Dublin Vs Meath

Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

26 man brawl after 5 minutes 2 sent off from each side. game ruined at that point. Whelan then hit someone in front of the ref and deservedly walked about 10 minutes later. Then some feckin idiot meath supporter threw something at him as he walked off the pitch. and there was nearly another punch up in the stand between fans- i won't defend whelan but that sort of shite from fans is equally not acceptable.
A very disappointing game of football overall. We were poor to average, meath were just shite. Fennell, flynn and connolly were best for dublin ably assisted by the likes of cullen ,moran and brennan -full back lline was solid too. Have to factor in how bad meath were though- i've been watching them for 20 years that's the worst i've seen them- we were a little better but not much.
Russell has to be the worst ref in the country -lost control after 5 minutes and i imagine every player must have been  ticked or booked by the end.- no consistency as usual.
All in all a typical div 2 game played by 2 teams who won't win Sam. In keeping with the rest of the teams in div 2. There is now too many incidents involving dublin and someone on the mangement end of things would want to get a grip All in all a forgettable afternoon.

Was Caffrey rowing with someone in the crowd? Some example he sets.

Quote from: INDIANA on April 20, 2008, 06:03:00 PM
26 man brawl after 5 minutes 2 sent off from each side. game ruined at that point. Whelan then hit someone in front of the ref and deservedly walked about 10 minutes later. Then some feckin idiot meath supporter threw something at him as he walked off the pitch. and there was nearly another punch up in the stand between fans- i won't defend whelan but that sort of shite from fans is equally not acceptable.
A very disappointing game of football overall. We were poor to average, meath were just shite. Fennell, flynn and connolly were best for dublin ably assisted by the likes of cullen ,moran and brennan -full back lline was solid too. Have to factor in how bad meath were though- i've been watching them for 20 years that's the worst i've seen them- we were a little better but not much.
Russell has to be the worst ref in the country -lost control after 5 minutes and i imagine every player must have been  ticked or booked by the end.- no consistency as usual.
All in all a typical div 2 game played by 2 teams who won't win Sam. In keeping with the rest of the teams in div 2. There is now too many incidents involving dublin and someone on the mangement end of things would want to get a grip All in all a forgettable afternoon.

Just heard the match report .My first thought was that the sending offs may have been the result multiple yellows (which are easy to pick up in the league ) but only 5 minutes for an all in brawl to start . The Gaa will have to investigate this match now as we are in for some summer if this shite is allowed to continue . At least you are honest enough to acknowledge the Dublin management have sort out their approach and attitude to the game .

ildanach

is is on sunday sport tonight??
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

Quote from: ExiledGael on April 20, 2008, 06:06:37 PM

How do you know what example he sets if a) You weren't at the game and b) you don't even know whether he was 'rowing' with someone in the crowd.

He wasn't rowing with anyone, he was pointing out the gentleman from Meath who threw a cup of coffee at Whelan, to the guards.

Did the Meath Fan get fecked out of the ground ?.

Just back. Jesus you'd swear there were lads attacking each other with knives there were that many sent off. To send 4 men off within a couple of minutes completely destroyed the game. Pointless analysing it any further. Neither team can draw anything worthwhile from it other than Joe Sheridan is too slow for intercounty football and Ciaran Whelan likes throwing punches (which we already knew). Thanks a bunch Paddy Russell. >:(

in fairness jinxy i saw a lot of handbags but i also saw some serious digs thrown. i wouldn't blame russell for sending 4 off - but i would comment on his general lack of consistency in applying the rules of the game in general. neither team were interested much in football today.

Quote from: heffo on April 20, 2008, 06:25:26 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on April 20, 2008, 06:06:37 PM

How do you know what example he sets if a) You weren't at the game and b) you don't even know whether he was 'rowing' with someone in the crowd.

He wasn't rowing with anyone, he was pointing out the gentleman from Meath who threw a cup of coffee at Whelan, to the guards.

Think it's quite obvious Caffrey doesn't set a great example discilpine wise. But that's fair enough to point out the sc**bag who threw that. Seen a lot of photos of the incident and didn't know how it started. Can see the GAA making a real example of this, as it's Dublin the papers are going to go overboard and a big reaction will be called for.

Quite funny Caffrey saying during the week that Dublin are not dirty. Is that six players in three games now?

Quote from: hardstation on April 20, 2008, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 20, 2008, 06:31:43 PM
Just back. Jesus you'd swear there were lads attacking each other with knives there were that many sent off. To send 4 men off within a couple of minutes completely destroyed the game. Pointless analysing it any further. Neither team can draw anything worthwhile from it other than Joe Sheridan is too slow for intercounty football and Ciaran Whelan likes throwing punches (which we already knew). Thanks a bunch Paddy Russell. >:(
Did they deserve to walk? Did they strike/attempt to strike another player?

Fair enough, pick one man from either side but 2? No one required treatment for any injuries suffered as a result of this "brawl" as far as I could see. Whelo threw a slap but I dunno what happened in the lead up to that. People will think when they read the report that it was absolute mayhem. Russell should have sent off one from either side and handed out a few yellows and let the game settle down. Instead it degenerated into a mess. When was the last time this happened in a competitive intercounty match?

There were plenty of punches thrown on both sides - don't know how he picked out Andrews & McAnerney - the other two were throwing haymakers to beat the band.

WRT Whelan incident (And I'll retract this if Sunday sport shows otherwise), but it seemed to me that Whelan got clocked and Russell didn't see it (Peader Byrne I think) he then slapped more than punched and seemed to make little contact - if I'm proved wrong by replays, I'll accept it. Madness by Whelan either way getting dragged down to their level though.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 20, 2008, 06:51:51 PM

Russell should have sent off one from either side and handed out a few yellows and let the game settle down. Instead it degenerated into a mess.

I'd agree with that

WRT Whelan incident (And I'll retract this if Sunday sport shows otherwise), but it seemed to me that Whelan got clocked and Russell didn't see it (Peader Byrne I think) he then slapped more than punched and seemed to make little contact - if I'm proved wrong by replays, I'll accept it. Madness by Whelan either way getting dragged down to their level though.

A strike or attempted strike is a red card offence so what are you complaining about?

When your players get involved in a brawl there's no point yapping when rules are applied.

Quote from: hardstation on April 20, 2008, 06:57:22 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 20, 2008, 06:53:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 20, 2008, 06:51:51 PM

Russell should have sent off one from either side and handed out a few yellows and let the game settle down. Instead it degenerated into a mess.

I'd agree with that
Why? Was there two players who deserved red cards for striking/attempting to strike and a couple of others who just pushed and/or shouted abuse at each other? Or did they all strike/attempt to strike and yous are just sugar-coating the dirt that your teams displayed today?
Stop talking out your arse HS it was the standard schemozzle. Most Refs would of dished out a couple of yellows and said "cop the f**k on will yous" next player will walk or if they where following the letter of the law sent off 6 + players for each side . Sending 4 off ruined the game and was over the top.

Whelo definitely deserved to walk . Russell seemed to lighten up in the second half .Anyone see Flynn getting floored in the second half and the Meath lad only got a yellow . Going by the standard in the first half 2/3 should of went in the second half