Started by Uladh, August 16, 2008, 05:54:10 PM

It will be an outsider imo with my money on one of the following:

Peter McGrath
Jason Ryan
Jack O'Connor
Luke Dempsey

However I think appointing another man who has not yet managed inter county and who would have to learn his trade (like Mick Deegan) would be a bad move.

Mickey Whelan would be my choice if it is to be an inside appointment......a very good coach who was handed a poisoned chalice in 1996.
We need a tactical manager with a coaching background not a "fire and brimstone" manager which imo is not the way forward for us.

I believe Peter MCGrath has recently retired.....hmmmm.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 17, 2008, 02:02:55 PM
honestly lads it doesn't matter because we aren't good enough. underage record is poor as well . a posioned chalice.
I really dont know how you can say that.
imo there is massive talent there.
Minor teams and underage teams in general have won feck all as they had rubbish people over them.

Same for the seniors really. Last man with a bit of brainpower who managed Dublin was Dr Pat Ruthless O'Neill.
We all know what happened when he was in charge.

Dublin are a dream squad to inherit and mould into a winning side. Just needs the right man.

NaFianna's demise came under Mick Galvin, took over a winning side and banjaxed it up over a couple of years.
imo

I bet McGeeny is pissed off he took the Kildare job.

Have the Dubs ever had an "outside" manager?  Tommy Lyons doesnt count......... ;)

QuoteI bet McGeeny is pissed off he took the Kildare job.

Could not see the Dublin co board going with a rookie regardless.

From boyles

Mick Deegan    6/4    
Mick Galvin    11/2    
Brian Talty    7/1    
Jack O Connor    12/1    
Joe Kernan    14/1    
Micky Harte    14/1    
Brian Mullins    14/1    
Jim Galvin    20/1    
Charlie Redmond    20/1    
Mick Whelan    25/1    
John O Leary    25/1    
Barney Rock    25/1    
Jack Sheedy    25/1    
John O Mahony    33/1    
Paul Clarke    33/1    
Dave Billings    33/1    
Micko Dywer    33/1    
Keith Barr    33/1    
John Maughan    33/1    
Micky Moran    33/1    
Dessie Farrell    33/1    
Val Andrews    33/1    
Gerry Mcentee    33/1    
Tommy Carr    50/1    
Tommy Lyons    50/1    
Colm Coyle    50/1

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 18, 2008, 05:34:05 PM
From boyles

The Arseboxer            evens
Mick Deegan    6/4    
Mick Galvin    11/2    
Brian Talty    7/1    
Jack O Connor    12/1    
Joe Kernan    14/1    
Micky Harte    14/1    
Brian Mullins    14/1    
Jim Galvin    20/1    
Charlie Redmond    20/1    
Mick Whelan    25/1    
John O Leary    25/1    
Barney Rock    25/1    
Jack Sheedy    25/1    
John O Mahony    33/1    
Paul Clarke    33/1    
Dave Billings    33/1    
Micko Dywer    33/1    
Keith Barr    33/1    
John Maughan    33/1    
Micky Moran    33/1    
Dessie Farrell    33/1    
Val Andrews    33/1    
Gerry Mcentee    33/1    
Tommy Carr    50/1       
Colm Coyle    50/1

Now there's a good bet !

Dangleberrys

My bet is a guy not on the list at all, living in the big smoke but far from home ;)

I get the feeling that noone really has a strong position, so there is money to be made.

passedit

Quote from: Dangleberrys on August 18, 2008, 05:53:05 PM
My bet is a guy not on the list at all, living in the big smoke but far from home ;)

O Flatharta?
Don't Panic

Mentalman

Quote from: HowdyDoody on August 17, 2008, 01:31:04 AM
I'd say Deegan would be in with a shout after winning All-Ireland junior.I no its a big step up.

Also took Ravens to Intermediate County & Leinster titles, narrowly losing in the All-Ireland final.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."