dark arts under Gallagher therefore it was always going to be hard for Monaghan to pull it back in the 2nd half but they gave it a good enough go tbf.
Post by: general_lee on May 15, 2022, 06:18:30 PM
Well done Derry. Set the tempo of the game and dictated it for most of the match. Would be refreshing to see them win the final.
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 06:37:17 PM
Quote from: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 06:10:34 PM
Very poor 1st half proved costly for Monaghan. Derry have become masters of the dark arts under Gallagher therefore it was always going to be hard for Monaghan to pull it back in the 2nd half but they gave it a good enough go tbf.

Curious about the dark arts?? Were any of the Monaghan players targeted in the wrong way? Yeah there was the odd foul to break up an attack but that's pretty standard practice nowadays?
Post by: An Watcher on May 15, 2022, 06:41:33 PM
Jesus lads but derry are hard to watch.  Just when I thought we were getting away from the defensive stuff.  Donegal are fairly defensive too.  Not looking forward to the final
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 06:47:50 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 15, 2022, 06:41:33 PM
Jesus lads but derry are hard to watch.  Just when I thought we were getting away from the defensive stuff.  Donegal are fairly defensive too.  Not looking forward to the final

3-12 and 1-18 in our last few matches... surely that's always the way it was going to go concede little and make sure you score plenty at the other end.

To be honest I didn't think we'd the players to put up those scores but I'm glad we do!
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 06:56:19 PM
It will be interesting how Derry unfold the rest of the year. The way they play is the way successful teams played a few years ago and the better teams worked it out. Donegal will be very interesting because I think Derry will just play the same way so it is up to Bonner to figure them out and I am not convinced he has it in him. McKaigue will probably nullify McBrearty but it will be interesting to see what is done about Murphy.
Post by: charlieTully on May 15, 2022, 07:33:49 PM

Found them seriously impressive. Look like bagging a goal every time they break. Brilliant. Hope they win ulster.
Post by: Throw ball on May 15, 2022, 07:37:31 PM
Quote from: OakLeaf on May 15, 2022, 06:08:08 PM
Great performance from Doire. Gough gave us nothing in the second half. Yellow cards for Derry and nothing for Monaghan for exactly the same tackles. Now for Donegal..... another step up in class.

Think you need to get your red tinted glasses changed. Gough made a few iffy decisions but thought he was fair to both teams.
Post by: seafoid on May 15, 2022, 07:42:02 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on May 15, 2022, 05:33:44 PM
They had their day.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 15, 2022, 07:45:36 PM
Top class from Derry.

Completely dominated the first half forcing Monaghan I to shooting from poor positions.
Really purposeful in attack and looked like scoring from every attack.
Hopefully Loughlin isnt badly injured as he's been playing really well.

Benny Heron's best season in a Derry jersey.

Glass was awesome, Chrissy and Rogers locked the door.
Lynch did really well in goals. Even in the second half when monaghan were coming strong he just kept calm and did the simple things right.

But for me mckinless is a different level. His running, defending, tackling, attacking and his goal were as good as you'll see.

Gough was a total joke today in that second half in particular.

Brilliant win, brilliant buzz. Donegal are there to beat now.
That's another story.
We should have beat them last year nad we have their ex manager.
Could this be our year to finally get back to winning championships?
Post by: tintin25 on May 15, 2022, 07:49:55 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 15, 2022, 07:37:31 PM

Think you need to get your red tinted glasses changed. Gough made a few iffy decisions but thought he was fair to both teams.

Agree.  Watching as a neutral he was fair enough to both teams.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 15, 2022, 07:57:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 06:47:50 PM

3-12 and 1-18 in our last few matches... surely that's always the way it was going to go concede little and make sure you score plenty at the other end.

To be honest I didn't think we'd the players to put up those scores but I'm glad we do!

Sums it up SE
2 x 21 point totals and keeping er tight at the back
Not too shabby
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 07:57:33 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 15, 2022, 07:45:36 PM
Top class from Derry.

Completely dominated the first half forcing Monaghan I to shooting from poor positions.

Lynch did really well in goals. Even in the second half when monaghan were coming strong he just kept calm and did the simple things right.

But for me mckinless is a different level. His running, defending, tackling, attacking and his goal were as good as you'll see.

That's another story.

