Australian Government to FINALLY apologise to the Aboriginal people

Started by Aerlik, February 01, 2008, 11:04:05 AM

the 60s???????????? Surely the fcuk not.

Jaysus. Who were called the savages again?

Quote from: The Blegard on February 01, 2008, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 01, 2008, 01:08:34 PM
Do the oil company own the lands on which they're 'exploring'?

No. The local farmer does.

A farmer whose ancestors bought the land of the Natives at a fair price -yeah right.
As for shooting the Natives -I believe that prectice only finally ended in the 1930s - 60/70 years before it ended in the 6 Cos.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 01, 2008, 09:38:45 PM
As for shooting the Natives -I believe that prectice only finally ended in the 1930s - 60/70 years before it ended in the 6 Cos.

Up until the mid-1960s it was legal for landowners in Queensland to shoot the indigenous peoples found on "their" land.  Just like you would shoot a dingo or a kangaroo today.

I've just been listening to a story about a man who was taken into hospital as a child and was not returned to his family, instead forcibly fostered out to a white family.  He won $O.5m with $0.25m interest a couple of years ago.

Blegard, the story about Nookanbah became one of the most nationally significant Indigenous Rights cases in the 1970s. Men like Dicky Cooper (as quiet and unassuming a man as you'll ever meet) stood up to the proposed mining for oil in their country.  To this day you can see the survey lines where the dozers and graders scored massive miles-long scars into the ground.  One of the biggest insults was the proposal to dig up the local cemetry and but for the dignity of the local people and their supporters the miners would have succeeded.  Not helped by the attitude of the WA govt. of the time who authorised the police to beat the crap out of the protesters.  Nookanbah today is an alcohol-free community run as a massive cattle station - influenced by the actions on Wireless Hill station in the NT and around Victoria River Downs Station in that area too.

Any of you who have ever been to the UK and seen a Dewhursts' butchers shop or drunk Bovril, think of  the tyrannical Lord Vestey and read about what he did to the population of the NT and the Kimberley regions.  And sadly, we Irish are just as guilty of wrongdoing.  The Durack family of Co. Mayo especially the actions of Michael son of Patrick Durack have left a very nasty scar on the people of the same region.

Ironically where I'm working, the lease to mine on the aboriginal land has been negotiated by Andrew Forrest (Aus' wealthiest man?), the grand nephew of John and Andrew Forrest, the two men most influential in "opening up" the Kimberley region.  And we are next door to Mulga Downs, home of that other evil man, Lang Hancock - he of iron ore fame/infamy.

The simple fact is: the Aboriginal people were subjected to direct and indirect genocide.

The Blegard

Got this today. very mixed feelings on it.

AUSTRALIAN APOLOGY TO THE ABORIGINAL POPULATION

We apologise for giving you doctors and free medical care, which allows you to survive and multiply so that you can demand apologies.

We apologise on behalf of our forebears for having removed the children who constituted the "Stolen Generation" from poverty, disease, violence, a hopeless life style and for providing them with education, health and an improved life expectancy. They acted in accordance with the social morality of their time with compassion and care and believed they were doing the right thing. In hindsight we realise this was patronisingly wrong; they should have let nature take its course.

We apologise for helping you to read and teaching you the English language and thus we opened up to you the entire European civilisation, thought and enterprise.

We feel that we must apologise for building hundreds of homes for you, which you have vandalised and destroyed.

We apologise for giving you law and order which has helped prevent you from slaughtering one another and using the unfortunate for food purposes.

We apologise for developing large farms and properties, which today feed you people, where before, you had the benefits of living off the land and starving during droughts.

We apologise for providing secure sources of clean water where none existed previously.

We apologise for providing you with warm clothing made of fabric to replace that animal skins you used before.

We apologise for building roads and railway tracks between cities and building cars so that you no longer have to walk over harsh terrain.

We apologise for paying off your vehicle when you fail to pay the instalments.

We apologise for giving you free travel anywhere, whenever.

