DERRY V FERMANAGH Healy Park Sat 21st June Throw in: 6pm

Started by never kickt a ball, June 02, 2008, 12:11:17 AM

Will Hunting

Quote from: haranguerer on June 16, 2008, 11:25:03 PM
Jaysus theres a lot of cute derry hoors about.
I dont think yis are that nervous - well at least the team seem confident enough, they were checking out the possible final opposition the other day anyway (ps Sidebottom, well recognised, all is forgiven)  :P
I saw some of the Fermanagh lads at the Tyrone v Down game in Omagh, so i suppose this could work both ways!! Or maybe they were just getting used to the surrounds of the pitch!

Fermanagh will be leaving no stone unturned in the build-up to this game. There is huge expectation within the county, with an Ulster Final appearance within touching distance.

Kentucky Blue

My team for Sunday and wee comment on each would be as follows but this may not be the one selected;

Gillis (because Deighan out obviously)

McGuckin - Pulled a few times for jersey pulling and skated on thin ice against Donegal, hope normal service to be resumed
McCloy - A huge game for the captain. Hope he is marking McBarron who would be more suited
Lockhart - Very safe against Kerry when introduced, an automatic choice if fully fit IMO

O'Kane - Marking can be suspect but he may occupy the free role to good effect
McCucker - Absolute rock, physical presence to come to fore and distribution tidy
McIvor - Tailor made for Lyttle or Maguire, maybe good for a point

Diver & Conway - BOth attacking instincts, important to rotate and not both get caught out of position when on the defensive. Great aerial power

Lynch - Place could come under threat, like to see him taking on his man
Murphy - Playmaker role and good for dirty ball and good feet
Muldoon - Should be targeted with kick outs, let him roam

E Bradley - Will be buzzing with confidence and taking his man on flat out I imagine
P Bradley - Knows what to expect but keeps producing it, very reliable with the free's
Gilligan - Important he does not dilly dally in posession, few close frees to get confidence going

Quote from: Kentucky Blue on June 17, 2008, 11:06:25 AM

Think McCloskey may track Paddy Bradley. If Gilligan plays deep for derry as usual then it invites a sweeper to sit in front of the derry full forward line and the roving wing forwards of Fermanagh may be left to pick up Gilligan when deep.

Wouldnt think so. Clucker's an intelligent player, and very comfortable on the ball; hes perfect for a sweeping role.
Owens missing didnt worry me against Monaghan because I knew we could handle their forwards, this is a different proposition. To be honest, the only way i could see any of our cornerbacks dong well on Bradley is if they play better than I've ever seen them (at any level!). They're capable of doing a decent job, but that aint enough on someone like PB, and they'll need all the help they can get. I'm expecting a backlash form the Eoin boy as well - it'd be fecking typical if Paddy was kept quiet only for him to pop up with a mom display... 

Slapdash

Left this up on your beloved hoganstand last night, may as well leave it where I might get some sensible feedback (only got my account here reactivated)
I would go for the following ...
1. R Gallagher - started the Monaghan game and deserves to continue
2. P Sherry - to follow the roaming Gilligan
3. H Brady - to pick up P Bradley
4. S Goan - to nullify E Bradley
5. D Kelly - tasked with curbing Lynch (if he starts), needs to focus on defending
6. R McCluskey - drop in front of fullback line and cover
7. T McElroy - can compete in the air with Muldoon, as seen when marking Finlay, plus will have too much pace for Muldoon.
8. M McGrath - as per Monaghan game
9. S McDermott - to pick up Murphy or whoever plays CHF, basically plays CHB
10.M Murphy - plays as a midfielder
11.J Sherry - has a lot to offer, we need his presence and point taking ability
12.M Little - drop deep to cover but also needs to attack wing backs in opposition scoring zone
13.R Keenan - two man full forward line with Eamon
14.C McElroy - play in half forward line, needs to win outlet ball and breaks and get into scoring areas
15.E Maguire - simply add end product and we have what we need

