Great New Bands

Started by thejuice, December 21, 2007, 12:07:19 AM

Anyone want to post some new bands that you think are worth a listen.
4 new bands that have caught my eye/ear are Era Vulgaris, Million Dollar Reload, The Answer (all Irish) and Airbourne (Aussies).

http://myspace.com/airbourne   : Airbourne sound exactly like AC/DC but have songs that beat anything the DC have released since the early 80's.
Recommended Track: Runnin' Wild

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendID=13235015
Era Vulgaris would fall in the prog-metal catagory, their debut What Stirs Within is a great album, varied in its approach, exploring different themes. Sound like a cross between Led Zeppelin and Megadeth.
Recommended Track: Harmonic Discontent

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendID=57331386
Milion Dollar Reload take their sound from Guns N' Roses, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith and Poison. They sound great and have already opened for Alice Cooper and Ex-Gn'R drummer Steven Adlers new group.
Recommended Track: Livin' In The City

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=32650443
The Answer are very much in the classic rock vein. Borrowing bits from Led Zep, Free, The Who, Thin Lizzy. They opened for The Who in Cork, Dublin and Belfast earlier this year.
Recommended Track: Keep Believin'

the green man

Probably not a new band as such, but  'The Decemberists' are quite good

westmayo

Ah come on Gs man as long as I have been on this board your band are on the go hardly new. But my vote goes to fight like apes a

I like the bauld Ham Sandwich meself

http://www.myspace.com/eathamsandwich

They are great craic live. it seems finally irish music is becoming more than moaney holes with guitars!

Quote from: westmayo on December 21, 2007, 02:34:17 PM
Ah come on Gs man as long as I have been on this board your band are on the go hardly new. But my vote goes to fight like apes a

Ah but we now have two new members......now a 7-piece so you could say we're new!!  :)

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 21, 2007, 03:13:57 PM
They are great craic live. it seems finally irish music is becoming more than moaney holes with guitars!

100% agree, I remember getting shouted at for saying Damian Rice was dull and just not very interesting. Same with all the other 100's of moaning Michaels who think strumming away slowly on an Acoustic guitar crying like they're on the verge of death gives them credibility. Rock music is allowed to be fun you know!

Another fantastic IRISH band called Glyder,
http://www.myspace.com/glyder

there are loads of good Irisih bands that that arent getting a chance, which is a sad, what was the last Irish band to do well in this country let alone anywhere else? Aslan? We really dont give our own talent much of a chance, radio seems too keen to give US and UK artists nearly 100% of the airtime

behind the wire

He who laughs last thinks the slowest

DrinkingHarp

The Redwalls based out of Chicago. I don't really care for too many new bands but these guys are good.

Cross between Beatles, Tom Petty and such- good music not head shrilling rap or techno.

Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

A Little Bitter - http://www.myspace.com/alittlebittermusic

Some of yis might like these lads, they're from up North. Catchy pop rock tunes, they have just released their second album.

The next big things to come out of the North are:

And So I Watch You From Afar
General Fiasco
In Case of Fire

So watch this space kids.....

The ASIWYFA gig last weekend in the Mandela will no doubt become the stuff of legends - the album's not bad either. The jury's still out on Geneal Fiasco. ICOF are pretty decent but i haven't seen tham in a while.

As for other music from the North, for me it's The Lowly Knights, Panama Kings, Kowlaski and Foy Vance. Cashier #9 also seem to be making the right noises at the minute.

The Juice - you're a bit old skool in your musical tastes!