CORK V KERRY MUNSTER ALL IRELAND SENIOR FINAL

Started by never kickt a ball, August 20, 2007, 02:05:14 AM

How many Board Posters were actually at the All Ireland Final?

Yes
34 (40.5%)
No
50 (59.5%)

Total Members Voted: 84

QuoteNot your usual inflammatory produce at all?

yerra Timmy you auld langer you, if you read between the lines its not always inflammatory :P , I have my good days too, and will even give credit to Cork on a very good day.

Agree with you about Spillane he is key for Cork but who does he follow or will he just try to hold the middle together, O'Neill too if left to roam will win plenty of ball though I dont thing O'Se will be following him. I think Shields and O'Connor will have to also produce very good games in the corners to prevent Cooper and Sheehan from dominating the game. Cork will have to maximise the chances they will create while Kerry look to have the better scoring options, with long range point taking a key area I hope we can exploit.

In Cork there is a very low profile to the Game, the general belief amoung supporters I have spoken to is that we will win, no body seems to be tipping Cork, Billy is staying very quite which is always dangerous, me thinks the Rebels are gathering in the long grass for another Beal Na Blath, the Rebels are good at mounting ambushes, remember 1983 or 1987. I just feel it will be a close tough game, on paper you would have to say Kerry but there was never a game won on Paper, its on the pitch on Sunday week that matters.

Kerry have the big day AI final experience and would have been aiming their training program all year for this date so hopefully like last year we will peak on the day but it will be interesting to see how Cork face into the game, who will be more nervous on the day. A good start for either team is vital and there will bne a full on battle in those first 10-15 minutes.  Its a game I think Morgan just has to win to prove his second coming or will young buck Pat O'Shea pull off an exceptional coup in his first year.

The Langer free Kingdom of Kerry abú

Is there much craic or colour down there?

It has hardly been mentioned up here at all.

Kerry Senior Football - Pen Pictures... (thanks to the Kerry GAA site)

Management:

Pat O'Shea was manager of the Kerry Minor team in 2002 and 2003. Previous to that he managed the Limerick Minor Football team for two years. He trained the Dr. Crokes Senior Football team that reached this year's All-Ireland Club Championship Final. He was a member of the Dr. Crokes team that won the All-Ireland Club title against Thomas Davis (Dublin) in 1992.

Dr. Dave Geaney is an All-Ireland medal holder (1959) and has been trainer of the Castleisland Desmonds Senior team for a good number of years and was trainer when they won the All-Ireland Club title in 1985 when they defeated St. Vincents (Dublin) in the final on St. Patrick's Day.

Sean Geaney was manager of the Kerry Minor Football team in 2004 and 2005. He played senior football for Kerry in the 1990's and was a star player with his club team until recently.

John Sugrue played minor and Under 21 football for Kerry and captained the Kerry Vocational Schools team that won the All-Ireland title in 1997. John has a Sports Science degree from UL and has Physiotherapy qualifications from UUJ.

Back-up Support:

Dr. Michael Finnerty is in his fifth year of regular involvement with the Kerry Senior Football team. He is a specialist in treating sports injuries.

Megan Gooding - This is Megan's first year with the Kerry Senior Football Team and was team physio last year for the Kerry Minor Football Team. She is a native of Western Australia.

Tara Timlin is a native of Tralee and this is her first year with the Kerry Senior Football Team and she was previously physio to the Irish Amateur Boxing team.

Harry O'Neill is a member of the Dr. Crokes Club and was the Club's senior team trainer for a number of years. This is his fourth year being involved as a masseur with the Kerry team.

