Down Players Vote AGINST Strike!

Started by Seany, November 20, 2007, 02:34:24 PM

Thanks, believebelive.

Quote from: believebelive on November 20, 2007, 05:37:25 PM
The one year that the GPA did actually ask players to pay a subscription there was a dramatic fall in the numbers of members.

Says it all.

Dubh driocht

Quote from: AFS on November 20, 2007, 05:31:18 PM
Jesus they might actually win a game next year then, as long as one of the two that voted for the strike wasn't Benny C.

They won one more championship game than their neighbours

As so often in the past Down have led by example, i would expect no less on this issue. Well done lads, even if you dont win a game next season, you have served the county well.

Seany

I hope DOwn players read this thread and realise just how much they have connected with ordinary GAA people onthis issue.  Fair play to Ross Carr.  He probably told them that they were Down, winners of 5 All irelands and they didn't win those by striking.  He would also have pointed to the great Kerry team who have said they're not going to strike also. And Mickey harte who has made it clear that he is standing firm also.  What do all these teams have incommon?  All Irelands.  No coincidence.  Time for other managers to follow suit.  Imagine the GPA telling the county managers to keep quiet.  Did you ever hear the like of it in your life? BTW after Banty's comments, I hope Monaghan get the shite beat out of them this year.

Still no link , havent heard anything on the press either  ???

gaagaa

Quote from: Seany on November 20, 2007, 02:34:24 PM
Last night, Down players took a vote of their own and voted 38 - 2 NOT to Strike. 

will down supporters notice the difference? ;D

on a serious note, fair play to them.  i dont think down are as far away as some people seem to think

QuoteLast Updated: Wednesday, 21 November 2007, 10:28 GMT 

Down footballers against strike 

Ross Carr's Down squad are strongly against the strike plan
Down's football squad is understood to have voted overwhelmingly against the Gaelic Players' Association's decision to go on strike in the New Year.
The Down players met to discuss the issue on Tuesday and it is believed that they voted 35-2 against the GPA's strike stance.

The Down vote will be regarded as a major blow to the GPA.

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has said that he will field a team in the New Year, even if a strike does go ahead.

Looks like it's official then.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7105316.stm

Seany

You heard it here first.  And remember customers; who at this stage are against the strike?

Kerry - 32 All Ireland Champions
Down - 5 All irelands
Crossmaglen Rangers Players - 4 All Irelands.

Anyone see a pattern??

Quote from: Seany on November 21, 2007, 04:16:06 PM
You heard it here first.  And remember customers; who at this stage are against the strike?

Kerry - 32 All Ireland Champions
Down - 5 All irelands
Crossmaglen Rangers Players - 4 All Irelands.

Anyone see a pattern??
No

QuoteStill no link , havent heard anything on the press either

I missed the bit where you took this back...

Maybe he doesn't need to!  Breaking news from rte.ie

QuoteDown football squad back GPA stance
Wednesday, 21 November 2007 17:05

The Down senior football squad have issued a statement denying reports that they had voted to oppose any GPA strike action.

Reports claimed that the panel met yesterday where the squad voted 35-2 against taking strike action, should the current dispute between the GAA and GPA come to that.

However, the panel insist those reports are untrue.

A statement released on behalf of the players said: 'The Down football squad supports the majority decision of the GPA strike ballot and while, like all other players, we hope that this action can be averted, we will be supporting the GPA stand.'

and of course, on bbc.co.uk almost half an hour earlier...........

QuoteDown footballers back GPA stance  
Last Updated: Wednesday, 21 November 2007, 16:42 GMT 

Ross Carr's Down squad insists that it supports the GPA stance
The Down football squad has denied reports that the panel had voted to oppose any GPA strike action.
A statement from the Down panel said that the squad "supports the majority decision of the GPA strike ballot".

"While, like all other players, we hope that this action can be averted, we will be supporting the GPA stand," added the Down players statement.

It had been widely reported that the Down players had voted 35-2 against strike action.

The Down players' statement will be an immense relief to GPA officials.

Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 21, 2007, 05:38:16 PM
And on hoganstand early this morning

Eh, No. Maybe you should read what i have just posted again. Hoganstand still don't have the updated story.

Cloc Mor

Where has all this crap about the vote against the GPA strike come from?  Seany obviously.  But it shows how closely the HS follow our site here that they even pick up our threads and use them as their own.   ;)

Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 21, 2007, 06:07:30 PM
from http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/1121/down.html

The Down senior football squad have issued a statement denying reports that they had voted to oppose any GPA strike action.

Reports claimed that the panel met yesterday where the squad voted 35-2 against taking strike action, should the current dispute between the GAA and GPA come to that.

However, the panel insist those reports are untrue.

A statement released on behalf of the players said: 'The Down football squad supports the majority decision of the GPA strike ballot and while, like all other players, we hope that this action can be averted, we will be supporting the GPA stand.'

That's what i posted!
(Oh, and hoganstand have now caught up as well!)