McKinless is some player. I would agree with neutrals on Gough - few iffy decisions but think they balanced out.
Post by: Eire90 on May 15, 2022, 08:10:40 PM
if derry win ulster then could you say they genuine contenders.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 08:16:01 PM

You might have a point if Derry won their last two games 0-10 to 0-9.
Post by: Throw ball on May 15, 2022, 08:22:52 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 08:16:01 PM

To be fair the opposition played into their hands.

Their defence won the game for them. Forced Monaghan into kicking a significant amount of wides
Post by: God14 on May 15, 2022, 08:34:12 PM
The game was over by half time effectively, Gallagher alluded to that in his interview
Banty had an absolute shocker, he mustnt have bothered to watch Derrys previous game with Tyrone
He just played straight into their hands by keeping 2 to 3 men up and not mirroring the Derry set up.
Very naive, deary me
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2022, 09:23:01 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on May 15, 2022, 07:49:55 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 15, 2022, 07:37:31 PM

Agree.  Watching as a neutral he was fair enough to both teams.

2 that spring to mind immediately are the goal chance where McGuigsn was pulled down and it wasn't a yellow and there was a Monaghan lad in the first half blatantly grabbed an arm and fell over!

McKinless and McGuigan harshly blown up for overcarrying when fouled although to be fair he blew Monaghan a time or 2 for similar.
There were other soft enough frees Monaghan got to let them back into it but they did play better second half.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 15, 2022, 09:25:56 PM
Derry were great. Ref was decent. Monaghan no slouches
Post by: befair on May 15, 2022, 09:30:27 PM
Yeh, blame the ref.....
Post by: thewobbler on May 15, 2022, 09:45:19 PM
Ref was grand. Harsh on mckinless a few times but overal pretty consistent, even allowing a few extra steps as a matter of course.

Derry in the covid championship put on one of the most negative displays I ever saw. Complaints above are bizarre. They're now a proper counter attacking team and they're a pleasure to watch imho.
Post by: JoG2 on May 15, 2022, 09:59:22 PM
Top class from Derry.

That's another story.

Good post tbrick. Another really enjoyable championship day out. The wains all buzzing on the way home too, wee bag of chips. You couldn't beat it and an Ulster Final to look forward to. The Athletic Grounds is a superb venue for football
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 10:11:24 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 15, 2022, 08:22:52 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 08:16:01 PM

To be fair the opposition played into their hands.

Their defence won the game for them. Forced Monaghan into kicking a significant amount of wides

Derry defended better against Tyrone. Today 0-17 conceded and  Monaghan had another 13 scoring opportunities, granted Derry with their intensity and hard tackling played their part in how wasteful Monaghan was however Derry will have to improve defensively if they are to beat Donegal in the final.

What won it for Derry most today was getting three goals and could have scored a few more. The way Monaghan was caught out on all of them was more like a minor team than established division 1 and that's on Banty with Gallagher out smarting him.
Post by: Main Street on May 15, 2022, 10:12:58 PM

Quote from: JoG2 on May 15, 2022, 09:59:22 PM
Top class from Derry.

That's another story.

Good post tbrick. Another really enjoyable championship day out. The wains all buzzing on the way home too, wee bag of chips. You couldn't beat it and an Ulster Final to look forward to. The Athletic Grounds is a superb venue for football

It was a good day out for some, but there were other car rides home where the wee wains were in tears and no chips.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 15, 2022, 10:17:03 PM
Fair play to Derry today. Deserved the win. Monaghan were slow in the first half although that was to do with Derrys good play. Thought the ref was a slight bit harsh on monaghan in the first half.

I would imagine the game against Donegal will be will be tight and cage for the first 20 mins or so. I would expect Derry to win it between 3-5points to spare
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2022, 10:21:40 PM
Can anyone stop Superderry
Post by: tbrick18 on May 15, 2022, 10:23:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2022, 10:12:58 PM

Quote from: JoG2 on May 15, 2022, 09:59:22 PM
Top class from Derry.

That's another story.

It was a good day out for some, but there were other car rides home where the wee wains were in tears and no chips.

Yeah we've had plenty of those days
Almost nothing but those days for a very long time.

We'll enjoy this and appreciate it all the more as these days have been rare.

