McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

Any craic

Here's the video of the goals from Omagh tonight, just click on the link and the video is at the top of the page.. http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2016/01/13/news/live-updates-as-tyrone-take-on-antrim-in-healy-park-381561/?param=ds441rif44T

Great pass in the move for the first goal from Bradley. McNulty a proper option at FF? League will give a better answer to that I suppose

Tidy score from young Brennan tho he was lucky to get away with the steps at the start

redhandefender

I said last year and people scoffed when I said brennan is ready to go now over Mc Curry or Mc Caliskey! People saying they were miles ahead. He is the real deal and nothing seems to faze him!

Mc Nulty's game is to run so think full forward not the place for him. Although would still like an alternative to mc caliskey in there, he is to hit and miss

I didn't scoff because he is what we need and we need more of it.  My biggest criticism of the Tyrone full forward line the past few years has been their inability of getting the ball, turning and going for goal.  Brennan will do that and hopefully we get some other players at it as well.  Recycling the ball from FF to on running players is well and good but you have to have more than that up your sleeve.

FermGael

Impressive enough win by Fermanagh last night considering the team we had on.
Probably the strongest team we have played this year but still quite a few men to come back.
Pete really has used the McKenna cup very well this year again and has found a few good young players in McGovern, Hanna and Conal Jones who seems to be kicking on after a good year with Derrygonnelly. Good to see our panel depth increasing.

Sunday will tell the tale as we try and stop Tyrone's Drive for 5.

Coin toss this morning for venue.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

FermGael

No coin toss.

Game is in Clones.

Derry and Cavan is in Armagh
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

redhandefender

Quote from: FermGael on January 14, 2016, 11:17:27 AM
No coin toss.

Game is in Clones.

Derry and Cavan is in Armagh

What in the name of God, Clones? Have it in Enniskillen for gods sake, such a trek in this weather

everymanaman

On reflection from last night's game, Brennan and Mc Geary certainly don't look out of place on the county set-up. Have to say though, that Antrim were possibly the worst county team I have seen in almost 40 years of watching inter-county football.

Catch and Kick

Quote from: everymanaman on January 14, 2016, 01:54:35 PM
On reflection from last night's game, Brennan and Mc Geary certainly don't look out of place on the county set-up. Have to say though, that Antrim were possibly the worst county team I have seen in almost 40 years of watching inter-county football.

If they were that bad how come ye could only score 2-9?? Let see honest the first goal was rather fortunate.

StGallsGAA

QuoteOn reflection from last night's game, Brennan and Mc Geary certainly don't look out of place on the county set-up. Have to say though, that Antrim were possibly the worst county team I have seen in almost 40 years of watching inter-county football.

You've not seen Armagh under McGeeney then I take it?

bannside

Everyman, that's just ridiculous. Antrim were middling enough on the night, emptying the bench with players who didn't get any game time previously. Twelve Antrim players declaring for university too, would make a big difference.

What was the score in 35 minutes of the second half? It was four points each - hardly one way traffic! Antrim owned the ball for long periods too but finishing let us down. But credit to Tyrone, yis are back on track, a well drilled outfit to be fair.

everymanaman

It took Antrim 33 minutes to score in the first half. Their last 4 points were in the closing stages. They didn't score from play. Their handling skills and conditioning were very poor in my humble opinion. Tyrone never got out of first gear because they didn't have to.

The Trap

Tyrone are a brilliant McKenna Cup Team!

everymanaman

Quote from: The Trap on January 15, 2016, 10:29:27 AM
Tyrone are a brilliant McKenna Cup Team!
Very insightful. Right from the Pat Spillane school of punditry

The Trap

Don't be getting to worked up everymanaman, its only the McKenna Cup!