Tír Eoghain vs Áth Cliath '08

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, August 03, 2008, 05:57:30 PM

a pro dublin site is criticised for being pro dublin,while a pro ulster site  like gaaboard pat each other on the back for being pro ulster and criticise others for being the same in a different context. have to laugh lads, pot,kettle etc.

Quote from: Coddler on August 07, 2008, 06:13:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 06, 2008, 08:36:55 PM
Quote from: Coddler on August 06, 2008, 08:03:57 PM
ONeill. One specific incident from the 05 replay that did not endear Tyrone to the Dubs. Early on in the game with not much between the teams and Brogan was going well enough. He attempted to kick the ball from out near the sideline and McMenamin foot blocked the attempt injuring Brogan's ankle and forcing his replacment. Dublin's best forward  taken out in one neat move. I'm not 100% sure but I don't think he received a yellow for the dangerous tackle either so happy days all round for the stubbly one.

I saw this happen myself Coddler - Im not sure if it was in the wardrobe, or on out in Narnia. ::)

There was zero reference to any fouling action on McMenamins part, and considering the number of replays shown of him that day where he accidentally clipped quinns head in the first half, and the fact that any incident involving him is subject to the highest levels of scrutiny - the commentary team that day mentioned nothing.

So, ill have to call bullshit on that one.

So McMenamin has previous form for a footblock on Quinn in the drawn match. Brogan's sustains an ankle injury after a clash with McMenamin out near the Cusack sideline in the replay and is out for 3 months. But beacause RTE (remember Ger Canning works for them) did not mention  a footblock then it's in the realms of a Narnia fantasy to say that Brogan was injured through a footblock?
Have a look at your video recordings and DVDs again lads

Don't have the DVD handy unfortunately, but just because a player gets injured it doesn't mean it the fault of whoever was marking him. You're saying it was a footblock yet the evidence provided shows that there was a footblock but with a different player in a different game. Now you're calling it a 'clash' near the sideline, which is it, did it happen at all. Are you sure Brogan didn't just turn his ankle as happened many a player on the Croke surface around that time?

On a pure technicality, to construe a footblock (foul) as a deliberate attempt to take someone out just doesn't stack up -- only a very jaundiced eye could see malice in that. In a footblock, by definintion, the ball is fouled, not the player, so it really is clutching at straws to convict Ricey on that particular charge.

Coddler

Puckoon and Tyssam,

Just so there is no confusion I'm referring to the second  match. This is when Brogan went off injured.
I didn't know about the footblock on Quinn in the first drawn match until tyssam pointed it out and then ONeill threw up the Youtube clip showing it.

On the second match, only Mcmenamin knows whether he intended to injure Brogan with the footblock. I did not state that is was intentional. Either way the end result was the same. Dublin's best forward gone from the game.
As for it being easy to take Brogan out...Try kicking the sole of someone's football boot a good clatter and see how you get on.

Enjoy the replay on DVD Puckoon. I'd watch that pickup again from 95 on cassette only the Mrs threw it out along with my porn collection ;)

Coddler,

Was under no illusion that you were referring to any other game than the replay - Brogan went off, what really happened him is a mystery. No doubt about it, kicking someones studs hurts like f**k and takes a good 10-15 minutes to run off - but its not a game ending injury unless he broke a bunch of bones - and even then the adrenalin might carry you through. I know, because I feckin seem to do it all the time. Brogan went off almost immediately, and as was mentioned I believe he had some kind of ankle ligament injury - which is hard to blame on kicking someones studs.

You didnt state it was intentional - but you definitely implied it.

Anyways, shame about that 95 tape. Ill lend you the 05 dvds if you want... ;)

Hill16 Blues

Jeez you have to laugh at a Dublin fanzine website being criticised for being rabidly pro Dublin. It's no wonder we're paranoid and convinced everyone is against us!!!

Quote from: Hill16 Blues on August 07, 2008, 08:50:29 PM
Jeez you have to laugh at a Dublin fanzine website being criticised for being rabidly pro Dublin. It's no wonder we're paranoid and convinced everyone is against us!!!

D'oh! How could I forget that the love of Dublin isn't possible without hating the Culchies!  ;)

rdw

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 07, 2008, 09:32:01 PM

D'oh! How could I forget that the love of Dublin isn't possible without hating the Culchies!  ;)
Could the opposite not also be true.
As for the Ricey/Brogan incident. I couldn't attest to it being intentional, but it was certainly dangerous.

rdw

Quote from: his holiness nb on August 07, 2008, 04:10:42 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 07, 2008, 02:40:01 PM
If they win in a tight encounter I'd imagine they'll be going off the field cheering into the tyrone players faces rather than congratulating each other and shaking hands like most other sporting counties!

Resdubs is gone to shite, but is this shite any better?
Et Tu HHNB
Et Tu?

Quote from: rdw on August 07, 2008, 10:33:30 PM

As for the Ricey/Brogan incident. I couldn't attest to it being intentional, but it was certainly dangerous.

If it certainly happened. So far what we have are one mans opinions and a bunch of speculations - and there hasnt been much written/said about that incident in 3 years!!

rdw

Quote from: Puckoon on August 07, 2008, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: rdw on August 07, 2008, 10:33:30 PM

If it certainly happened. So far what we have are one mans opinions and a bunch of speculations - and there hasnt been much written/said about that incident in 3 years!!
Not expecting you to believe my word. But it happened.
Don't even know why I'm still talking about it, sure isn't it all water under the bridge.

Best of luck saturday week.

It's hardly breaking news that a defender may in fact wish to take out of the game an opposing forward while in the process of going for the ball. Wake up and smell the coffee lads.

Quote from: rdw on August 07, 2008, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 07, 2008, 04:10:42 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 07, 2008, 02:40:01 PM
If they win in a tight encounter I'd imagine they'll be going off the field cheering into the tyrone players faces rather than congratulating each other and shaking hands like most other sporting counties!

Resdubs is gone to shite, but is this shite any better?
Et Tu HHNB
Et Tu?

Not sure what you are getting at, I've acknowledged theres a load of shite posted on resdubs, but surely you agree comments like that are no better?

How the hell is this thread second page material - the GAA revolves around Tyrone.

I'd say a lot of people are holding back until next week to talk crap. Lets hope for an injury free week. Best draw possible, if the team are capable of lifting themselves to the next level this is the game that would bring it out. No point in staying in the championship if your not good enough.