CORK V KERRY MUNSTER ALL IRELAND SENIOR FINAL

Started by never kickt a ball, August 20, 2007, 02:05:14 AM

How many Board Posters were actually at the All Ireland Final?

Yes
34 (40.5%)
No
50 (59.5%)

Total Members Voted: 84

There's nothing that pisses me off more than a GAA "journalist" that cannot get simple, simple facts right. The fact that it was only the 2002 semi final (yes, that recent) that he mananged to get wrong makes it worse.

This McConville shyster is typical of the new generation of GAA "jopurnalists" that couldn't tell their a-hole from their nostril.

Unoriginal, uninspiring clap-trap ::) ::) ::)

QuoteIT seems winning the Sam Maguire isn't as hard as it used to be.

What a joke?  Youse Nordie boys need to be more challenging of your local journalism - ffs, I'm surprised he hasn't stooped so far as to insist on an all-star for McCloy.   ::)

Apologies for stooping to the vernacular drici.  ;)

From today's Gaelic Life, and the Kingdom folk were complaining of being unloved (though I think I'm going to be sick  ;))!

Jarlath Burns
Last Sunday's final wasn't up to much as a spectacle but no-one can deny that Kerry are a magnificent team

Kingdom set for long reign

OK hands up! How many of you enjoyed the All Ireland final? No, I don't mean the football, but the fact that it was as pukey a final as you'll ever find, filled with errors, stoppages, fouls, congestion, frees and a fair bit of ugliness too. If you sat watching the fare with an air of smug 'I told you so' satisfaction on your face, well then you can join the 'Puke Football is Everywhere and Yousones can do it as well as Usuns' Club. (This is just a working title).

Just imagine for a moment if either Armagh or Tyrone had been playing on Sunday. Uproar. It would have been 'a sad day for 'our' game', as if we up north had somehow stolen a jewel from its rightful owners. Now, I don't doubt that Ulster teams can serve up fairly attritional stuff at times, but not even the ropiest of encounters could come close to the mess which sprawled out over Croke Park field on Sunday. At least when northern teams play, both  teams turn up and show a bit of gumption, and there is a basic understanding that if you want to keep out goals, there should be a member of your team (traditionally the goalkeeper) actually on the goalline. As they say in our partof the country, Cork were cat; and looked totally stranded during the key points in the match, but it would be unfair to blame them alone for this result. The fact is they weren't given even a chink of light to open up, to get possession or to get into any sort of rhythm.

So how did Kerry beatCork so easily? Well, firstly, they looked at the strong points in the Cork team and none come as strong as Nicolas Murphy. High fielding, long striding, influential and inspirational; he is the engine room in the rebel machine and defines how Cork play. He had to be stopped one way or the other. Kerry employed a fairly tried and trusted strategy as follows. Firstly, their own kickouts went to the opposite side and well away from Murphy, starving him of vital opportunities to get an early clean catch in. Then for the Cork kickouts, everyone bar the kitchen sink came down on top of him; half backs, half forwards, corner forwards; they all went up and came down in a big heap, but the ball was in the next parish by this time. Negative? Yes. Cynical? Sort of. Effective? efinitely.

When you're Nicolas Murphy and so much of your game revolves around catching the kickout; once this dimension is ripped out of your inventory, the rest of your repertoire looks quite bleak, since nothing gives you energy and inspiration like a high catch in the middle of the field. Secondly, Kerry worked hard. Incredibly hard. Give me ten teams with all the game plans and fancy players in the world and I'd swap them all for an outfit with a strong work ethic and an ability to do what they're told. Half forwards tracked back, lost causes were chased and every spilled ball was lapped up with relish.Kerry won this game in their half-back line. The whole team operated out of that area and everything started from there. When they emerged from half back, there were options north south east and west and they could even afford a pass or a one two before they slipped it into Gooch or Donaghy.

And thirdly. Kerry as a team are simply magnificent. When you look at them in full flow on All-Ireland day and how they can dismantle teams, it just brings into sharper focus the sheer tenacity, sticking power and invention of Tyrone and Armagh, the only two teams to beat them this decade in Croke Park. Despite what we might say about Kerry and how we have been hurt recently by their superior attitude, the fact remains that we all love them really. It's a beautiful county; full of stunning scenery, amazing sunsets, jaunting cars, Kate Kearney's cottage, traditional stuff, a gaeltacht and a football tradition that defies logic.

