Pick an All Greats team of the best players you have ever seen in PERSON

Started by BallyhaiseMan, March 18, 2008, 11:41:24 PM

No1

Best team made up of players I've seen in person                                                   

1.  Mickey McVeigh

2. Kieran McKeever                    3. Mick Lyons                4. Paul Higgins

5. Barry Breen                           6. Henry Downey          7. Martin O'Connell

8. Anthony Tohill         9.  Ciaran McManus John McDermott

10. Maurice Fitzgerald                11. Greg Blaney             12. Padraig Joyce

13. Colm O'Rourke                    14. Brian Stafford           15. Mickey Linden

It would be great to be able to say I never saw Canavan and therefore can't pick him, but I'll have to be honest, I never liked the wee shite!!

Forgot all about McDermott!

passedit

Best team made up of players I've seen in person                                                   

1.  Mickey McVeigh

2. Tommy Mc Govern                 3. Dan Mc Cartan       4. Paul Higgins

5.  Tom  O Hare                         6. Barry Breen          7. Paddy Kennedy

8. Ambrose Rogers (sen)         9.  Colm Mc Alarney

10. John Purdy                         11. Greg Blaney             12. Oul James

13. Wee James                        14. Sean O Neill           15. Mickey Linden
Don't Panic

You wouldn't be a down man Passedit? by the way, who's paddy kennedy?

Did some joker just include Ciaran McManus? i thought friday was comedy day?

John O Leary
Marc O'Se
Seamus Moynihan
Tony Scullion
Conor Gormley
Kieran McGeeney
Martin O'Connell
Anthony Tohill
Dara O'Se
Maurice Fitzgerald
Greg Blaney
Oisin McConville
Mickey Linden
Peter Canavan
Colm Cooper

No1

QuoteDid some joker just include Ciaran McManus? i thought friday was comedy day?

Good lad.  Saw him twice and both times he was absolutely fantastic. 

Never seen Dara O'Se play in the flesh and there was no way McGrane was getting in there.  Maybe shoulda stuck big Conor Deegan in!

Quote from: Owenmoresider on March 19, 2008, 11:52:04 PM
Have to allow for the fact that I seen damn-all of the players already listed playing up to 96 or so, thanks to Sligo's splendid isolation in Division 4 and the all-conquering Connacht Championship of those times.

Anyway:

John O'Leary

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
Sean Óg de Paor
Glen Ryan
Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill
Darragh O'Se

Michael Donnellan
Ja Fallon
Ciaran McDonald
Colm Cooper
Peter Canavan
Padraig Joyce

Years of beatings by Galway left an impression I suppose. Never seen Maurice Fitz play, nor Linden.

Good man Owen - now that's what I call a right team! Respect for including Sean Og, Mannion and Ja - in their day they were the best around. (And it shows what a real confluence of talent Galway had in '98 - they were just so right that year.) Thought you might include Kevin Walsh also? Enormously underrated I suggest.

passedit

Quote from: Uladh on March 20, 2008, 10:42:32 AM

You wouldn't be a down man Passedit? by the way, who's paddy kennedy?

Whatever gave you that impression Uladh?

http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_all_stars_80s.html 1981

Anyway excluding those from my own county (the only credible way imo)

1 B Mc Alinden
2 M O Se
3 T Scullion
4 K Mc Keever
5 H Downey
6 L Harnan
7 C Gormley
8 E Mc Kenna
9 A Tohill
10 Spillane
11 L Tompkins
12 J Fallon
13 C O Rourke
14 M Fitzgerald
15 P Canavan
Don't Panic

umpire

Paddy Cullen Dublin
Robbie Kellagher Dublin
Jack Lyon Meath
Tom O' Hare Down Best defendet ever
Paddy Moriarty Armagh
Jack O'Shea Kerry
Martin O'Connell Meath
Colm McAlarney Down
Mick O Connell Kerry
Frank McGuigan Tyrone
Sean Purcell Galway
Matt Connor Offaly Brilliant forward of all time
Mickey Linded Down
Sean O'Neill Down
Eoin Liston Kerry

Jaysus umpire, did you see all them lads live? You might be the oldest poster so :)

Quote from: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2008, 04:33:50 AM
I find it interesting that not one person has selected Larry Tompkins.
too many marquee forwards - I had to leave out McDonald, I was also tempted to throw in Mattie Forde, Brolly on his day was pretty good too....

Maximus Marillius

Quote from: AZOffaly on March 20, 2008, 11:33:53 AM
Jaysus umpire, did you see all them lads live? You might be the oldest poster so :)

r u not scared shitless of the keyboard umpire ;)

Aghdavoyle

Gary Walsh

Kieran McKeever
Gerry McCarville
Martin O'Connell

Paudi O'Se
Liam Harnan
Glen Ryan

John McDermott
Jack O'Se

Pat Spillane
Greg Blaney
Michael Donnellen

Peter Canavan
Maurice Fitz
Gooch

umpire

Yes I seen all of those players that i picked. Mick O'Connell was a dream player. i seen him playing against Down in 60's

I have seen the 2 Micko's, Dwyer and Connell, playing but it was at the end of their careers so they dont make my team.
Have only seen Canavan "live" twice and he was subbed in both games :P so does he deserve mention.

There will naturally be a slight bias in my team to Kerrymen as they are the ones I have seen the most of over the last 30 plus years so I have named my favourite Kerry team and the pick of the rest.

My Kerry team
Charlie Nelligan
Marc O'Se
John O'Keeffe
Jimmy Deenihan
Paidi O'Se
Seamus Moynihan
Ger Lynch
Jack O'Shea
Darragh O'Se
Maurice Fitz