Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 11:10:20 AM

Title: Would Stevie G do this?
Post by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 11:10:20 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/7649109.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/7649109.stm)
Title: Re: Would Stevie G do this?
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2008, 11:14:00 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 11:10:20 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/7649109.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/7649109.stm)

Errr Nrico would any highly paid Premiership player do it ?Admirable gesture but im sure he wont be signing on the dole when he retires.......Try  getting a highly paid player doing it before they turn 30. I thought all the United players play for nothing anyway as they all "play for the jersey"......
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:21:59 AM
Who Cares?
Post by: Rossie11 on October 03, 2008, 11:25:09 AM
He is born and bred Basque so it would be a type of national service for him.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 03, 2008, 11:33:00 AM
QuoteHe is born and bred Basque so it would be a type of national service for him.

Yeah, its a little different alright. Fair play to him.
Post by: nutsy--1 on October 03, 2008, 12:03:55 PM
a very loyal person to have played for only the 1 team and now playing for free i couldn't see any player in the premiership doing this maybe Ferdinand or Barton1 :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Chrisowc on October 03, 2008, 12:11:00 PM
He has just signed, sealed and delivered his legendary status with Athletic fans then and there.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 03, 2008, 12:20:41 PM
He hardly needs the money....good gesture from him though..
Post by: gawa316 on October 03, 2008, 12:22:55 PM
Very nice touch.

Why the need to mention Gerrard though ??? Some type of infatuation possibly?!!
Post by: full back on October 03, 2008, 01:20:16 PM
Great touch as well.
TBF there are very few players in the PL who would even consider it, never mind doing it so I dont know why Gerrard is singled out
Post by: his holiness nb on October 03, 2008, 01:27:39 PM
Fair play to the guy.

The Gerrard reference is bizarre, I presume Nrico is a Man Utd fan.
Cant think of anyone at Utd that would do this either.
Perhaps Ronaldo? Berbatov?  ;D

Silly boy.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 01:42:42 PM
I simply referenced Steven Gerard as he is a player in similar circumstances i.e. he is from the area/town of the club he plays for and has played with them for his whole career.
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2008, 01:44:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 01:42:42 PM
I simply referenced Steven Gerard as he is a player in similar circumstances i.e. he is from the area/town of the club he plays for and has played with them for his whole career.

Perhaps Wes Brown or Gury Neville would also have been excellent examples
Post by: Rossie11 on October 03, 2008, 01:59:08 PM
Neville or Carragher are the closest 2 players in the PL who I reckon would even consider it.
Etxeberria actually played for another Basque club Sociedad before transferring to Bilbao.

There have been a few similar gestures. Redondo missed an entire season for Milan with injury and refused to accept the wages.
2million I think it was..
Post by: Goats Do Shave on October 03, 2008, 02:00:21 PM
Don't see the big deal... I would do it at the drop of the hat!

In fact I would pay to do it!!!
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2008, 02:04:02 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 03, 2008, 01:59:08 PM
Neville or Carragher are the closest 2 players in the PL who I reckon would even consider it.
Etxeberria actually played for another Basque club Sociedad before transferring to Bilbao.

There have been a few similar gestures. Redondo missed an entire season for Milan with injury and refused to accept the wages.
2million I think it was..

Carragher did say in his autobiography that if Liverpool were not a big club he would have moved on. If any Premiership player did it it would be seen as a PR stunt and nothing more. Fcuk me they made a song and dance about giving a months salary to nurses a couple of years ago............
Post by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 03:58:08 PM
Etxeberria has been at his club for a considerable period of time, I never said he hadn't played elsewhere.  Neville or Brown could have been used, the title name is simply an example Minder - should you not be out celebrating the arrival of CR by now?
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2008, 03:59:26 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 03:58:08 PM
Etxeberria has been at his club for a considerable period of time, I never said he hadn't played elsewhere.  Neville or Brown could have been used, the title name is simply an example Minder - should you not be out celebrating the arrival of CR by now?

Nah that baby will have a hard life with that boy as his Da............
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 03, 2008, 05:43:41 PM
Arent all the liverpool legends, like carragher, gerrard, fowler etc.. not all childhood evertonians  ;) so i dont think they'll be playing for free anytime soon.
Post by: gawa316 on October 03, 2008, 09:26:40 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 03, 2008, 05:43:41 PM
Arent all the liverpool legends, like carragher, gerrard, fowler etc.. not all childhood evertonians  ;) so i dont think they'll be playing for free anytime soon.

Gerrard's not and Carra and Fowler have had to put up with so much shite from bitter bluenoses that they now can't stand everton
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 03, 2008, 10:57:25 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 03, 2008, 09:26:40 PM

Gerrard's not and Carra and Fowler have had to put up with so much shite from bitter bluenoses that they now can't stand everton

Actually Stevie G was..........

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/gerardeverton.jpg)

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2008, 11:09:43 PM
Nrico obviously chose Stevie G to prompt a response. Stevie G is one of the few players in the premiership who takes some pride in playing for the jersey. How many times have we seen a player kissing the badge one week and speaking to a new club the next week. Horrible f**ker and all that Gury Neville is you can't imagine him being anywhere other than United.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 04, 2008, 12:27:24 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 03, 2008, 10:57:25 PM

Nice one :D
Post by: J70 on October 04, 2008, 12:39:40 AM

I thought, to the extent that it matters, he addressed that issue in his autobiography?

Anyway, sure weren't Ole Gunnar Solksjaer and John O'Shea Liverpool fans in their youth?
Post by: Chrisowc on October 04, 2008, 12:49:28 AM
Quote from: J70 on October 04, 2008, 12:39:40 AM

I thought, to the extent that it matters, he addressed that issue in his autobiography?

Indeed he did.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 04, 2008, 01:09:14 AM

Anyway, sure weren't Ole Gunnar Solksjaer and John O'Shea Liverpool fans in their youth?

What did he say in it in a nutshell?

Oh and btw J70 always wondered whats your avatar pic of? It looks fierce like donegals emblem but not sure if its a nother version of it or not it at all.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 04, 2008, 01:27:44 AM
QuoteStevie G is one of the few players in the premiership who takes some pride in playing for the jersey. How many times have we seen a player kissing the badge one week and speaking to a new club the next week.

Fair play to you if you were fit to keep a straight face when typing those sentences!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2008, 03:24:36 AM
Carra came from a rampant Everton family but he turned red and indeed turned into more of a red than most lads that were lifelong reds. His book goes into detail about how he turned his back on Everton.

In Liverpool though it's difficult as families are often split between red and blue.
Post by: gawa316 on October 04, 2008, 10:33:00 AM

Afraid not, give his book a wee read and it'll reveal all
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 04, 2008, 11:31:51 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 03:58:08 PM

Tony Adams was at Arsenal all his career...he didnt do that for us!  All he done was score the last goal of a 4-0 massacre of Everton in the last match of a league winning season...lol
Post by: youngfella on October 04, 2008, 01:53:34 PM

The blues in town like to say thats the closest he'll ever to a league cup!

Post by: J70 on October 04, 2008, 03:16:24 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 04, 2008, 01:09:14 AM

What did he say in it in a nutshell?

Oh and btw J70 always wondered whats your avatar pic of? It looks fierce like donegals emblem but not sure if its a nother version of it or not it at all.

You're right, its a Donegal crest, although the version used by the county team is slightly different.

I have Gerrard's book somewhere so I'll dig out the quote for you later.
Post by: ziggysego on October 04, 2008, 03:33:31 PM
Sure GAA players have been doing that....