The Official Golf Thread

Started by laoislad, December 28, 2006, 07:07:48 PM

And the fact it was at Augusta as well. If he'd won one of the other three it would still be incredible but you'd also still have people pointing the to meltdown in 2011 and saying he can't win the Masters or the Grand Slam.

In hiding

What a competitor.
Absolutely incredible sportsman.
Had to win it. He went and beat everyone

Grace Murphy

Why is there not as much talk of speith doing it like there waz for rory?

Spieth has two wins on tour since his last major.

HiMucker

Quote from: Grace Murphy on April 14, 2025, 01:04:53 AMWhy is there not as much talk of speith doing it like there waz for rory?
Not sure. Spieth is obviously a great player, but nowhere near as good or consistent, with the complete all round game as Mcilroy. I'd say Rory probably has double the amount of top 10 finishes at majors as Spieth. Spetih for a 2 year period was unreal but has fallen back in to the pack.

Sportacus

Incredible. Can't imagine how many times on this thread he's been called a choker. Don't think I've ever seen a sportsperson under so much pressure, and he pulled through.  Amazing.

gawa316

That shot on the play off hole into the green has to be one of the greatest sporting actions in the history of sport. To know where Rose has landed his, to the pressure of having just missed a chance to win, to know he had more than likely get it inside Rose's etc, etc...just unbelievable

Just up, went to bed, missed the lot, fair play to Rory. Will watch highlights later.

Can someone check in on Mikhail Prokhorov? And a few others that had their posts deleted at the end of that playoff no doubt ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 13, 2025, 10:48:27 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 13, 2025, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on April 13, 2025, 10:39:43 PMHas the choke begun...

He's won loads of big tournaments so I don't think that's appropiate.

Huge question marks come the Majors tho Marty

Huge question jibbajabba?

LOL.

A lad who's won loads of tournaments and people are questioning his bottle.

Who looks silly now?

A rollercoaster of a round of golf. My blood pressure was sky high. Well done Rory.

Still scratching my head as to why McGinley soured the soup with his stupid comments after.
Did he think we was talking to someone over a pint?

Quote from: marty34 on April 14, 2025, 07:01:45 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 13, 2025, 10:48:27 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 13, 2025, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on April 13, 2025, 10:39:43 PMHas the choke begun...

He's won loads of big tournaments so I don't think that's appropiate.

Huge question marks come the Majors tho Marty

Huge question jibbajabba?

LOL.

A lad who's won loads of tournaments and people are questioning his bottle.

Who looks silly now?

Jesus there's some knobs on here. Share my other posts there Marty where I'm absolutely delighted for him. He's ballsy and flaky at the same time. Probably a big part of the story. If you don't think he's had some disasters over the last ten years at the majors then I can't help you. Why can people not just enjoy the moment. Sad ...

andoireabu

Some evenings entertainment, the story, the ups and downs, then the last 6 holes and the play off. How he kept the head is anyone's guess. Oddly, I thought DeChambeau falling away didn't do Rory any favours, he was in a match play situation against him but when he fell back, Rory was playing himself and got shaky.

McGinley, Faldo and Dougherty are hard to listen to. Faldo tried to make it about himself a couple of times, Dougherty is a puke and McGinley was negative about something he should have been delighted about.
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

Agree that the sky coverage was brutal.  That needs a serious revamp.

What an evening of golf entertainment. From from the first hole, were i'm sure we all thought, oh here we go again, to the playoff. Amazing stuff.

The pressure must have been immense. I can only imagine. 

What an amazing night's entertainment! We will all remember that for a long time. Absolutely delighted to see Ireland's greatest win his first green jacket!

That's the Ards and North Down Borough Council Sports person of the year wrapped up for now.

Down hurlers won't have a look in.  ;)

Well done Rory all the same, that's some achievement for any player in any sport.

I work with a lad who's a member of Holywood Golf club and has spoken to Rory a few times, do I get some recognition and reflective glory now as well?