Dan O'Sullivan is brother of full back Tom and this is second year being involved with the team. He plays senior football for his club, Rathmore

Playing Gear & Equipment: Vincent Linnane, Niall O'Callaghan
Groundsman Fitzgerald Stadium: Denis O'Leary, Michael Looney

Panel:

Kieran Donaghy
Club: Austin Stacks
Height: 6' 5"
Weight: 15

1st League Game for Kerry: v Dublin 2005
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Waterford 2006
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2003-2004
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2001

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 2 Munster Senior, 1 All-Star, Player of the Year 2006

Paul Galvin
Club: Finuge
Height: 6'
Weight: 12

1st League Game for Kerry: v Leitrim 2002
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Clare 2004
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1998-2000
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1997

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, I County Kerry Senior Hurling Championship, 3 Munster Senior, 1 Munster Under 21, 1 Munster Minor, 2 National League, 1 Munster Club (UCC), 2 All-Star, 2 Munster Junior Club, 1 All-Ireland Junior Club

Michael Frank Russell
Club: Laune Rangers
Height: 5' 11"

1st League Game for Kerry: v Derry Oct. 1996
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Tipperary 1997
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1996-1998
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1994, 1995

Honours Won: 4 All-Ireland Senior,2 All-Ireland U-21; 1 All-Ireland Minor;1 All-Ireland Club;1 All-Ireland Colleges; 3 National League, 1 Sigerson Cup 3 Senior County Champs 1 All-Star 2000

Killian Young
Club:Renard

1st League Game for Kerry: v Mayo 2007
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Tipperary 2006
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2006
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2004.2005

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 1 Munster Senior, 1 Munster Minor

Tommy Griffin
Club: Dingle
Height: 6' 2"
Weight: 14

1st League Game for Kerry: 1999
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Clare 2000
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1997-1999
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1996

Honours Won: 3 All-Ireland Senior, 1 All-Ireland U-21, 3 Munster U-21, 1 Munster Minor, 2 National League

Kieran O'Leary
Club: Dr. Crokes
Height: 5'11"
Weight: 10.5

1st League Game for Kerry: v Mayo 2006
1st C'ship Game for Kerry:
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2004,2005

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor

Darragh O Se
Club: An Ghaeltacht
Weight: 14.0

1st League Game for Kerry: v Donegal 1994
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Limerick 1994
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1993-1996
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1993

Honours Won: 4 All-Ireland Senior; 2 All-Ireland U-21; 3 National League; 1 Railway Cup; 2 All-Star, International Rules 2001, 2 County Senior Championships, 1 Munster Club

Marc Ó'Sé

1st League Game for Kerry: v Antrim 2002
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Limerick 2002
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1999, 2000
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1998

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor, 4 Munster Senior, 2 County Senior, 2 National League, 1 Munster Club, 1 All-Star

Tomás Ó' Sé
Height: 5"11'
Weight: 12.5

1st League Game for Kerry: 1998
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Cork 1998
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1997, 1998, 1999
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1995, 1996

Honours Won: 3 All-Ireland Senior,1 All-Ireland U-21; 3 Munster U-21; 1 Munster Minor; 7 Munster Senior, 2 County Senior, 2 National League, 1 Munster Club, 2 All-Stars, Player of the Year 2004, Texaco Award 2004

Mícheál Quirke
Club: Kerins O'Rahillys
Height: 6' 7"
Weight: 17.5

1st League Game for Kerry: v Tyrone 2002
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Limerick 2003
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2001
Minor Experience with Kerry:

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 2 National League, 4 Munster Senior

Declan Quill
Weight: 11' 7"

1st League Game for Kerry: v Tyrone 2000
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Tipperary 2001
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2000, 2001, 2002
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1999, 2000

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 2 Munster Colleges Corn Ui Mhuiri 1 Munster Under 21, 4 Munster Senior, 1 County Senior Championship, 1 National League

Colm Cooper
Club: Dr. . Crokes
Height: 5'11"
Weight: 11.5

1st League Game for Kerry: v Laois 2002
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2002, 2003, 2004
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2000, 2001

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor, 1 Munster Under 21, 5 Munster Senior, 2 National League, 3 All-Stars, Texaco Player of the Year 2004

