The Irish Apprentice

Started by the Deel Rover, June 11, 2008, 11:24:14 AM

winner has to be that Shane lad, only one with half a brain  ???

turk

I'm enjoying this. Bill is more realistic than the more pantomine Alan Sugar. It has been good stuff and well done to tv3

Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 23, 2008, 09:56:35 AM
people with real jobs and a bit of modesty about themselves would never apply for this kind of rubbish.
its the wanabes in the makey uppy jobs in sales and marketing (and maybe teaching  ;) ) that will go for the 'media exposure' and the kind of person you wouldnt like in reality (apart from some of the women for a while until your ears and brain finally over rule your sex drive.

And some will go on and make fools of themselves and the 'media exposure' could backfire big time. If you mess up on a show like that, you could have a hard time getting prospective employers to take you seriously in the real world.

I haven't watched this show yet - must try and catch an episode. However a lot of these RTÉ productions do tend to look a bit 'bargain basement' against the format used by BBC/C4 or an american broadcaster.

And again, as someone else has said, €100,000 is hardly mouthwatering as the 'top prize' - especially if you're working from 6.30am.

I think that it will be one of the girls that wins it. Orla had to go, great to look at but seems to have a lot of empty space between the ears. As someone else mentioned, this show could seriously damage your job prospects. Well, with the exception of a possible career in modelling, Orla has destroyed herself.

I think it has been very well produced and all credit to TV3 and the production company involved. The secret to these shows being good is to not stray from the formula and they haven't. Cullen has surprised me, none of the "you're barney bracked" or other such dublinisms.

heineken_on_tap

Quote from: Louth Exile on October 21, 2008, 01:39:41 PM
Cullen has surprised me, none of the "you're barney bracked" or other such dublinisms.

Me too he is good on it. I never used to like him but he was on with matt copper a few week. He gave a great interview, talked pure sense. It was refreshing to hear with so much doom and gloom surrounding the economy.

Poor Orla was badly caught last night, she was trying to get to the top by saying nothing!!

She fairly lost her Dundalk accent from I was talking to her last

Down Gael

I thought she was unlucky. The captain of that team, whatever his name is, should have gone. He was interfering all the time, insisted on doing a presentation that he made a total balls of and then selected the best guy on his team for eviction. Bill has the horn for him though + trying to keep amount of men and women even ensured that Orla got the boot.

It is interesting viewing none the less, better than the UK and US ones.

Quote from: thebandit on October 21, 2008, 02:08:00 PM
Poor Orla was badly caught last night, she was trying to get to the top by saying nothing!!

She fairly lost her Dundalk accent from I was talking to her last

Ye pity he got rid if Orla if only because she was easy on the eye  ;)

Down Gael

Orla may be easy on the eye, but she is very hard on the pocket.

Anyone watching tonight??

First impression is that the standard of candidate is as bad if not worse than last year. How hard is it to sell ice-cream on a hot day ffs?! The cailíní had a big advantage with their location. Far easier to sell a few choc ices around Stephen's Green and Grafton Street than it is on O'Connell Street and around Parnell Square I'd say. Nobody really stood out apart from the English lad who looked to be the only lad with any cop on.

Plenty of convenient product placement again this year - HB, Riverrock and Samsung will be well pleased! The version of the Adrian Chiles review show with Brendan O'Connor was a good laugh.

I think there is a few on there who are pretty decent, girls do seem a little more switched on than the fellas although it is early days. Brendan O'Connor was a bit harsh on some of them, that lassy with the slightly dodgy eyes, rippin the pi$$ there was a little close to the bone.

My big question at the end of the day who the hell would want to work for Bill Cullen anyway?

botman

One word Brutal.

Does anyone else think the boardroom looks like a set from an 80's porno? Was waiting for a few yokes to whip their clothes off and get at it.

Your man Craig deserved to go made a complete hash of it. It amazing how big a f**k up you can make when you really put your mind to it.
Keep them at it.

The problem with Harvard/Mearkatting/Scratch me arse graduates, is that they get hung up in planing and strategy. It was the easiest task in the world. You pick the five best selling ice creams, mark them up to the equivalent of the retailers in the vicinity. Buy as much stock as you can afford and then just sell, sell, sell. Lazy bunch of shites and I would have strangled your one with the microphone (my old office of a number of years ago would have been within earshot of her cat strangling)

Donal won't last long and Craigs performance in the board room might have saved him, but for the fact that Dr Bill simply didn't like him. Location was no excuse, the lads ran out of stock, priced the product wrong, spent too much time planning and were a general disaster from start to finish

Thought it wasnt possible but fair play to tv3 in being able to dumb down the show even more than last year