Monaghan played their part to make it the game it was. Hopefully we c go on now to emulate some of what Monaghan have done and win an Ulster
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 15, 2022, 10:28:44 PM
Surprised the man who brought McGuigan down 1st Half when bearing down on goal wasn't carded, strange decision. Struggled at Midfield as Monaghan moved up forcing us to go long. Thought E Bradley should  have came in earlier and, Straight to Midfield. Derry Bench very young, some players recently left the panel could be the difference in crunch games. Derry could afford to give away frees last 15mins as I thought Monaghan would need a goal to win it. Derry should scored at least another goal. If Derry had took their goal chances last year they beat Donegal.
Post by: restorepride on May 15, 2022, 11:19:26 PM
Great to back up the Tyrone win with that today. Place in final richly deserved for players, manager and supporters. Played some great football at times against a very seasoned, experienced and talented Monaghan team. Pride in the jersey is fully restored.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on May 15, 2022, 11:32:14 PM
Not a polished performance by Derry today by any means but great to get another win under the belt. Still plenty of work to do but looking forward to an Ulster final. Been far too long. I'd still be worried about our ability to win our own kick outs at times. Spell at the start of the second half where Monaghan were cleaning us out and were creeping their way back into the game. Thankfully the third goal snuffed out any chance of a big second half upset.

Love him or loath him you have to give Gallagher credit for the way he has these lads playing for the jersey.

Post by: onefineday on May 16, 2022, 12:46:17 AM
Quote from: joemamas on May 15, 2022, 05:28:32 PM
Good for Derry
Nice to see them back

That's what you get with Gallagher, he loves Gaelic football, has basically lived his life around it and that absolute passion is what has inspired a panel of players from a county which had become incredibly cynical and wary of intercounty football to pulling in the same direction and committing to a common cause to the extent required. It helps that he has talent like glass, mcguigan and mckinless (who has been a revelation), but Derry have had plenty of talent over the last 20 years, but never had a gameplan or at least didn't have the player buy-in required to commit to the type of game they're currently playing. Final is 50/50, Donegal should have too much, certainly much more up front, but....
Post by: imtommygunn on May 16, 2022, 08:57:59 AM
It depends how they cope with 14 men behind the ball. I don't know if Bonner is a good enough tactician to be able to navigate a way through that tbh. It will be very interesting to see.

Maybe Murphy will just bulldose through it!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 16, 2022, 09:09:57 AM
If Monaghan had beaten Derry with the same score-line and performance then pundits would be saying Monaghan would be slight favourites for the final...

Derry have backed up their win against Tyrone and improved on it.

Donegal won't be fearing Derry so it will be another interesting battle .. be interesting to see the predictions page on that one!

On Gallagher, I never seen him do that when he played for us, he's developed a tick of sorts with the spitting into hands, in fairness there wouldn't be much left after the first 5/6 goes!

He's got a game plan that everyone can see but struggle to break down, will be interesting to see if Donegal can work through it and what Derry do to adapt
Post by: screenexile on May 16, 2022, 09:34:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 16, 2022, 09:09:57 AM
If Monaghan had beaten Derry with the same score-line and performance then pundits would be saying Monaghan would be slight favourites for the final...

Derry have backed up their win against Tyrone and improved on it.

Donegal won't be fearing Derry so it will be another interesting battle .. be interesting to see the predictions page on that one!

On Gallagher, I never seen him do that when he played for us, he's developed a tick of sorts with the spitting into hands, in fairness there wouldn't be much left after the first 5/6 goes!

He's got a game plan that everyone can see but struggle to break down, will be interesting to see if Donegal can work through it and what Derry do to adapt

I agree with that the Tyrone gameplan has gotten us through the first 2 games but Donegal will be all over it and I'm sure have a plan for it. Can we change it up a bit to throw them off?

As said before it's very similar to Donegal's old style which could only really be countered by playing the same way and hoping you eke out that extra score or 2 a la Dublin in 2011 or Kerry in 2014.

It could be a difficult enough watch!
Post by: JoG2 on May 16, 2022, 09:35:17 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 16, 2022, 08:57:59 AM
It depends how they cope with 14 men behind the ball. I don't know if Bonner is a good enough tactician to be able to navigate a way through that tbh. It will be very interesting to see.

