Dublin Vs Meath

Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 21, 2008, 04:55:33 PM
Dont get me wrong, the players caught fighting have to be banned etc as per regulations.
But thats it. they get punished.
Apart from a very odd time, Football or hurling teams are not sent out to fight, get stuck in and show they wont be intimidated etc, but once in a few thousand matches actually sent out to fight .

What happens in our games is the occasional flare up that is not pre-meditated.

This is, In comparison to the aussies who set out their gameplan around fighting and being sent out to 'soften' up the Irish.

wehn we sent out our 'hit squad' in 89 (McGilligan, O'Byrne, O'shea, Lyons et al) the flippin aussies didnt half whinge about it then.

so not saying the lads fighting should get away with it, but its not the end of the world and it was fairly unlikely to have been a planned initiative.

;D ;D I know you don't mean that !

Lynchboy is dead right, a whole big whingefest over a bit of handbags, feck sake I played a challenge game on saturday night with worse!

If its that bad why dont ye all call Joe Duffy and demand Dublin by cut loose and let drift into the sea  ;)

The real disgrace was the fan throwing the tea, this must be very frustrating for all the decent meath fans who will no doubt now see what its like to be called a gang of scumbags over the actions of one eegit.

Cop yerselves on and stop whingeing.

Quote from: his holiness nb on April 21, 2008, 05:28:18 PMmust be very frustrating for all the decent meath fans who will no doubt now see what its like to be called a gang of scumbags over the actions of one eegit.

?????

Already happening on other threads Hardy.

Of course its bullshit, but I dont know how many times I have been called a sc**bag when some other eegit acts the bollox.

Most people do it in a joking manner, but not all.

It's clear that Dublin and Meath are in a parallell GAA universe. :)

I don't know what the ref could have done different, he takes one action and people assume the alternative would have been better for the game.

Anyway I for one, like always, will be glued to the Leinster championship meeting, if it happens then I'd hope that Meath can make a game of it.

Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2008, 05:23:30 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 21, 2008, 04:55:33 PM
Dont get me wrong, the players caught fighting have to be banned etc as per regulations.
But thats it. they get punished.
Apart from a very odd time, Football or hurling teams are not sent out to fight, get stuck in and show they wont be intimidated etc, but once in a few thousand matches actually sent out to fight .

What happens in our games is the occasional flare up that is not pre-meditated.

This is, In comparison to the aussies who set out their gameplan around fighting and being sent out to 'soften' up the Irish.

wehn we sent out our 'hit squad' in 89 (McGilligan, O'Byrne, O'shea, Lyons et al) the flippin aussies didnt half whinge about it then.

so not saying the lads fighting should get away with it, but its not the end of the world and it was fairly unlikely to have been a planned initiative.

;D ;D I know you don't mean that !
Paul caffreyy couldnt organise a p*ss up in a brewery, so no way could he conduct a pre-meditated row

seriously though , caffrey likes the swagger of the tough stuff, but he wouldnt have sent them out to start anything, I'd be fairly sure of that.

Holiness - I don't think anyone takes seriously the comical ravings of Tankie (who slipped out of the remedial class down the gaaboard corridor when the special needs attendant wasn't looking). Apart from him, I haven't noticed anyone making the inference that all Meath fans are scumbags because one fool, who we hope will never darken a stadium again, threw a paper cup of tea at Ciaran Whelan.

And if they did, what sane person would pay them any attention? I don't think any sane person draws the conclusion that all Dublin followers are scumbags from the fact that not just one, but a small percentage of them have been lobbing not paper cups of tea, but bottles in volleys onto the pitch from Hill 16 for years (without it ever being mentioned by Ray Darcy, Joe Duffy, Marian Finucane or even the less expert sports commentators). Or from the fact that a few of them assembled to launch not tea but their saliva at members of their team's management not too long ago. Or from the fact that the notion of a family safe area in Croke Park is a joke when Dublin are playing because there isn't a corner of the stadium where the most innocent of ears could fail to hear the most disgusting of filth screamed in chorus from Hill 16.