We all love Gaelic football (well anyone who matters), but in Kerry, it's more than that. They deserve our praise. Colm Cooper is just a sensational player. He is unbelievable. Never has a bad game. His goal, which was the platform for the victory, showed courage, skill, accuracy, but most of all courage. To head on the blind side into the rising Alan Quirke and Graham Canty, get a punch in and score a goal, is one thing, but when you're giving them about a foot apiece and four stone, it shows the measure of this man. He is impossible to mark and can play off the equally outstanding Kieran Donaghy with ease. Next year might be different, but I suspect it will be much the same. Kilkenny and Kerry going for three in a row. We have a year to stop them. I fear it might take a generation.

The Sledger

Sides as dominant as Kerry usually inspire massive levels of resentment but the Kingdom seem immune to this syndrome

Baffling Lack of Begrudgery

A largely uneventful summer of football came to an end with a whimper last week, as the All-Ireland championship coughed, rather than roared, to a conclusion. Kerry won yet another Sam Maguire, an event about as surprising as Jim Davidson being booted off Hell's Kitchen for being offensive, and the nation yawned.

It's no fault of the Kingdom that they happen to be better than anybody else at producing quality footballers on a consistent basis, but that doesn't make the endless procession of victory parades in Tralee and Killarney any easier to watch for the rest of the country. Yet we all have a grudging admiration for the men in green and gold; their hunger and desire for success never seems to be sated, no matter how many Celtic Crosses they win. It's a phenomenon, because it seems that other counties struggle to maintain any sort of incentive to win football's biggestprize once they have won a singleSam, never mind two.

Kerry are, of course, blessed with an abundant amount of natural footballers, but it seems their drive is not to compare themselves with other contemporary teams, but instead they measure their worth against that of great Kingdom sides of thepast.

It could be viewed as arrogant that the only people they consider worthy rivals are their forebearers, but in truth it's hard to argue with them. Tyrone and Armagh were temporarily the equals, and sometimes the betters, of Kerry since the turn of the century, but even the most ardent Red Hand or Orchard fan would find it hard to make a case that they will be perennial rivals to the Munster giants. Both Ulster teams have faded in the past couple of seasons, through injury, age, or lack of personal motivation, while the relentless Kerry machine has steamrolled on, adding to their already record total of All-Irelands. Yet it's another curiosity that, despite their all-conquering dominationof football, they're not universally hated.

Manchester United became routinely despised when they were lording it over everyone in the 90s, and Chelsea became the new bête noir for soccer fans when their millions bought success in recent years. But Kerry have never really provoked the same kind of concentrated begrudgery and dislike, unlessyou're from Cork.

There has always been a deep admiration for their football, and a fondness for their star players that would never occur elsewhere. Think about it, you hate the best footballers in your rival counties, because usually they're the ones who routinely inspire your defeats. Peter Canavan is one of the greatest forwards of his generation, arguably of all time, yet he was not only greatly unloved outside Tyrone, but actively despised by sections of Ulster and beyond. Compare that to Maurice Fitzgerald, another of Gaelic football's finest ever players, but who would be much more fondly looked upon. Obviously it comes down to more than county, and different personalities and demeanours are also a factor, but there's no doubt that the Kingdom stars have received more favourable,
rose-tinted, soft focus reminiscing than other talented footballers of yore.

The Kerry golden years team are rightly revered, to the point where even Pat Spillane is still remembered as a great footballer, rather than just a loudmouth. Men like Jack O'Shea, Eoin Liston, Mikey Sheehy and Ogie Moran are legends, and few would argue about their status. Yet other fine footballers like Colm O'Rourke, Brian Stafford, Mick Lyons, Larry Tompkins, Shea Fahy, Dinny Allen and Conor Counihan have nowhere near that level of admiration, despite their achievements.

No Dub either, from the 70s or 80s teams, is as universally liked. Brian Mullins, Jimmy Keaveney, Tony Hanahoe, Kevin Moran, and Bernard Brogan were all worshipped in the capital, but never got the same love their great Munster rivals did. It is, no doubt, an endless source of pride (and more than a little arrogance) for Kerry people that they instil such reverence and awe in the other 31 counties.

