Belfast hotel sued over All-Ireland coverage

Started by tyroneStatto, October 03, 2008, 11:05:30 PM

carnaross

Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2008, 04:09:33 PM
Relax there, you'll burst an artery.

No danger of that. I'm merely stating my opinion about the incident itself and that other eejit. Perfectly calm and collected not to mention considered.
Anyone travelling to Leeds to work/study are welcome to join St. Benedicts Harps GAA in Leeds.

Seems strange that a hotel chain like the Hilton wouldn't have more than one TV in a viewing area capable of accomodating both soccer and GAA supporters ???  And as the AIF was on terrestrial TV they've hardly got any excuse for not showing it other than they didn't want to.  I'd say he probably has a case, frivilous and all as it undoubtedly is.

Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2008, 04:31:52 PM
Seems strange that a hotel chain like the Hilton wouldn't have more than one TV in a viewing area capable of accomodating both soccer and GAA supporters ???  And as the AIF was on terrestrial TV they've hardly got any excuse for not showing it other than they didn't want to.  I'd say he probably has a case, frivilous and all as it undoubtedly is.

On what grounds does he have a case? How does this breach the "Fair Employment and Treatment Order"?

Quote from: J70 on October 04, 2008, 05:07:38 PM

On what grounds does he have a case? How does this breach the "Fair Employment and Treatment Order"?
He's claiming discrimination isn't he?  Up to the judicial system now.

Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2008, 05:40:07 PM

So this was apparently equivalent to someone not getting served at all because of their race or religion? Despite the fact that the hotel in question would allow him to stay, eat and drink there?

Its bullshit.

It has all the signs of an a**se looking for money.

That bar is one of the most soulless bars you will ever go to. Why you would want to go to it when you have places like the Hatfield, the Rose & Crown not to mention the comfort of your own home to watch an AI final is beyond me.Maginnes's hasn't really been the same since your man got killed so not really a great option though.

It ranks up there with claims that people are being denied their "civil and religious liberties" for not being able to march down the "queen's highway".

If he gets anything from this claim then the law really is an ass.

Quote from: J70 on October 04, 2008, 06:20:51 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2008, 05:40:07 PM

So this was apparently equivalent to someone not getting served at all because of their race or religion? Despite the fact that the hotel in question would allow him to stay, eat and drink there?

Its bullshit.
It sure is, hope he gets embarrassed in court, if it goes that far.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 04, 2008, 01:36:50 PM
The simplest solution for the hotel was to have tv sets in various locations in the premises, showing a choice of soccer or GAA, thus ensuring full complaince with the Fair Employment and Treatment Order.

So by that logic:
If your local was showing an Armagh game, and some punters wandered in and wanted to watch, say a Linfield game, and your local didn't have another TV and wouldn't switch over the GAA, they'd be a legitimate target for a discrimination case? Get a grip. Unless there's something more to this than what has been reported, it's a joke.

anglocelt39

That's where our taxes go folks, accommodating this sort of shite. The lunatics has indeed taken over the ayslum. Living down here in deepest hurling territory believe me there is a distinctly frosty attitude taken the odd sunday that you might walk into your local looking to watch Cavan Against Antrim in the preliminary round of the Ulster championship particularly where it is clashing with Moan U verus Kiddeminister in an exclusive Sky Sport Preseason friendly or, indeed, the 3.15 at Market Rasen. My solution has been to stay at shagging home and watch it or, alternatively, attend a boozer that has enough screens to accommodate all events.

JOKE
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

anglocelt39

It opens a can of worms and the possibility of tit for tat legal cases.

Indeed Bensars, which is the tit, and which is the tat, I'm bloody distracted to put it mildly. Fearon, the battle has been won, get yourself of the hind tit of victimhood/state dependance etc. etc. etc. It actually isn't a bad place to be you fool
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

What a pathetic case. This knob is obviously being given the oxygen of publicity and it does no favours to the gaa if joe public assumes this person is representing the views of northern gaels. This thread should be evidence that this man is an embarrassment.

I wonder who is pulling his strings.

Surely it couldn't be Sinn Fein.... nah, they wouldn't be so petty  ::)

Quote from: carnaross on October 04, 2008, 04:13:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2008, 04:09:33 PM
Relax there, you'll burst an artery.

No danger of that. I'm merely stating my opinion about the incident itself and that other eejit. Perfectly calm and collected not to mention considered.
You're making yourself look like an eejit.

Joke of a case.

Im expecting an outraged editorial in the Andytown News on Monday

Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2008, 11:47:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 04, 2008, 11:40:48 PM
Im expecting an outraged editorial in the Andytown News on Monday
And a half page photo of yer man staring at a TV screen, with a big sad face on him. :D
exactly HS,and probably holding a copy of a letter he has sent to the Hilton!