Hello from Korea

Started by kingkenny7, January 20, 2008, 07:24:46 AM

kingkenny7

Hello, mhan and ghirls..

I'm a Korean Celtic FC fan but with my friends, I could know about GAA but not specific.
Someday I could find myself who just wanna see Gaelic football but I have nowhere to learn the rules and to see games..
(Same problem occured when I try tae learn Gaelic language..)

I'm livin in Korea, ma military service left 7 month..
So, hope learn something from this forum and wanna enjoy whole chat.. ;)

its all MH fault for tyrone getting knocked out of the mc kenna cup, so theres not much to talk about.

but all these piss takers started new treads, starting to feck me of.

rollon on the championship, then we have decent stuff to debate,argue, piss take and wine people up about

Hello Korea,

Here is the vote from Ireland.

First we want to tell you about our country.  Like Korea there is a North and South, or if you like an upper class and a lower class. This is not reflected in how rich they are but the food the eat and the height they grow to from good living.  For example, in the deepest south they have a fella that plays for Kerry and he is about 6'8" tall and if ye little Koreans were to play against the likes of him you would never even see the ball let alone play with it.

The Nordies (Men from the North) are more of a way of custom as yourselves.  Some of them, particularly from an area around Crossmaglen have been in the army since they were 14 but now have finished their time.  This has been very beneficial to them and they brought their policy of shoot on sight of goal to Croke Park (Our National Arena) and won an All-Ireland, once, and once only.  Everyone was shouting for them that day and they had a very good player called Francie (Frank) Bellew who would have patrolled the border between North and South Korea as well as he patrolled the 20 metre line that day.

In the middle of the country then we have Dublin.  It is really Leinster (a province) but the Dub's think that they are Leinster if you know what I mean.

There is a common thread then between the top of the country, the bottom of the country and the middle of the country and it is this.  All of them think that the GAA revolves around a football.  Not so.  See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurling  This is the real GAA.

The GAA crosses all divides. Some people say (but very few) that we are catholic church associated and as such are, well not really racist, but something like that and if someone from another religion joins our clubs they are forced out of it.  This is complete hogwash.  Smart men in Ireland know full well that the parish priests associated themselves with the gaa rather than the GAA associating themselves with the church.  This came about because Bishops wanted to throw in the ball at huge big games, the real purpose being to get to know what they called their "Flock".  Very soon their flock was reduced to Tipperary and Kilkenny and Kerry and where they used to be a representative called The Parish Priest on every gaa club committee, well not alone on it, but in the position of chairman, that situation is almost gone today and El Padre has moved on to the Golf Clubs of Ireland.  The legacy is that we are thought to be a religous association which is just plain stupid to consider if you saw Clare and Cork (Seaside Counties from whence they come inland they loose the head) running out on the field to shake hands with each other before a game starts.

In my own county the only function of a priest these days is to issue last rites and I don't want to offend anyone with that remark.  That is not to say if you are ever in Ireland you should not drop in to some club for a game of stickball, you will be more than welcome.  All clubs are equal in terms of how you will be welcomed to join as a member and enjoy the craic. There is no point in me being dishonest and I would prefer if you took up the hurling.  They have tried everything on this big lad from Kerry and I wouldn't be surprised if they tried to import some little nipper that could run in and out betwen his legs and catch him when he hopped the ball.  Resist, Resist. It is not worth it at all.
유혹을 저항하고지 말라,Dessie에 아니 말하십시요   It is like the custom in your neighbouring country, if you are seen to offer anything (to players) without consulting the great one you will end up on the wrong end of the stick (local expression) with old men who would have died for the gaa before accepting a cent.

So there you have it, or at least some of it.

Other than that all I can say is, as in the imortal words of Jon Kenny, a funny man from Limerick would you believe, when he said, "Go out and enjoy yourself.