The fact is, Kerry have an almost mythological status within the GAA. They are expected to if not win every football championship, then at least be either in the shake-up at the end, or must be beaten if any team wants to win the Sam Maguire. Any All-Ireland that is won by beating the Kingdom in either the semi-final or final is almost a double All-Ireland. Yes, cliche it may be, but then so many things about Kerry have become hackneyed because only the faces and styles of jersey changes; their persistent ability to be contenders doesn't, no matter the decade.

They are the benchmark that all other footballers aspire to reach. They are awesome. The final was a one-sided noncontest, but you couldn't help admire the sheer brilliance of Colm Cooper, the towering magnificence of Kieran Donaghy, and the ferocious competitiveness of the O Se clan. The championship was a real disappointment, but at least it had worthy champion

Joe Brolly
Inept Cork showed that only Ulster sides can hope to put manners on the Kingdom

All-Ireland Panic Attack

In the senior final, Kerry put twelve men behind the ball making it impossible for Cork to attack, their half forwards dropped deep into the defence, they swamped the break ball area, and then counter attacked at speed, moving the ball quickly to their two man forward line. They played cynically, fouling in areas of the field where frees couldn't be converted, and generally looked like ... well, Tyrone.

Cork meanwhile had no plan. In the cult comedy Withnail and I, Withnail explains to the bemused farmer that he and his friend "have come on holiday by accident". Cork seemed to have arrived in Croke Park on All-Ireland final day by accident. They hadn't a clue how to deal with the Kerry defensive system. Their own 6'7" giant on the edge of the square was left twiddling his thumbs. Their short passing game was a disaster against the swarm defence.

In the absence of any semblance of a plan they simply panicked, not helped by Billy Morgan's early changes. Billy might as well have stood on the sideline with a megaphone shouting "PANIC, PANIC!" After ten minutes, O'Connor was switched off Cooper and Canty moved off Star. Did they not think about who would pick up whom beforehand? The selection of an unfit James Masters only increased the nerves. Desperately trying to prove himself from the off, three times James hoofed it desperately up into the air from improbable angles.

After the semi final Billy had rounded on the Sunday Game team, suggesting that we gave no credit to the Cork forwards or Nicholas Murphy. Well, I don't want to sound like Father Ted when he won the Golden Cleric award (Where are you now Father Andy Shortall?), but both were non-existent. Because Kerry were playing so negatively, by halftime they led only by 1-6 to 0-6. Their two man forward line was very isolated and it was clear scores were going to be at a premium. Unfortunately for Cork and the neutral, Alan Quirke decided to take his brain out and put it in a little box far far away. I felt genuinely sorry for him. He had been outstanding all year, but this will be forgotten. Croke Park on All-Ireland final day is the most unforgiving place in the world.

Think about the public humiliation all those good Mayo players suffered in 2004 and 2006. The horror of those two days will hang around them like a bad smell forever. All three goals were giveaways, and engendered a general feeling of disbelief among the crowd. They weren't created or worked for, just handed over. Kerry didn't play well, but then again they didn't have to. The message is clear: Only Ulster can produce a worthy foe for the Kingdom. It is time to up the ante.

Kerry1980

Look at all the hate coming our way after winning 2 in a row.
Can't imagine what it's going to be like if we manage 3  ::)

Frank Casey

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 21, 2007, 02:39:10 PM
From today's Gaelic Life, and the Kingdom folk were complaining of being unloved (though I think I'm going to be sick  ;))!

Jarlath Burns
Last Sunday's final wasn't up to much as a spectacle but no-one can deny that Kerry are a magnificent team

Kingdom set for long reign

OK hands up! How many of you enjoyed the All Ireland final? No, I don't mean the football, but the fact that it was as pukey a final as you'll ever find, filled with errors, stoppages, fouls, congestion, frees and a fair bit of ugliness too. If you sat watching the fare with an air of smug 'I told you so' satisfaction on your face, well then you can join the 'Puke Football is Everywhere and Yousones can do it as well as Usuns' Club. (This is just a working title).

