The Official Golf Thread

Started by laoislad, December 28, 2006, 07:07:48 PM

Deerstalker

I find it really hard to get too attached to any golfer regardless of nationality, maybe it's because it's such an individual sport & they are doing it for themselves (nothing wrong with that).

Don't get me wrong I enjoy watching it, but they are fabulously wealthy men so I don't feel too sorry for them when it goes belly up either.

Quote from: Deerstalker on April 14, 2025, 10:12:34 PMI find it really hard to get too attached to any golfer regardless of nationality, maybe it's because it's such an individual sport & they are doing it for themselves (nothing wrong with that).

Don't get me wrong I enjoy watching it, but they are fabulously wealthy men so I don't feel too sorry for them when it goes belly up either.

I know, bit like the headers buying replica soccer tops for overly paid soccer lads!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NotedObserver

Quote from: jcpen on April 14, 2025, 10:07:10 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 14, 2025, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: StephenC on April 14, 2025, 07:05:40 PMReally enjoyed watching it live last night. My son and I were glued to it and even the missus got emotionally involved towards the end.

Some idiot was cutting onions in my house as I watched his walk from the green to the clubhouse (or wherever they do the formalities). Just amazing stuff - he's just ridiculously authentic. I think that's what separates him from the rest of the global sports stars. It's like watching a child - every emotion is written there plain and easy to see. You could see how nervous he was on the first; you could see his heart break when he chipped into the water; you could see how much it meant to him when he won. There's an honesty to him that I find very compelling.

Very good post.

It makes me wonder why people don't like Rory yet think that Bryson is a great lad. It's not too long ago that Brooks was telling Bryson where to go.

Great golfer and will go down as one of the greatest no doubt now he was won the Grand Slam.

Personally I wouldn't say I don't like him I just don't get the same buzz from watching him win as I did say when Harrington won the The Open for the first time or when he won two Majors in a row a few weeks apart, doubt many Golfers have ever done that?
Same goes from when Shane Lowry won the Irish Open as an amateur or when he won The Open it was fantastic to watch.
No doubt I'll get plenty of hate for saying that but it's just how I feel.

I'd be the same. Avid golfer and follower. Swing is fantastic and great golfer and not sure why no real pull for him in comparison say a Shane Lowry. Think it's variety of his things. Commentators constantly loving him think a big part to play.

Certain years his pre tournament prep was off I thought and he wasn't sharp enuf

Rory if he's up to 4 shots either side of the lead on a Sunday, it's always entertaining.

Aberg has potential to become something similar.

Hovland has some of this. As does Bryson. Speith had it but can't find enough of the good stuff anymore.

I wouldn't consider myself a passionate fan of any of them but I'll tune in if it's happening and I'll root for any/all when it's on.

Most golfers though bore the shit out of me. To be honest I think I'm just looking at the course most of the time.

Quote from: thewobbler on April 14, 2025, 10:52:09 PMRory if he's up to 4 shots either side of the lead on a Sunday, it's always entertaining.

Hovland has some of this. As does Bryson. Speith had it but can't find enough of the good stuff anymore.

I wouldn't consider myself a passionate fan of any of them but I'll tune in if it's happening and I'll root for any/all when it's on.

Most golfers though bore the shit out of me. To be honest I think I'm just looking at the course most of the time.

I like the Full swing series on Netflix, probably constructed to be more player friendly but it's got some decent content on the players and their families outside of the sport. 
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 14, 2025, 10:56:14 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 14, 2025, 10:52:09 PMRory if he's up to 4 shots either side of the lead on a Sunday, it's always entertaining.

I like the Full swing series on Netflix, probably constructed to be more player friendly but it's got some decent content on the players and their families outside of the sport. 

Yeah it's excellent. It shows a side to the sport that I certainly had no comprehension of anyway.

I like how it isn't always showing the big names too. Plenty of lads who are missing the cut right and regular. A lot of pressure there too.

DownFanatic

It maybe just be an issue with the psyche in this part of the world, but why is Rory such a divisive sportsperson? Knew certain ones (including casual golf fans) who were absolutely rooting for him whilst others were indifferent to his success on Sunday. He seems to have a real polarising effect here.

Quote from: DownFanatic on April 15, 2025, 08:43:59 AMIt maybe just be an issue with the psyche in this part of the world, but why is Rory such a divisive sportsperson? Knew certain ones (including casual golf fans) who were absolutely rooting for him whilst others were indifferent to his success on Sunday. He seems to have a real polarising effect here.

Flegs....