disagree entirely lynchboy it's to organised and too often for that. dates bac to 2003 for everyone's interest when armagh beat us in the qualifiers and t lyons kept the players back  going into the dressing room and let armagh in first half time at. dublin lost and were accused of being pussies - since then it's any row or aggro and everyone is in despite the consequences. absolutely no backing down regardless of what has to be done. and such a policy is biting us in the ass now.
the reality is though as well some teasm see us as fair game and engage in the off the ball stuff and verbals until someone reacts. but i'm pissing in the wind here trying to get a reasoned debate on that here. dublin and meath generally are tough physical encounters with some decent football, meath fans in general know their stuff so i usually enjoy the occasions not like some of the fans from some counties north of the border. both sets of fans weren't happy with what went on and it ruined the day and game.
the verbals off the ball from both sides yesterday started before the throw in, it's a nasty element of the game that appears to be univesal now. Caffrey has to get a grip- i heard strong talk from a very good source within the gaa there could be up to 10 suspensions between the 2 teams.

Quote from: INDIANA on April 21, 2008, 06:12:35 PM
disagree entirely lynchboy it's to organised and too often for that. dates bac to 2003 for everyone's interest when armagh beat us in the qualifiers and t lyons kept the players back  going into the dressing room and let armagh in first half time at. dublin lost and were accused of being pussies - since then it's any row or aggro and everyone is in despite the consequences. absolutely no backing down regardless of what has to be done. and such a policy is biting us in the ass now.
the reality is though as well some teasm see us as fair game and engage in the off the ball stuff and verbals until someone reacts. but i'm pissing in the wind here trying to get a reasoned debate on that here. dublin and meath generally are tough physical encounters with some decent football, meath fans in general know their stuff so i usually enjoy the occasions not like some of the fans from some counties north of the border. both sets of fans weren't happy with what went on and it ruined the day and game.
the verbals off the ball from both sides yesterday started before the throw in, it's a nasty element of the game that appears to be univesal now. Caffrey has to get a grip- i heard strong talk from a very good source within the gaa there could be up to 10 suspensions between the 2 teams.

Ok Indiana - time for reasoned debate - I've been saying for a long time now that Dublin have a brilliant set of players who in all honesty could and should have won the AI 2005 - Perhaps in 2006 as well. Pillar is holding the team back - why does he not play to the teams strengths instead of trying to engage the opposition all the time. Now teams are meeting Dublin half roads looking for a row. And guess who's getting ALL the bad press ? Dublin !

jodyb

Thanks to Dublin and Meath we just got the most extensive coverage of GAA that I've seen on UTV since last years championship :P

it's generally agreed among the players as well really, that whatever happens they can't be seen to be backing down. th team's PR is bad as well- they are generally on bad terms with most of the media and believe the world is against them. as a result we get hammered when incidents like this happen. i'm not saying you should be kissing ass with the media but you can make it work for you too.
can't see them changing now. the reality is a complete clear out among the management is needed some have been there for 8 years now. there is no point in changing anything at this stage its too late this season. look when the management get involved in silly incidents, the players aren't going to act any different. discipline comes from the top down. i think some sections of the mangement have brought some really good thinsg to the setup but this siege mentality crap doesn't work and in turn just puts more pressue on the team.

Quote from: jodyb on April 21, 2008, 06:32:46 PM
Thanks to Dublin and Meath we just got the most extensive coverage of GAA that I've seen on UTV since last years championship :P

Ay you can trust them to show plenty of GAA this evening. One score from Newry, then full video of both main rows in Dublin game and of Whelan being targetted walking off. They've no problem paying whoever recorded it to get coverage of GAA when it suits a certain agenda. They can shove their argument about coverage costs up their holes.

doire na raithe

Although they might be doin it for the wrong reasons but in fairness to UTV, why shouldn't they be allowed to highlight the knackerism of Dublin GAA?

Eugene Magee on Newstalk. Hysterical nonsense.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2008, 08:12:24 PM
Eugene Magee on Newstalk. Hysterical nonsense.

What's he going over? He has a real go at Down U21 Conor Garvey in the Indo today, though his actions were disgraceful it has to be said.