Just imagine for a moment if either Armagh or Tyrone had been playing on Sunday. Uproar. It would have been 'a sad day for 'our' game', as if we up north had somehow stolen a jewel from its rightful owners. Now, I don't doubt that Ulster teams can serve up fairly attritional stuff at times, but not even the ropiest of encounters could come close to the mess which sprawled out over Croke Park field on Sunday. At least when northern teams play, both  teams turn up and show a bit of gumption, and there is a basic understanding that if you want to keep out goals, there should be a member of your team (traditionally the goalkeeper) actually on the goalline. As they say in our partof the country, Cork were cat; and looked totally stranded during the key points in the match, but it would be unfair to blame them alone for this result. The fact is they weren't given even a chink of light to open up, to get possession or to get into any sort of rhythm.

So how did Kerry beatCork so easily? Well, firstly, they looked at the strong points in the Cork team and none come as strong as Nicolas Murphy. High fielding, long striding, influential and inspirational; he is the engine room in the rebel machine and defines how Cork play. He had to be stopped one way or the other. Kerry employed a fairly tried and trusted strategy as follows. Firstly, their own kickouts went to the opposite side and well away from Murphy, starving him of vital opportunities to get an early clean catch in. Then for the Cork kickouts, everyone bar the kitchen sink came down on top of him; half backs, half forwards, corner forwards; they all went up and came down in a big heap, but the ball was in the next parish by this time. Negative? Yes. Cynical? Sort of. Effective? efinitely.

When you're Nicolas Murphy and so much of your game revolves around catching the kickout; once this dimension is ripped out of your inventory, the rest of your repertoire looks quite bleak, since nothing gives you energy and inspiration like a high catch in the middle of the field. Secondly, Kerry worked hard. Incredibly hard. Give me ten teams with all the game plans and fancy players in the world and I'd swap them all for an outfit with a strong work ethic and an ability to do what they're told. Half forwards tracked back, lost causes were chased and every spilled ball was lapped up with relish.Kerry won this game in their half-back line. The whole team operated out of that area and everything started from there. When they emerged from half back, there were options north south east and west and they could even afford a pass or a one two before they slipped it into Gooch or Donaghy.

And thirdly. Kerry as a team are simply magnificent. When you look at them in full flow on All-Ireland day and how they can dismantle teams, it just brings into sharper focus the sheer tenacity, sticking power and invention of Tyrone and Armagh, the only two teams to beat them this decade in Croke Park. Despite what we might say about Kerry and how we have been hurt recently by their superior attitude, the fact remains that we all love them really. It's a beautiful county; full of stunning scenery, amazing sunsets, jaunting cars, Kate Kearney's cottage, traditional stuff, a gaeltacht and a football tradition that defies logic.

We all love Gaelic football (well anyone who matters), but in Kerry, it's more than that. They deserve our praise. Colm Cooper is just a sensational player. He is unbelievable. Never has a bad game. His goal, which was the platform for the victory, showed courage, skill, accuracy, but most of all courage. To head on the blind side into the rising Alan Quirke and Graham Canty, get a punch in and score a goal, is one thing, but when you're giving them about a foot apiece and four stone, it shows the measure of this man. He is impossible to mark and can play off the equally outstanding Kieran Donaghy with ease. Next year might be different, but I suspect it will be much the same. Kilkenny and Kerry going for three in a row. We have a year to stop them. I fear it might take a generation.

The Sledger

Sides as dominant as Kerry usually inspire massive levels of resentment but the Kingdom seem immune to this syndrome

Baffling Lack of Begrudgery

A largely uneventful summer of football came to an end with a whimper last week, as the All-Ireland championship coughed, rather than roared, to a conclusion. Kerry won yet another Sam Maguire, an event about as surprising as Jim Davidson being booted off Hell's Kitchen for being offensive, and the nation yawned.

It's no fault of the Kingdom that they happen to be better than anybody else at producing quality footballers on a consistent basis, but that doesn't make the endless procession of victory parades in Tralee and Killarney any easier to watch for the rest of the country. Yet we all have a grudging admiration for the men in green and gold; their hunger and desire for success never seems to be sated, no matter how many Celtic Crosses they win. It's a phenomenon, because it seems that other counties struggle to maintain any sort of incentive to win football's biggestprize once they have won a singleSam, never mind two.

Kerry are, of course, blessed with an abundant amount of natural footballers, but it seems their drive is not to compare themselves with other contemporary teams, but instead they measure their worth against that of great Kingdom sides of thepast.

