Started by Hollow Man, July 26, 2007, 02:29:54 PM

Whats the town name in Hot Fuzz?
That was a nice place  ;)

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: stephenite on July 31, 2007, 04:44:39 AM
You cannot say that Castlebar is just behind Westport in the 'nicest' stakes when judging towns in Mayo - Ballina is streets ahead of Castlebar. Fine big river with a beautiful cathedral nestled on it's banks as well as some lovely buildings along the banks of the Moy.

As opposed to Castlebars natural beauty ? A thin trickle of raw sewage that stinks to high hell at all times of the year - the areas outside of Castlebar and the roads leading into the place are fine but Jesus wept, once you get into the built up areas it is full of new lego type buildings, houses built right on top of each other, parking and signage is a disgrace and it's full of gypos. You can barely walk down the street without some pikey spitting at ya

Ballina, indeed has it's fair share of knackers as Guy Crouchback pointed out (and he should know) and it's fair share of problems much like any other town - but to attempt to say it's behind the biggest Shithole, Godforesaken, racist capital of Ireland, excuse of a settlement that should have been burnt to the ground centuries ago is laughable.

This shopping you talk about? You're winding me up now ? Seriously, the choice is either the most over-priced shirt in Ireland, or the price blasters type of shite quality that costs you 4.99 but leaves with you a rash all over.

The area around the mall used to nice, full of racists and tramps now though

Now ya really are taking the piss Stephenite, You obviously have never been down to Lough Lannagh and its view of Croagh Patrick.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 07:16:21 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2007, 04:18:00 PM
and the award for most over sensitive, protective poster goes to..............

Whats your problem?

fishead sam is in the running for the key to castlebar!  dont be crying sam jus because castlebar is a shithole  :D its not coincidental that numerous peopel mention it on this thread

Donagh  mentioned it, then Farrandeelin not from Castlebar defended the town straight away
then I backed up its defence, ludermor had a go (I thought it was a personal jibe rather than about the town, which he later clarified), then the argument spiraled.

mooncatiii

Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 09:29:05 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 07:16:21 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2007, 04:18:00 PM
and the award for most over sensitive, protective poster goes to..............

Whats your problem?

fishead sam is in the running for the key to castlebar!  dont be crying sam jus because castlebar is a shithole  :D its not coincidental that numerous peopel mention it on this thread

One person mentioned it, then another person not from Castlebar defended the town straight away (not me) then I backed up its defence, someone else had a go, then the argument spiraled.

some1 needs a hug!  :D   one person mentioned it then u threw the dummy out of th pram and cried your lamps out  ;D

bitter pill to swallow but castlebar is shithole. 
shazam

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 09:34:42 AM

some1 needs a hug!  :D   one person mentioned it then u threw the dummy out of th pram and cried your lamps out  ;D

bitter pill to swallow but castlebar is shithole. 

:D Thank feck I'm off to S.E.A & OZ for the next 6 months, I think I need to take a few chill pills as opposed to those bitter ones.

This shouldnt categorize the place as a shithole but I also had my worst experience, opposing fans wise at an away game in Castlebar this year.
And before ye all go nuts, yes I have been embarrassed by the Dublin fans on more than one occasion also.
Maybe this subconsciously put me off the place too  :-\

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 31, 2007, 02:02:30 AM
Donagh, was going to pull you on your inclusion of Letterkenny, but then the penny dropped.  ;)

Not sure what you mean. Letterkenny has always been a dump, even Tír Conaill people and those inhabitants of the west Tyrone part of Donegal would admit that.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 09:44:08 AM
This shouldnt categorize the place as a shithole but I also had my worst experience, opposing fans wise at an away game in Castlebar this year.
And before ye all go nuts, yes I have been embarrassed by the Dublin fans on more than one occasion also.
Maybe this subconsciously put me off the place too  :-\

Fair enough hh nb but remember those fans came from all over Mayo not just Castlebar, Castlebar is just 10-15K off the Countie's 125K so there is a good chance those people you talk of where not even from Castlebar, they might not have been from within 50 miles of the town.

Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 10:11:15 AM
Fair enough hh nb but remember those fans came from all over Mayo not just Castlebar, Castlebar is just 10-15K off the Countie's 125K so there is a good chance those people you talk of where not even from Castlebar, they might not have been from within 50 miles of the town.

Fair point, I'm still waiting on an explanation as to why Balbriggan was on this list though  :-\

I share your puzzlement, Your Holiness. Balbriggan is actually quite small.

Quote from: Hardy on July 31, 2007, 10:36:05 AM
I share your puzzlement, Your Holiness. Balbriggan is actually quite small.

Jaysus Hardy, have you been there in the past few years?
Its getting massive.

guy crouchback

QuoteNow ya really are taking the piss Stephenite, You obviously have never been down to Lough Lannagh and its view of Croagh Patrick.

i am  not trying to wind you  up fishhead but i was actually down by that lake back in June and the place was a disgrace. beer cans and bottles everywhere bags of rubbish that had been fly tipped used condoms the lot. to be honest it was one step away from a tinkers camp. considering some of the scenery on offer in mayo this was very much division 4.

Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 10:47:10 AM
Jaysus Hardy, have you been there in the past few years?

Thankfully, no. That's what bypasses are for.

I thought that was what estate agents are for  ;)

<left blank>