Belfast hotel sued over All-Ireland coverage

Started by tyroneStatto, October 03, 2008, 11:05:30 PM

Whitehair

I went into Finn Mc Cools bar, part of Dukes hotel in Belfast to watch the 06 Football Finals and they wouldnt show them even though the bar was empty, then a few weeks later I walked past and the place was decked out with green & white balloons for NI v Spain. An Irish bar that would prefer to cater for those who dont consider themselves Irish!

gorm agus bui

Quote from: nearlymad on October 04, 2008, 10:57:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 04, 2008, 01:14:11 PM
In actual fact this is a legitimate claim under the Fair Employment and Treatment (North of Ireland Order) 1978, part of which imposes responsibilities on hotels in terms of the goods,services and facilities they provide. The Solicitor, Seamus Leonard won a Sigerson Cup medal with Queens in 1982 and is a good friend of mine. Believe me he wouldn't be getting involved if he didn't think this guy had a case ;)

Do you think it's mutual Tony,you and Seamus Leonard? 
I would have considered seamus to have more wit

Quote from: hardstation on October 05, 2008, 12:01:37 AMI was wearing a pair of Sammy Duddys.
I've tried, but no gotta ask, what are sammy duddys?

If this lad gets a couple of pounds I'm going on the prowl around Belfast. If no one is showing the U16 All-Ireland Bog-Snorkling Championships there'll be hell to pay.

Lads this is a joke of a case.  Last year after Cross and The Crokes drew in the AI club final I left half way throught the hurling match.  On the way down the road I called into Hill 16 for a few pints so that we could get the 2nd half of the game.  They were showing horse racing on on TV, a man united game on another and the Ireland v Italy rugby match on another.  The hurling wasn't on any tv.  Big deal.

Maroon Heaven

In actual fact this is a legitimate claim under the Fair Employment and Treatment (North of Ireland Order) 1978, part of which imposes responsibilities on hotels in terms of the goods,services and facilities they provide. The Solicitor, Seamus Leonard won a Sigerson Cup medal with Queens in 1982 and is a good friend of mine. Believe me he wouldn't be getting involved if he didn't think this guy had a case ;)

As far as I can see it falls under Services of a Hotel... I gather from that he must have been told the match was been screened and when he landed round they refused to show it... You would be annoyed alright if that was the case. I am sure he was looking access to a room to watch it and seeing as BBC were covering it, it would not have been a problem... Very surprised that the Hilton didn't even open one of their small rooms and stick a TV in there to shut him up.  Must have been well drunk and tried starting a row.  But as someone said, why would someone from the Ormeau Road not use the likes of the Hatfield, The Kitchten Bar, Magennis, The Rose & Crown or even up to the Errigal to watch it.

Must be barred from all of them for him to want to use the Palatial surroundings of the Hilton on AI final day. Know a few in the Hilton myself and must ask what the craic is.

Maroon Heaven

Quote from: J70 on October 04, 2008, 05:07:38 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2008, 04:31:52 PM
Seems strange that a hotel chain like the Hilton wouldn't have more than one TV in a viewing area capable of accomodating both soccer and GAA supporters ???  And as the AIF was on terrestrial TV they've hardly got any excuse for not showing it other than they didn't want to.  I'd say he probably has a case, frivilous and all as it undoubtedly is.

On what grounds does he have a case? How does this breach the "Fair Employment and Treatment Order"?

I would say he would have a case if he was told they were screening the game and then they didn't. Obviously if technical problems happened the Hilton could have a point, but if they advertised showing the game, and ended up accomodating a large stag or Golf Party just to watch Man Utd V Chelsea so as to lift ,more you'd understand...

Don't agree with it, but if you advertise something and it doesn't quite happen down to an alternative decision made before the match you have a cause of complaint..

I cant see your mans case here at all.  For this to succeed imo he would have to prove that the GAA is reprenstitive of only one side of the community (which is arguable) and that failing to show the AIF amounted to discrimination against that community.  Both very hard legal arguments to make out especially with the can of worms they may open up in relation to other sports not being shown and what level of importance a match needed to have in order to be shown.  Also his argument would need to not go too far as the hotel would then have actually been prevented from showing the match under the order to maintain a neutral working environment.  All in all a difficult and pointless case.  I assume this guy will not get legal aid and therefore would have to foot the bill himself should he lose.  Cases like this annoy me and give our profession a bad name.  Hopefully it will be thrown out early out

Maroon Heaven

He ain't bringing a case about on ground of unFair-discrimination... Its on services...