Team would thus line out as follows .....
R Gallagher

S Goan H Brady P Sherry

R McCluskey

T McElroy S McDermott D Kelly

M Little M McGrath M Murphy

J Sherry C McElroy

R Keenan E Maguire

S McCabe is obviously a key sub, and can be utilised depending on how the game develops. With 20 Min's to go would be ideal, when he can exploit tiring legs and the game has spread out and he can pick up ball out on the wings as he seems to prefer.
Other useful subs could be;
L McBarron (maybe to spoil in midfield if needed)
D O'Reilly (as a half back depending on how Kelly fares, his long kicks could help inside forwards get early ball)
S Doherty (good ball winner and uses possession effectively)
P Ward (could stretch tired legs for last 10)
T Brewster (we need a recognised freetaker and he may be needed quite early depending on circumstances)
S Lyons (in any defensive position or at full back if Brady is injured)
B Owens (?????)

Obviously there is the P Bradley conundrum! McCluskey would be preferable, however I believe he is too important to our game plan to waste in that respect. P Bradley will score on anybody, as we have seen, so why waste our best player in trying to curb him? If we can limit the possession he gets in the scoring areas, which would be central to how we shape up defensively, then we can limit him. If he is isolated then he will score, whether it is Goan, McCluskey or Brady. Play to a system and we can limit him (and simultaneously those around him.) Therefore let Brady 'unsettle' him and with the necessary support around him we can close their forward unit out. Lets just hope the referee is not pernickety! If we can keep Derry to 0-12 then we have every chance. Clearly we do not have the same firepower as Derry so we need to keep it tight for as long as possible, and as the game develops it will naturally open up, when our smaller forwards can exploit the Healy Park space! Derry have not found the correct balance in their defence yet, and we need to take advantage of this. Goals will be important, and we will probably not win it without one. Conversely it is imperative we do not concede any. Believe Fermanagh, believe. Derry 0-12 Fermanagh 1-10

Very good, but you seem to have Ronan Gallagher lined out in the corner of the pitch. This seems very risky - derry could shoot for goal from anywhere...

the green man

Quote from: haranguerer on June 17, 2008, 03:03:42 PM
Very good, but you seem to have Ronan Gallagher lined out in the corner of the pitch. This seems very risky - derry could shoot for goal from anywhere...

Its all a cunning plan to lead us into a false sense of something or other. It'll no work. Fermanagh 0-22 Derry 0-10

Quote from: the green man on June 17, 2008, 03:08:33 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 17, 2008, 03:03:42 PM

Its all a cunning plan to lead us into a false sense of something or other. It'll no work. Fermanagh 0-22 Derry 0-10

Only 22 pts? With our renowned firepower? Confidence is indeed high in Derry  :P

peterquaife

Quote from: Slapdash on June 17, 2008, 02:57:16 PM
Left this up on your beloved hoganstand last night, may as well leave it where I might get some sensible feedback (only got my account here reactivated)
I would go for the following ...
1. R Gallagher - started the Monaghan game and deserves to continue
2. P Sherry - to follow the roaming Gilligan
3. H Brady - to pick up P Bradley
4. S Goan - to nullify E Bradley
5. D Kelly - tasked with curbing Lynch (if he starts), needs to focus on defending
6. R McCluskey - drop in front of fullback line and cover
7. T McElroy - can compete in the air with Muldoon, as seen when marking Finlay, plus will have too much pace for Muldoon.
8. M McGrath - as per Monaghan game
9. S McDermott - to pick up Murphy or whoever plays CHF, basically plays CHB
10.M Murphy - plays as a midfielder
11.J Sherry - has a lot to offer, we need his presence and point taking ability
12.M Little - drop deep to cover but also needs to attack wing backs in opposition scoring zone
13.R Keenan - two man full forward line with Eamon
14.C McElroy - play in half forward line, needs to win outlet ball and breaks and get into scoring areas
15.E Maguire - simply add end product and we have what we need

