Your Favourite Irish songs

Started by The Real Laoislad, June 18, 2008, 05:01:48 PM

Is Dave Fanning still the arbiter of Cool?  His radio show is on RTE 1 now!.

Treasurer

Quote from: Feckitt on July 09, 2008, 12:20:56 AM

But I have never heard any real people talk about or listen to Microdisney, The Blades, Killergoat,The Outpatients, Kerbdog, Junster.  Some of them might be ok, but I doubt it.

I'm very real, thank you.

Niall Quinn

The intro to Snow Patrol's 'The Finish Line' is a very close relative of Neil Diamond's 'Love on the Rocks' into.
Neither song goes anywhere spectacular after promising intos.
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

boojangles

Great thread-had a wee think and these are the 1st 10 that came into my head as soon as I read the title.So Il trust my instinct.

1.Raglan Road-Luke Kelly(P Kavanagh) what can ya say,the greatest Irish love song ever.Brilliant
2.You Made Me the Thief of your Heart-Sinead O Connor.Still makes the hair stand,used in in the Name of the Father
3.Pride-U2. Epic man
4.One -U2. So good even Johnny Cash covered it
5.The Town I loved so well-Phil Coulter.
6.Missing You-Christy Moore.A true story for so many Irish men
7.The Auld Triangle-The Dubliners
8.Still only our Rivers run Free-??? Superbly written song,Who wrote/recorded?
9.Spancill Hill-Traditional Arr.
10.The Boys are Back in Town-Thin Lizzy.Damn right they are

Quote from: boojangles on August 09, 2008, 02:15:36 AM

Christy Moore did the only version I know. No idea who wrote it.

Quote from: J70 on August 09, 2008, 02:54:44 AM
Quote from: boojangles on August 09, 2008, 02:15:36 AM

Christy Moore did the only version I know. No idea who wrote it.

Fermanagh guy called Micky McConnell did the original. Christy talks about it on the Planxty Live DVD. Wolfe Tones did an awful version of it

1. Raglan Road (it's sacrilege for anyone to attempt to cover it!).

2. Song For Ireland- can't make up my mind whether I prefer Luke's or Mary Black's version. Probably Mary's, her voice is just something else. Her son gave us that fecking "San Diego" song though, so that counts against her!

3. Cliffs of Dooneen- Planxty

Quote from: balladmaker on July 08, 2008, 07:31:37 PM
QuoteI was listening to the Dubliners this morning belting out The Hot Asphalt, and I despair at the lack of radio and tv coverage given to good folk music.

Would have to agree with the above statement.  I can testify that folk music continues to be popular throughout Ireland, although the mainstream media and those trying to be cool or trendy would have you believe otherwise.  Just look at the likes of The Dubliners, The Wolfe Tones, Christy Moore...they still continue to pack out venues, with the former two on the road for 45 years plus.  I can't imagine many of the current froth of fashion in the charts at present being around in 5 years never mind 45!

But the begrudgers would have you believe otherwise.....

Not really, some people just don't like trad is all. Or maybe people just got driven away ever since you joined the board and tried to paint the Wolfe Tones as some sort of epic patriots with every post.

thirteen03

In no particular order:

Rocky Took A Lover - Bell X1 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=4WN1pHbeCkg)
This Time - Aslan (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=LH0iVqD_lj4)
Bless Me Father - The Saw Doctors (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=pBQbbyT_NGM)
Arthur McBride - Paul Brady (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=cBGkhPx529g)
Be What You Want - The Answer (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=po_qSQgqu5w)
A Pair Of Brown Eyes - Christy Moore (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=9hIPG6WEGFo&feature=related)
Tattoo'd Lady - Rory Gallagher (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=JdkuHgSzNhg)
Don't Believe A Word - Thin Lizzy (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=9fG8TCHccIU)
Cold Hard Day - Million Dollar Reload (this song isn't on youtube but here's another good song of theirs http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=7uEUGuzbncI)
The Good Ship Kangaroo - Planxty (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=9-uJYH3V2HA&feature=related)

Special dedication to Gallsman.....

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Gn9WWliz_zg

QuoteNot really, some people just don't like trad is all. Or maybe people just got driven away ever since you joined the board and tried to paint the Wolfe Tones as some sort of epic patriots with every post.

haha.....by a strange coincidence, I learned of your identity the other week Gallsman....small world indeed....

PadraicHenryPearse

Denn Forever - The Would Bs          I'm hardly ever wrong

Are these guys from Cavan and have a cover band Called "Starman"?

Only saw this thread today. looking forward to listening to a few tunes. My top 10 to follow...I'm sure you're all on the edge of your seat

PHP

As Denn Forever is preparing for a good rogering by Cavan Gaels on Sunday I'd better answer this - the Would Bs are/were from Cavan.  I don't know about the covers band, but I'd have thought it might be the (former) Fireflys, rather than the Would Bs.  I might be wrong.

Cavanmaniac might know.

SidelineKick

Spanish Lady always gets my foot tapping!

Nothing but the Same Old Story by Paul Brady is another great one.  Went to see Paul Brady once, turns out hes not as cool as I thought. Still enjoyed the music though.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Seen these lads last night. Deadly gig,

Gama Bomb - OCP   http://www.last.fm/music/Gama+Bomb/Citizen+Brain/OCP

can anyone guess what its about  :D

thier album Citizen Brain is great, funny stuff.

emainmacha

Someone said "Will ya go lassie go"  was a scottish song, twas the father of the McPeake's from Belfast who wrote it, though some say he used an old scottish song as the base for it, but when looked at words and listened to the air of the scottish one, I thought they  weren't very alike but that's so long ago can't even remember its name now.
Rod Stewart was well caught out by assuming that it was a scottish song too, put it on an ablum with "Trad scottish by anon" when McPeakes who hold copyright contacted his Publisher they had to recall them all.
Wouldn't mind having one of the albums, say they be worth a few quid because of rarity value.