Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

According to Ian O'Riordan (a guy who really doesnt like Whelo!) in the Times:

• straight red card = mandatory 4 weeks

"contributing to a melee" = mandatory 4 weeks

"inflicting reckless injury" = mandatory 8 weeks

"misconduct considered to discredit the association = mandatory 8 weeks
"Mandatory" and "minimum" seem interchangeable.

Quote from: INDIANA on April 21, 2008, 06:12:35 PM
disagree entirely lynchboy it's to organised and too often for that. dates bac to 2003 for everyone's interest when armagh beat us in the qualifiers and t lyons kept the players back  going into the dressing room and let armagh in first half time at. dublin lost and were accused of being pussies - since then it's any row or aggro and everyone is in despite the consequences. absolutely no backing down regardless of what has to be done. and such a policy is biting us in the ass now.
the reality is though as well some teasm see us as fair game and engage in the off the ball stuff and verbals until someone reacts. but i'm pissing in the wind here trying to get a reasoned debate on that here. dublin and meath generally are tough physical encounters with some decent football, meath fans in general know their stuff so i usually enjoy the occasions not like some of the fans from some counties north of the border. both sets of fans weren't happy with what went on and it ruined the day and game.
the verbals off the ball from both sides yesterday started before the throw in, it's a nasty element of the game that appears to be univesal now. Caffrey has to get a grip- i heard strong talk from a very good source within the gaa there could be up to 10 suspensions between the 2 teams.
certainly the Dublin team have decided that they will never be pushed over again, which is the hard man attitude that has spilled over into the row with Tyrone and the equally handbag-ical eruption against meath on sunday.
If a pre-medidtated row was synchronised or rehearsed, you would have had a different type of way about it on sunday.
I def cannot see Caffrey setting up something like that, and it did not look like that - if anything the Tyrone one was somewhat pre-meditated.
But sundays effort- no way.
Paul Caffrey wants his teams to play hard and front up, but he wouldnt organise that (talty might but doesnt have looked like an organised effort).
Whats the motivation, meath are no threat to dublin any more. Certainly not at the moment. If Dublin were reduced to fighting, then Meath would have a better chance of winning imo - so the team with motivation to start a fight would be the royals. But they did not.
None of them would back down.
It was a spectacle that will put bums on seats for a while now, but the suspensions that should be handed out should remind ALL PLAYERS that while it is a physical game and fights happen, if you get caught, you will be punished heavily. These things have a consequence.

What would the Dublin team be if all the suspensions stand up?
Would they still be good enough to beat Westmeath?

Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 22, 2008, 10:06:15 AM

certainly the Dublin team have decided that they will never be pushed over again
, which is the hard man attitude that has spilled over into the row with Tyrone and the equally handbag-ical eruption against meath on sunday.

This is all that gobsh*te Tommy Lyons fault!

Quote from: blanketattack on April 22, 2008, 10:40:00 AM

11 will do us against Westmeath.

You cant blame a former manager for the current panel of players attitude and discpline ( or lack of )

Quote from: Hound on April 22, 2008, 10:50:56 AM

11 will do us against Westmeath.

And you wonder why some people would like to see the Dubs beat   ::)

Did you get that oul sense of humour bypass bensars?

gerrykeegan

In the words of Kevin Keegan

"I would love it"
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

i'm not but it's a general agreement he was a selector under that regime so its carried on from there. Westmeath are missing dolan on sunday- if they had him i think they'd beat us- great defence and good midfield but glennon can't do it on his own for them.
heard quinn is one of the others- looked like he was trying to break it up- to me he didn't hit anyone wouldn;t be the type. pretty sure the other is mc menamon.
i think all of them bar maybe quinn and ross will get 2 months. andrews shouldered one in the back. flynn and kenny were thumping each other, murphy and brogan the same, connolly and fay  and mc keigue kicked it off. don't know what ross did don;t think it was much though. whelan would be happy with 2. the reason a lot of them will get 2 regardless of whether they deserve it is because if they don't miss one championship game there will be an outcry.

Quote from: Bensars on April 22, 2008, 10:52:56 AM
You cant blame a former manager for the current panel of players attitude and discpline ( or lack of )

If he had let them go down the shagging tunnel we wouldn't be in this mess.

Just to be clear to any of the top 2 inch (as Indiana nicely put it, in another contect) brigade , I don't really think we'd beat Westmeath will only 11 men!

But I think we could still give them a game with the proposed suspensions. Two defenders down (McConnell and Andrews), and we've Cahill and Casey to come back. Also O'Shaughnessy might have recovered from injury. Not sure whether it would be Cahill or Henry handed the no.3 jersey. Murray could be given another chance either.

Midfield would be Ryan and Fennell. If Fennell is one of the suspended, then we'd have to call on Darren Magee I suppose - some Dubs think he can still do a job.

Up front we have Vaughan and Keaney to come in, and Bonner if we need a third. After that I think we're into Ray Cosgrove territory!

There's no doubt we'd miss the Brogans, and we may have a bit of a hole in midfield if each of Whelan, Flynn and Fennell go, but we'd still go in with confidence of being competitive. Have to hand it to Westmeath, they clearly improved a helluva lot since their games with us earlier, and beating Mon in Clones is not something I would have fancied a full strength Dublin of doing.

Quote from: Hound on April 22, 2008, 11:05:15 AM
Just to be clear to any of the top 2 inch (as Indiana nicely put it, in another contect) brigade , I don't really think we'd beat Westmeath will only 11 men!

But I think we could still give them a game with the proposed suspensions. Two defenders down (McConnell and Andrews), and we've Cahill and Casey to come back. Also O'Shaughnessy might have recovered from injury. Not sure whether it would be Cahill or Henry handed the no.3 jersey. Murray could be given another chance either.

Midfield would be Ryan and Fennell. If Fennell is one of the suspended, then we'd have to call on Darren Magee I suppose - some Dubs think he can still do a job.

Up front we have Vaughan and Keaney to come in, and Bonner if we need a third. After that I think we're into Ray Cosgrove territory!

There's no doubt we'd miss the Brogans, and we may have a bit of a hole in midfield if each of Whelan, Flynn and Fennell go, but we'd still go in with confidence of being competitive. Have to hand it to Westmeath, they clearly improved a helluva lot since their games with us earlier, and beating Mon in Clones is not something I would have fancied a full strength Dublin of doing.

Quinn and Fennell are the other two.

Fecking whingeing shower of women the lot of ye.

This thread has gone pathetic.
The fight wasnt nice, suspensions will be given out, and accepted, now will ye all stop crying over it  ;)

Whelan, Brogan, Connolly and Flynn have got two months and four others have got one month, according to Dublin County Board as quoted on RTE Radio 1 news just now. The news, I said, not the sports news! The Co. board has also been fined - I didn't catch the amount.

Meath Co. board has been fined the same amount. No word from Meath of who (if anyone  :) ) has been suspended.