Every team in the country has pretty much played with 14 men behind the ball for years, surely this is front and centre at training sessions as it is at club training sessions.. ..youd think this is a new phenomenon with some on here
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2022, 09:49:15 AM
I feel sorry for Monaghan. It's hard when your county's time is up after a period of success.
Derry will feel that anything is possible.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 16, 2022, 09:53:11 AM
Honestly, I think we will beat Donegal by 5 or 6, have not impressed me this year so far
Post by: tbrick18 on May 16, 2022, 09:56:15 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 16, 2022, 09:53:11 AM
Honestly, I think we will beat Donegal by 5 or 6, have not impressed me this year so far

I wouldnt be so confident.
Donegal are a big game team. Haven't been firing on all cylinders so far, but could click against us!
50/50 game with donegal slight favourites given their experience.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 16, 2022, 09:59:45 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 15, 2022, 10:28:44 PM
Surprised the man who brought McGuigan down 1st Half when bearing down on goal wasn't carded, strange decision. Struggled at Midfield as Monaghan moved up forcing us to go long. Thought E Bradley should  have came in earlier and, Straight to Midfield. Derry Bench very young, some players recently left the panel could be the difference in crunch games. Derry could afford to give away frees last 15mins as I thought Monaghan would need a goal to win it. Derry should scored at least another goal. If Derry had took their goal chances last year they beat Donegal.

Surely thats why the black card came in, McGuigan was threw in goal. Gough loves giving frees that nobody else sees, not a fan of him at all.

If Derry can sort kickouts when their under the cosh I think they'll beat Donegal, haven't seen any stats yet but interesting to see what scores Derry generated from when they went long with the kickouts.

McKinless is something else, he's phenomenal.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 16, 2022, 10:14:55 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 16, 2022, 09:59:45 AM

Surely thats why the black card came in, McGuigan was threw in goal. Gough loves giving frees that nobody else sees, not a fan of him at all.

If Derry can sort kickouts when their under the cosh I think they'll beat Donegal, haven't seen any stats yet but interesting to see what scores Derry generated from when they went long with the kickouts.

they got cleaned out
Post by: tonto1888 on May 16, 2022, 10:30:49 AM
I was one of the ones who, while praising derry after the tyrone game, wondered if it was a one off or the start of something. Now I know the answer. Fair play to them, hope they win Ulster now. As for Gallagher, isnt that that what you want to see from your manager; passion?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 16, 2022, 10:32:01 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 16, 2022, 10:30:49 AM
I was one of the ones who, while praising derry after the tyrone game, wondered if it was a one off or the start of something. Now I know the answer. Fair play to them, hope they win Ulster now. As for Gallagher, isnt that that what you want to see from your manager; passion?

Absolutely, minus the spitting
Post by: tonto1888 on May 16, 2022, 10:40:30 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 16, 2022, 10:32:01 AM

Yeah, thats a bit disgusting. Commentary aid yesterday he was taught that years ago by some teacher in whatever school he went to as it helped to catch the ball
Post by: Armagh18 on May 16, 2022, 10:46:40 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 16, 2022, 10:40:30 AM

Yeah, thats a bit disgusting. Commentary aid yesterday he was taught that years ago by some teacher in whatever school he went to as it helped to catch the ball
Most players would do it on a dry day but fecking disgusting doing it when you're not playing i think.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 16, 2022, 10:58:45 AM
Just a bad habit, which seems hard to get ride off. Derry have only beaten Donegal once in the championship since they last won in 1998,.Donegal now in 10 of the last 12 finals, Derry just 1 in 24yrs. Donegal be favourites and abit like Tyrone have held Derry under the cosh for a long time. Hard to believe we were playing Division 4 3yrs ago.
Post by: marty34 on May 16, 2022, 11:27:12 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 16, 2022, 09:59:45 AM

Not sure about Derry's keepers kick out - in 2nd half he was under pressure a bit.

Maybe not enough runners for him. At one stage they lost 3 or 4 kivk outs in a row and Monaghan put them under serious pressure.

I'd say it's one thing Donegal will focus on as they've a few big units around the middle third.

Post by: God14 on May 16, 2022, 11:29:04 AM
Derry are in a far better place than Donegal going into the final make no mistake about it
For Derry, its same again. They have momentum, massive confidence, and complete belief in the system. No need to change a thing.
70 mins from Glory and a first Ulster in a generation. Heros

For Donegal, if they set up the same as they have all year, they will get beaten in exactly the same manner as Monaghan did yesterday.
For Donegal to win they need to massively adjust their whole template. Donegal need to mirror the Derry set up. 15 behind the ball.
Ultra defensive start to the game to prevent Gallagher getting any sort of lead. 
Then they need to be more patient and disciplined in the tackle. Frees within the scoring range will be the order of the day.
Donegal need to better utilise Murphy and McBrearty ability to win marks. They are bigger men than their derry counterparts, and should be better able to win a mark. Monaghan had big men up top, but couldnt win a mark
In an ultra defensive game these opportunities are massive
Donegal also need to look at the joy Monaghan had in the second half with the kick outs. I reckon Donegal have a significant edge in this area
If its nip and tuck going down the home straight, Donegal also have the advantage of 'being there done that'. They wont flinch.

