Dublin v Kerry all ireland SF

Started by anportmorforjfc, August 12, 2007, 03:35:27 PM

Poor old Liam - he'll have to come up with something different this week about Kerry !

highly entertaining game with fantastic atmosphere in Croke park yesterday.
It was like we were back in roman times at the coliseum and we had brightly clad gladiators on the pitch. The crowd baying for blood/scores added to the day.
Ref was shocking, but most followers of football know that about mr bannon by now.

Kerry shaky and beatable, and Cork must really fancy their chances.

Dublin and Kerry found it hard to stay playing good football and only both played any way well in spurts. The speed of the game, the hard hits must have all contributed to what looked scrappy on TV, but live was fantastic and absorbing to watch.

Neither manager would be a Billy Morgan or Sean Boylan. O'Shea still a novice at this level, Caffrey just doesnt have the brains or vision.
Caffrey , like most other intercounty managers, is a nice guy and football mad. However the Mickey Hartes, Jack O'Connors, John OMahoneys and Joe Kernans of the Game are in an elite club.
Caffrey is closer to being in 'Club inept' along with its chairman Mr Crozier of Derry.
Some of the substitutions by dublin were astonishing. But the gameplan is what kills me. The merry go round of forwards, the one man midfield, the absentee centre half back - all ploys that may flummox the opposition, but are counter productive and destabilising to your own teams game imo.

Kerry, cork, Laois etc have shown that attacking , scoring wing half backs are worth their weight in gold, so maybe put cullen on the wing rather than in the centre. A two man midfield and a third midfield is needed also with Ryan the 3rd midfielder.
I think Dublin have the talent to win the AI, as do Kerry, Cork, Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal, Galway, Mayo, Monaghan and Derry (Laois too if they get a few bigger men). IMO what seperates teams now are the tactics, the strategies, the management on the sideline, the ability to make changes when change is needed.
Dublin needed change yesterday, and Caffrey was found wanting.
Three good years Paul. Need a better and different man now. Kernan or Clarke (louth the men I can think of).
I am sure Paul Bealin, Val Andrews and Paul Clarke will want the job. Maybe Barney rock and Mullins too.
Dublin need Kernan.

Balboa

All i have to say on the matter is Gnevin & Tankie your boys took one helluva beating. First top calibre opposition they have played all summer and they were beat, the great white hypes indeed.

Quote from: Billys Boots on August 27, 2007, 10:01:35 AM
QuoteHayes is a lakes merchant.

The turf accountants of Ireland are trying to get him banned from writing about football - it's clear to see that the opposite to everything he says is a banker!

Agree with you there neutral - Cluxton was at Gooch from early on - why ? Does he himself know ? Agianst Derry he came out with a ball and kicked it inot the Cusack -

He can say bye bye to the All Star now ???? Or will he be one the 4 / 5 Dubs who will end up with them cos they're Dubs ?

Balboa

Quote from: Dont Matter on August 26, 2007, 07:43:16 PM
Did anyone else wish they were in Croke Park today so they could run onto the pitch and point to the scoreboard and start jumping around like a monkey in front of Brogan, Keaney and the rest of the scum?

The only thing is Brogan might do it back......  ;)

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:14:11 AM
Agree with you there neutral - Cluxton was at Gooch from early on - why ? Does he himself know ? Agianst Derry he came out with a ball and kicked it inot the Cusack -

He can say bye bye to the All Star now ???? Or will he be one the 4 / 5 Dubs who will end up with them cos they're Dubs ?
Their is no way 1/2 mistakes  means he will not still be in the running for the All-Star . Out of the 4 Semi finalist . Cluxton is still the best keeper out of the 4

Quote from: Balboa on August 27, 2007, 11:12:26 AM
All i have to say on the matter is Gnevin & Tankie your boys took one helluva beating. First top calibre opposition they have played all summer and they were beat, the great white hypes indeed.
Yet Meath where being called AI contenders and Derry are a team on the up
Sure if we had of beat Kerry , we would of just beaten the worst Kerry team in years

QuoteIt was like we were back in roman times at the coliseum and we had brightly clad gladiators on the pitch

Quotebut live was fantastic and absorbing to watch.

Spot on Lynchbhoy.

QuoteKerry shaky and beatable, and Cork must really fancy their chances

Whilst they may fancy their chances there was no comparison between the two semi finals. cork v Meat hwas played at a pedestrian pace and intensity compared to yesterday

QuoteA few years ago When he was sent off againat Armagh the then Dublin manager thought he had lost the game for them also -  thats 2 big games on his watch

There was also his poor short kick out in 2005 that Sean Cavanagh robbed resulting in Mulligans goal which effectively put an end to the Dubs comeback in that game too.............................

Balboa

Quote from: Gnevin on August 27, 2007, 11:17:43 AM
Quote from: Balboa on August 27, 2007, 11:12:26 AM
All i have to say on the matter is Nevin & Tanker your boys took one helluva beating. First top calibre opposition they have played all summer and they were beat, the great white hypes indeed.
Yet Math where being called AI contenders and Derry are a team on the up
Sure if we had of beat Kerry , we would of just beaten the worst Kerry team in years

I think we saw what Math were made of against Cork last week, if Eoin Bradley wasn't masquerading as Stevie Wonder youse would have been beaten

GalwaySham

QuoteHe did see a lot of ball in the second half but  he never once went by Griffin and he nearly always passed the ball backwards.

???

QuoteNobody else in the subs capable, or worthy of trying according to the actions of the manager?

Doesnt exactly show much faith in your other backs, does it? A switch should have been made when Griffin was struggling so badly, who knows, a less renowned back might have chosen to have the game of his life on Cooper yesterday and certainly would not have been any worse

The Brogan have really bought into this goading stuff big time - big time egos - Keep Pillar as manager ??? No way kick the whole lot of them out and get somebody decent in ? This is the member of the Garda who assaulted John Morrison in last years semi final isn't it ?? And they got what they deserved in that game too - their dung home in a bag !!!!! Long may they reign !

Liam knows his stuff - he just can't write about it.

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:21:44 AM
The Brogan have really bought into this goading stuff big time - big time egos - Keep Pillar as manager ??? No way kick the whole lot of them out and get somebody decent in ? This is the member of the Garda who assaulted John Morrison in last years semi final isn't it ?? And they got what they deserved in that game too - their dung home in a bag !!!!! Long may they reign !
So orangemuppet a team/player has been giving you abuse all game  do you

a) Punch the lad
b) Do nothing a look like your scared of him
c) Remind the fella where you done your talking

Answers on a post card please .