It could be viewed as arrogant that the only people they consider worthy rivals are their forebearers, but in truth it's hard to argue with them. Tyrone and Armagh were temporarily the equals, and sometimes the betters, of Kerry since the turn of the century, but even the most ardent Red Hand or Orchard fan would find it hard to make a case that they will be perennial rivals to the Munster giants. Both Ulster teams have faded in the past couple of seasons, through injury, age, or lack of personal motivation, while the relentless Kerry machine has steamrolled on, adding to their already record total of All-Irelands. Yet it's another curiosity that, despite their all-conquering dominationof football, they're not universally hated.

Manchester United became routinely despised when they were lording it over everyone in the 90s, and Chelsea became the new bête noir for soccer fans when their millions bought success in recent years. But Kerry have never really provoked the same kind of concentrated begrudgery and dislike, unlessyou're from Cork.

There has always been a deep admiration for their football, and a fondness for their star players that would never occur elsewhere. Think about it, you hate the best footballers in your rival counties, because usually they're the ones who routinely inspire your defeats. Peter Canavan is one of the greatest forwards of his generation, arguably of all time, yet he was not only greatly unloved outside Tyrone, but actively despised by sections of Ulster and beyond. Compare that to Maurice Fitzgerald, another of Gaelic football's finest ever players, but who would be much more fondly looked upon. Obviously it comes down to more than county, and different personalities and demeanours are also a factor, but there's no doubt that the Kingdom stars have received more favourable,
rose-tinted, soft focus reminiscing than other talented footballers of yore.

The Kerry golden years team are rightly revered, to the point where even Pat Spillane is still remembered as a great footballer, rather than just a loudmouth. Men like Jack O'Shea, Eoin Liston, Mikey Sheehy and Ogie Moran are legends, and few would argue about their status. Yet other fine footballers like Colm O'Rourke, Brian Stafford, Mick Lyons, Larry Tompkins, Shea Fahy, Dinny Allen and Conor Counihan have nowhere near that level of admiration, despite their achievements.

No Dub either, from the 70s or 80s teams, is as universally liked. Brian Mullins, Jimmy Keaveney, Tony Hanahoe, Kevin Moran, and Bernard Brogan were all worshipped in the capital, but never got the same love their great Munster rivals did. It is, no doubt, an endless source of pride (and more than a little arrogance) for Kerry people that they instil such reverence and awe in the other 31 counties.

The fact is, Kerry have an almost mythological status within the GAA. They are expected to if not win every football championship, then at least be either in the shake-up at the end, or must be beaten if any team wants to win the Sam Maguire. Any All-Ireland that is won by beating the Kingdom in either the semi-final or final is almost a double All-Ireland. Yes, cliche it may be, but then so many things about Kerry have become hackneyed because only the faces and styles of jersey changes; their persistent ability to be contenders doesn't, no matter the decade.

They are the benchmark that all other footballers aspire to reach. They are awesome. The final was a one-sided noncontest, but you couldn't help admire the sheer brilliance of Colm Cooper, the towering magnificence of Kieran Donaghy, and the ferocious competitiveness of the O Se clan. The championship was a real disappointment, but at least it had worthy champion

Joe Brolly
Inept Cork showed that only Ulster sides can hope to put manners on the Kingdom

All-Ireland Panic Attack

In the senior final, Kerry put twelve men behind the ball making it impossible for Cork to attack, their half forwards dropped deep into the defence, they swamped the break ball area, and then counter attacked at speed, moving the ball quickly to their two man forward line. They played cynically, fouling in areas of the field where frees couldn't be converted, and generally looked like ... well, Tyrone.

Cork meanwhile had no plan. In the cult comedy Withnail and I, Withnail explains to the bemused farmer that he and his friend "have come on holiday by accident". Cork seemed to have arrived in Croke Park on All-Ireland final day by accident. They hadn't a clue how to deal with the Kerry defensive system. Their own 6'7" giant on the edge of the square was left twiddling his thumbs. Their short passing game was a disaster against the swarm defence.

In the absence of any semblance of a plan they simply panicked, not helped by Billy Morgan's early changes. Billy might as well have stood on the sideline with a megaphone shouting "PANIC, PANIC!" After ten minutes, O'Connor was switched off Cooper and Canty moved off Star. Did they not think about who would pick up whom beforehand? The selection of an unfit James Masters only increased the nerves. Desperately trying to prove himself from the off, three times James hoofed it desperately up into the air from improbable angles.