Team would thus line out as follows .....
R Gallagher

S Goan H Brady P Sherry

R McCluskey

T McElroy S McDermott D Kelly

M Little M McGrath M Murphy

J Sherry C McElroy

R Keenan E Maguire

S McCabe is obviously a key sub, and can be utilised depending on how the game develops. With 20 Min's to go would be ideal, when he can exploit tiring legs and the game has spread out and he can pick up ball out on the wings as he seems to prefer.
Other useful subs could be;
L McBarron (maybe to spoil in midfield if needed)
D O'Reilly (as a half back depending on how Kelly fares, his long kicks could help inside forwards get early ball)
S Doherty (good ball winner and uses possession effectively)
P Ward (could stretch tired legs for last 10)
T Brewster (we need a recognised freetaker and he may be needed quite early depending on circumstances)
S Lyons (in any defensive position or at full back if Brady is injured)
B Owens (?????)

Obviously there is the P Bradley conundrum! McCluskey would be preferable, however I believe he is too important to our game plan to waste in that respect. P Bradley will score on anybody, as we have seen, so why waste our best player in trying to curb him? If we can limit the possession he gets in the scoring areas, which would be central to how we shape up defensively, then we can limit him. If he is isolated then he will score, whether it is Goan, McCluskey or Brady. Play to a system and we can limit him (and simultaneously those around him.) Therefore let Brady 'unsettle' him and with the necessary support around him we can close their forward unit out. Lets just hope the referee is not pernickety! If we can keep Derry to 0-12 then we have every chance. Clearly we do not have the same firepower as Derry so we need to keep it tight for as long as possible, and as the game develops it will naturally open up, when our smaller forwards can exploit the Healy Park space! Derry have not found the correct balance in their defence yet, and we need to take advantage of this. Goals will be important, and we will probably not win it without one. Conversely it is imperative we do not concede any. Believe Fermanagh, believe. Derry 0-12 Fermanagh 1-10

the old weather forecast doesnt look the best for Sat,windy, few showers... but Fermanagh will have to put in some performance to hold Derry to 12 points...Eoin Bradley is surely going to hit the onion bag at least once

should be a good aul Ulster tussle.

Ulster Abu

AidyMac

Living in Fermanagh, I can honestly say that this game has me worried !

The O'Rourke factor will have a big bearing on it.  Don't think it will be a classic, but am hoping for it.

Think that it will be very very tight, maybe a last minute score winning it for either team

Plus, it is very quiet in Fermanagh, not much talk about it, a sign that Fermanagh are really up for it

peterquaife

was told that the county board have organised Derry div 4 and 5 matches for sat, 5pm throw-in...this surely cannot be correct. wouldnt be that surprised though

Anyone know if this is correct?

PQ

inisceithleann

I can't argue with most peoples predictions for the Fermanagh team. However I don't think Fermanagh will start with McDermott. They'll drop Sherry back there from CHF and that will form the three man midfield set up. Only for this Sherry would probably not start. Shane McCabe is pusing him extremely hard for a starting position and will be crucial to us when he'll come on in the second half. I'm very worried about the lack of a free taker. Tom Brew is not really fit for county level yet and Ryan Keenan isn't a bad alternative but we don't have any left footed players to take the frees. This is a major problem and I hope it doesn't back to haunt us. I wonder if Hughie Brady has done enough to cement his place at FB as well. He did rightly in the Monaghan game but he is very prone to fouling his man. Shane Lyons was flying in the NFL and would have started only for his broken cheek bone. But I suppose these tough selections decisions for O'Rourke is exactly what we need and would want.
Life is a ticket to the greatest show on earth

Just how unfit is Tom Brewster? He's been months now trying to get up to match fitness, what is he trying to shake off. He was excellemt for last fifteen minutes against Down in Newry and that was two months ago. Would he be worth it for frees alone? In all likelihood we'll win quite a few.
Few mentions on HS of Brady missing last Teemore game through injury, any word on that? Presume Lyons is back from his jaw injury in any case.

