Soccer goals that are overrated...

Started by tintin25, October 03, 2007, 04:59:37 PM

tintin25

Quote from: MauriceMalpas on October 04, 2007, 10:39:46 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 04, 2007, 10:33:49 AM
Ronnie Whelan's shin volley v USSR 1988 Euro championships.
True but the way he launched himself into the air to volley was spectacular so it overriides the shining.

I personally thought this goal was a cracker! As I say, the Ricky Villa goal stands out for me as being seriousley overrated! They made it out as if he beat 5 men having run from the half-way line or something!!! He beat about 1 1/2 with a basic dribble.

turk

The one also by Ryan Giggs in the 99 cup replay where the arsenal lads gave him an escort to bring him nearer to the goals without kicking him!!

QuoteEven though it is one of my favourite goals of all time because of what it meant...Cantona's winner V Liverpoo in the 1996 Cup Final was a complete fluke.

Hardly a fluke, moreso down to the fannys in defence for Liverpool who seemed afraid of the ball on its way to goal.  Think John Scales or somebody was on the line and you would have swore it was a cannon ball coming at him.  But the technique was amazing.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=R2qzuJ1pgOM

Quote from: ONeill on October 04, 2007, 06:59:42 PM
Jays did ye ever see this before?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IN521ptiURo&NR=1

Jaysis never saw that before,but none of the advertising hoardings went into the goal so can't be considered for overrated soccer goals ;)

nashville

Michael Owen's has always annoyed me.. he may have ran from half way, but he just ran round the outside of 2 defenders falling over their zimmerframes.. but i suppose when age and the game are taken into consideration it was good. But he got sports personality of the year for scoring that goal, thus i find it over-rated.