The Official Olympics Thread (with the consent of the Chinese Gov.)

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, August 05, 2008, 11:09:25 AM

GalteeMountainBoy

Mentalman

"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Lads anyone else having problems with the RTE site, i have volume but the screen keeps freezing.

Super performance, well done Paddy Barnes.  Looked a winner all the way from Rd2 on...................

Mentalman

Quote from: ludermor on August 19, 2008, 12:18:16 PM
Lads anyone else having problems with the RTE site, i have volume but the screen keeps freezing.

Same here, I imagine a lot of laptops all over the world were on the old wireless trying to stream that!
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Great performance. Great result. Delighted for the boxers. Hopefully Ken Egan can do the job as well against the Brazilian.

Likewise AZ, Ive been very impressed with the boxers (build-up, performance and attitude) and i relly hope the other lads can get at least one more.

Feck it,  I missed it.
Great news.

Ken Egan next,  in the ring at 14.10

Fantastic performance by Wee Paddy!

And for trivia lovers, Jim Neilly pointed out that 6 of Ireland's 9 Olympic Boxing medals before Beijing have been won by Belfast boxers, so Barnes will now make it 7 out of 10.

Gold - Michel Carruth - Welter 1992

Silver - John McNally - Bantam 1952

Silver - Frederick Tiedt - Welter 1956

Silver - Wayne McCullough - Bantam 1992

Bronze - Johnny Caldwell - Flyweight 1956

Bronze - Freddie Gilroy - Bantam 1956

Bronze - Anthony Byrne - Lightweight 1956

Bronze - Jim McCourt - Lightweight 1964

Bronze - Hughie Russell - Flyweight 1980

Ah Jaysus, don't tell me we're going to have Ulster bias on the Olympics thread now? And started by a fecking Unionist as well :D