After the semi final Billy had rounded on the Sunday Game team, suggesting that we gave no credit to the Cork forwards or Nicholas Murphy. Well, I don't want to sound like Father Ted when he won the Golden Cleric award (Where are you now Father Andy Shortall?), but both were non-existent. Because Kerry were playing so negatively, by halftime they led only by 1-6 to 0-6. Their two man forward line was very isolated and it was clear scores were going to be at a premium. Unfortunately for Cork and the neutral, Alan Quirke decided to take his brain out and put it in a little box far far away. I felt genuinely sorry for him. He had been outstanding all year, but this will be forgotten. Croke Park on All-Ireland final day is the most unforgiving place in the world.

Think about the public humiliation all those good Mayo players suffered in 2004 and 2006. The horror of those two days will hang around them like a bad smell forever. All three goals were giveaways, and engendered a general feeling of disbelief among the crowd. They weren't created or worked for, just handed over. Kerry didn't play well, but then again they didn't have to. The message is clear: Only Ulster can produce a worthy foe for the Kingdom. It is time to up the ante.

By god but I won't need the viagra tonight after reading that. Tis great to be appreciated and the little sting to the non-Ulster counties is a nice finish.
KERRY 3:7

Quote from: Frank Casey on September 21, 2007, 07:11:19 PM
By god but I won't need the viagra tonight after reading that. Tis great to be appreciated and the little sting to the non-Ulster counties is a nice finish.

Great, don't omit to tell the missus the source of your performance  ;)

Frank Casey

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 21, 2007, 09:12:34 PM

This wife is having a cigarette. I think she wants to meet you.

Quote from: Frank Casey on September 21, 2007, 11:10:47 PM

:D Sláinte!

FC: when are you lighting the yearly ritual bonfire to burn those "other" jerseys that reside in your hot press ? I may call out for the event.

I know you have to live and work there in Langerland but after Sunday there is no excuse to have those jerseys in your house. I know they come in handy for washing the car, the dog if you had one, or the windows, and even cleaning up after you when you wobble in to home now and again, but its time to rid the house of those yokes, the childer derserve better. KM has spoken...and the Book of Yerra says it is so.

Frank Casey

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 21, 2007, 11:32:49 PM
FC: when are you lighting the yearly ritual bonfire to burn those "other" jerseys that reside in your hot press ? I may call out for the event.

I know you have to live and work there in Langerland but after Sunday there is no excuse to have those jerseys in your house. I know they come in handy for washing the car, the dog if you had one, or the windows, and even cleaning up after you when you wobble in to home now and again, but its time to rid the house of those yokes, the childer derserve better. KM has spoken...and the Book of Yerra says it is so.

I tried using them for jacks roll but they cut the piles off me - cheap nylon=friction burns. You should come to Macroom for a visit. Very high proportion of KY cars carrying colours through enemy territory. Completly wrecking native heads.

Frank Casey

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 21, 2007, 11:13:57 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on September 21, 2007, 11:10:47 PM

:D Sláinte!

I owe you a pint.

darbyo

Have been unable to post for the last week and I haven't gone through all the posts but has Billy Morgan's role in this debacle been mentioned. Now Billy is a legend of the game, particularily in Cork, and his presence in the city is of utmost importance in keeping the game strong there but he is no longer a top quaility inter county manager. I'm not saying this because of last Sunday's result, I've been saying it for some time now, he has Cork playing excessively negative football, he is unwilling to regularily play the U21's of the last 4 years, and is too loyal to the Nemo guy's on the panel. Kavanagh is not an inter-county midfielder, Master's isn't a real inter-county forward(a option from the bench yes, but not the fulcrum of your forward line). Players like Goulding & Gould should be on the team and left find their feet, play them in their right positions and build their confidence. Instead neither is given a good run in the team or when started are taken off if playing poorly. And even when Goulding played well in the semi was still dropped for a less than 100% Masters.
                         It really annoys me when people justify giving an inter county job to lads based on their profile, so the same few heads are mentioned when an inter county job comes up. Being a great player is no indication of being a great coach/manager. Now I know some might come on here and point out Billy's record with Nemo as proof of his managerial quailities, which is fair enough but I'm not saying Billy is inept as a manager he's just not inter county standard. If like me you were at the game then I'd say you know just how bad Cork really were. 

never kickt a ball

One week later and all quiet. Can anyone post analysis from the Sunday newspapers?