Hail Gloroius St Patricks Athletic!

Started by T Fearon, April 16, 2008, 09:01:48 AM

SammyG

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 16, 2008, 12:49:25 PM
So eye witness accounts were lying? - Why chose Linfield... why not Rangers?

Eye witnesses never said anything of the sort. The Sunday World said it and have since been shown to be talking shite (as usual)
You seem fairly confident about the facts! - Where you there? Or are you a member of the local Constabulary?

Wasn't there and I'm definitely not a peeler but I can read.

lfdown2

Quote from: T Fearon on April 16, 2008, 12:55:09 PM
Apparently all this took place in front of the great Marco Tardelli who was seated in the stand at Richmond last night, eyeing up Linfield's Paul Mc Areavey and Conor Downey as potential squad members for the forthcoming friendly with Serbia. >:(

By the way I have acquired an Italia 82 retro jersey with Tardelli's name and number printed on the back which I intend to wear at Croke Park for the friendly game with Serbia on May 24th

well isnt that just f**king wonderful?!?!?!? :-X

Official Statement by St.Pat's Athletic:

ST PATS THANKS FANS FOR PATIENCE & CO-OPERATION AT SETANTA CUP
Last night St Patrick's Athletic hosted over 800 travelling Linfield fans to Richmond Park. This travelling fan base, one of the largest to visit Richmond Park in recent years behaved impeccably over the night and gave their team great support.

One incident where two Linfield fans were ejected from the ground following a scuffle with gardai was captured by the press and the resulting images shown in the national media may have given the impression of more widespread trouble occurring at the match which was simply not the case. The match night arrangements ensured that fans were successfully segregated at the game itself and also when leaving the stadium.

While St Pat's fans were maintained in the ground Linfield fans were escorted directly to their buses. A small group of Dublin youths did appear in the area as the match finished, these were not supporters of the club and had not attended the game. With the home support being kept in the ground and the street outside the ground clear this group was easily identifiable to the gardai and were ordered to move on. One of this group was subsequently arrested for criminal damage to a wing mirror of a car. No further arrests or instances of match-related trouble are understood to have been reported to the gardai in the area.

St Patrick's Atletic Football Club would like to thank both sets of fans for their patience and co-operation as well as our match night security teams and local gardai for their excellent work on the night.

http://stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2196

With an All-Ireland League possible in the future, they're not going to want to frighten away sponsors/supporters with reports of trouble/delinquency.

Maximus Marillius

Quote from: T Fearon on April 16, 2008, 12:55:09 PM
Apparently all this took place in front of the great Marco Tardelli who was seated in the stand at Richmond last night, eyeing up Linfield's Paul Mc Areavey and Conor Downey as potential squad members for the forthcoming friendly with Serbia. >:(

By the way I have acquired an Italia 82 retro jersey with Tardelli's name and number printed on the back which I intend to wear at Croke Park for the friendly game with Serbia on May 24th

Tony are you for real...why would you want to do that...what is the purpose?

Quote from: SammyG on April 16, 2008, 12:56:55 PM

Eye witnesses never said anything of the sort. The Sunday World said it and have since been shown to be talking shite (as usual)
You seem fairly confident about the facts! - Where you there? Or are you a member of the local Constabulary?

So Sammy, the two men I heard interviewed on the radio who stated that they were there, and that when the mob moved towards Gt Victoria St they opened their jackets to reveal  and gesture towards onlookers their Linfield scarves and jerseys, were liars then?

QuotePosted by: Billys Boots  
Insert Quote
With an All-Ireland League possible in the future, they're not going to want to frighten  

Billy' don't be talking such ill-informed, cynical rubbish!  Shure we all know that will not happen for at least anothe millenium. ::)

Anyway, whatever the numbers involved, be it the one guy with a 20p, or poor wee Holly from Kent, there is always an excuse, or a side swipe or a "its not as bad as the media/police/Fearon make it out to be".  The simple fact is that there were disturbances that involved the chicalonies having to burst a few heads.  If you look at the different pictures there seems to be at least 4 different people in the pictures I have seen.  While there may only have been 2 "fans" ejected, there were certainly more than that involved in the disturbances.

SammyG

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 16, 2008, 01:41:55 PM

So Sammy, the two men I heard interviewed on the radio who stated that they were there, and that when the mob moved towards Gt Victoria St they opened their jackets to reveal  and gesture towards onlookers their Linfield scarves and jerseys, were liars then?
Yes plain and simple. The same as the SDLP woman who saw the bus full of Linfield supporters, until it was proven that all the Linfield buses were accounted for and the cnuts had been in McHugh's all day and weren't even at the match.

Quote from: SammyG on April 16, 2008, 01:49:12 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 16, 2008, 01:41:55 PM

Yes plain and simple. The same as the SDLP woman who saw the bus full of Linfield supporters, until it was proven that all the Linfield buses were accounted for and the cnuts had been in McHugh's all day and weren't even at the match.

Ahh, Sammy right and the rest of the world talking bollix.  ::)

amigo

Quote from: thejuice on April 16, 2008, 09:39:31 AM

Why does soccer still attract such scumbags to it. I know its not as bad as it was in the 80's but I dont think I'll ever set foot in a soccer ground, even if these incidents are in the minority now a days, its still not safe to wear colours in other areas.

When did Ben get off the island ? Is he not still LOST!!!

SammyG

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 16, 2008, 01:52:16 PM
What rest of the world? The editor of the Sunday World and one woman from the SDLP (who wasn't even there) said one thing, while everybody else, peelers, witnesses, CCTV, Linfield, Cliftonville, even the Andytown News all say different. But sure it's me that's talking bollix.  ::)

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: SammyG on April 16, 2008, 01:57:02 PM
What rest of the world? The editor of the Sunday World and one woman from the SDLP (who wasn't even there) said one thing, while everybody else, peelers, witnesses, CCTV, Linfield, Cliftonville, even the Andytown News all say different. But sure it's me that's talking bollix.  ::)

The only statements I saw were from the BBC & UTV news - which both stated that eye witness accounts said the were wearing Linfield shirts & scarves! - Hence the fact that Jim Kerr had to make a statement to the press...  ::)

SammyG

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 16, 2008, 01:59:49 PM

The only statements I saw were from the BBC & UTV news - which both stated that eye witness accounts said the were wearing Linfield shirts & scarves! - Hence the fact that Jim Kerr had to make a statement to the press...  ::)
That was Saturday tea-time, just after the incident, reporting the SDLP woman. Once it was investigated it was shown that the orginal reports were bollix and these were corrected.

You just stated that two independant witnesses statements were lies - without any proof. That would be talking bollix alright.
At least your starting to accept the truth (see in bold above)  ;)

As for SDLP lady and Sunday World - you brought them up, btw I wouldn't let the Sunday World darken my doorway.

Typical Linfield, doing a Pontius Pilate. Jim Kerr shows he really is a member of Simple Minds. When is this nefarious soccer-quasi ultra loyalist club going to be compelled to confront their sectarain support and take the necessary action to clean up their act?

When has a supporter ever been banned from Windsor Park for unbecoming behaviour for example?