As Whelan just fouled
When will we ignore their oul bluster?

Dessie you have to admire
His resilience seems never to tire
But he took on our board
Put his men in a Ford
And Jaysus this limerick is dire.

Any more?

Winners - Kingdom AS USUAL
Losers - Rebels AS USUAL

QuoteWinners - Kingdom AS USUAL
Losers - Rebels AS USUAL

How sweet it is to read that :P

Newbridge Exile

Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 29, 2007, 11:26:47 PM
QuoteWinners - Kingdom AS USUAL
Losers - Rebels AS USUAL

How sweet it is to read that :P
Winners -GPA
Losers- Everyone Else

Quote from: ONeill on November 29, 2007, 11:04:34 PM
In Armagh they'll want to forget
The year just past, I'll bet.
Hearty let slip,
Big Joe jumped ship
And Oisin's wee book was pure cat.

In Kerry twas same as before
Some found it a horrible bore
The Star found the net
As Dec and Sam met
Whilst the rest of us cried 'no more!'

The Dubs got us all in a fluster
Yet just Leinster was all they could muster
Pillar, he growled
As Whelan just fouled
When will we ignore their oul bluster?

Dessie you have to admire
His resilience seems never to tire
But he took on our board
Put his men in a Ford
And Jaysus this limerick is dire.

Any more?

Did you not make up a verse about your beloved Tyrone, Appealing Bans, Getting the Shit kicked out of you  by meath,

I think we were one of the losers. I don't care who won. :D

Next year will be different, the Faithful lads said,
As 2006 we did put to bed.
We'll train, and we'll run and we'll burst a gut sore,
To make sure we become a power once more.

In Hurling and Football, there's few that compare,
in making the best of resources so spare;
In olden times past, we've battled with skill,
in spite of our size, great Giants to kill.

Kerry, Kilkenny, Cork, Limerick and Clare,
have fallen to Offaly's courage and flair.
We've hassled and harried, and put to the sword,
some counties who'd rather have us ignored.

But all that was past, and the recent years showed
that the Faithful lads carried that hunger no more.
So for 2007 we all did heartily say
Let's rediscover the fire and carry the day.

Sadly, great words and bar-room pledges and bluster,
are easy to say and fade like the snow of last winter
Our Footballers struggled in the league with Pat Roe,
and 4 goals from the Rossies meant Division Four.

Our Hurlers gave brief hope in the league, it's true
As McIntyre culled his squad like a herd with tongue blue,
Victories came in the Deise and more,
but relegation loomed with Limerick's huge score.

And so to the summer, with resentment abrew,
As thoughts of those word spoken, so hollow anew.
In Portlaoise on a beautiful bright summers day,
The big ball saw Carlow destroy, oh hurray.

The hurlers came out in the subsequent game,
in order to frighten the Cats not so tame.
For 35 minutes it all looked so well,
But Kilkenny found second gear, and it all went to hell.

Pat Roe's men took on Dublin next out,
'At least we'll have fight, of that there's no doubt'
But what happened that day, will live long in mind's eye,
As Offaly rolled over, laid down and died.

To make matters worse, if such a thing could be said,
Or championship season was equally dead.
To pay for our tumble from two down to four,
'twas shut in our face the Qualifier Door.

To Aughrim instead to face Micko's young pups,
In that farce of a tourney, the Boy Wonder Cup.
The Faithful were barely able to raise a small trot,
As the Garden boys showed that for them 'twas a lot.

So to early pastures our big ballers went,
With many fine curses and p*ssing into the tent.
The rumours mill starter, as it does every year,
Sure how could they play? They were all full of Beer.

The hurlers endeavored to flog a dead horse,
But despite a good start, it soon got much worse.
Unlucky to lose against a gallant Tipp side,
The Rebels from Cork slapped their backside.

The final game mattered little, what a pitiful lark,
As just as bad Dublin came to Tullamore park.
There were more players and subs and management teams,
Than fans of the sides, blue bloods or green.

But amidst all this mourning and gnashing of teeth,
All is not lost, we're still on our feet.
Our young 21's gave hope in both codes,
reaching 2 Leinster finals, and battling in both.

We never stay down for manys the day,
Our pride will still lift us, we hope and we pray
So forget foul '07, and get in the beer,
And tell us again, '08 is our Year!!

For Tyrone the lads took a year out
Drinking fine ales, whiskey and stouts
Amidst the  craic and the banter
they took Ulster at a canter
But flunked against the county of louts

As for Armagh Big Joe said Goodbye
"must be Grimley" Mc Geeney did cry
But the GPA man
was wrong on this wan
and huffed for a slice of Kildare pie

Well Kerry had all the luck
Banteys army had left them well shuck
But the star shone again
and left Cork in wile pain
and The viewers  bored to f**k.

A savage effort AZOffaly.  ;D (first emoticon of 2007)

Do all of these posts need to rhyme?
I'm not very good and I dont have the time.

woohoo!  ;)

Is it that time of the year again? Good men.

Sorry - it is iambic pentameter.

Is IT that TIME of YEAR agAIN? Good MEN.

Or you can call it gas meter.

Good man Az, there's a place for you now on the Scór team, now that the rest of your body is beyond sport.  ;)

Are Scór lads entitled to the grants?