The story stops there

A young lad from down the road is a global superstar and one of the greatest golfers of all time. Unreal! I have loved his story and was so happy to see him win it the other night. It was as good a night of sport that I can ever remember. Tiger's last Masters win was brilliant and I think it nearly tops that as well. I'd have loved to have seen Tiger and Rory going at it in a major. All the crap and slagging Rory has got can be forgotten about now.
Quiz question: Which All Ireland winner played tennis with Rory at one of his birthday parties??

Link

Quote from: DownFanatic on April 15, 2025, 08:43:59 AMIt maybe just be an issue with the psyche in this part of the world, but why is Rory such a divisive sportsperson? Knew certain ones (including casual golf fans) who were absolutely rooting for him whilst others were indifferent to his success on Sunday. He seems to have a real polarising effect here.

A mix of typical Irish begrudgery, flegs and his comment on Ballyliffin being 30 minutes from Londonderry live on TV. A readymade superstar who maybe got it too easy at the start.

Lowry is obviously likeable to the Irish man due to this love of pints, GAA and the craic. Possibly a bit of an underdog storyline too.

I wonder how Lowry is viewed from the unionist/loyalist side of the north.

Pub Bore

I don't buy into the notion that geographical proximity means you have to support someone.  There's plenty from "down the road" who are cnuts.  Best and Higgins were flawed to say the least.

Growing up in Holywood even in the 1990s McIlroy wouldn't have been widely exposed to Irish identity.  Let's face it, "Former Sullivan Upper Pupil Says He's British" isn't a big story.  You don't become bar manager at Holywood Golf Club if you're a dyed in the wool Republican.

Fair play to McIlroy, he was born with a serious talent and has worked hard to make the most of it.  He deserves his success.

Quote from: Pub Bore on April 15, 2025, 11:04:36 AMI don't buy into the notion that geographical proximity means you have to support someone.  There's plenty from "down the road" who are cnuts.  Best and Higgins were flawed to say the least.

Growing up in Holywood even in the 1990s McIlroy wouldn't have been widely exposed to Irish identity.  Let's face it, "Former Sullivan Upper Pupil Says He's British" isn't a big story.  You don't become bar manager at Holywood Golf Club if you're a dyed in the wool Republican.

Fair play to McIlroy, he was born with a serious talent and has worked hard to make the most of it.  He deserves his success.

Exactly, McGregor is the worst image for a sports man Ireland has ever produced, at the top of his sport at a time, and people here still like him, follow him and so on, Michelle Smyth also got a hard time and split loyalties, even Mary Peters had death threats, Barry McGuigan is another one loved and hated on the island. Didn't Higgins say he was going to have Taylor shot lol?

If people don't like people, that's ok, be handy to have a reason behind it though

I would typically root for the Irish ones. If McGregor goes back in the ring though I hope he gets battered. I'd likely support any of the rest of the Irish in top level sports though. McGregor is the dregs of society and an embarassment.

Best and Higgins (if they were my era) I may have struggled with though. I was just about the tail end of the McGuigan era but he hadn't done some of his shenanigans then so you would have supported him.

Delighted to see McIlroy win. I don't know if a lot of the issues are with his identity but tbh people are brought up what they are brought up and I couldn't care less about what way a person feels about that as long as they're not a bell end about it. Other than that I wouldn't know enough to know if he is an idiot so afaic I am happy to see him win.

oakleaflad

McIlroy was smart enough to move to America away from all the nonsense here where he doesn't have to try to please or not offend everyone. Fair play to him.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 15, 2025, 11:48:40 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on April 15, 2025, 11:04:36 AMI don't buy into the notion that geographical proximity means you have to support someone.  There's plenty from "down the road" who are cnuts.  Best and Higgins were flawed to say the least.

Exactly, McGregor is the worst image for a sports man Ireland has ever produced, at the top of his sport at a time, and people here still like him, follow him and so on, Michelle Smyth also got a hard time and split loyalties, even Mary Peters had death threats, Barry McGuigan is another one loved and hated on the island. Didn't Higgins say he was going to have Taylor shot lol?

If people don't like people, that's ok, be handy to have a reason behind it though

The reason isn't complicated. He doesn't fit the average six counties Catholic's view on how a six county Catholic should walk and talk.

Because he grew up in a community with differing views and outlooks to their own, while focusing on a sport that doesn't concern itself with words and shows of national pride, he is never to going to reflect their narrow spectrum of northern nationalism. And instead of just accepting this as the inevitable cultural outcome and getting on with it, they have to mistrust him and even dislike him.