Have Murphy and McBrearty got the legs to do the sort of running their counterparts are doing? Im not so sure, but they need to start in that manner. Donegal have a far better bench and Bonner will need to plan for high octane workrates & pre planned replacements
Bonner will know all that, but can they recalibrate their set up and style of play in the condensed timeframe?
I dont think they can
Post by: God14 on May 16, 2022, 11:38:43 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 16, 2022, 09:35:17 AM

Every team in the country has pretty much played with 14 men behind the ball for years, surely this is front and centre at training sessions as it is at club training sessions.. ..youd think this is a new phenomenon with some on here

yeah but none of the top sides play this way. They havnt come across it in say 4 years.
Post by: restorepride on May 16, 2022, 11:49:58 AM

Absolutely. The negativity re spitting is childlike. Watch the game - just don't fart during it or the 'bad-habit' squad will smell you out!!
Post by: marty34 on May 16, 2022, 11:57:31 AM
Quote from: God14 on May 16, 2022, 11:38:43 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 16, 2022, 09:35:17 AM

yeah but none of the top sides play this way. They havnt come across it in say 4 years.

I agree, every team play a heap of players behind the ball. 

It's like a game of basketball nowadays.

You have the ball, try and score.
Then we have the ball and we try to score.
Post by: JoeSoap on May 16, 2022, 12:09:14 PM
Some performance in the first half from Derry, but I felt Monaghan were reeling them in and if they had cooler heads with their shot selections in the 2nd half they'd have gotten closer than 3 points. The 3rd goal was the killer score as I feel the momentum had swung back Monaghan's way at that point. But fair play to Derry, some of the performances were out of this world and they have a real sense about them that they're close to the big breakthrough. I hope we can delay it by another year in terms of an Ulster title but I am worried for 2 weeks time.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on May 16, 2022, 01:20:56 PM
I'm sure the pitch invasion after beating Dublin in a meaningless league match seems a bit hollow now.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 16, 2022, 01:26:38 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on May 16, 2022, 01:20:56 PM
I'm sure the pitch invasion after beating Dublin in a meaningless league match seems a bit hollow now.

Staying in Division 1 seems to be more important to them than the championship.

It's possible they could go on a run now in the qualifers out of the teams in it so far you would only say that Mayo are better than them and depending on how Tyrone react now they wouldn't be afraid of them anyway.
Post by: JoG2 on May 16, 2022, 01:53:21 PM

As meaningless as an Ulster man pretending to be be from Dublin? Change the record, tiresome got!
Post by: Dreadnought on May 16, 2022, 02:42:30 PM
Quote from: Cavan19 on May 16, 2022, 01:26:38 PM

Staying in Division 1 seems to be more important to them than the championship.

It's possible they could go on a run now in the qualifers out of the teams in it so far you would only say that Mayo are better than them and depending on how Tyrone react now they wouldn't be afraid of them anyway.

Yes it seems to, but it shouldn't be. Leagues are for playing, Championships are for winning. They've lost sight of that a bit
Post by: screenexile on May 16, 2022, 03:25:53 PM

I don't know why other Counties get so perturbed about pitch invasions. . . I think they're great. Young lads and families getting their pictures taken with their favourite players from the County. Why not?

We've had 2 now and I'm full sure there'll be a 3rd one if we beat Donegal I'm all for it!
Post by: J70 on May 16, 2022, 03:29:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 16, 2022, 03:25:53 PM

I don't know why other Counties get so perturbed about pitch invasions. . . I think they're great. Young lads and families getting their pictures taken with their favourite players from the County. Why not?

We've had 2 now and I'm full sure there'll be a 3rd one if we beat Donegal I'm all for it!

And especially when you've been starved of success for a while. Fact is the large majority of counties during any given period are not successful. Most of those who are successful are enjoying a generational team before they fade back into the pack for some period. Enjoy it when it comes your way and f**k the begrudgers.
Post by: restorepride on May 16, 2022, 03:46:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 16, 2022, 03:29:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 16, 2022, 03:25:53 PM

And especially when you've been starved of success for a while. Fact is the large majority of counties during any given period are not successful. Most of those who are successful are enjoying a generational team before they fade back into the pack for some period. Enjoy it when it comes your way and f**k the begrudgers.
Great post. Agree wholeheartedly.