If you advertise something and change it at the last minute because it suits others you must make alternative arrangements and address the problem.

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 05, 2008, 01:25:59 PM

As far as I can see it falls under Services of a Hotel... I gather from that he must have been told the match was been screened and when he landed round they refused to show it... You would be annoyed alright if that was the case. I am sure he was looking access to a room to watch it and seeing as BBC were covering it, it would not have been a problem... Very surprised that the Hilton didn't even open one of their small rooms and stick a TV in there to shut him up.  Must have been well drunk and tried starting a row.   But as someone said, why would someone from the Ormeau Road not use the likes of the Hatfield, The Kitchten Bar, Magennis, The Rose & Crown or even up to the Errigal to watch it.

Must be barred from all of them for him to want to use the Palatial surroundings of the Hilton on AI final day. Know a few in the Hilton myself and must ask what the craic is.
Some big and daft assumptions there.

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 05, 2008, 02:01:39 PM
If you advertise something and change it at the last minute because it suits others you must make alternative arrangements and address the problem.
From the way the story was reported, it would appear that the soccer had been pre-advertised and tied into a food and drinks promo. There has been nothing to suggest that the hotel had ever publicised that they would be showing GAA.

No chance he would get legal aid for such a ridiculous case, I'd say the dick isn't short of a bob or 2 anyway if he's drinking in there.  When I first read this I thought it must be a wind-up or else there was something more serious to it.  It'll never make it to court though and can't imagine the Hilton would offer any settlement to get him to f**k off, they have enough resources to humour this boy as long as they have to.  

He ain't bringing a case about on ground of unFair-discrimination... Its on services...

Ahh ok so had the Hilton for example advertised the power boating and then not showed it the guy could take the same claim?  Not as annoyed about that one

Maroon Heaven

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 05, 2008, 02:12:45 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 05, 2008, 01:25:59 PM

As far as I can see it falls under Services of a Hotel... I gather from that he must have been told the match was been screened and when he landed round they refused to show it... You would be annoyed alright if that was the case. I am sure he was looking access to a room to watch it and seeing as BBC were covering it, it would not have been a problem... Very surprised that the Hilton didn't even open one of their small rooms and stick a TV in there to shut him up.  Must have been well drunk and tried starting a row.   But as someone said, why would someone from the Ormeau Road not use the likes of the Hatfield, The Kitchten Bar, Magennis, The Rose & Crown or even up to the Errigal to watch it.

Some big and daft assumptions there.

From the way the story was reported, it would appear that the soccer had been pre-advertised and tied into a food and drinks promo. There has been nothing to suggest that the hotel had ever publicised that they would be showing GAA.

I heard about this on the monday night after the match in Magennis's, so my assumptions are based on what I heard.

I have a business just 5 mins away from the Hilton and I'll go round tomorrow to see what the unofficial reason is.

In relation to whatelse I heard, I think there was a function on in one of the rooms who asked to watch the Soccer match, as in, when we're eating will you have the game on for us. A few went down to the Bar to watch it outside the Function room "Where I heard it was a 60th Birthday Party". The Hilton implied to your man they couldn't switch over due to this party having booked in just to watch the Soccer.

I don't know anything about the GAA been advertised and from knowing the Hilton and their staff, its not a place where they put up a big sign and says "GAA FINAL ON HERE AT 3.30PM". I'd say it was more to do with a member of staff saying "Of Course we'll have the match on" and not knowing a thing.

Maroon Heaven

Quote from: David McKeown on October 05, 2008, 02:18:57 PM

Ahh ok so had the Hilton for example advertised the power boating and then not showed it the guy could take the same claim?  Not as annoyed about that one

I thinks its a joke your guy doing this, I don't know the guy, but speaking from someone who owns a business in a leisure industry, if I advertise a promotion and it does not happen due to the fact I changed it at 2pm because the place was packed with 3 Stag Parties and a Golf Outing who were English and wanted to watch the soccer obviously, I have to redress who I am putting out.

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 05, 2008, 02:22:22 PM
I don't know anything about the GAA been advertised and from knowing the Hilton and their staff, its not a place where they put up a big sign and says "GAA FINAL ON HERE AT 3.30PM". I'd say it was more to do with a member of staff saying "Of Course we'll have the match on" and not knowing a thing.

So basically, if they didn't advertise it (which would appear to be the case), the Hilton don't have a case to answer?