Quote from: ExiledGael on June 17, 2008, 06:19:08 PM
Just how unfit is Tom Brewster? He's been months now trying to get up to match fitness, what is he trying to shake off. He was excellemt for last fifteen minutes against Down in Newry and that was two months ago. Would he be worth it for frees alone? In all likelihood we'll win quite a few.
Few mentions on HS of Brady missing last Teemore game through injury, any word on that? Presume Lyons is back from his jaw injury in any case.

Great to see Fermanagh with a strong bench - in the past, substitutions rarely strengthend the team, not the case now.
I'd rather see Lyons in there than Hugh Brady, and would take a chance on Tom Brew for Ciaran McElroy. I'm getting sick of waiting on James Sherry to deliver, and would have no prob if McCabe is in there instead of him. Problem with Brewster is his game doesnt suit the Fermanagh (and most modern teams) method - he is likely to be a passenger for long periods then do something spectacular, but he can win games...

Having said all that, you cant underestimate the benefit of having a full USFC match under the belt.

FermPundit

I'm not 100% sure how fit Tom Brew is but he did miss Enniskillen's last league game against Lisnaskea 2 weeks ago. He's been trying to shake off a groin injury for the last few months. I'd be very surprised if he starts on Saturday. With Ciaran O'Reilly out injured as well we really do miss an accurate free taker. Yeah, I hear Hugh Brady is carrying a knock, not sure how bad it is. Although he did well the last day out against Monaghan if Shane Lyons is fit he'll go into full back IMO. I was reading the Irish Star today and everyone seems to think Fermanagh will replicate the seem tactics as they did against Monaghan with Mark Little falling back info the half back line. Derry are going to be completely ready for this tactic if Fermanagh deploy it so the element of surprise has gone. Mal O'Rourke is an intelligent manager and I'm sure he'll have a game plan designed solely for this match to try and exploit the weaknesses of this Derry team. This may result in one or two surprises in team selection. My team for Saturday would be;

Gallagher
Goan
Lyons
Pete Sherry
Tommy McElroy
Clucker
Kelly
Womble
McGrath
Ciaran McElroy
James Sherry
Mark Little
Ryan Keenan
Eamon Maguire
McCabe

I know people are suggesting that McCabe will be used as an impact sub but at the end of the day you start with the best players available. I've seen him play for Belcoo this year and he's arugably the best forward we have. If he starts Fermanagh will go with a two men full forward line of Ryan Keenan and Eamon Maguire and will try to run the legs off the Derry defence. I'm not a big fan of the long ball into square and anyway McBarron would struggle against Kevin McCloy. McCloy enjoys a good physical battle but he won't fancy having to chase Eamon Maguire around the full forward line. I've gone for James Sherry at CHF as i think Fermanagh will go for 3 men in the middle of the park. James was quiet enough against Monaghan but he gives us another midfield option. In defence I think Shane Goan will be given the job of man marking Paddy Bradley. The two Bradley's will cause us problems regards of who marks them so it's imperative we win the midfied battle.

This is really difficult game for Fermanagh but its's a game they can win if every player plays to their full potential and Derry have an off day. Roll on Saturday!
We'll win Ulster some day, not sure when.

inisceithleann

I'd defiently go with Tom Brew at CHF with McCabe in the corner. Brew can push back into midfield and will be there to take the frees off the ground, as we have actually no other options in this area. That is very dependant on his fitness though. I don't think anyone will man mark Paddy Bradley. McClsukey will sweep and cut out the supply of ball to Bradley. Bradley will then no doubt come out and try and get possession, taking him further away from goal which is exactly what we want.
Life is a ticket to the greatest show on earth