Premiership Current XI

Started by Dinny Breen, February 01, 2008, 12:44:46 PM

Rather than ruin the Gooners Thread as this will cause some debate this is my current Premiership XI, and it's very hard to look beyond the top 2 and an argument could could be made nearly all the Man U and Arsenal players....

1. Reina
2. Clichy
3. Vidic
4. Ferdinand
5. Sagna
6. Ronaldo
7. Fabregas
8. Cahill
9.Petrov
10. Tevez
11. Adebayor

12. Berbatov
13. Gallas
14. Anderson
15. Elano
16. Green

It depends If your going on the season so far. then I'd have Torres in the mix. I know he's been on a slight dip at the minute but I'd have him over Teves for the season.

Maybe an argument for Evra at left back, and even Robbie Keane up front. 

Reina at no1?
Hes a good keeper but would have Van Der Saar or even Given in front of him.

Gallas ahead of Ferdinand (him and Vidic would be an awesome pairing).

Not sure about Petrov but havent seen too much of him, has been quiet the few times I did see him.

Interesting that not one Chelsea player has been suggested yet. Not saying its wrong, just interesting considering how well they are doing.

Hank Everlast

1. James
2. Lescott
3. Vidic
4. Ferdinand
5. Evra
6. Ronaldo
7. Fabregas
8. Cahill
9. Bentley
10. Berbatov
11. Adebayor

12. Torres
13. richards
14. petrov
15. Tevez
16. Reina

1. Reina
2. Clichy
3. Dunne
4. Toure
5. Sagna
6. Ronaldo
7. Fabregas
8. Barry
9. Giggs
10. Torres
11. Adebayor

12. Berbatov
13. Gallas
14. Flamini
15. Vidic
16. Van der Saar

Quote from: his holiness nb on February 01, 2008, 01:01:31 PM
Reina at no1?

Not sure about Petrov but havent seen too much of him, has been quiet the few times I did see him.

Interesting that not one Chelsea player has been suggested yet. Not saying its wrong, just interesting considering how well they are doing.

Are you serious, is this the same Shay Given that couldnt get into the Newcastle team for a period?

B*llox, meant to put Torres in there, would move Tevez to the bench instead of Berbatov..

Quality of goalkeeping in Premiership is not great Van Der Sar reminds me of James McGarry, the quality in front of him makes it hard to assess him properly.

Good call on Dunne, very similar to Vidic and might even edge him out..

On current form (post-Christmas) I'd have Flamini instead of Fabregas.

Quote from: Minder on February 01, 2008, 01:12:32 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 01, 2008, 01:01:31 PM
Reina at no1?

Are you serious, is this the same Shay Given that couldnt get into the Newcastle team for a period?

Yes, certainly the most consistant if not best goalkeeper in the premier league for the past decade.

Stagmeister

This would be my XI:

1. James

2. Clichy
3. Gallas
4. Vidic
5. Evra

6. Ronaldo
7. Fabregas
8. Anderson
9. M Petrov

10. Anelka
11.Adebayor

12. Ferdinand
13. Bentley
14. Torres
15. Benjani
16. Van Der Sar

Anderson probably hasn't played enough to warrant a place but to be honest I don't think many central midfielders, apart from Fabregas, have been that impresive this year and I think Anderson has been excellent when he has played, particularly when playing against the other teams from the top 4.

Stagmeister

Quote from: his holiness nb on February 01, 2008, 01:45:39 PM
Yes, certainly the most consistant if not best goalkeeper in the premier league for the past decade.

If you were picking the best keeper from the premiership over the last ten years Given would be in with a shout but this season he has been poor enough

Stag, Given has been excellent every time I have seen him this year.

But on reflection I had forgotten about James, on current form he would get in ahead of Given and Van Der Saar.

Your team looks pretty formidable, Anderson as you say is questionable, many possible replacements there, other that that the only change I would make would be Anelka.
I'd stick Torres in there.

My intial comments about Petrov were actually thinking Stilian had been picked!!!
Forgot the City lad, he looks very good.

Rick O Shea

From a purely fantasy football point of view the team of the season is:

1. Green
2. Laursen
3. Ferdinand
4. Vidic
5. Lescott
6. Ronaldo
7. Fabregas
8. Gerard
9. M. Petrov
10. Adebayor
11. Teves

12. James
13. Chichy
14. Bentley
15. Elano
16. Berbatov

No Terry?
No Lampard?
No Rooney!!!! ???

Jaysus lads ye obviously havent been reading the tabloids, these guys are the worlds best!  ;D ;D ;D