Eoin Brosnan
Height: 6' 3''
Weight: 14.5

1st League Game for Kerry: v Louth 2000
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1999, 2000

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, I County Kerry Senior Football Championship, 5 Munster Senior, 1 Cork County Senior with UCC, 1 Munster Minor, 2 Munster Club, 2 National League

Declan O'Sullivan
Club: Dromid Pearses
Weight: 13

1st League Game for Kerry: v Cork 2003
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Tipperary 2003
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2002-2004

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 4 Munster Senior, 1 Munster Minor, 1 Munster Under 21, 2 National League

Darren O'Sullivan
Club: Glenbeigh/Glencar
Height: 5' 10"

1st League Game for Kerry: 2005
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Tyrone 2005
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2005,2006
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2004

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor, 2 Munster Senior, 1 National League

Diarmuid Murphy
Club: Dingle
Height: 6' 3"
Weight: 14.5

1st League Game for Kerry: 2002 v London
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1994, 1995, 1996
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1992

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 2 All-Ireland Under 21, 4 Munster Junior, 4 Munster Senior, 2 National League, 2 All-Stars

Tom O Sullivan
Club: Rathmore
Height: 6'2"
Weight: 13.0

1st League Game for Kerry: v Cork 1999
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Cork 2000
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1998, 1999

Honours Won: 3 All-Ireland Senior, 6 Munster Senior;1 All-Ireland U-21; 2 Munster U-21; All-Ireland Vocational Schools; 3 County Senior Football Championships, 2 National League, 2 All-Star

Bryan Sheehan
Club: St. Mary's
Height: 6' 2"

1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Cork 2005
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2003-2006
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2001-2003

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 3 Munster Minor, 3 Munster Colleges Corn Uí Mhuirí, Co. League Div.1 & Div. 2, 3 County Senior Football Championships, Co. Intermediate, Co. Minor, Co. Under 21 Championships

Aidan O'Mahony
Club: Rathmore

1st League Game for Kerry: 2003
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2001

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 2 National League, 4 Munster Senior, 1 All-Star, 1 County Senior, 1 County U21, 1 County Intermediate

Kieran Cremin
Weight: 15

U21 Experience with Kerry: 1999-2001
Minor Experience with Kerry: 1996

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 2 National League, 3 Munster Senior, 1 Munster Under 21, 1 Munster Junior, 1 Munster Minor

Padraig Reidy
Club: Scartaglin
Height: 6' 00

1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Waterford 2007
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2005, 2006
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2003-2004

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 2 Munster Minor, 3 Munster Senior, 1 Junior International Rules 2004

Rónán Ó'Flatharta
Height: 6' 1"

1st League Game for Kerry: v Fermanagh, 2007
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2003, 2004

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor, 1 Munster Club

Mossy Lyons
Club: Castleisland Desmonds

1st League Game for Kerry: v Louth 2000
U21 Experience with Kerry:

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 4 Munster Senior

Seamus Scanlon
Club: Currow
Height: 6' 3"
Weight: 14

1st League Game for Kerry: v Meath 2002
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2001, 2002

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 2 Munster Senior 1 Munster Under 21, U-17 International Rules 1999, 1 National League

Paul O'Connor
Club: Kenmare
Height: 5'10"

1st C'ship Game for Kerry: v Waterford 2006
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2004, 2005

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Minor

Ronan Hussey
Club: Sneem

1st League Game for Kerry: v Fermanagh 2007

Honours Won: 1 All-Ireland Senior, 1 Munster Senior, 3 Senior Co. Championships

Donncha Walsh
Club: Cromane
Height: 6' 1''

1st League Game for Kerry: v Mayo 2007
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2003-2005
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2001, 2002

Honours Won: 2 Munster Minor

Seán O'Sullivan
Club: Cromane
Height: 6' 1"