We apologise for giving each and every member of your family $100.00 and free travel to attend an aboriginal funeral.

We apologise for not charging you rent on any lands when white people have to pay.

We apologise for giving you interest free loans.

We apologise for developing oil wells and minerals, including gold and diamonds which you never used and had no idea of their value.

We apologise for ensuring you receive royalties on these commodities.

We apologise for developing Ayers rock and Kakadu, and handing them over to you so that you get all the money.

We apologise for allowing taxpayers money paid towards daughters' wedding ($8,000.00 each daughter)

We apologise for giving you $1.7 billion per year for your 450,000 people, which is $37,777.00 per annum per aboriginal man, woman and child.

We apologise for working hard to pay taxes that finance your welfare, medical care, education, etc to the tune of $1.2 billion each year.

We apologise for you having to approach the aboriginal affairs department to verify the above figures.  For the trouble you will have identifying the "uncle toms" in your own community who are getting richer and leaving some of you living in squalor and poverty.

We do apologise.  We really do.

We humbly beg your forgiveness for all the above sins.

We are only too happy to take back all the above and return you to the paradise of the "outback", whenever you are ready.

Ceol,Dole agus Ol

Chrisowc

Maybe this should be in the favourite movie lines thread.

What did the Romans ever do for us?
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

Star Spangler

Quote from: The Blegard on February 12, 2008, 09:54:35 AM

We apologise for giving you doctors and free medical care, which allows you to survive and multiply so that you can demand apologies.

We apologise on behalf of our forebears for having removed the children who constituted the "Stolen Generation" from poverty, disease, violence, a hopeless life style and for providing them with education, health and an improved life expectancy. They acted in accordance with the social morality of their time with compassion and care and believed they were doing the right thing. In hindsight we realise this was patronisingly wrong; they should have let nature take its course.

We apologise for helping you to read and teaching you the English language and thus we opened up to you the entire European civilisation, thought and enterprise.

We feel that we must apologise for building hundreds of homes for you, which you have vandalised and destroyed.

We apologise for giving you law and order which has helped prevent you from slaughtering one another and using the unfortunate for food purposes.

We apologise for developing large farms and properties, which today feed you people, where before, you had the benefits of living off the land and starving during droughts.

We apologise for providing secure sources of clean water where none existed previously.

We apologise for providing you with warm clothing made of fabric to replace that animal skins you used before.

We apologise for building roads and railway tracks between cities and building cars so that you no longer have to walk over harsh terrain.

We apologise for giving each and every member of your family $100.00 and free travel to attend an aboriginal funeral.

We apologise for not charging you rent on any lands when white people have to pay.

We apologise for developing oil wells and minerals, including gold and diamonds which you never used and had no idea of their value.

We apologise for developing Ayers rock and Kakadu, and handing them over to you so that you get all the money.

We apologise for allowing taxpayers money paid towards daughters' wedding ($8,000.00 each daughter)

We apologise for giving you $1.7 billion per year for your 450,000 people, which is $37,777.00 per annum per aboriginal man, woman and child.

We apologise for working hard to pay taxes that finance your welfare, medical care, education, etc to the tune of $1.2 billion each year.

We apologise for you having to approach the aboriginal affairs department to verify the above figures.  For the trouble you will have identifying the "uncle toms" in your own community who are getting richer and leaving some of you living in squalor and poverty.

We are only too happy to take back all the above and return you to the paradise of the "outback", whenever you are ready.

Wow.  It's hard to believe there are still people who think like that.  Even in Australia!

Quote from: Star Spangler on February 12, 2008, 01:51:19 PM
Wow.  It's hard to believe there are still people who think like that.  Even in Australia!
A horseshit article.
You'd swear no "outside settler, blow in, whatever you call them" Australian ever benefited from the welfare state. And that every native is creaming it off the system.
Read between the lines and most of the benefits listed look like pure tokenism from a guilty state.
If there hadn't been so much interference from outsiders towards the Aborigines they wouldn't need to be trying to patch things up so much.

