Will Dustin win Eurovision?

Started by Shamrock Shore, May 18, 2008, 11:21:52 PM

I hope Dustin does win, however Gs Man should have be representing Ireland.

I hope Dustin wins it to give the two fingers to all who take this crap seriously.  I wonder how Mr. Wogan will take the reference to his wig  ;D

I was wondering what sort of entries will Ireland receive in next years competition, like how could anyone follow or want to follow a turkey.  Although I did see Dickie Rock put himself forward for next year on Tubridy Tonight on Saturday.

Sometimes looking at the irish tabloids etc, I get afraid that irelands becoming too anglicised, but then something like this pops up to reaffirm my faith. He hasnt a hope of winning it, but I think its great we're sending him. Sure isn't life about havin a laugh!!

Would love Dustin to win it, as it would highlight the joke that the Eurovision has become.
Although with the eastern bloc vote, I would be amazed if any Western European country ever won it again.

Used to enjoy watching the points bit (always thought the music was sh*te), but it has actually become annoying and predictable to watch now.

I dont mind them making a joke of the Eurovision, but even by Dustins own standards this song is bad.

Its not even a bit funny, which for a joke song, should be a prerequisite!

Shortso79

BBC Radio 1 have been taking the piss out of Dustin ..

Terry Wogan will probably take the piss also

I think he'll do well

The words of the song are mad..

"Oh I come from a nation what knows how to write a song
Oh Europe where oh where did it all go wrong
C'mon, Irelande douze pointe

Drag acts and bad acts and Terry Wogan's wig
Mad acts and sad acts, it was Johnny Logan's gig

Shake your feathers and bop your beak
Shake 'em to the west and to the east
Wave Euro hands and Euro feet
Wave 'em in the air to the turkey beat
Irelande douze pointe! Irelande douze pointe!
Irelande douze pointe! To the funky beat

G-o-b gobble b-l-e yeah
Hello Abba, hello Bono, hello Helsinki,
Hola Prague, hello sailor, c'est la vie,
Auf wiedersehen, mamma mia and God save the Queen
G'day Austria, bonjour Serbia, you know what I mean

Shake your feathers and bop your beak
Shake 'em to the west and to the east
Wave Euro hands and Euro feet
Wave 'em in the air to the funky beat
To the funky beat

Give us another chance, we're sorry for Riverdance
Sure Flatley he's a Yank and the Danube flows through France

Block votes! Shock votes! Give us your 12 today
You're all invited to Dublin, Ireland
And we'll party the shamrock way

Irelande douze pointe! Irelande douze pointe! I
relande douze pointe! Irelande douze pointe!
Irelande douze pointe! Do the funky beat c'mon

Eastern Europe we love you do you like Irish stew?
Or goulash as it is to you, Irelande douze pointe
Yes it's Bulgaria we love you Belarus, Georgia,
Montenegro, Moldova, Albania, Croatia, Poland,
Russia, Ukraine, Macedonia, don't forget Turkey,
Hungary, Estonia, Slovakia, Armenia, Bosnia & Herzegovina
and don't forget the Swiss..... Cheese "

COME ON DUSTIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!

QuoteDustin's entry is a great Irish social commentary on how farcical it has become from the halycon days of Johnny!

I think its class that we are sending Dustin. It would be class if he won it! Imagine how sour Dana would be!

QuoteImagine how sour Dana would be!

It would even top when Dustin said 'Ah, meself and Dana have a lot in common, didn't we both run for President as joke-candidates?'

Yeah, that one still makes me laugh. Classic. Just the sauce for her.

Dustin has launched a verbal attack on Wogan last night. Saying stuff like "All I'll say to you Terry gp at least I've never sold out the Irish." "You went over there, you took the Queen's sterling and you walk her corgis. Ireland doesn't have a place for you anymore." Go on ya good thing Dustin! lol

Harps 21

Where's Johnny Logan when we need him in our hour of need????

Still think Dustin will do well and hope he scores high, particularly if he keeps having a pop at that gobshite Wogan  :D

Get voting tonight lads. 8PM 11th act I think.

He's been chanting "Turkey ar la" into the wee hours last night.

QuoteG'day Austria

:D Have to say, its quite funny,

Had a quick trawl through the entrants and well I think Latvia (see link below) will take some beating. as I said before the term "song-contest" is reduntant. It should be called the "Euro-Gay-Fest"

http://www.bbc.co.uk/eurovision/participants/latvia.shtml

Rossie11

Hope he (!) gets through but will depend on whether eastern europeans get our sense of humour.

Sky news before the Irish final
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSGNdVmJHic&feature=related

and another giving Dana more grief
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1zcF8FNzIg