1st League Game for Kerry: 1999 v Cork
1st C'ship Game for Kerry: 2002 v Limerick
U21 Experience with Kerry: 1999, 2000, 2001

Honours Won: 2 All-Ireland Senior, 1 National League, 1 Munster Minor, 1 Munster Under 21, 2 Munster Senior, Trench Cup 1999 with LIT

Daniel Bohan
Club: Austin Stacks

1st League Game for Kerry: v Tyrone 2007

Tommy Walsh
Height: 6' 4''
Weight: 16

1st League Game for Kerry: v Limerick 2007
U21 Experience with Kerry: 2007
Minor Experience with Kerry: 2005-2006

Honours Won: 1 Munster Minor

QuoteIs there much craic or colour down there?

Not much going on in Cork City, a few flags up but no real banter, at home the excitement is building but I'd say it will be after the weekend before it really kicks off once tickets become available, it has a very surreal feel to it to be honest.

QuoteIs there much craic or colour down there?

I've a Kerry mate livin in Dublin who says there's not much buzz about it yet even back home in the bog.  When I said it would be a mad scramble for tix since its an all Munster affair he said that he didnt think so and that tickets would be handy enough come by for the neutral. 

never kickt a ball

Masters hopeful of facing Kingdom
Sep 07, 2007
James Masters has admitted that he faces an uphill battle to prove his fitness ahead of the All-Ireland SFC final against Kerry on Sunday week.The Nemo Rangers star has not given up all hope of making an appearance in the much-awaited clash with the Rebels' greatest rivals though.
Masters missed the semi-final win over Meath after he sustained a broken jaw against Sligo in the quarter-final.
The Cork-based Garda was initially ruled out of the final and was expected to spend at least eight weeks on the sideline.
However, his recovery has been quicker than anticipated and Masters has admitted that the injury is healing well.
"Four weeks is an awful long time for an inter-county player to be out," Masters told the Star.
"It's healing well. Hopefully I will go back to contact tomorrow, but whether it holds up or not is another question. Contact is the big thing.
"I can't complain if I am a sub or not if I am fit. I'll know and it's up to Billy (Morgan) then. I will try my very best to get my place back. It's my big thing. It would be stupid if I didn't want it.
Masters had a metal plate inserted in his jaw and it will remain in place until shortly after the final. The 25-year-old has participated in all of the Rebels' training sessions in the last two weeks - dropping out only at the contact stage.

http://www.gaa.ie/plugins/newsfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=20295

Quote from: never kickt a ball on September 07, 2007, 07:15:24 PM
Masters hopeful of facing Kingdom
Sep 07, 2007
James Masters has admitted that he faces an uphill battle to prove his fitness ahead of the All-Ireland SFC final against Kerry on Sunday week.The Nemo Rangers star has not given up all hope of making an appearance in the much-awaited clash with the Rebels' greatest rivals though.
Masters missed the semi-final win over Meath after he sustained a broken jaw against Sligo in the quarter-final.
The Cork-based Garda was initially ruled out of the final and was expected to spend at least eight weeks on the sideline.
However, his recovery has been quicker than anticipated and Masters has admitted that the injury is healing well.
"Four weeks is an awful long time for an inter-county player to be out," Masters told the Star.
"It's healing well. Hopefully I will go back to contact tomorrow, but whether it holds up or not is another question. Contact is the big thing.
"I can't complain if I am a sub or not if I am fit. I'll know and it's up to Billy (Morgan) then. I will try my very best to get my place back. It's my big thing. It would be stupid if I didn't want it.