But where you draw a line in giving back consessions to the natives ( talking about other countries as well, Native american, Maoirs etc) Nobody argues they were treated disgracefully but should 'blow in' or whatever have to pay back forever? Firing money at the problem dont always make it better

Where did this come from?

Mixed feelings???  You're quite obviously a bigot then.  Reminds me very much of Paisley's racist rants years ago about the ancestors of Protestant Ulster carving a civilization out of the bog that our island was.  Pretty sickening attitudes to have.

Well, Blegard, I'm not sure of your source but it is patently obvious that s/he is an absolute total fcukwit ignoramous.  Thanks for posting it, by the way, as it pretty much sums up the attitude of everyone I have met that has commented on the subject so far.   When I told them about the genocide against the Irish population during an Gorta Mor and the fact that many of modern day Gondwana-Land are actually descendents of survivors of that terrible period of Irish history, the look on their faces is a sight to behold.

There have been some interesting letters in the West Australian over the past few days and no doubt there will be more to follow, but what is interesting is the poll carried out in WA; the majority of the "non-migrant" (itself a contradiction) population are against an apology of any form and the majority of those in favour of the apology are recent migrants.

I eagerly await the government apology and think it will be a momentous occasion, just as (for the first time) the new Parliamentary session was opened by indigenous dancers.

We stop to remember the fallen of WW1 and WW2 and subsequent wars ever since, yet life carries on as normal as there will be no official time out to recognise the treachery against the indigenous people of this continent.  

The Blegard

Quote from: Rav67 on February 12, 2008, 04:08:33 PM

Mixed feelings???  You're quite obviously a bigot then. 

Where is the bigotory. The point is some of the figures are staggering. Make your own mind up

Ceol,Dole agus Ol

The Blegard

Quote from: ziggysego on February 12, 2008, 03:59:09 PM

Where did this come from?
Got it in an Email from a local and doubt that he wrote it as the spelling is correct and there are some big words. Smart enough to delete the forwarding history though
Ceol,Dole agus Ol

Nah, fuckit, Blegard, tell the knobjockey to give the facts not the fiction...

...And why shouldn't medical care be free to every man, woman or child in any country irrespective of where that country is?

...Bollix...they wanted to use that as an excuse to breed out the indigenous people.  'Tis ironic that the Catholic church was used as vehicles to expedite that white Australia policy.  And ffs, any peoples that can survive 400 years never mind 40,000 years in this environment must be pretty clued in as to how to adapt to this harshest of climates anywhere in the world.  You don't survive 50C+ heat by not knowing were to source food or water.

...But we don't apologize for murdering off many dozens of nations within the continent of Australia thus killing forever many dozens of unrelated indigenous languages (and see my post above about survival).

...what, every single home built for Aboriginal  people is destroyed?  Get a fcukin grip.  That is white-trash lies.  

...Law and order?   Good God, where the hell has this fcukwit been?  Obviously never saw the "Patriotic Aussies" in fine form at Mulaloo Beach on Jan. 26th. this year.  Again, 40,000 years would surely have eradicated the various indigenous had such blatant lies been true.

...again, 40,000 years...

...SHITE - ...ahem...40,000 years.

...getting boring...40,000 years.

...didn't need to.  They knew their various countries within the continent.

...oh no, not that one again...

...Yeah, right, of course it happens.

...yeah right, of course it happens.

...but it's ok to kill you to get you off the fcukin land

...dum dee dum dee dum

...and in the process, ruining your cemeteries, waterholes, poisoning your food sources...etc

...and why shouldn't they?

...yeah thanks for developing it so that your bus and plane loads of foreign tourists can come and trample all over our sacred country.

whaaaaaaaat?

...Bit extreme, that figure.  Perhaps you might look at your elected representives and demand that you are given the same care.

....Working hard?  If it were't for the resources in this country, Aus will still be a 2.5 world country.

...You might ask the same of you Parliamentary representatives you returned at the last election.

Well maybe just gullible then if you believe all that right-wing claptrap with figures pulled from thin air.