Who has played in London, for whom and when?

Started by irunthev, December 11, 2006, 06:01:28 PM

irunthev

Would be great to do a bit of a survey to find out who on this Board has played in London or knows anyone who has played in London in the past 20 years or so. There have been some big names over there from time to time.

Here's a few inter-county players from the past few years, all of whom were in London and all of whom also played inter-county football at home.

Tony Blake (Donegal), Finbar Cullen (Offaly), Tommy McDermott (Donegal), Charlie Harrison (Sligo), Brendan Egan (Sligo), Lar Molloy (Carlow), Shane McAnarney (Meath), John Costello (Laois), Jody Gormley (Tyrone), Mattie McGlennon (Tyrone), James McCartan (Down), John Duffy (Donegal), Colin Galligan (Westmeath), Barry Brennan (Galway), Tommy Maguire (Fermanagh), Adrian Farrell (Down), Ollie Murphy (Meath), Barry Cunningham (Donegal) and Peter Whitnall (Down).

john mcgill

Colm McKinistry (Armagh and all Star) James Mcartan (Down)

Dubh driocht

I played 2 games for Naomh Mhuire in 1982-know that is outside the 20 year rule butyou can't be ageist anymore- the guy that ran it was a decent spud called Pat Griffith(I think)-I think there was an O'Sullivan from Cork whose brother was a county player. Mighty craic-picked up from the c**k on Kilburn High Road in the back of a van and and I can't remember where we were dropped off. It was a dicey summer in London- Hyde park bombings when a horse ( called Sefton) and several soldiers(who very few remember the names of) were killed.I was staying in the Quex Road hostel and the NF put the windows in. Hard, honest football.

irunthev

Naomh Mhuire are struggling to survive now. Junior at the moment and very doubtful they will make the start of 2007. They played in two SFC finals in the 90s but had to give a walk over in the JFC this year.
Pat Griffin is still about although we don't see him at Ruislip that often anymore. He managed London for three years back in the 90s.
They are one of the real old clubs of London and it will be a great pity if they don't make it next year but the feeling is it will be 23 teams in London next year.
There is no comparison between the football played in the 80s and now in London. Back then there were county players everywhere and Irish players falling out of every door way. Now it is a real struggle and the quality is effected.

dodo

irunthev, what would be the circumstances of the lads now playing in London compared to when you first got involved ?

ie is there more students and professionals playing now or are things the same ?

Dubh driocht

Sorry to hear about Naomh Mhuire. Suppose we can't have it everyway:back then Ireland was economically poor and the road to London was well worn ,now, there's plenty of work here and the attractions of London are limited. However, there was a great pride in being Irish and a determination to keep the games going. Pat Griffin played a big part in it and ,irunthev,if you see him , tell him a Downman sends his regards.

Glensman

Hurled for Kilburn Gaels in London last year (2005). Beat in Championship semi by a late goal.

Would have loved to kick football as well but I found for me that GAA life in London was a tough one, long commutes (lived in south london and trained in Highgate)...then the matches were of course out in Ruislip.

London Gaels should be commended for keeping it going despite transport and the lure of other sports (and activities).

LilyWhiteAllright

Kilkenny's Andy Comerford won an all-ireland b with them

Lone Shark

Coming home pretty soon, but I've been playing football for Round Towers for the year, albeit not making the team except for injury or less important matches, what with me being useless and all. Wonderful bunch of lads though - could not recommend them highly enough to anyone thinking of playing ball over here. There is an overlap with Sean Treacys hurling club, though I'm too long out of hurling to go back to that. I know all about Glensmans situation - I've been trekking from North London down to Mitcham to train for the last few months, it does take a lot out of you.

In terms of superstars, there haven't been any with ourselves this year - I know John Carroll of Tipp was over taking a few training sessions for Treacys, while we had Mickey Ned O'Sullivan help us out for a few sessions, but player wise there's no digging for stars goes on here. Brendan Egan of Sligo played here a few years ago, but that's pretty much the height of it.

That kildare lad mckenzie smyth plays over there at the mo.
James rafter played over there '05 and made the mayo panel last yr

irunthev

Stuart McKenzie Smith is still here but injured at the moment. He plays for the same club as the Hehir brothers (Clare) and Damian Healy (Westmeath). Damien McKenna (Monaghan) was also with them this last few years but opted to play for Contibret this year.

James Rafter was with Tara was well when he was here. A very fine footballer.

Johnny Niblock from Derry is another player who springs to mind who was here lately.

As far as standards are concerned, there is no comparison with 20 years ago. The volume of players isn't here and by default the standard drops as well. 20 years ago intermediate was as good as senior is now.

Back then the car park at the ground used to be filled with transit vans full of boys off building sites, now the vast majority of new players coming in are over for a career move or to study and most aren't planning on staying more than two or three years. As a result many of them aren't as connected to clubs as they used to be because they aren't relying on teams for work and digs. I guess it's what they call progress... those on the inside in London though are failing to see the progress.

Damian Healy (Westmeath)

Jaysus. Is Healy trying to break the single season record for clubs or what?  ;D

St. Mary's, Salthill and that London club all within 12 months.

irunthev

I think he will be somewhere else by February and it won't be in London. A marriage of convenience I think.

Rossi

Played with Wembley Gaels in the late 80's, mostly a Cavan/Roscommon team.Pat & Joe Lynch of Drung fame were two of the lads running the club at the time.Trained and played in Northwick Park ,socialised in St Joe's club Wembley among other venues(Royal Oak Harlesden,Willesden Junction,Mean Fiddler etc)Jaysus there was great craic to be had then,although of course there was no going to the pub after games on a Sunday as they were shut til 7.(with a few exceptions)

BTW. Joe has since being involved in the setting up of Harlesden Harps who won the British Junior championship last year.

'played' 2 games with john mitchels in 93ish. It was too much hassle between the pints. IntoDwest had a longer carrer with them