Terrible injury the guy sufferred yet no word on how it happened ?. He has always struck me as a nice guy .To miss an all Ireland must be terrible .Maggpie Seani or other Sligo folk any comments on what happened ?
Masters had a metal plate inserted in his jaw and it will remain in place until shortly after the final. The 25-year-old has participated in all of the Rebels' training sessions in the last two weeks - dropping out only at the contact stage.

http://www.gaa.ie/plugins/newsfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=20295

darbyo

QuotePat O'Shea was manager of the Kerry Minor team in 2002 and 2003. Previous to that he managed the Limerick Minor Football team for two years. He trained the Dr. Crokes Senior Football team that reached this year's All-Ireland Club Championship Final. He was a member of the Dr. Crokes team that won the All-Ireland Club title against Thomas Davis (Dublin) in 1992.

Dr. Dave Geaney is an All-Ireland medal holder (1959) and has been trainer of the Castleisland Desmonds Senior team for a good number of years and was trainer when they won the All-Ireland Club title in 1985 when they defeated St. Vincents (Dublin) in the final on St. Patrick's Day.

Sean Geaney was manager of the Kerry Minor Football team in 2004 and 2005. He played senior football for Kerry in the 1990's and was a star player with his club team until recently.

John Sugrue played minor and Under 21 football for Kerry and captained the Kerry Vocational Schools team that won the All-Ireland title in 1997. John has a Sports Science degree from UL and has Physiotherapy qualifications from UUJ.

Back-up Support:

Dr. Michael Finnerty is in his fifth year of regular involvement with the Kerry Senior Football team. He is a specialist in treating sports injuries.

Megan Gooding - This is Megan's first year with the Kerry Senior Football Team and was team physio last year for the Kerry Minor Football Team. She is a native of Western Australia.

Tara Timlin is a native of Tralee and this is her first year with the Kerry Senior Football Team and she was previously physio to the Irish Amateur Boxing team.

Harry O'Neill is a member of the Dr. Crokes Club and was the Club's senior team trainer for a number of years. This is his fourth year being involved as a masseur with the Kerry team.

Dan O'Sullivan is brother of full back Tom and this is second year being involved with the team. He plays senior football for his club, Rathmore

Playing Gear & Equipment: Vincent Linnane, Niall O'Callaghan
Groundsman Fitzgerald Stadium: Denis O'Leary, Michael Looney

I see that Micko is giving out about all the specialist coaches and other backroom staff that modern teams are bringing on board. He claims that counties like Dublin,Tyrone and Armagh have gone over board with the amount of backroom staff. He says that Kerry don't do this, the above list of support staff would suggest otherwise.

darbyo

PP have Cork 9-4 for the All Ireland, that's a cracking price, Cork probably have the best 1-9 in the country at the moment. And despite the performance of some of the Kerry backs the last day I don't think it's a particularly strong sextet. Cork play overly defensively IMO and lack real scoring potential but because they shouldn't concede a big score that may not be a problem.

Kerry Unveil New Tactic Of Dealing With Cork Aerial Dominance

Tatler Jack

Just heard Anthony Lynch likely to miss final - broken bone in hand

Great article on Offaly v Kerry in 1982 in today's Sunday Times.

Looking forward to this game. There's nothing in the world like All-Ireland Sunday. An All-Munster Final will add an extra dimension to the game and hopefully add to the excitement.

Kerry seem to have the game won on paper, but something tells me in my guts that Cork could pull off a fast one and win the Sam Maguire.

Hard to know which team I'll be supporting come Sunday.

I think this will be a close enough game in which Kerry will probably come out the victors.
I'll be supporting the Rebels mind you, I've had a soft spot for them since the '93 final when i gained huge admiration for their supporters. It's always good to see the underdogs come through and I hope it is the case this weekend, but I just think Kerry will have a wee bit too much for them.

Roll on Derry in the Minor match!

Despite the (almost definite) loss of Anthony Lynch, I still feel Cork will edge home in this one: their hunger will be the meaner, and their drive the more irresistible.

Perhaps it's a blessing-in-disguise that Lynch won't be playing in that such will be the raw parochial and claustrophobic intensity of the occasion Cork just might have found themselves down to fourteen after not too long had he started.

Here's to a cracker!