Dublin Vs Meath

Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

Quote from: INDIANA on April 21, 2008, 10:20:53 AM
orangeman watch a rerun you feckin eejit- take a good look at the meath keeper he wasn't acting in self defence- both teams were equally culpable.
Hound -relax on the maurice comparisons it's one good game. i know him better than most and he's gifted but its the  top two inches that's his problem.
Have factor in how shite meath were - i mean they were embarrasingly bad.
still a few issues though like falling asleep again, poor discipline and still some key players bang out of form.

There is something nasty about this Dublin set-up that could see them implode again before the year is out. TOTALLY AGREE !

Indiana - most posters on this thread seem to be readily admit that the problem with Dublin is that their manager winds up the players, the backroom team, the supporters, the programme sellers, the people who make the tea ( as evidenced by the reaction of the Dublin supporter who threw the tea at Whelan ), the burger sellers, the stewards and everybody else involved to the extent that they are outwardly aggressive and threatening.

Dublin county board should arrange anger management for all of them and get rid of Pillar forthwith.

orangeman watch a rerun you feckin eejit- take a good look at the meath keeper he wasn't acting in self defence- both teams were equally culpable.
Hound -relax on the maurice comparisons it's one good game. i know him better than most and he's gifted but its the  top two inches that's his problem.
still a few issues though like falling asleep again, poor discipline and still some key players bang out of form.
orangeman is either an idiot or just on a wind up mission. Either way, just ignore.

Anyone who read my comments will see that I did not for one moment suggest Connolly was in Fitzgearld's league. But his style of play is very similar - languid, almost awkward, yet still very talented. Agree that its not difficult to figure out where Connolly's weaknesses are, but he should improve with age.

Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2008, 10:58:17 AM

Indiana - most posters on this thread seem to be readily admit that the problem with Dublin is that their manager winds up the players, the backroom team, the supporters, the programme sellers, the people who make the tea ( as evidenced by the reaction of the Dublin supporter who threw the tea at Whelan ), the burger sellers, the stewards and everybody else involved to the extent that they are outwardly aggressive and threatening.

Dublin county board should arrange anger management for all of them and get rid of Pillar forthwith.

f**k me, quote to end all quotes. you actually seem genuinely serious too.

just watched that video, Sheridens goal was a good one. But as a player he doesnt seem to be the kind of forward who can win his own ball and make oppportunties. Hes an acurate kicker but needs someone else to do the donkey work.

Quote from: Hound on April 21, 2008, 11:02:06 AM
orangeman is either an idiot or just on a wind up mission. Either way, just ignore.

Anyone who read my comments will see that I did not for one moment suggest Connolly was in Fitzgearld's league. But his style of play is very similar - languid, almost awkward, yet still very talented. Agree that its not difficult to figure out where Connolly's weaknesses are, but he should improve with age.

Is Pillar a liability or not ? Let's have a poll - so far everybody is saying that he is. I'm not winding you up - I'm making just making the point that Dublin's chances would be more improved with someone else in charge. And I don't think you can disagree.

he caused his awful bother juice in the first game in the leinster club championship when he was playing for senchalstown. i know that's not the same standard but i don't know why a guy of his size can't win his own ball - a short arse like sherlock would put him to shame in that regard. sheridan is  6ft 3 and 15 stone and he also wasn't marking a natural full back yesterday- i think farrell and o rourke will walk onto that meath team when they return.

For someone like Joe to win his own possession it has to be diagonal high balls coming across the square. Not this craic of Reilly/Crawford/Ward just driving the ball as far as they can and hoping for the best. Caveman stuff.

Quote from: passedit on April 21, 2008, 10:52:44 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NnOCndqPTMo

For those of us not at the game or didn't see Sunday Sport, thanks for that. Any chance u have de highlights of the Monaghan Westmeath game there and could put it up???

Well when the suspensions are handed out I'm nearly sure we won't try to wrangle out of it, and we'll take our medicine like we did with Brian Farrells suspension last year. In hindsight Russell did exactly the right thing looking at the bigger picture. It may have spoiled 1 game but it has sent out the message loud and clear. The day of the shemozzle is gone.

ildanach

I presume this talk of throwing teams out of the championship is just lads winding each other up. Fair enough suspensions will be handed out for the conduct in yesterdays game and rightly so.
But for conduct in a league game a teams participation in this years championship should not be an issue. You can not impose such a punishment / threat of such a punishment after the event-
However for next years league campaign, teams should be warned in advance that mass brawls will not be tolerated. Any team involved in a brawl will have 1 point deducted. A team involved in 2 brawls in a year 3 points. I would even go as far as to say a team involved in 2 brawls in 2 years should have 2 points deducted. These measures will ensure management insisit on their players being disciplined and also ensure the management can not say "that was someone different in charge last time etc..."
Brawls have become a scurge on the gaas reputation, the papers love them and they get a great opportunity to run the association down. This shit of lads running 70 yards to get involved even if they don't throw a punch makes it look far worse than it actually is.
As a game yesterday it was ruined when 4 got sent off so early. However paddy russell was right to send them off because those players got involved.
The captains of both teams should have been taken aside after and told to get their respective teams together and command they control themselves. this might help also. Another rule change i would like to see is a 14 yard free for any off the ball punches no matter where it occurs on the field
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

passedit

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 21, 2008, 11:41:38 AM
Quote from: passedit on April 21, 2008, 10:52:44 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NnOCndqPTMo

For those of us not at the game or didn't see Sunday Sport, thanks for that. Any chance u have de highlights of the Monaghan Westmeath game there and could put it up???

Sorry Croi, I googled that one as I hadn't managed to see Sunday Sport either. Have to say Whelan's dismissal looks a bit harsh, perhaps paying for previous sins?
Don't Panic

Whelos dismissal was in no way whatsoever harsh. He may have got away with worse before but that's hardly the point.

Imposerous

Perhaps Dublin used the game as a warm-up for the visit of Collingwood.

passedit

Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2008, 12:14:26 PM
Whelos dismissal was in no way whatsoever harsh. He may have got away with worse before but that's hardly the point.

I dunno jinxy looked more a push than a punch from that angle. I spose the ref had a better view than the camera?

BTW i'm no fan of the big child but to quote Roy Walker 'say what you see'
Don't Panic

It was a punch. look at his left hand.

sitting across from it- he lamped him. byrne hit him a nice one beforehand though- it's no excuse though whelan should know better.